Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

The Cobra Power Inverter provides power to household appliances on the go — making it a handy accessory for your car. The 400-Watt Inverter converts battery power to 120 V AC household power, giving you the freedom to charge up office equipment or personal items in your vehicle. The USB Inverter is ideal for powering an iPod, Blackberry, mobile phones, laptops, DVD players and cell phone chargers — just to name a few. The Cobra Power Inverter comes equipped with a cigarette lighter plug, a USB output and direct-to-battery cables for easy set-up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%94 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 173 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Used for Alienware Laptop by Truck Driver

06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this while away from home. I attached this to the battery system (not the cigarette lighter plug) and use it to power my Alienware laptop (160 watts) for hours at a time. Seems louder than my 300 watt, but works well. Most truck stops sell for $40, so the walmart price is a much better deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Works better than advertised

08/31/2010
By ,
Pahrump, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many different inverters and the Cobras just work. And work well.
I really like this one as the fan is not loud nor does it run on really light loads.
This unit also has a REAL on and off switch, not a soft button. (The soft button trips off and fails to start if anything is plugged in. At least in many of the soft button inverters I've used)
Believe me, if you know what I'm talking about I'm sure you agree.
Anyway, I'm about to order a couple more of these for the RV and the other cars in the household. Really good for Laptop power supplies and such.
No matter what brand, you don't want to pull 400 watts through your cigarette type power plug but for light duty it will be fine. For heavy duty use you need a solid connection to the battery and this unit comes with both. Lighter socket plug AND the direct to battery clamps.
I highly recommend this if you need a good solid performer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Cobra 400 Watt Power Inverter

12/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this inverter to run a power hungry gaming computer in my car that required 180W. This unit carried the load without any alarms. I then ran the battery down so that it had to charge the battery while running the computer and it still took the load. During this time the cooling fan never kicked on. I'm sure that the cooling fan might cycle in the summer when conditions are warmer.
My only problem with the unit was the way the lighter plug on the inverter fit my power outlet. My outlet is on the shallow side and the inverter plug is on the long side. I couldn't put the inverter plug in far enough to make good contact with the negative contacts on the side of the inverter plug. To make a good connection I used a two way outlet splitter that I have. This splitter had deeper sockets to receive the inverter plug and every thing worked fine when connected in this manner..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

First Choice

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another quality item from the electronic people at Cobra. Compact which makes it easy to store away. Easy no fuss use and powerful enough for my laptop and printer. I use this item on the road daily to print off paperwork needed to complete my job. I recommend Cobra as a first choice
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Power to spare

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work well. I like the usb port to charge my cell phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Poor quality product

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As soon I received this power inverter, I performed a couple of test on it. The first was a physical check of the case, the cables, and clamps, the second was the voltage on the A/C outlets. It gave only 101 volts . My old power inverter always gave closest to 115 volts. In my opinion this means that this product gives a poor performance... I returned it to Wal-Mart store next day!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

So far, so good!!

03/12/2014
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this inverter for almost 2 months and it seems to work pretty good. I only used it to charge my laptop, hair trimmers, shaver and cell phone all at the same time sometimes, but so far it seems to work pretty well.
I wasn't too sure about the fan coming on and off for just a few seconds at a time, but I see that's just how it is designed. The fan will stay on longer when needed. You also can't beat the price! $25! come on!!
I reserve the 5th star only because you never know what mite happen later, plus I read other reviews about defective units. Four stars so far! If it lasts me a very long while, then this unit will get five stars!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Perfect for a road trip

06/14/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked great for plugging in a laptop and several chargers for gameboy/mp3/etc. Only needed the built in power port cords, no need to go straight to the battery posts for that kind of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Emergency Hurricane Power

06/20/2014
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these 400 watt inverters for emergency 115 volt AC electricity in the event of a storm related power failure. One of the inverters worked perfectly, generated 112 volts, and successfully powered my 40" LCD Flat Screen TV, satellite box, and a CFL light with no problem. I tested this set up (225 watts) for 1 hour 15 minutes and there was no issues with the inverter fan running quietly and the inverter remaining cool. I had this hooked up to my vehicle via jumper cables directly to the battery without the engine running. After this time period my car started up with no problems. You must hook up this inverter directly to your car battery for any loads heavier than 100 watts and not use the cigarette lighter plug which will only blow fuses. Both the direct wire and cigarette lighter cables are included. This is a modified sine wave inverter which means it is not going to power any induction motor related equipment regardless of wattage. I tested the second inverter exactly like the first and it generated only 107 volts (below rating) and my TV had horizontal line interference continually. I returned this defective second inverter to my local store with no problem and ordered a new inverter as a replacement. Assuming the new inverter arrives and works perfectly, I plan on hooking it up to my second car so both inverters can be used during emergencies. This is an easy to use device, a good source of emergency electricity, and is suitable for anyone that does not want to fool around with power generators and gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Compact and great quality

04/01/2014
By ,
Athens, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small inverter in my RV.
The Cobra 400W filled the bill nicely.
I like the two types of power cards included.
If you are looking for an inverter do you homework and buy the size you need.
There is a lot of information on the web.
Cobra has great prices and a good reputation for a company that has been
around for many years.
Walmart.com makes shopping easy and with free delivery to the store,
it is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Piece of Junk

12/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for 2 minutes tops.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Outstanding value

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It can be connected directly to the battery and mounted permanently under the hood. It pumped up a queen sized air mattress in minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Christmas Magic

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years of watching our evening Christmas Electric Light Parade, and seeing participants with only part of their lights working, or worse yet...none...I was a little nervous when I purchased this power inverter to run all my Christmas Lights for this same parade.
I was not only able to light everything without a generator, it was a SO much cheaper with the price being $26.65. The free in-store delivery was an added bonus.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

BARGAIN

10/18/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used this a few times, but so far I LOVE it. It is a SUPER value (and a shame they don't sell them in the store; the one they had was only 200W and cost TWICE as much!?).
I've used it in the car to power my laptop; AND I hooked it right to the battery and MADE PASTA. I used a rice cooker since the electric teapot I had was 1000W (the rice cooker was only 300W); but it still only took 30 minutes, and didn't drain my car battery. Speaking of which...
...that's one of the great features of this unit. It has one alarm that warns you when your battery is getting too low, so you can shut it off. Then, if you don't, it has another alarm that warns when you've gone too far, and if you STILL don't turn it off, it turns ITSELF off! Last night I watched a DVD on my laptop - it lasted a little over an hour, and then the first alarm went off. Since the movie wasn't over, all I had to do was turn the engine on; and I only had to keep it on for about 10 minutes before the battery was recharged enough for me to finish my movie with the engine off!
Anyway, as I said, I've only had it for a little while, but if it keeps working the way it does (and I think it will - it has a fan to help keep it from overheating, which should extend its life), this will be one of my all-time favorite devices. And one of the best values, too!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Good for the price

04/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When measured with a voltmeter, it was only measuring around 95vac, but upon further reading it appears that non RMS devices can't measure a modified sine wave inverter accurately and are usually 5-15v off. This would put it right in line with the 5%+- of the rated 120v. All in all, it seems like a decent little inverter. It is relatively quiet, even with the fan. For my first test, I plugged in a radio and a 150w lamp and it handled the load just fine. I couldn't even notice the running if it was even on. For $25 it's a pretty good deal. My only complaint is that no mounting hardware is included, and the cutouts on the inverter to stick screws in are right under the bottom edge of the inverter, so it is impossible to use a screwdriver to tighten screws. I just wound up using Velcro to mount it in my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

connection problem

12/28/2010
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this in order to run my laptop computer in the car. It is much lower cost than buying a laptop car adapter - and it is more versatile for other uses.
It is nice that it comes with both a cigarette adapter and alligator clips for direct connection to a car battery. With the car adapter one shouldn't exceed around 100 watts because of the risk of blowing the car's fuse for the cigarette lighter.
I find this device works - but that the cigarette plug just doesn't want to stay put properly in my car. I have no problems at all with other devices' cigarette plug - like cell phone and GPS.
So the cigarette plug that comes with this device is useless - I am constantly playing with it to keep the device powered on. I'm going to need to cut the cigarette plug off, and buy another cigarette adapter (somewhere) and solder/connect the wires.
It's a shame that such a good device is brought down by a badly designed cigarette plug.
Howard
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Cobra Inverter

09/08/2010
By ,
Silver Springs, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used it to run a computer last weekend on a long trip, and it worked just like its supposed to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

This is a winner

03/05/2011
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First tests went up to 4-1/2 hours off a partially charged old car battery with a 75 watt load. The unit is quiet and never got warm to the touch during that time. Low voltage alarm went off as expected. Should be able to keep a small TV and small light going going during a power failure through the worst of a storm to get local news and weather. That's the primary intended use. Exceeds expectations for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

cobra lives up to it's name

03/26/2014
By ,
cullman,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good inverter,can plug it into lighter,or connect to battery,works well with computer,and has a usb plugin also,use it to run my portable oxygen concentrator,price is excellant
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter
01/03/2013
By ,
barstow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this cobra inverter at a truck stop my old inverter died I did not want to wait 1-2 weeks for it and I am glad I did get this when I did my whole house is electric the power went out that same night when I was putting in supper in the micro-wave power does go out quite often here best have a solar panel set up 55watts to keep the battery charged and check the water level often! if it goes below the plates possible the battery will not work well its murder when you have a care provider that is not on your side when power goes out I been with out power one year and it was out for 3 days my care provider did not care to check on me for those days
How often do you use this product? when power goes out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next