Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for keurig Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

keurig Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

The Keurig Elite B40 Single Cup Coffee Maker is every busy coffee lover's dream come true. Featuring two serving sizes — 7.25-ounces and 9.25-ounces — the Keurig B40 Elite has more options with less fuss. Plus, this convenient single cup coffee maker has a removable 48-ounce reservoir, giving you hot water on deck at all times. It's perfect for those mornings when you're in a hurry. The Keurig Elite B40 features Keurig's signature single button brewing, descale indicator light, plastic drip tray and an optional auto-off feature. Simply pop in a single-serve K-Cup of your favorite blend, choose your size, and brew. This versatile home brewing system provides a fast and easy cup with no mess and no fuss. The Keurig Elite B40 Single Cup Coffee Maker includes a 12 count K-Cup variety pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.555 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1532 Reviews) 1371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,141
4 stars
262
3 stars
38
2 stars
20
1 star
71
Customer Recommendation94%1,442 out of 1,532reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,141
4 stars
262
3 stars
38
2 stars
20
1 star
71
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Died after 2 weeks

01/23/2010
By ,
Springfield, VT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this from WalMart site to store. I got it home last week and followed the directions for unpacking, cleaning and brewing like its says. I used it for 3 days and it wont stay on. I called Keurig and spoke to a rep and they told me to push the auto off feature. I did and it worked for the rest of the day with no problems, got up early the next morning because the coffee was calling my name. I looked at it and the power light was on but nothing else, I lifted the lid like it says and the power light went out. I pushed it and it came back on but nothing worked, i lifted the lid again and it died, Now after 3 days of trying to get help from Kuerig I'm returning it to Wal Mart, thankfully they have good customer service skills....Kuerig...not so much
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ny
Keurig ELite B40
Posted 01/02/2012
bought mine on 12/28 ,had to return it on 1/1 for the same problem!!! very disappointed . now iam afraid to buy another one! hope everyone else has better luck than me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Pumps stop working after several months.

11/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have gone through 3 of these B40 models. They work great for the first months, but then the water pumps break. The first one lasted 3 months, I was able to exchange it at Wal-Mart for another identical model, and that one broke down after 2 months. The third one lasted longer, 6 months and had the same problems with that one as the first 2. Water pumps stop working. They stop despensing coffee, or only despense a small amount of coffee. I gave up on Keurig and ended up buying Hamilton Beach Brewstation instead. Maybe the more expensive models of Keurig last longer, but I did not want to take another chance with Keurig.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Worst Product

09/01/2009
By ,
Roanoke, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am totally dissatisfied with this coffee maker. The product line is too expensive, the coffee is never hot enough, it sounds horrible when it refills the reservoir.
For the amount of money spent the coffee should be very hot, taste excellent and not bitter, and there should be a greater variety held by stores that sell this product.
I would not recommend this product to anyone, I am taking mine back and getting a real coffee maker. I usually drink between 3 to 6 cups per day, I know good coffee, and you cannot get this with this product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-36points
Review 4 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

awful cup of coffee

05/12/2012
By ,
maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just treated myself for Mothers Day. This makes the absolute worse cup of coffee. My co-workers recommended it highly but they show up for work every day with a cup from DD -- that should have been my first clue. It is similar to the coffee I make with the small filter that sits on top of the cup and that is only acceptable when you are carrying a backpack up a mountain.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Unhelpful review...
Posted 05/31/2012
I read reviews to help me decide on purchases because I live on a fixed (and limited) income. I especially look to the low rating reviews for information about an items shortcomings. Your review of this coffee maker, however, is completely unhelpful.
You state that it "makes the worse cup of coffee." What was it about the coffee that made it 'the worst?' Was it too weak? Too strong? Too hot? Too cold? Did it have grounds floating in it? Was it the choice of coffee that you disliked, or something the machine did?
Please remember that your reviews are supposed to help others, not just be a place to vent. As it stands, I'd give your review one star, too.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Break. Break. Break.

08/13/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awesome machine. Seems solid and well-built. I've been using Keurig for about 5 years now. Loved it. But now I'm done. After buying two of them now, I find that spending over $120 on a coffee machine that's gonna break within 2 years should be considered illegal. Your brewer will get to the point where every now and then (but much too often) you will press the brew button, it will make the usual noise, but then just sit there. Wait another minute and it *might* decide to start brewing. Then you'll get like half the amount you're supposed to get. Unplug it, bang it, whatever you do, try to hit the brew button again (even after unplugging/replugging), then it works fine, and you get twice as much now, overfilling any cup you had under there. Then it works fine for the next few cups again (it's not clogged or anything, so I don't get it). So, get it, it's great. You're probably much luckier than I am. But I'm giving it ONE star because I've spent almost $300 on these machines when I should have only had to pay for ONE. The odds of me getting two which only work for 1-2 years is too much for me to accept.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYC
Good v. Bad Experiences
Posted 09/29/2013
My friends and family own these machines. Those of us who use purified water (or filtered or bottled) have had absolutely no problems. My current one is the OLD model that's now three, four years old. We've actually had discussions about this. Those that use the tap water in our group think it's a simple coincidence that theirs break. Can't convince 'em.
I am looking to upgrade simply because I WANT a new one. I certainly don't need one.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

So Disappointing

01/21/2013
By ,
LBI, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everyone seems to have one of these sitting on their counter so I figured why not me.
Pros: Convenient
Looks Good
Cons: Coffee is cold
Coffee is weak
Coffee is EXPENSIVE
Purchased the refillable KCup and it leaks every time you use it creating a mess.
The bad well outweighs the good here and I am returning it tomorrow. If I wanted cold coffee I would drink iced coffee. I don't drink weak watery coffee. After 1 weeks use with K cups alone, we spent $26! That's insane. The second week we used the refillable kcup and had a leaky mess on the counter every time we used it.
I'll stick with my 2 year old Kitchen Aid...thankfully we didn't throw it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

VERY LITTLE FOR A WHOLE LOT OF $

12/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Keurig seemed like a dream come true at first...until the coffeemaker became possessed. It would not brew or it would brew only a few drops even though a large cup was selected. I called the hotline and they told me to descale it. I already had and I did that frequently. I only used filtered water but they would not permit me to send it back. Every time they told me to descale it until, big surprise my warranty ran out. Sure I should've been a bigger jerk but it was obvious the problem was with the electronics. Don't waste your money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

perfect coffeepot. i love it.

11/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My granddaughter & husband use it too make hot chocolate. i do like it because you can make 1 cup of coffee at a time and not waste a whole pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-25points
Review 9 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Horrible product

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit has been in service for about 2 months. It was cleaned regularly even though it never signaled to descale. About a week ago it started vibrating excessively. Then it refused to send the water through the k-cup, instead returning water to the holding tank. Now it actually manages to make a cup of coffee about every 1 out of 7 tries. The brands of k-cup are not good. Coffee tastes horrible. I much prefer the taste of regular drip coffee, which by the way cost 10x less than k-cup on a per cup basis. Performance of the machine is poor, k-cups are not good, so this product is universally dismal. I would go for Tassimo as they have much better brands (i.e. Starbucks and other European brands).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 10 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I owned two of these coffee makers in the space of 6 months both stopped working. One after 2 months one after 4 months,both stopped making full cups of coffee and one then stopped even putting out water at all. I used only filtered water so it wasn't a scaling problem like customer service likes to say. It is a nice idea but for the price it is made very poorly. The k-cups also taste horrible like cheap coffee. I hear Tassimo is a much better product (which also carries Starbucks). My Mr. coffee lasted 7 years and it cost $20. I would not buy this coffee maker again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Watery coffee. Consider Tassimo.

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
*I have a Tassimo given as a gift a few years ago & it makes coffee comparable to Starbucks and Flavia. I love the African Kitamu straight up and also love espressos-coffees that are really stong with full body.
*I bought the Keurig Special Edition that came with the 18 variety pack of coffees. I tried all the decafs (watery, lukewarm). The hot chocolate-watery-no flavor.
*Keeping an open mind, I tried the "bold" coffees in the AM as small cups-separately then combined. Nothing helped. All were watery, bland. The problem seems to be at the end of the brew cycle. I watched it make a tiny 5oz cup-looked strong in the beginning but then dumps brown-colored water at the end.
*Like making a good cup of coffee then adding a handful of ice on top and letting it melt.
*I may try a French press but for now is back to the Tassimo and back to the store where I bought it.
If you like a quality cup of coffee this is NOT the machine for you. If you like to overpay for your coffee for a low quality coffee this might be just the thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 12 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Not a fan...

03/23/2010
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not a fan. It's a cute toy, but I'll take regular brewed. The quality is poor and unsatisfactory compared to other single-serve brands I have tried. The Keurig, while remaining "on demand" needs new pods for every cup, which cost more $$$. If you calculate cost per cup, this is a much more expensive alternative for a low quality tasting coffee. The "large" size is my idea of a normal cup size, not "large". Using the "large" size setting gives me a watery tasting cup no matter if I use a dark roast or not.
Sorry not for me. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

DISAPPOINTING

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product worked for approximately six weeks; then it stopped working. On top of that I am not a fan of the coffee itself. The quality is below what I would expect for an expensive cup of coffee. The machine breaks down after a few weeks. VERY DISAPPOINTING...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Horrible product for 130 bucks

03/16/2014
By ,
Rimersburg,Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not recommend this product because i only had it 2 weeks and it won't work right already
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Worst coffee machine on the market

02/09/2013
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Me and my brother got Keurig's for Christmas and his works great but mine doesnt brew hot and the average cup size is about 4 drinks its so horrible and the thing is huge its hard to find a spot where it fits. I would be happier with a regular coffee pot at a fourth of the price. I hope to return this and get my money back. Dont waste your money on this machine!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

junky

11/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheaply made; thin plastic;cup cradlel won't hold; using disposable k-cup slow and makes mess
had earlier one which had more quality
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

gift

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it was fast easy and great will do it again
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Great machine!

09/30/2013
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my 2nd Keurig. I use it 1-2 times a day so this is a replacement for one I had for about 4 yrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

love

12/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love this Keurig! It comes with 6 free k-cups!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Keurig K40 DOESN'T WORK

12/08/2013
By ,
Regina SK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one on sale and it produced two cups of coffee before pooping out. So, I took it back and got another that produced not a single cup of coffee. What's with Keurig???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  69 Next