Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cobra Digital Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Cobra Digital Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

The Cobra CPI 880 800-Watt Power Inverter converts battery power to 120 volts AC. You can power your laptop, cell phone chargers, CD and DVD players, TV sets, and other household appliances with this USB output inverter. You don't have to worry about the safety of your devices as this power inverter offers protection from current overload, short circuit, low voltage, and over heating. This Cobra power inverter comes with direct battery-to-battery cables.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%31 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Great Product except for one thing!

06/27/2009
By ,
Des Allemands, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This power inverter by Cobra is awsome it provided enough power to run my daughter's Playstation, and a dvd player with monitor. The Cobra 800watt inverter never got hot and let me tell you she had it on playing the entire drive which was about 900miles striaght!! this product has alot of good features its a turn on and forget system it will automaticaly turn off if too hot or overload etc!! It even lets you know when your battery is low with an alarm! There's one thing that made me mad! I was about to go on my trip and realized that it dont come with the car cigarette lighter plug!! If you read the discription it says cigarette lighter plug!! Very confusing cuz when u get it it only has a direct connect aligator clips to a D/C battery! When I re-read the discription theres the word "included" next to the direct connect cables words, but not next the the words cigarette lighter plug! so why even include it in the darn discription!!!???, But no worries dont let this stop you from getting the Cobra 800watt cuz all you have to do is go down to your local Radio Shack and buy a cigarette lighter plug with bare wires for under 10bucks!, and hook it up to the back of the Cobra 800 with its convenient screw connections! and wala its a winner works great. I've shopped around for a good inverter that's not expensive and comes with a lot of power and for the bang for buck the Cobra 800watt from wal-mart.com was the best deal!! there's others out there way more expensive with no where near the power of this Cobra 800watt! This unit is so versitile I read where a guy used it to power his shed with solar power and wind turbines hooked to it!! how awsome is that! well good luck hope this helped you make a decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Not for use inside a car

10/12/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sorry for the weird review. I'm sure this product works well, but I was looking for something that would work INSIDE my car, ideally through the cigarette plug. It doesn't and I didn't get that description. Save your negative comments. I'm sure it was my fault. So I'm returning this one and switching it out for the 400 watt which does have the cigarette plug. I hope this helps others.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Very good !!

07/04/2012
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed it to run a mobile public-address audio system for a procession with professional Mackie equipment. I knew that the power requirement will be met very well by this inverter, but I had a concern that this being a modified sine wave (as opposed to real sine wave) inverter, it might introduce too much harmonics into the audio equipment that would result in a loud hum.
However, when I used it, there was no hum. I guess it was also due to the good quality of the audio equipment itself.
The only reason I don't give it a 5-star is that I would have liked to see some features like reverse-polarity protection, LCD display with battery voltage etc., current power draw etc., but I would really give it a 4 1/2 star if that was possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Beware

06/21/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
People using this need to beware, there is no plug for the Cigerette lighter, BECAUSE, it draws too much current for that ( unless you are charging a cell phone) a laptop draws about 2.5 amps current, this inverter can put out 3.5 amps, trouble is you need to hook it up to your battery directly with 8 gauge or lower ( thicker wire ). I have 8 gauge hooked to a battery and try running a 600 watt, 4 cup coffee maker and the inverter sings, I had to start my van in order to calm it down.
so if you plan on running a coffee maker, toaster, appliances with alot of current draw, save your money and buy a 2000 watt inverter. This one handles laptop and cell phone chargers easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Just what the doctor needed

08/09/2009
By ,
Los Banos, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is being used in a 25 ft. Motor home and with 2 deep cycle batteries, I can run my TV, DVD player, vacuum cleaner, fan, coffee pot and computer all at the same time. I only have to turn on my generator for about 40 minutes every other day (to recharge my batteries) or when I want to use my microwave oven (1400 watts). This is the right product for the right price. Happy RVing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Works very well for my needs.

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live for the most part, off the grid, and this inverter works very well for my needs. I have not tried a CORBA inverter before and I don't know how long it will last, I am going to find out and I will let you know. I can run a inverter up to 12-16hrs, a day 7 days a week and I can go through them kind of quick, soooooo I will let you know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

02/22/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this. It's so quiet. I had a 600 watt one that I loaned to a friend and he ruined it. So I knew what I wanted. This one is more quiet than the 600 and it fits under the seat of my car. I use it to run my laptop while on the road. My only thing about this one is it didn't come with the connectors to run off my Cigarette lighter plug but I just use the one from my other inverter. Kind of strange because in the description it says it comes with one butt it lies :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Efficient Unit

07/05/2010
By ,
Hawaii County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In low wattage use, this unit is very efficient.
I have only used this unit for about a month to run my internet modem, wifi hub, and laptop.
The unit has been connected to a ham radio power source that shows wattage powered by a bank of 160 amp hour ni-cad cells. The ni-cad cells vary to about 31 volts, but the power source steps the voltage down to a constant 13.5 volts.
The three loads run at about 50 watts, including the inverter. The plugs on the loads are rated to a total of about 50 watts, so the inverter load is very low. It also runs silently at this load level. The unit's cooling fan doesn't need to run at all.
We'll see about the durability of the unit over time, but so far it has enabled me to keep my internet connection on all night and deserves a thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

excellent product

05/23/2012
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The inverter shipped very fast, I did not expect it to arrive as soon as it has arrived. It works flawlessly. I am using it to run my DVD and CD players from battery for audiophile purposes. The sound improves tremendously compared to using the wall AC outlet. This is not a figment of the imagination: the tray opens faster, the CD loads faster, the CD LEDs shine brighter. Also tested the TV set: it works and the colors are stunning yet the motion is fuzzier compared to wall AC. However, do not run your tube amp from it, the HV transformers do not like the modified sine wave, and they will buzz like crazy. Will make you will think your amp is mechanically broken. (Although it will not harm the amp.)
Overall, five stars. And yes - this inverter ships to Hawaii! I had to try checking out the cart with 4 different inverters until I found one that ships here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Will be good for most applications.

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appears well made and complete with everything necessary for a quick and easy set-up. Only drawback is that it is not rated to run at the full 800 watts for any lenght of time. If you need a full 800 watts for an extended period of time, like a long car trip, get a larger capacity Inverter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

It works. Good on inductive loads (motors, drills)

11/16/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works where others fail. Inductive loads seem to be a problem for a lot of inverters, but not for this one. It does what it has to do, at a reasonable price. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Another source of backup power

05/25/2011
By ,
Port Clinton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't plan on using the inverter very often. However, if I am on generator power and gas is getting low this will be nice to recharge some items from my truck. Think in terms of a multi-layered approach in an emergency.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Great product at a reasonable price!

09/16/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, Calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This inverter does everything that I want it to do. During football season, we like to attend our home team's games with a few "extras". This inverter allows me to run a 26" flat screen t.v. off of a small battery pack, and then a deep cycle battery for a total of about 6 hours of tailgating! I've also run a small (12"or so) fan from this inverter at the same time as the t.v.! While alot of others are choking on the fumes of their generators, we get compliments about "going green" and it's mostly because of this little workhorse! The cooling fan is very quiet and it's very easy to use. I've also used it when camping, and think there will be many other uses for it in the future. If you are looking for an inexpensive, dependable inverter, this is the one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Misleading product information

07/11/2010
By ,
Phoenix,AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Walmart product information specifically states that this unit comes with a "Cigarette lighter plug"............ It does NOT !!!! nor is one available as an additionional accessory. This was the main reason I bought this unit...I was led to believe that the unit came with a "Cigarette lighter plug" AND direct-to-battery cables.
The unit is good, however Walmart should correct their mistake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Good value

12/31/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with others that the lack of attachment to the lighter outlet will reduce my use. I intend on determining how best to run a cable inside my truck cab for access to the power outlet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

It is just what I expected.

04/01/2014
By ,
New Orleans, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It serves every need i have (power wise). You need to consider what you want an inverter to do when choosing one. I also have a 400 watt one hooked up in my truck for day to day use. This 800wt one is for emergencys really. I live in New Orleans, hurricain season is coming and I want to be ready.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter
02/17/2013
By ,
Canton GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This inverter works very well and as expected. The only thing that I would have liked to be different was it only came with cables that would not allow you to permanently install the inverter in your vehicle. A quick trip to Home Depot and I had the wire and connectors to install in my truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Exactly what I needed..

01/28/2013
By ,
Port Charlotte, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what was expected to run my small air compressor, lights, and tools as needed when working on my boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

This product over makes an annoying sound

07/11/2010
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only had ran this product for a few minutes and it made a high pitch sound which is really annoying because it doesnt go away and i dont know what the cause if this is because the only thing i am powering on is my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 800-Watt Power Inverter

Great Inverter EXCEPT

01/09/2013
By ,
El Reno, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great inverter, EXCEPT it does not include the cigarette lighter plug as described. I realize that if you are using a device that pulls much more than 300 watts it would not work, but the description stated Cigarette lighter plug......
Description:
Cobra CPI 880 800-Watt Power Inverter:
800 watts continuous/1600 watts surge
Cigarette lighter plug
Direct to battery cable included
USB output
Dual AC outlet
Pentagon protection
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next