Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Audiovox Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Audiovox Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

The TERK Passive HDTV UHF VHF Indoor Antenna is designed to receive all HDTV channels. This antenna provides a wide operating bandwidth covering UHF and VHF frequency ranges. The TERK HDTV antenna supplies a quality picture using highly directional UHF elements that prevent unwanted reflected signals from interfering with your reception. The indoor UHF VHF antenna can be mounted either horizontally or vertically. This high-gain HDTV antenna is easy to install.
Average Customer Rating:
3.694 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation69%25 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

this antenna really works

11/09/2009
By ,
Columbia MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live between Washington DC and Baltimore MD. The TV transmission towers for the two cities are 180 degrees apart. This highly directional antenna picks up all stations from both cities.
Before purchasing the Terk HDTVi, I tried a bunch of other vhf/uhf antennas including a discontinued, ampified Radio Shack 1000 and a homemade four-bowtie for which several online videos have how-to instructions. The Terk HDTVi works better than any of them with our dtv converter box. Unlike the others, we can even keep the Terk on the floor at ground level!
It has a uniquely designed UHF antenna. Strangely, its typical VHF dipoles work better than other antennas as well.
The downside to this antenna is that the base is not very stable. We stabilized ours by placing it in an open, shallow 4"x7" plastic container that rotates easily. Terk customer service suggested attaching velcro to the base as an alternative.
The Terk HDTVa is an amplified version of the same basic design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

It's really great.

07/28/2009
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I reviewed the rates of this product, I got really confused because some rated 5 and some rated 1 or 2. When I purchased and installed (took only 10 secs) it to my HD TV, wow it's just perfect.
I live in a suburb of Cleveland, OH. My son told me that Cleveland suburb is fine, but big city such as Philly where my daughter actually uses this product might encounter some interference.
Anyhow Cleveland suburb doesn't have any problem at all. It's great! My son told me that even wire works, but I never tried it. I strongly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 3 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

GREAT ANTENNA

12/20/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does the trick. It's a no frills antenna but it picks up channels better than the old antennas I've used. My only complaint is that the base isn't heavy enough to support it but other than that, it's an excellent value ... in my opinion, this has got to be one of the best passive antennas on the market and for the price, it's an outstanding value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

need to know

06/30/2009
By ,
aurora ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For indoors at tv site, you dont need an amplifier. amplifiers are for when you split the antenna signal to several tvs, which weakens the signal strength. Signal to noise ratio has the noise in the tv receiver, not outside noise. an untuned antenna amplifier may have more noise than the tuned tv reciever, and can worsen the signal to noise ratio.
An antenna has gain, or amplification from its directionality. The more directional, the more gain it has. TheTerk log periodic antenna type has a wide bandwidth, that is it receives signals at all frequencies in its frequency range with about the same gain. I was looking for these features when I was deciding which antenna to get. plus it has the dipole for the vhf channels. One thing you have to realize is that since this is a somewhat directional antenna, when you go into the tv setup mode, if you are pointing the antenna in a direction where there are no stations, you wont receive any, or may receive just a few. If you are in the middle of a city, and the tv antennas of the stations are surrounding you say some distance away, you may just receive a few of the many signals in the setup mode. and your receiver would skip the rest. You would have to manually set up the channels you want to receive, and when you are tuned to that channel, you may have no signal, you may then have to point the antenna at the station (rotate it until you do get a good signal). If you are say twenty miles from a city, you may just be able to point the antenna in the direction of the city, and on setup the tv will pick up most of the tv channels in the city, because they will all be roughly in the same direction.
The person who had a problem with the TERK antenna may have experienced two things. The radio stations werent all in the same direction as noted above, and the setup ignored the stations that werent in the direction the antenna was pointed. a second problem is in installing the antenna element into the stand. Theres a sticker on it that says if you can see the red line, the element isnt forced in far enough. I pushed the element in fairly hard, was a little afraid to push harder. and could see the red line. Then I did push harder, and the element snapped into place, the red line wasnt visible, and the antenna performance improved considerably.
I live about 20 miles from Cleveland. We can refer to channels. say channel 3, 5, 8, 19, 25 etc. and to subchannels for example chanel 25 has several subchannels, 25-1, 25-2, 25-2, etc. I make the distinction because the digital tv adapter during setup refers to the total number of subchannels received. Usually if you can receive one of the subchannels of a station, you can receive them all, so another issue of interest is how many different channels you can receive.
With the Terk antenna, I received channels (and their subchannels) 3, 5, 8, 17, 19, 23, 25, 43, 49, 55, 61. with their subchannels, the setup info noted that i was receiving 27 channels (with the subchannels). Before I had pushed the antenna element into the base properly, I was receiving 17 channels with the subchannels). These 27 channels were with the antenna pointed in one direction, I didnt have to rotate it, it wasnt set up high, it was sitting on top of the television. I could have done a custom setup, located every station in the area, set the digital adapter to all of those stations, and at each station rotated the antenna to try to pick up the station. Didnt do that, I was recieving all of the stations I wanted to and then some.
With the old style loop/dipole antenna, instead of the 11 channels listed above (27 with the subchannels), which were all received strongly with the Terk I received 6 channels, one with considerable breaking up of the picture and sound, so 5, and two with occasional breaup of picture and sound, so perhaps effectively 4 channels, so about 1/3 of the channels I was getting with the Terk. And the pictures with the loop/dipole were hazy, washed out, didnt have much contrast, probably because of a low signal to noise ratio.
At first I was a bit disappointed, with the TERK it was better than the dipole/loop, but not as good as I'd expected. But when I pushed the antenna element all the way into the base, I thought the performance was very good, and the construction is good. Terk is apparently a division of Audiovox, which produces quality items.
The only reason I didnt give 5 stars on features is because the base is a bit narrow, and so its a bit tippy, but as noted, in my use of it, I have it pointed in one direction, dont have to move it, and that may not be a problem, and if it is, it would be easy to make a wider plywood base that isnt tippy.
Apologize for the length ,but none of the 4-5 sales people I spoke to had a knowledge of antenna basics. All of them were pushing amplified antennas, which have no advantage as noted above for a tv top antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+215points
Review 5 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Great Antenna for the buck!

11/02/2011
By ,
Aurora, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this one and the 'Terk Amplified Indoor HDTV/UHF/VHFAntenna', the price difference was about $30. I connected both and tested them each. I noticed they both performed the same, did not get any extra channels on the Amplied versus the regular Terk Antenna (except for more spanish channels).
I live in Denver, CO. and was using a MutiDirectional HD antenna since that's what was recommended per where I live. Since all of our HD attenna's are west sitting on top of Lookout Mnt, I decided to purchase a this directional one instead. It works great! All channels are clear and don't need to point it out through my window, I just point it in the direction of the antenna's through my wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna
01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this in the basement and it picks up stations that I could not pick up with my old antenna. I am glad that I purchased this antenna because it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna
02/22/2012
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit performed better than the amplified antenna. The quality of reception is excellent and easy to hookup and assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Best indoor antenna i ever got

03/03/2012
By ,
Pawtucket RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for my new tv and is getting 24-25 channels and coming in clear in picture and sound. Love it enjoying tv again. I was only getting 2 channels before was not enjoying tv at all.
Ordered it on line and it came fast. So glad we have Walmart , thanks again Walmart.
Thanks ,
Christmas Carol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

A little step up from old rabbit ears.

07/04/2009
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After the switch because a couple channels changed frequency I was unable to get them when I was getting their digital signal before. With this I was able to get them but still not as good as before. It is pulling in UHF channels from 40 miles away fairly good but has some trouble with a VHF channel from 23 miles away because of the poor way digital signals travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Decent reception

09/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We live a rural area about 60 miles from the local transmission towers. We have tried just about every type of antenna available and this seems to provide the best reception. We are still not able to receive the lower channels like 5.1 & 5.2, but it is a lot better than everything else we tried. Every household's situation is different when trying to get reception with the new digital transmission but I would definitely say give this antenna a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 11 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Receives More Stations Than Expected

01/03/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Deratio storm on July 29, 2012. It toppled trees and knocked out power for over a week. I found out that the government "STUPIDLY" took away the audio of TV broadcasts from emergency and shortwave radios. We soon went and bought a Philps Portable Digital TV model PVD900. We wanted to see local news and weather during power outages. The TV is good but pulling in signals was very awful. We received only 3 and they did not have local news broadcasts. We bought the Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna. In now pulls in 15+ stations. It is a bit unstable standing up so we are careful when we are around it as to not knock it over. Also, you have to turn it in the direction of the broadcast signal to get good reception (we downloaded a map of digital signals near our home). We tried other antennas before this one with poor results. A plus about this antenna is that this one is the only one that received signals in the basement when we have to go down there for tornado warnings. I highly recommend Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

HDTV antenna works like a charm

08/20/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this antenna looks like something that would communicate to extraterrestrials it works like a charm for receiving the major HD channels and a handful of others. Others mentioned the unbalanced nature of it but I haven't had any issues with it tipping over. Once I pointed it towards the direction of the towers, scanned for the channels and played with the ears the channels came in crystal clear. Returning the cable DVRs and canceling cable was so liberating. This HDTV antenna paired with a streaming device worked out great for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Great value for home at competitve price!

07/13/2012
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For in-home mounting near your LCD TV; works great within the 10-20 radius of most urban digital TV stations. May vary by the city you are in, but you should try it anyway. When aiming it,
turn the antenna unit slowly and hold, wait for the digital signal to train, if it doesn't show the station, move it a few degrees and hold. You will find the postions as you turn thru 360 degrees, if needed.
The big outdoor digital units are $150-$300 and get you reception when you live outside the 20-30 Mile radius of a network of digital urban stations. For example, in the Boston market I get 17 digital stations for free with this nice $29.00 unit. Note: Some stations will drop out on rainy days but that is normal behavior for this digital wave. When the rain passes you will get the station back!
S Kelley
Digital Electronic Design Engineer, Emeritus
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

An excellent product

07/07/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first, I was wary that I would not know where to face this antenna to get a good picture, but then as I set it to the most convenient location that I have near my TV set, it was perfect. I got all good pictures on every channel without interruptions. All praise to the manufacturer of this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna
01/31/2012
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product works as designed. The only issue I have with the Terk Passive HDTV Indoor Antenna is when it rains out side the signal is not very good. Otherwise, 4 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Poor Product

08/17/2009
By ,
grand rapids mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product thinking that is was the best.Actually it was the worst.I connected it to my converter box and was able to recieve only 5 stations compared to placing a coat hanger in the back my converter box and recieving 15 stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Horrible

06/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This antenna is horrible!! I only recieved 4 channels and two of them were the same channel. its huge and ugly. it doesnt fit anywhere. i wouldnt recogmend this to anyone and i returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna
12/11/2011
By ,
Lakewood, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately, the reception using this Terk Antenna was no better than the plain rabbit ears I had been using; therefore, I returned it to the store. I tried the 'antenna locator' via the web; this also does not work - it showed my location at least forty miles from where I actually reside. Also, via the web, learned the included manual is out of date.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Not great for my rural area.

07/23/2012
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can only speak to personal experience. We could not use this antenna. Too far from the station towers, in a valley surrounded by trees. Ended up with an outdoor antenna. Also, it does tip over easily, is very bulky and ugly. Just my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 20 for Terk Passive HDTV/UHF/VHF Indoor Antenna

Bulky and Useless

09/25/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this after reading the positive reviews. However I have nothing positive to say about it. Its big, bulky, ugly, and I only get one channel, which appears choppy as well. Would return if I could.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next