Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

The Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy provides 100 square feet of shade with plenty of extras. A screen wall attachment keeps bugs and debris at bay. Plus, the Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy has a roof vent to keep you cool in the shade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%39 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Great Product!

10/02/2009
By ,
Providence, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price i was a little skeptical of the quality, but this canopy is absolutely perfect. It sets up very fast, and is much much more sturdy than any canopy i've ever purchased. The cross-member scissor style beams have withstood an entire season of heavy wind without even flinching. I'd buy anothe rthese in a heartbeat if i ever needed it.
only downside (if any at all) is that this product only has 1 sunshield insert, wher eits located i could have used two. but thats my own fualt for not reading more closely. absolutely love this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 2 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Exactly what I expected.

08/11/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for an overall multi-use, durable canopy. This unit is very nice, we just used for our first camping trip and were a little concerned due to bad weather coming, but it really put it to the test. The canopy held up perfectly to the rain, not a drop through! The unit is square, no angled legs, for more coverage. Also the legs collapse down to about 3' which was great. We put our chairs and anything else we didn't want to have damaged by wind or rain underneath and collapsed the legs down as far as they would go and everything stayed safe and dry.
The only thing I would recommend is investing in some heavy duty anchors. The ones that come with it are good for the legs to keep them from shifting, but the ropes should have something a little more stable. We used the spiral dog tie outs for ours-maybe a little over kill but a small investment in the long run.
The frame seems very sturdy, and collapses easily.
The unit definately needs at least 2 people to set up, or take one person a little longer so the legs don't stress.
The real seller...everything actually fits back into the storage bag that it came with! Thanks to a nifty expansion zipper on the bag and a little care in folding it up!
Overall, this is a great unit and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something that they want to last for more than one or two set ups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 3 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Great product, throw out the tent pegs

06/28/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have to deal with wind - the tent pegs that come with the canopy are useless for any wind above 10mph. We used the curly dog-tie-out pegs for the guys ropes (The Coleman Max stakes at Walmart camping will work well too) and 12" stakes for the legs. It is still up and we have 36 mph wind today and gusts to 51mph - but take down the side wall at the really high wind. It does get a little scary. It is expensive compared to similar items but is well made and the SPF 50 roof is a bonus. We have had 3 sun canopies ruined by wind in a year so this looks good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 4 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Coleman Max Screen Tent

06/05/2010
By ,
Central MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned my screen tent for the past two years and I wouldn't trade this for any other brand out there. There are many people out there who say these are hard to put up, however if you know what you are doing they are simple. The frame on these tents appear to be much stronger than the ez up tents and the screen enclosure is awesome to keep out he bugs. I have been in many rain/thunderstorms with the tent up and had no issues with leaking and failure. If the winds are blowing at 60 mph you shouldn't be in the tent. Take the time to lower the tent to its lowest setting (4ft) and stake it down. These are not meant to withstand severe weather but by far are on of the best canopies you could ask for whether camping or in your back yard. Take care of it and it will take care of you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 5 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

men needed

06/30/2009
By ,
atlanta ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I could not assemble this screen room alone. I would say you will need 2 strong men at least and once it's up it's great. Instructions need to be clearer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Great Product

07/10/2010
By ,
Roaring Spring, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without time to test it out first, I packed this into the car two days after I got it in the mail and left for my vacation. After arriving at Cornerstone Festival, my friend and I set it up and began our week of camping and concerts. Six days later, when it came time to pack it back up and leave, this shelter canopy was still standing and we had had absolutely no problems with it -- it did exactly as it was supposed to do. It is of quality construction and materials. Now, there wasn't much wind during that week and no rain at all, so unfortunately, I can't comment on how it would stand up in those conditions, but I still would have to say that this is a great product, and a real bargain at $150. If need be in the future, I will definitely buy this canopy again. It definitely lives up to the reputation for quality and dependability Coleman has built over the years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 7 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

GREAT PRODUCT!!!!

06/06/2010
By ,
vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we recently had a party and it down poured off and on all day, there were three other tents as well as ours which didn't fair out as well as this tent. It held up to the weather and the water never collected in it making pockets of water. I am very impressed with the simplicity and design of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy
06/06/2010
By ,
big flats ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this Coleman Max Canopy this last weekend. We had heavy rain and high winds. This product held up like a champ. Our food was protected and bugs stayed out. I would definately recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Review 9 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Better Than Expected

06/24/2009
By ,
Greenfield Center, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this I immediately put it up to check it out and was very pleasantly surprised that it was so big. I couldn't believe how much room there was and I especially like the roll doors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 10 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

wonderful product

06/29/2009
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prompt delivery; easy assembly thanks to folding metal frame; just what we needed in our yard and on our campsite; like adding an outdoor room to the house; love the individual screen walls that can be put up or down independently and the sun wall for adding coolness and shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Not worth the price

05/06/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought one for an upcoming event. Set it up in my yard to make sure everything was ready and it ripped. The top itself is paper thin and rips when you stretch it over the frame. VERY disapointed..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 12 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Just what i wanted!

06/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product simply to have some shade in my very sunny backyard for my kids and i to play and picnic. My husband put it up by himself, no problems. It is sturdy with the stakes and guylines in place and is providing great shelter from sun as well as the rain! We are very happy with this and although i am not a camping person, this is ideal for backyard use. I really love the sun shield part as i can move it easily anywhere on the canopy as the sun moves throughout the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

What We Expected

08/04/2009
By ,
Pekin, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We expected that this product would be of good quality because it was a Coleman brand. We were surprized to see that it was even better than expected. It is heavy though, about 60lbs. My wife and I put it up in about 15 mins. It's made of very good material, and is rain proof. It will lift in the wind though. The legs are large and strong, as opposed to some we've seen. This is the best of the best we've seen in this price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Dependable Coleman Name

05/12/2010
By ,
JAARS, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Canopy comes in a square case cover with handles on both ends and one end has wheels which makes it easy to move this 50 lb. tent around!
Goes up very easily. Air vent at top helps control heat and canopy's lighter color helps repell sun but also provides shade.
Definitely need to stake it down. Back fly acted as a sail when wind picked up.
Very happy with this canopy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 15 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy
07/10/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great canopy. Easier wtih two people to put up but could be done. You only need one to take it down. I would buy this again without a question. I wish Coleman would offer extra sunscreen part. That piece was great when your camping neighbors are really close.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

I had one And

01/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one and I loved this thing, Ends up now I cant find one anywhere, If anyone see one of these instock in Ohio Please post and let me know, they are a great deal! Ps, I am looking for the Walmart price or lower
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

love the all-in-one

08/25/2010
By ,
Waupun, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shelter goes up quickly and looks very nice. I especially love that it comes with the accessory pannels. You don't have to find and purchase them separately AND they fit in the storage bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 18 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Works Great

06/03/2010
By ,
Ravensdale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The canopy will be used at Farmer's Markets when we're showing our alpaca products. It was a requirement of the market so we weren't too picky about the product itself just that it would set up quickly and easily. Coleman is a good product name and this is a good product. It lives up to the reviews we read and the description. We have only put it up a couple of times to try it out and it went up easily and looks nice up. It did take some practice and the hardest part was actually getting all the pieces to fit back into the bag once we had put it together. We haven't used it yet but will use it 2-3 time each month once the markets start.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Completely Satisfied

04/27/2010
By ,
Paradise, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roomy, sturdy, and aesthetically pleasing. Set up does require two people, and a bit of getting used to. We did a "dry-run" to learn how to properly erect the canopy and install the screen walls. We recommend that you do the same. It would have been a frustrating experience to arrive at the campground, tired after a long drive, and try to set the shelter for the first time. Once you get the hang of it, it's a snap, just take your time.
Once up it didn't even need to be staked down. Nice and sturdy. It was even better than we had hoped, and such a relief to have a safe, roomy, and comfortable haven from the clouds of mosquitoes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Coleman Max 10' x 10' Instant Shelter Canopy

Coleman 10' X 10' Cabana

08/11/2009
By ,
Vero Beach, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This turned out to be a whole lot better than expected from the picture(s) online.
Pay attention to the directions and this is extremely easy to set up.
Very sturdy and tight. Fits perfect around the hot-tub.
Wish I had this prior to buying a different 10' X 12', we would have bought two of these instead.
We have not experienced any storms or hard winds, yet, so I cannot relate how well it handles those situations.
I will buy another and I do recommend this to anyone seeking an affordable and well constructed 10' X 10' Cabana, Shelter, Canopy or whatever you may call it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next