Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for keurig Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

keurig Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

The Keurig Elite B40 Single Cup Coffee Maker is every busy coffee lover's dream come true. Featuring two serving sizes — 7.25-ounces and 9.25-ounces — the Keurig B40 Elite has more options with less fuss. Plus, this convenient single cup coffee maker has a removable 48-ounce reservoir, giving you hot water on deck at all times. It's perfect for those mornings when you're in a hurry. The Keurig Elite B40 features Keurig's signature single button brewing, descale indicator light, plastic drip tray and an optional auto-off feature. Simply pop in a single-serve K-Cup of your favorite blend, choose your size, and brew. This versatile home brewing system provides a fast and easy cup with no mess and no fuss. The Keurig Elite B40 Single Cup Coffee Maker includes a 12 count K-Cup variety pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1180 Reviews) 1019
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
866
4 stars
219
3 stars
31
2 stars
16
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation94%1,111 out of 1,180reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 329 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
866
4 stars
219
3 stars
31
2 stars
16
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Horrible product

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit has been in service for about 2 months. It was cleaned regularly even though it never signaled to descale. About a week ago it started vibrating excessively. Then it refused to send the water through the k-cup, instead returning water to the holding tank. Now it actually manages to make a cup of coffee about every 1 out of 7 tries. The brands of k-cup are not good. Coffee tastes horrible. I much prefer the taste of regular drip coffee, which by the way cost 10x less than k-cup on a per cup basis. Performance of the machine is poor, k-cups are not good, so this product is universally dismal. I would go for Tassimo as they have much better brands (i.e. Starbucks and other European brands).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Watery coffee. Consider Tassimo.

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
*I have a Tassimo given as a gift a few years ago & it makes coffee comparable to Starbucks and Flavia. I love the African Kitamu straight up and also love espressos-coffees that are really stong with full body.
*I bought the Keurig Special Edition that came with the 18 variety pack of coffees. I tried all the decafs (watery, lukewarm). The hot chocolate-watery-no flavor.
*Keeping an open mind, I tried the "bold" coffees in the AM as small cups-separately then combined. Nothing helped. All were watery, bland. The problem seems to be at the end of the brew cycle. I watched it make a tiny 5oz cup-looked strong in the beginning but then dumps brown-colored water at the end.
*Like making a good cup of coffee then adding a handful of ice on top and letting it melt.
*I may try a French press but for now is back to the Tassimo and back to the store where I bought it.
If you like a quality cup of coffee this is NOT the machine for you. If you like to overpay for your coffee for a low quality coffee this might be just the thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Not a fan...

03/23/2010
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not a fan. It's a cute toy, but I'll take regular brewed. The quality is poor and unsatisfactory compared to other single-serve brands I have tried. The Keurig, while remaining "on demand" needs new pods for every cup, which cost more $$$. If you calculate cost per cup, this is a much more expensive alternative for a low quality tasting coffee. The "large" size is my idea of a normal cup size, not "large". Using the "large" size setting gives me a watery tasting cup no matter if I use a dark roast or not.
Sorry not for me. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

DISAPPOINTING

03/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product worked for approximately six weeks; then it stopped working. On top of that I am not a fan of the coffee itself. The quality is below what I would expect for an expensive cup of coffee. The machine breaks down after a few weeks. VERY DISAPPOINTING...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

piece of junk

12/21/2010
By ,
greenville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so dissapointed in this! it quit after 5 cups of coffee, it never filled more than the medium size of coffee. for the price, i am so unhappy. I will not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Waste of money!

06/12/2011
By ,
Hampton Roads, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Keurig model 6 months ago and I have had to call the "HELP" line twice due to the coffee maker's inibility to function! The first time I did what the owner's booklet said to do after two months of owning it, and it corrected the problem. (Apparently there was a clog.) One month later the same thing happened! I called the toll-free # and they told me to do the same things I did the month prior. It worked for two weeks then died once again. When I returned the call to Keurig, again they told me to "follow the steps" to troubleshoot. I told them that I wanted to replace my coffee maker and exchange with one that works ALL the time. They told me that they like to troubleshoot on the phone and that many of the problems are user initiated. I will NEVER buy a Keurig and do not recommend this or any model of theirs. I will gladly go back to brewing a small pot of coffee that will taste perfect every time!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
12/26/2011
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a piece of junk. You cannot make a strong cup of coffee. Even the "strong" Kcups are only half full of coffee. All of the included Kcups are off brand with none of the majors avaliable in this form. The water only heats to a "warm" setting and does not boil. Your result is a cup of luke warm mild cup of coffee. It is not even worth the trouble to return. I thought of the Goodwill, however, I would not pawn this thing off to another coffer lover. It goes in the Garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

if you like a small cup of coffee

12/08/2011
By ,
mobile,al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was given a cup of coffee from this model machine while purchasing a mattress from a mattress store. I thought the flavor and temperature of the coffee was awesome. Sometime later, my Mr. Coffee pot died, which I did not like, and I rushed out to purchase this machine. I have to admit, the coffee temperature was right on the money and the speed of brewing was excellent. The first problem was with the two available cup sizes. My cups were either too large or too small. Another major problem was the water to coffee ratio. The coffee was weak! Then I remembered that the courtesy coffee was served in a tea size glass. The unit and the unit on the tier level above this has multiple cup settings, but the amount of coffee grounds stay the same (weak coffee). Trying to make this purchase work out, I tried brewing two cups back to back to fill my 6 oz coffee cup (brew on the smallest cup size to improve the ratio), but this became extremely expensive. So, I went and purchased the optional filter so I could use my own coffee and ground settings. Long story short, I just about spent as much money on k-cups, additional filters, and different style and various grounds of premium coffee then on the unit itself.
I returned this unit and the unit above this one for a Bunn Phase coffee pot, which produces coffee at the same temperature, 195 degree F, but with much more body and flavor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Pump Stopped

03/20/2012
By ,
Oakboro NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No longer pumps water after 1 month of use. Keurig has yet to return my phone call or send an email. There are a lot of complaints online about the pump breaking. I would not buy this product again. Still waiting for Keurig to call, but I am not holding my breath!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Bad taste

12/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have ran about 20 tanks of water and still has a bad taste. Ran Vinegar and water 1 to 1 mixture. Also lemon and water mixture. Coffee from my Mr Coffee . Nothing seems to help. You think it's gone and run strait water through and cool and it taste horrible. wasted a few pods thinking it clean but horrible. Have fought this for three days. If not better tomorrow taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Very watery & doesn't even make a full cup.

11/07/2011
By ,
Greenville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As much as I love coffee I had convinced my husband to buy me one. We had gone 11/6/11 to walmart and got one with all the what not that didn't come with it only to come home the same day to find out that it doesn't even make a full cup of coffee or a good cup of coffee. The coffee was so watery I thought maybe because it new and it needs to be broke in but no I had made 6 cups of coffee and it was all watery. As I type this my husband is on his way back to return that darn thing. I am very disappointed on just about everything about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

water primer failure

06/23/2012
By ,
Mattaponi, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is what I call a long-term owner review. Purchased this garbage on 12-15-2010. Using only filtered water, 8 months later the primer (pump) had stopped extracting water from the reservoir. Called Keurig within the one year warranty time span and they sent me a new one. 6 months later same situation. Call Keurig, they sent a new one. 2 weeks later, same thing, called, sent new. This one (4 months later) is showing signs of failure. Keurig honors their warranty, which resets every time they send a new maker, but they want you to pay S & H to send them the K-cup holder from the old unit to "prove" that the old unit is no longer in service. NO MORE!!!!!! Once the K-cups run out, this one hits the trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Pumps stop working after several months.

11/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have gone through 3 of these B40 models. They work great for the first months, but then the water pumps break. The first one lasted 3 months, I was able to exchange it at Wal-Mart for another identical model, and that one broke down after 2 months. The third one lasted longer, 6 months and had the same problems with that one as the first 2. Water pumps stop working. They stop despensing coffee, or only despense a small amount of coffee. I gave up on Keurig and ended up buying Hamilton Beach Brewstation instead. Maybe the more expensive models of Keurig last longer, but I did not want to take another chance with Keurig.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Would not brew coffee after 9 days.

10/21/2013
By ,
Arvada, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this Kuerig on 10/10/13. On 10/19/13 the maker would no longer brew any coffee. Went through all of the troubleshooting steps on the Kuerig website with no success. This was used in my home and had less than 20 cups brewed out of it. Very dissatisfied with a product that costs this much and fails so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Baltimore, MD
How come you...
Posted 11/10/2013
If you had it for only 9 days why didn't you return it to Walmart? It might be a clogged filter,
-1point
Customer Avatar
Baltimore, MD
Why???
Posted 11/06/2013
If you only bought it 9 days ago why didn't return it to Wallmart? I read alot of reviews and I have return a small Igloo to Wlamart and got the bigger one. I love, but I really want a Keurig.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Should have trusted reviews

03/15/2013
By ,
utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I LOVE this coffee but wanted to give it a shot and get my own. It stopped working in less than 90days after we got it!!!!!!!!!! we could have got another one but I didn't want to worry about when the next one will break... for something so expensive I should last.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

No longer works 1 year later

02/23/2013
By ,
NYC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved the convenience of my Keurig, but it broke 3 months after my 1 year warranty expired. After calling Keurig support 2 times and having them admit it was beyond repair, I was offered a small discount to buy a new machine! I am not in the market to buy a new Keurig brewer every 15 months and can see that they do not stand behind their own product. This machine had been regularly cleaned, descaled, and only had purified water run through it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Great machine!

09/30/2013
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my 2nd Keurig. I use it 1-2 times a day so this is a replacement for one I had for about 4 yrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

Pricey pods and not environment friendly

03/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 - Can't recycle the pods.
2 - Price per cup is absurd compared to other home brewing methods.
3 - K40 only has one (1) temp. It's a few degrees under the recommended 195-205 range.
4 - Accessory to use your own coffee is a good idea, but fails on strength. I like mild-medium strength and it's not even close.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System

Worst coffee machine on the market

02/09/2013
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Me and my brother got Keurig's for Christmas and his works great but mine doesnt brew hot and the average cup size is about 4 drinks its so horrible and the thing is huge its hard to find a spot where it fits. I would be happier with a regular coffee pot at a fourth of the price. I hope to return this and get my money back. Dont waste your money on this machine!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Keurig Elite B40 K-Cup Brewing System
This review is fromKeurig Elite K40 Single Serve Coffeemaker Brewing System.

It's great when you only want one cup of coffee.

06/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's easier to use than the coffee maker. Makes sure it has enough water in the reservoir, add your K-cup, heat water, brew, and bingo a cup of coffee in about 4 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,020 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  51 Next