Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

The Cobra Power Inverter provides power to household appliances on the go — making it a handy accessory for your car. The 400-Watt Inverter converts battery power to 120 V AC household power, giving you the freedom to charge up office equipment or personal items in your vehicle. The USB Inverter is ideal for powering an iPod, Blackberry, mobile phones, laptops, DVD players and cell phone chargers — just to name a few. The Cobra Power Inverter comes equipped with a cigarette lighter plug, a USB output and direct-to-battery cables for easy set-up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%88 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Used for Alienware Laptop by Truck Driver

06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this while away from home. I attached this to the battery system (not the cigarette lighter plug) and use it to power my Alienware laptop (160 watts) for hours at a time. Seems louder than my 300 watt, but works well. Most truck stops sell for $40, so the walmart price is a much better deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Works better than advertised

08/31/2010
By ,
Pahrump, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many different inverters and the Cobras just work. And work well.
I really like this one as the fan is not loud nor does it run on really light loads.
This unit also has a REAL on and off switch, not a soft button. (The soft button trips off and fails to start if anything is plugged in. At least in many of the soft button inverters I've used)
Believe me, if you know what I'm talking about I'm sure you agree.
Anyway, I'm about to order a couple more of these for the RV and the other cars in the household. Really good for Laptop power supplies and such.
No matter what brand, you don't want to pull 400 watts through your cigarette type power plug but for light duty it will be fine. For heavy duty use you need a solid connection to the battery and this unit comes with both. Lighter socket plug AND the direct to battery clamps.
I highly recommend this if you need a good solid performer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Emergency Hurricane Power

06/20/2014
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these 400 watt inverters for emergency 115 volt AC electricity in the event of a storm related power failure. One of the inverters worked perfectly, generated 112 volts, and successfully powered my 40" LCD Flat Screen TV, satellite box, and a CFL light with no problem. I tested this set up (225 watts) for 1 hour 15 minutes and there was no issues with the inverter fan running quietly and the inverter remaining cool. I had this hooked up to my vehicle via jumper cables directly to the battery without the engine running. After this time period my car started up with no problems. You must hook up this inverter directly to your car battery for any loads heavier than 100 watts and not use the cigarette lighter plug which will only blow fuses. Both the direct wire and cigarette lighter cables are included. This is a modified sine wave inverter which means it is not going to power any induction motor related equipment regardless of wattage. I tested the second inverter exactly like the first and it generated only 107 volts (below rating) and my TV had horizontal line interference continually. I returned this defective second inverter to my local store with no problem and ordered a new inverter as a replacement. Assuming the new inverter arrives and works perfectly, I plan on hooking it up to my second car so both inverters can be used during emergencies. This is an easy to use device, a good source of emergency electricity, and is suitable for anyone that does not want to fool around with power generators and gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Outstanding value

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It can be connected directly to the battery and mounted permanently under the hood. It pumped up a queen sized air mattress in minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Tested it ---- all functions work OK.

09/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Didn't use it much at all. But it is a good back up / emergency device to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Good

09/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works good on low votige over heats easly
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Great Product....but

07/29/2014
By ,
College
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The instructions say you should try to keep it cool and dry. It should also be free of excessive dust and dirt.
And then they send you direct to battery cables that are two feet long!! That leaves you no choice but to install the unit under the hood someplace! Now, where are you going to find a place under the hood that is cool and dry? Also, it will suck in all the dust and dirt there. Plus, you would have to use and extension cord of some kind?
It is a great little unit except for the battery cables supplied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Good for the price

04/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When measured with a voltmeter, it was only measuring around 95vac, but upon further reading it appears that non RMS devices can't measure a modified sine wave inverter accurately and are usually 5-15v off. This would put it right in line with the 5%+- of the rated 120v. All in all, it seems like a decent little inverter. It is relatively quiet, even with the fan. For my first test, I plugged in a radio and a 150w lamp and it handled the load just fine. I couldn't even notice the running if it was even on. For $25 it's a pretty good deal. My only complaint is that no mounting hardware is included, and the cutouts on the inverter to stick screws in are right under the bottom edge of the inverter, so it is impossible to use a screwdriver to tighten screws. I just wound up using Velcro to mount it in my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Good Product Works But Not with Cig Lighter Plug

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this product based on the review here at the Walmart.com website. Other products similar to this item had too many negative reviews.
The item arrived for pick up on time. When I tried to use it with the supplied cigarette lighter adapter on my 2004 Nissan Altima, it popped out repeatedly.
It was too long. Fortunately it came with leads to connect it to the battery. This worked like a charm.
I used it to power my Bose SoundDeck and my 75w woofer for about 5 hours with no problem.
That was the plus side of this experience, once connected to my battery there was no problem. I would recommend this to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Compact and great quality

04/01/2014
By ,
Athens, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small inverter in my RV.
The Cobra 400W filled the bill nicely.
I like the two types of power cards included.
If you are looking for an inverter do you homework and buy the size you need.
There is a lot of information on the web.
Cobra has great prices and a good reputation for a company that has been
around for many years.
Walmart.com makes shopping easy and with free delivery to the store,
it is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

So far, so good!!

03/12/2014
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this inverter for almost 2 months and it seems to work pretty good. I only used it to charge my laptop, hair trimmers, shaver and cell phone all at the same time sometimes, but so far it seems to work pretty well.
I wasn't too sure about the fan coming on and off for just a few seconds at a time, but I see that's just how it is designed. The fan will stay on longer when needed. You also can't beat the price! $25! come on!!
I reserve the 5th star only because you never know what mite happen later, plus I read other reviews about defective units. Four stars so far! If it lasts me a very long while, then this unit will get five stars!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Depends On What You Need It For

08/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought I was buying a 400 watt inverter. Only when you read the instruction manual do you find out that it is 200 watts for each of the two receptacles, but only 150 watts each if you don't hook is up directly to a battery. For me, the 400 watt inverter was only a 150 watt inverter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

didn't meet my needs

08/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
even though it says that it will support 400watts, anything over 150watts has to be connected directly to the car battery to work properly. it was very quiet, to bad it didn't support my 300watt bottle warmer inside my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Great Product. Works well.

07/08/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is not a better deal out there for this type of thing.
Perfect for running a full size computer and 32 inch screen in the truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Perfect for a road trip

06/14/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked great for plugging in a laptop and several chargers for gameboy/mp3/etc. Only needed the built in power port cords, no need to go straight to the battery posts for that kind of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

cobra lives up to it's name

03/26/2014
By ,
cullman,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good inverter,can plug it into lighter,or connect to battery,works well with computer,and has a usb plugin also,use it to run my portable oxygen concentrator,price is excellant
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Reasonable price and output

03/26/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this to keep a crock pot on "warm" while transporting long distance. I felt the car adapter cable was a bit short but it's reasonable for most uses. The unit is a reasonable price and performed as expected. Be sure to note that you can only pull about 100W through your lighter adapter. Otherwise you will have to use the clamps for the battery which means you can't drive anywhere. It would be nice if these kinds of devices came with cabling to attach easily to the vehicle fuse box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Great product and value for less than the rest!

05/18/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep in the work van as we sometimes bring in a laptop for invoicing and long road trips. It works flawlessly. The fan only kicks in when needed and is never on more than a few seconds at a time for my use. It may run more with a larger load. The included battery cables are great for outdoors/camping fanatics who may need a little power here and there. The unit is fairly small and as such can be tucked out of the way. I only recommend the fan not be blocked when running.
The price point is fantastic. For the similar 25-30 dollar price range I only found 75-150 watt inverters. The 400 watt cannot be found for anywhere near this price anywhere else. As usual, the site to store shipping was very fast.
I am very pleased with this product and would recommend it to a friend or buy another one if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Works for light loads like watching TV

07/12/2014
By ,
Littleton, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works for light loads like watching TV and the computer. I also had the computer going with no problem. My only problem is the fan keeps coming on at full speed and then shutting of, on and off... which can be annoying when you're trying to sit back and watch TV. I even turned everything off and the fan cycled on and off. Also the footprint is different than the older style so I had to use additional holes to mount it.
Otherwise it did work well and is a good buy for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Affordable and does the job

03/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it into the cigarette lighter and turned it on. It started blinking and built in alarm sounded. I think it wasn;t plugged in all the way. I pushed it in all the way and the alarm turned off the green light stayed lit. Took it for a 10 hour ride and it worked without issues. We had a cell phone, IPOD and Nintendo DS plugged in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next