Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Starter Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Starter Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

These Men's Compression Shorts by Starter will give you a stylish look that features the latest technology to give you all the comfort you need. These Dri-Star Shorts feature wicking that helps keep you fresh and clean. These Starter Men's Shorts also feature a Star-Fit compression layer and elastic waistband to give you lasting support.
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%30 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Starter Men's Compression Short

01/05/2010
By ,
Bay Area, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Compared to most of my other compression shorts the material is thinner and even more non-absorbant. Best suited for hotter weather. Some of the stitching has already come undone on one pair at the waist after a few uses. They don't fit as well as I would like, the crotch seems to sit a little low. Not bad for $10, but you get what you pay for here, I give it an average rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 2 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Great Compression Shorts

11/02/2009
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love these shorts so much I bought five pair. While I would like the material to be slightly heavier, these do the trick and will likely be a bit cooler than heavier weight material.
Benefits:
Keeps "everything" in place
Keeps your thighs from chaffing
Provides a bit of warmth and support in the upper thigh and hips.
Overall, great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

They go the distance...

01/06/2010
By ,
Burnsville, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value in these light-weight compression shorts. Started using them 6 months ago for marathon training and had great races including two marathons last year. Happy the way they have held up through repeated wear and laundering. You can pay twice as much and you won't get any more value. I have a 35" waist and use the size L.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 4 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Love these!

08/04/2009
By ,
Japan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves these. They are just a little longer on the leg than others he has purchased and he likes that. A great product and you can't bet the price! Highly recommend it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 5 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

They rip easily

06/25/2010
By ,
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered these shorts a size higher for comfort. And good thing I did, they were still a tight fit.
After a week of jogging, the rear end seams started to unravel. They're poorly made. And for the low price, I couldn't bother with the headache of returning them. There are no Walmart's in SF and I'd probably spend more in gas driving to a Walmart just to return a $10 item :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Dri-Star shorts

06/14/2010
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought them the other day and i love them great for basketball and football. Or any sport really. Vey confertable. I would recomend these to all of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

very helpful for cancer servivor

11/29/2010
By ,
Lake Arthur,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have been incontent since prostrate cancer and have found these to be very helpful in holding pads up.Can not find underwear to hold on to my body as tight as these do."Starter" should advertise these as"For Cancer Patients". Underwear with 15 per cent Spandex are hard to find.
WALMART should have all their stores keep these in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

These are WAY better than my UnderArmour ones!

08/25/2010
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm female, size 6-8, and I bought size small in the GRAY color six months ago. I wear them 4 times a week and have washed and dried them 20 times (no fabric softener, no dryer sheets). They fit better than my UnderArmour and other expensive compression shorts! They wick sweat away like mad, and the wide waistband prevents rolling when I stoop down and jump up during vigorous exercise. These are the best shorts I have ever owned...in fact I'm online buying 3 more right after I post this. I'm sticking with the gray color, since the black color had stitching problems (see other reviews).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

First time to try product.

11/01/2010
By ,
Ammon, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wearing jockey shorts for several years, but Wal-Mart ran out of them. In looking on line I saw these compression shorts and in doing some online research, thought I try out one pair. For the price, their worth every penny. They took less than 10 seconds to become comfortable with them and their fit was exactly what I need in the comfort zone. They give me great movement and keep everything in place. No more chaffing! Although I miss the obvious opening in the front, they are worth it. Went back and bought 5 pairs more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Be Careful

04/11/2010
By ,
Tupelo, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 pair of these, one black and one grey. After 4-6 washings, the grey's are ok, but the blacks are coming unraveled at seams. Another review said same thing. BUT, they are a good fit, do the job fine, and are at lest 1/2 price of others I have found. Until changes are made, don't expect much out of the black one, but they grey ones are fine, probably ok on the whites. I would not recomend the blacks right now. I will order the other ones again soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 11 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Great Value

06/07/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I play 5 baseball games a week, sometimes 6, and I like to wear compression shorts under my uniform. I only had a few pair and needed more in order to not do laundry 3 times a week but did not want to spend $25-30 on brands like Nike and Under Armour like my other pairs. I ordered 4 of these shorts and an really impressed with them. They are snug and fit great and the quality is just as good at more expensive brands. I definitely recommend these to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Great Value- Great for everyday!

01/02/2011
By ,
Belvidere, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These compression shorts are really perfect for all uses. For $10- they can't be beat. That is at least 75% less then you would pay for Nike or Under Armour. They fit well and do the job. I have been wearing them since February for working out and recently decided to make them my everyday boxer brief. They provide great security and support for all activities. I highly suggest them. They wash well too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Awesome product for the price.

11/09/2010
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is a college basketball referee and I searched to replace his compression shorts. But on line they cost any where from $25 and up. We're on a budget so to find them at $9.99 a pair was amazing. Plus they are the Starter brand. For basically the price of one or maybe two of the other brands I was able to buy 4. They fit well. Wash great. Thanks WalMart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Poorly Made

06/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wore these shorts twice and after the first time bottom of the legs came unstiched and are fraying. After second use groin area is coming unstitched now as well. Would've been better off saving my money and buying underarmor ones or a brand that won't fall apart after two uses. Worse part can't find contact info for Starter to let them know about the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 15 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Good Product

07/15/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of sketchy in buying this brand because I bought the compression pants and after two washes the seams were becoming undone. However, these shorts have not giving me that problem and I have washed them three times now. These are great for when I go cross country running and give really good support.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Gets the job done.

02/24/2010
By ,
NW TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great wicking underwear. I wear them hiking, camping and motorcycle riding. No chaffing, great support, oustanding job wicking moisture. Quick drying also. Cost one third of those name-brand performance under wear. I would have given it full five stars, but not quite as "silky" as those $30 pairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Excellent alternative to Under Armour

12/29/2010
By ,
Kent, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wrote a review on the Starter Compression shirts and this is just an addition as I wear both compression shirts and shorts from Starter. Excellent quality for the price (10 bucks!) If you get 1 year out of these you have already come out ahead!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

great for the price

02/08/2010
By ,
westchester, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my boyfriend wears these everyday to work in construction. he loves them, he says the only difference is this material is slightly thinner. you can pay twice as much for the same product-or just get these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts

Best Bang For-The-Buck

01/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have UnderArmour, Nike, Reebook and other top name brand compression shorts. But for the money, these Starter compression shorts are nearly as good at only one-third the price. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Starter - Men's Dri-Star Compression Shorts
10/25/2010
By ,
Shelby, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for the price. They fit perfectly and are comfortable all around. these are my first pair of any compression shorts and i love them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next