Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for John Deere John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

John Deere John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

The John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On is the perfect riding vehicle for little farm hands and field workers. This authentic John Deere HPX is an authentic-looking tractor car for kids that's great for putting around the driveway, backyard or cul-de-sac. Little drivers will love hauling everything from outdoor toys to gardening tools in this battery-powered ride-on toy's huge working dump bed with opening tailgate. The 3-position SmartPedal accelerator provides a smooth ride, automatic brakes and increased riding time, the 2-speed shifter with reverse allows them to drive at 2.5 or 4.5 mph on grass, dirt or hard surfaces, and helps bring home the realistic car play — they'll feel like they're really shifting. Parents will appreciate the adjustable seats and 2nd gear lockout that prevents beginners from going too fast. 12volt rechargeable high-capacity battery and charger included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%192 out of 214reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

So much fun!

08/11/2009
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our sons 3rd birthday and he absolutely loves it. I runs very well on grass with small hills and gravel as well. Even wet grass is no problem. The battery last a long time (to long sometimes lol) and it seems to be very sturdy. Our son has used it every day for over a month with no problems and it only took him a few minutes to figure out how to drive it, even in reverse. The only problem is that our 18 month old will not ride with our 3 yr old because it is very hard for him to hold on and not fall out when 3 yr old turns. The seat seems slippery. It probably doesn't help that 3yr old is a wild driver lol.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Great Gator !

12/27/2009
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 daughters ( 4 years old and 19 months old), love this toy. They just received the gator for Christmas. My 4 year old got on and immediately drove it with no problems in slow, so we put it in fast. The gator seems to be going really fast, but she does well with it. My 19 month old looks like she's holding on for dear life, but giggling the whole time. They both really love the gator ! The only things that I can think to improve this toy might be a seat belt and a wider seat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Great little Gator for kids.

11/19/2011
By ,
Dallas, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our 2 yr. old grandson. It did take some time to assemble, but he loves it and was able to get on and drive it almost instantly. He's already helping Daddy with outside chores.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

5 yr old's knees is at dashboard.

01/05/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My grandson got this for Christmas & it was put together right. The seat is as far back as possible.
His knees are bent up to the dash board & no room to adjust his legs. He is small for 5 (43lbs. 46ins). The product says it goes up to a 7yr old. I can't see how that can be since he barley fits in. Anyone have any suggestions??
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 5 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

He LOVES it!

11/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our Grandson's 3rd birthday. He has had it over 8 months. We could not be happier with it. He has used it almost everyday, he even drove it last March in the snow. He uses it to haul his tools to the backyard, gets water and then drives to the front of the house to water the flowers, he "drives" his friends home. It still looks brand new and is in perfect condition. Of course he is forever wiping it down and cleaning it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Gator

11/19/2009
By ,
Nashville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my son's 4th birthday. I've always found product reviews helpful but never written one of my own. The Gator is awesome! I was hoping it wouldn't take forever to put together and it didn't. It only took me about an hour and if my 4 year old wasn't "helping" it may not have taken that long. Make sure you charge the battery 18hrs on the first charge. If you do that it will easily hold a charge for up to 2 hours or so after that. I also bought a back up battery too. My son loves it and drives it all over the place. He loads up baseball stuff in the back and rocks...you name it. The Gator is durable and I love that it has 2 gears. He started in low and then I moved the screw (easy) to allow him access to both gears. The second goes faster (but not too fast). The gator has been well worth our money!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

LOVE IT!!!

05/18/2010
By ,
AUSTIN,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE PURCHASED THIS FOR OUR 3 1/2 YEAR OLD SON. HE LOVES JOHN DEERE AND LOVES HIS GATOR. IT WAS A BIT PRICEY BUT TO SEE HIM RIDE IT EVERYDAY AND HAVE A BLAST ON IT, IT WAS WELL WORTH EVERY PENNY. WE LIVE IN THE COUNTRY, SO HE RIDES ON GRAVEL, YARD AND ASPHALT AND EVEN UP HIS TALLEST MTN OF DIRT!! IT GOES EVERYWHERE WITHOUT A PROBLEM. I EVEN GET MORE YARD WORK DONE AS HE HAS TO HAUL THE TRASH. THIS IS OUR SECOND PEG-PEREGO BRAND AND I WOULD CHOOSE IT OVER OTHER BRANDS, HANDS DOWN.. GREAT TOY!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Love it!

04/25/2011
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy!! The kids have a blast! That second gear really is fast...a little too fast for my inexperienced driver! ;) Very glad for that option to lock the second gear.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Not quite correct

01/23/2011
By ,
Thomasville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we purchased this for our grandchildren based on the reviews and the up to 8 years old promise of John Deere..My granddaughter is 4 she will be 5 in March and her knees press against the "dash" of the Gator. Other than the fact that I am going to return it becuase of this the Gator is awesome, good power, great time for smaller children.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Great Ride On

05/16/2012
By ,
OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 year old loves this and can easily go from one gear to the next and reverse. The battery is a little difficult to get in and out to charge, as it is in front behind the front bumper and the plastic door that holds it clicks in to little plastic holes. Worth the trouble though when i see her having a blast driving it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego
05/10/2011
By ,
Fond du Lac, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are a little vague but we muddled through and it was well worth the effort. Our almost 3yr. old grandson loves it and that's what counts.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Very pleased a year later

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this gator for our girls (age 1 and 3) last Christmas and it has been a big hit. The girls (now 2 and 4) ride it all the time and have a blast. It has plenty of room, speed, and power. It does spin a little when there is no weight in the bed but this hasn't been a huge issue. We actually get a great workout keeping up with them riding around the neighborhood. Battery stays charged a rediculously long time and we have had no mechanical problems with it. We chose this over the Barbee Jeep for the girls because it is bigger and adjustable for them as they grow and are very glad we made this decision. This is actually the first product review I have ever done but we have been so impressed with this product I felt like it might help someone make a good decision for their kids this Christmas. Its a little pricey, but you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+124points
Review 13 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Gator purchased Oct 2010

10/21/2010
By ,
High Point, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for daughter's 7 yr old b-day. Overall, strong quality and she loves the car. Pros: can handle terrain, somewhat fast in 2nd gear (could keep in 1st gear to keep slower;even has a child proof lock you can screw in to keep in 1st gear.She loves the bed-puts her stuffed animals in and gives them a ride. Cons:Be very aware of your kids leg size as I beleive in about a year she will out grow this car and she is very petite, battery life should be revamped for about an hour longer(now can go about 2 hrs);Also, directions on installation are 'pictures only'- NO words and can be very confusing- I would Highly recommend having the store put it together..one good thing about this car compared to others is the doors are cut open so it makes for more leg room..we looked at others but those with doors are very confined for very smaller children & finally the price is high but after reviewing all other cars we felt the extra money was worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 14 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

THE BEST

04/24/2011
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Gator for our oldest son when he was two. Now, 4.5 years later, he is still riding it along with his brother. We bought his brother, our youngest son, the F150 last year and the ole' Gator runs circles around it. We did have to put bolts in the rear wheels to help with traction (two summers ago), replaced the front tires this spring and we bought an additional battery b/c the original started to run out too quick (but it still works). All of these things are normal wear and tear b/c my two boys literally drive the wheels off of that little green machine. Also, the Ford is almost to small for my older son but the Gator still fits him comfortably. The Gator is awesome. I wouldnt suggest anything else and wish I had bought another one instead of the Ford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 15 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Very strong ride on vehicle

08/18/2009
By ,
East Providence, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My godson had this same John Deere 4 years ago and it's still going strong. The tires have worn out from all his rough playing and so we just ordered him new rear tires. I got this same John Deere for my almost 3 year old son and he loves it. He drives it like a pro. I researched a lot before getting this one but no other ride on compares to the traction and strength of this one. It took a little over a week to get it through site to store but well worth the wait and I assembled it all by myself. It only took about 1 hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 16 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Great outdoor toy!

07/08/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this online for my son third birthday. we have had the gator for a little over a month and use it almost daily.
it was easy to assemble. the battery holds the charge very well and we easily get 2-hour ride on one charge.
i also bought separately a horn for the gator and it was a great addition.
i would highly recommend this toy to anybody with enough space for nice outdoor fun and to anyone with a truck-loving toddler.
:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+195points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brookhaven, Ms.
Posted 11/09/2011
Where do I buy the horn for this ? Wal- Mart ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Great on grassy areas, rocks, rough terrain

03/18/2012
By ,
houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this! Nothing else compares..its worth the extra money esp if you don't plan on just driving it on concrete or flat surfaces. My lil guy is 4 yr 2mo and he already knows how to put it in reverse, press gas, drive, and steer. Hubby has locked in place so it won't go over 2.5mi per hour but we have set it on 4.5mi per hour and it boogies. We take ours to the schoolyard and my son runs over rocks, tall grass, water puddles, crushes pinecones and we can't wait to take it to the beach. If you have land or live in the country this is for you....it won't get stuck and peel out (like our cheap Jeep does#..it can drive over almost anything. Best part is..its very roomy and both of my boys #97 precentile) can ride in this together...does not affect speed or performance. Battery life lasts about 1-1.5 hrs so we purchased an extra one for around $60 I believe. Currently looking to add another Peg Perego ride on to our fleet for out 3yr old as he is now wanting to drive the John Deere. AWESOME ride on for little dudes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 18 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

WOW!!!

07/06/2010
By ,
Fullerton, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on a farm with not an inch of concrete to be seen; I was skeptical about buying a battery powered ride on toy because I just didn't think one could handle the rough terrin of our yard, but low and behold after reading the reviews on the Gator I went ahead and got it. I could not be more amazed my 5 and 3 year olds drive this thing all over the place over grass through mud, up and down hills through tire ruts, everywhere it just keeps going. Also with the box in back a third child can ride on it too. I am very pleased that I took a chance!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+121points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Frederick, MD
Great Ride on
Posted 02/13/2012
I purchased this truck for my son when he was 3 yo. It was great with the two spead and the lock. it has been the best purchase we ever had of a toy. He has driven the truck as hard as a boy can ride. He is now turning 5 and we are going to up grade to the next level, but he still rides this thing daily in any weather. It is great for two kids and has an awsome dump bed. Peg Prgo makes a great toy. A year ago we bought him a yamaha 4 wheeler, what a piece of junk, not even 20 hours of riding and all 4 wheels started to split and now the battery is having problems.
0points
Customer Avatar
hilliard,fl
best investment in a toy ever!
Posted 12/11/2011
We bought this toy for our oldest daughter for her first Christmas (she was almost one) she learned to steer and drive herself around within the next 6 months and this toy has held up for that child who is now almost six and the two that followed. It has been driven over concrete, grass, asphalt, dirt ..you name it. it holds a charge for a good amount of time, especially compared to other toys we and other family have owned. It does take a child a little time to figure out how to change directions from forward to reverse, but we have had 2 and 3 yr olds driving themselves around like pros. I am 5'1 and 107 lbs and have been able to sit on the toy with only a little discomfort and drive a small child who refuses to steer but wants to be driven around the yard and it holds up under that stress well also. This toy has lasted over five years for us and is still in pretty good shape, I wouldn't recommend any other toy ever purchased as highly as this toy. Worth every penny.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Your child WONT fit!! If he is more than 42" tall!

01/05/2011
By ,
Farmerville, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really cool truck and the kids will love it....IF they can fit in it!! My son is a 4-yr-old large little boy. He's 80lbs and is 48" tall. This truck looks really big in the box and it is a larger version of the riding trucks. My son fell in love with it when he saw it and helped put all the stickers on it (1 hour+).
HOWEVER, if you don't want your child to be extremely disappointed then make sure his knees can fit into the very small leg compartment where the accelerator pedal is. Also, if he/she has any size to them, they will "crowd" the shifter so much, they won't be able to go forwards and backwards easily which should be a part of the fun driving this toy.
So, when you purchase it, don't go by the age of your child, (which they say an 8+ can fit in), go by your child's size.
It seems like an awesome toy! But the experience of a Christmas or birthday morning ruined by the letdown of not fitting into this awesome looking vehicle is not an experience you will want again.
Unlike clothes, they don't make the XXL toys for larger size kids. We're gonna spend a little more and give the Peg Perego Polaris Twin Ride-On. Yes, it's bigger, but at least when he grows even a little, it'll still fit him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Review 20 for John Deere Gator HPX Ride-On by Peg Perego

Son still rides this after 5 years!

11/17/2009
By ,
bay city mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has had this for 5 years. We got it for him when he was 3 and he still rides it at 8 years old! I can say though that after about 2 or 3 years the battery stopped holding a good charge. Now he can only ride a few minutes before it starts dying. Still it is a great toy. It is a bit pricey though. I think it should be about $200. When we bought it it was almost $400. I see the price has come down a bit but I still think it should be even less. He has gotten a lot of use out of it though. We live in Michigan though so it only gets used in the summer. In the summer he rides it almost every day though. Get this and your kid will love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+14points
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next