Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Black & Decker Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge is great for storing snacks or drinks and works as second fridge in the garage or pantry to supplement your cold storage. This mini compact refrigerator has three-position adjustable shelves and the door holds two-liter bottles for added convenience. The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge has enhanced coolant and compressor-free cooling technology to keep perishable food fresh. Unlike other compressor-cooled units, this Portable Mini Refrigerator uses no HCFC, which makes it a low impact, earth friendly, refrigerator choice. The Black and Decker compact refrigerator maintains temperatures of 37 degrees Fahrenheit, so its a handy way to quickly cool anything that doesnt need to be frozen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%81 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Love it!

06/30/2010
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fridge for my cubicle at work and LOVE IT. It is so cute and exactly as advertised. Keeps my stuff cold, doesn't take a ton of space, and looks unique. I get compliments on it daily. Great buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Great Product

10/01/2010
By ,
Logan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fridge for college so I could keep my food separate and in my room. I have a meal plan, so this was mainly to keep small things like drinks and yogurt. It is everything I have wanted. It is quiet and it keeps my drinks really cold. I also love that it is purple and matches my room. I would definitely recommend this. I only wish it had a freezer, but I knew it didn't have one before I bought it. If you want a small fridge that is inexpensive and works great, then this is the one for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Just what i wanted!

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this fridge about a year ago. I had read alot of reviews some good and some bad. But im glad i went with my gut and bought this fridge. its cute and small but has the space to fit alot of things in it. Im a college student and i work alot so i needed something to hold drinks and snacks when i i was craming or was just to tierd to go down to the kitchen.
P.s. I am able to fit three 12 packs of soda in to this fridge:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Awsome Frig

07/18/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just feel in love , a must have, the new colors are awsome, I bought the purple, keeps everything COLD like a frig should. The only thing is it's alittle lightweight when you open the door, so a non-skid mat underneath will keep it from sliding if you put it on a table or stand. Otherwise get it while you can!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Excellent!!!!!!!

07/16/2010
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color is exactly what you see in the picture! Super cute girly light inside. Excellent for having your drinks cold! Super cute for your fahion bedroom!!! Cheap price #1 quality! Recomend it 100% :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

I love it!!

07/19/2010
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking for a small fridge for the office, I was glad to find this one. Besides the fact that I love purple it is a great value for the price. It fits our needs perfectly and the previous reviews were helpful. It is light weight so you will want to figure out a way to keep it from sliding when you open it, but because it is light weight I was able to put it up on a table and it works great because it's at a height that makes it easy to get into.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Perfect for the classroom!

07/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great color because it's different, lightweight, quiet and works very well. I can't wait to put this in my classroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

NuCool Fridge

08/05/2009
By ,
Green Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this fridge, being it didn't have the coolant and compressor and was new technology. Many reviews are not good. After seeing it had two heat sinks when looking at it in the store, and the price being $69, cheaper than many traditional styles, I thought I would give it a try. It has been in my garage, which is fairly warm in the summer. So far after a week it has been wonderful, so I will take it to the office as planned. It has a lot of space, and the drinks have been nice and cold. I say give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Love Purple?

08/23/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im a purple fan so this Fridge really attracted me. Its quite handsome in appearance and its a good name brand (black & decker) that I trust. It uses thermoelectric technology and has no compressor which is a plus. It still seems to run all the time which im hoping wont mean a huge electric increase ... i'll have to see. Other than that its very spacious and keeps the food cold. Delivery was on time. U need plenty of room to haul the box home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry
08/14/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This refrigerator is perfect! I bought it for my classroom - great size, adorable & unique color, great price and it is SO QUIET you do not even know it is running!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

not cold enough

05/13/2011
By ,
dumas, ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is very attractive in appearance but that is all the positivity that i can give this refrigerator. it is not cold at all. it keeps items cool but definitely not cold. i would not recommend this product. college kids definitely do not buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

At least it LOOKS pretty...

07/18/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I actually purchased this fridge last summer for my first year in college. As OCD as I am, I was attempting to color-coordinate the "kitchen" items. (Thus, my color was purple.) The size was great, and the color was perfect. However, the fridge did NOT cool properly, and didn't work from day one. I, like a moron, kept it the entire year anyway without getting it replaced. (Last year it was sold in limited stores; I go to school 250 miles away and wasn't able to easily replace it.) The only things I was able to keep somewhat cool were pop and juice. Milk didn't last more than a day, and forget about leftovers. Also not an ideal fridge for storing leftover delivery pizza, unless you put it in a smaller box. =) I'm sure the all the "bugs" have been removed in this year's batch, but I would err on the side of caution with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Neat little Fridge!

12/06/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the color, it's small, quiet, and keeps things cold. There is no freezer compartment, so no ice cubes, but that isn't a big deal to me. I wasn't sure how well the new technology would work (doesn't use refrigerant), but it kept drinks cold all summer, in a hot garage. No problem. It is a little fragile, however. Don't lean on the top or it may dent, but otherwise it does what it's supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

FABULOUS!

08/07/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this fridge for my purple office and it fits in beautifully. It is a great color and does it's job very well. It has been tremendously convenient. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

A fun sized purple fridge

07/10/2010
By ,
Morris, Mn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this fridge as a going away to college gift, it fit nicely in my dorm room and is very light weight, which is nice when you have to carry it up six fleights of stairs. I absolutely love the color, because it matches nicely with my bedding which I also got from walmart. I especially love that it has a space especially made for a 2 liter of coke. After a year it still works great, and I'd definately buy it again. I'd say it's a taker!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

So, so

05/18/2011
By ,
Cincinnati
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this to have in my cube under my desk because the shared office fridge was too far away and pretty gross! The color is awesome and I like the LED light inside. There is no freezer. The fridge is ultra quiet. Now for the bad part. Don't expect this to get as cold as a kitchen fridge. It serves the purpose for drinks, jello, pickles, mustard, and my DAILY lunch. I can buy lunch meat and keep it in the fridge for 3 days max before I think it tastes weird (may all be in my head). It needs the recommended space on all sides or it WILL NOT GET COLD! It does it's job, but I wouldn't buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Complete garbage

06/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this pink lovely looking fridge for my daughter to use in college dorm. It only worked for one year. Now it does not cool, only cools down to 60F, no matter what the settings are. I can only say Black&Decker produces such lousy product, it should never been released to market. I have to trash this pretty box, it's such a waste.
Absolutely will never buy another B&D product !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry

Have gotten so many compliments!!!

07/15/2010
By ,
bellingham, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my office. It's just the right size. It keeps everything cold, is quiet, and doesn't throw off much heat from running.
It's light, easy to unpack and colled rather quickly.
The color? AWESOME!! It's what catches everyone's attention.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry
07/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good mini fridge. Keeps things really cold, very quiet, works perfectly in a classroom! Plus, the colors are really cute!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker NuCool 1.7-Cubic Foot Compact Fridge, Purple Berry
07/01/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this fridge because it was cute and small and it matched the color scheme of my room. At first it was awesome. And then about 3 months after I got it, it basically stopped working. It barely keeps things above room temperature now...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next