Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

COBRA Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

The Cobra Power Inverter provides power to household appliances on the go — making it a handy accessory for your car. The 400-Watt Inverter converts battery power to 120 V AC household power, giving you the freedom to charge up office equipment or personal items in your vehicle. The USB Inverter is ideal for powering an iPod, Blackberry, mobile phones, laptops, DVD players and cell phone chargers — just to name a few. The Cobra Power Inverter comes equipped with a cigarette lighter plug, a USB output and direct-to-battery cables for easy set-up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%77 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 149 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Used for Alienware Laptop by Truck Driver

06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this while away from home. I attached this to the battery system (not the cigarette lighter plug) and use it to power my Alienware laptop (160 watts) for hours at a time. Seems louder than my 300 watt, but works well. Most truck stops sell for $40, so the walmart price is a much better deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Compact and great quality

04/01/2014
By ,
Athens, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small inverter in my RV.
The Cobra 400W filled the bill nicely.
I like the two types of power cards included.
If you are looking for an inverter do you homework and buy the size you need.
There is a lot of information on the web.
Cobra has great prices and a good reputation for a company that has been
around for many years.
Walmart.com makes shopping easy and with free delivery to the store,
it is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Works better than advertised

08/31/2010
By ,
Pahrump, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many different inverters and the Cobras just work. And work well.
I really like this one as the fan is not loud nor does it run on really light loads.
This unit also has a REAL on and off switch, not a soft button. (The soft button trips off and fails to start if anything is plugged in. At least in many of the soft button inverters I've used)
Believe me, if you know what I'm talking about I'm sure you agree.
Anyway, I'm about to order a couple more of these for the RV and the other cars in the household. Really good for Laptop power supplies and such.
No matter what brand, you don't want to pull 400 watts through your cigarette type power plug but for light duty it will be fine. For heavy duty use you need a solid connection to the battery and this unit comes with both. Lighter socket plug AND the direct to battery clamps.
I highly recommend this if you need a good solid performer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Affordable and does the job

03/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it into the cigarette lighter and turned it on. It started blinking and built in alarm sounded. I think it wasn;t plugged in all the way. I pushed it in all the way and the alarm turned off the green light stayed lit. Took it for a 10 hour ride and it worked without issues. We had a cell phone, IPOD and Nintendo DS plugged in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

So far, so good!!

03/12/2014
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this inverter for almost 2 months and it seems to work pretty good. I only used it to charge my laptop, hair trimmers, shaver and cell phone all at the same time sometimes, but so far it seems to work pretty well.
I wasn't too sure about the fan coming on and off for just a few seconds at a time, but I see that's just how it is designed. The fan will stay on longer when needed. You also can't beat the price! $25! come on!!
I reserve the 5th star only because you never know what mite happen later, plus I read other reviews about defective units. Four stars so far! If it lasts me a very long while, then this unit will get five stars!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

cobra lives up to it's name

03/26/2014
By ,
cullman,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good inverter,can plug it into lighter,or connect to battery,works well with computer,and has a usb plugin also,use it to run my portable oxygen concentrator,price is excellant
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Reasonable price and output

03/26/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this to keep a crock pot on "warm" while transporting long distance. I felt the car adapter cable was a bit short but it's reasonable for most uses. The unit is a reasonable price and performed as expected. Be sure to note that you can only pull about 100W through your lighter adapter. Otherwise you will have to use the clamps for the battery which means you can't drive anywhere. It would be nice if these kinds of devices came with cabling to attach easily to the vehicle fuse box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Use AC powered items in your vehicle at low cost.

03/16/2014
By ,
Niceville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for small appliances in vehicle or camper when AC power is otherwise unavailable. Can't beat the price for an inverter of this size. Comes with both cigar lighter plug and battery clips. I also use it to measure ampere-hour capacity of deep cycle batteries by using sufficient incandescent lamps to produce the rated 12 Volt battery current load (with an ammeter inserted in 12 Volt positive input lead to the inverter) and measuring the elapsed time from start until the low battery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

It does the job

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially like the fact that I can plug it directly into my cigarette lighter as opposed to having to attach it directly to the battery. It powers up the devices I intended and thus far it has operated as indicated without any problems. Its a good unit at a good price. I wish I had gotten this earlier, but my concern was it wouldn't power the devices I needed it to. With that said I would recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

excellent product

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it as part of my solar powered boom box/generator and it was perfect and the price was reasonable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Perfect for a road trip

06/14/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked great for plugging in a laptop and several chargers for gameboy/mp3/etc. Only needed the built in power port cords, no need to go straight to the battery posts for that kind of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

great price. great capacity

03/05/2014
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been looking for a power converter but they are so expensive and very low in capacity. This is a great value buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Compact size and sturdy construction- short cable-

03/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet operation- gets the job done ! It charges the batteries that run my Oxigen generator when I travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

connection problem

12/28/2010
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this in order to run my laptop computer in the car. It is much lower cost than buying a laptop car adapter - and it is more versatile for other uses.
It is nice that it comes with both a cigarette adapter and alligator clips for direct connection to a car battery. With the car adapter one shouldn't exceed around 100 watts because of the risk of blowing the car's fuse for the cigarette lighter.
I find this device works - but that the cigarette plug just doesn't want to stay put properly in my car. I have no problems at all with other devices' cigarette plug - like cell phone and GPS.
So the cigarette plug that comes with this device is useless - I am constantly playing with it to keep the device powered on. I'm going to need to cut the cigarette plug off, and buy another cigarette adapter (somewhere) and solder/connect the wires.
It's a shame that such a good device is brought down by a badly designed cigarette plug.
Howard
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Great product

02/05/2014
By ,
Dearborn Heights, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great inverter in a compact package. fits my needs perfectly. as a trucker looking to save money on a high power inverter, it fits nicely for me
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Seems very well made. Fan only runs when loaded.

09/29/2013
By ,
Waverly,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother-in-law used it from the car lighter (which had the 20amp fuse; the other lighter socket was only 10 amp fused) to power her nebulizer for 15 minutes. Neither the unit or the wire were warm after this 15 minutes of use - 180 watts
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

2 outlets plus USB makes it worth it

01/24/2014
By ,
Phx, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this unit is rated at it's runtime usage wattage with a higher spike wattage (800 watts?)... other units I looked at were labeled with their spike wattage, and their steady usage wattage was 1/2 what was on the label.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter
03/09/2010
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the Price, it does what it does without a problem. Powers up Laptop with a problem and the other stuff for road trips. Works Great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter
01/03/2013
By ,
barstow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this cobra inverter at a truck stop my old inverter died I did not want to wait 1-2 weeks for it and I am glad I did get this when I did my whole house is electric the power went out that same night when I was putting in supper in the micro-wave power does go out quite often here best have a solar panel set up 55watts to keep the battery charged and check the water level often! if it goes below the plates possible the battery will not work well its murder when you have a care provider that is not on your side when power goes out I been with out power one year and it was out for 3 days my care provider did not care to check on me for those days
How often do you use this product? when power goes out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 400-Watt Power Inverter

Cobra Inverter

09/08/2010
By ,
Silver Springs, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used it to run a computer last weekend on a long trip, and it worked just like its supposed to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next