Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge is an excellent buy for storing perishable items at low temperatures to keep them fresh. This Black & Decker compact refrigerator is a great way to preserve edible items, due to its Compressor-Free Cooling Technology. The NuCool mini fridge does not use HCFCs, making it an eco-friendly option. The temperature control can be set up to 37 degrees Fahrenheit for maximum cooling. Its design is portable and lightweight. This 1.7 Cu. Ft compact refrigerator is ideal for use in places where there is a lack of space, such as small homes or even dorms. This NuCool fridge is extremely lightweight, which makes it very easy to move from one place to another. It's easy to keep cool beverages within reach with its 2-liter bottle door storage. Its compact size, recessed door handle, and stylish exterior make the Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge a popular choice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation81%202 out of 249reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

WOULD NOT COOL BELOW 60 returned TO WALMART

08/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAS NO COMPRESSOR AND RUNS ALL THE TIME. WE HAD FOR ONE WEEK B-4 RETURNING. I HAVE HAD SMALL REFRIGERATORS IN THE PAST BUT NOTHING THAT WORKED AS POORLY AS THIS ONE. WE COULD NOT GET IT TO COOL BELOW 60 DEGREES. AFTER READING OWNER MANUAL AND SETTING UNIT TO HIGHEST COOL SETTING I DETERMINE THIS UNIT WAS NOT GOING TO WORK. I WOULD NOT PURCHASE OR RECOMMEND THIS REFRIGERATOR TO ANYONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Poor Choice

01/06/2010
By ,
Dallas, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this as a Christmas present for my son and it worked for about 24 hours. It completely stopped working - only blew room temperature air. Would not purchase this refrigerator again and will replace it with a different brand. Read all the specifications to make sure the conditions were right - it was a dud. This refrigerator has no condensor -
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 3 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Bad Choice all around

05/28/2010
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this minifridge for my office about 9-10 mos ago. Was "cool" at first, turned down temp to coldest setting and no change. Still is not cold. Want to return/exchange it. Must be a dud.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

A Dud

07/21/2010
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ran for 2 days and died completely. Will not purchase same brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Quality Inconsistent

01/06/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The quality of this product seems to be very inconsistent. I purchased seven of these units between April and June 2010 to use to store vaccines in our dispensaries. They all worked fine and then one by one they started getting too warm for our use. All of the units were outside of the 90 day return period when they failed. I thought I could trust the Black & Decker name. I have contacted WalMart to see if anything can be done about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Don't waste your money

08/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this fridge to keep in my office to keep water cold. I plugged it in and let it sit for 36 hours and the water did not get cold at all. I returned it two days after I purchased it. It could not even make small water bottles cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 7 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Worked good for 1 week

08/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for 1 week than quit. Milk had to throw out. Dissapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Glorified cooler

01/08/2011
By ,
Cambridge, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this item. While the draw is supposed to be a quiet unit, it's because there is no compressor which makes it little more than a glorified cooler. My food is never cold as should be. Plus, it only works adequately in "ideal" temperature settings according to the manual. I bought it for my graduate dorm room, and am now going to sell it/give it away to get another larger one with a compressor. It barely chills drinks. No more spoiled food for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Does not last

01/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these 2 years ago and it quit working 9 months after I first bought it so called the manufacturer and sent them a check for shipping on the replacement unit and a year and few months later the replacement unit breaks down too, this is not environmentally friendly and walmart should quit selling these normally a fridge last at least 5 years and we cant be throwing all the metal and plastic out yearly
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

bad fridge....

10/08/2011
By ,
la jolla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holy baloney it woke me and my roommate up in the middle of the night twice because either something was caught in the fan, or it was manufactured incorrectly. it's convinent, a little small, but i just spring an extra 20 dollars for a much better fridge (and double the size)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

worst purchase I ever made.

06/13/2011
By ,
Longview TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase I ever made. After buying 2 refrigerators and neither one lasting more than 3 mos I will go with another brand or another store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Cooling

08/08/2011
By ,
ROCKDALE TEXAS 76567
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It don't cool very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

A joke of a "fridge".

08/09/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product generates only a minor cooling effect. Purchased on 8-8-11. Not cooling to any satisfaction 24 hours later. I returned the unit to the store, and there was another individual returning the SAME unit! He is a truck driver and stated that his food went sour after 1 day! He was there to purchase a larger unit, hopefully not Black & Decker. I decided to purchase another also. Rather than purchasing a larger B&D, in effect rewarding them for the failure of one product by purchasing another, I chose to purchase the RIVAL brand. In 1 hour the unit has already cooled better than the B&D unit did in 24 hours. I understand the size difference, but the B&D unit is only good if you want to prevent an item from retaining room temperature. My advice: Pass on it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Total Disappointment!

09/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this frig for my daughter last year as she was heading for 1st year of college. It was on sale and the size we were looking for. My daughter was totally disappointed as it hardly cooled. She placed a half gallon of milk in it and 1 1/2days later milk had spoiled! This year we bought a new bigger frig. that was NOT Black & Decker and we tested it a week before moving out - It passed with flying colors!!! TIP: Do your research before buying and use milk test once purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Horrible piece of junk!

06/22/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whatever you do, do not buy this piece of junk. It does not have a compressor so it barely "cools" food, never gets cold. I promise you WILL NOT LIKE IT! Go ahead and spend a little more money and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Black and Decker means Made in China

08/25/2010
By ,
Blackwell, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit for my library at school. I plugged it in and it didn't work and kept it plugged in for 15 hours. It never turned on, cooled, etc. I will never buy anything made by Black and Decker again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

I spoke too soon.

09/07/2010
By ,
Lafayette, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fridge in red and was totally thrilled with it and I said so in a product review. Well, it looks like I spoke too soon. Exactly 1 month after I plugged it in the unit shut off and wouldn't start again. It was properly grounded so it didn't take a power spike; I have no idea what the problem was. I took it back to the store and got a full refund, but I'd rather have a working fridge.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

broken

09/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My fridge was smashed in, in the back and it didn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 19 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Bad Fridge

09/07/2010
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for about 5 months and now it's dead. And I'm out $80. Do not buy this piece of junk fridge or you'll be replacing it in less than 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Does not last long

03/04/2011
By ,
Northwestern Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this refrigerator in October of 2010 with expectations that it will perform the same as a compressor based model. After first purchasing this product, I quickly realized that this product had positives and negatives about the NuCool technology. In high humidity environments, the lack of the freezer compartment is nice due to the fact that the frost does not build up heavily around the evaporator. This unit is small, and a neat low energy LED light inside to guide your way into this 1.7 cu ft. fridge in the dark of the night.
However, the negatives far outweigh the products positives. In February 2011 (4 months after purchase) the product now creates about a 10 degree difference in air temperature. I have taken the back plate off and found that the top cooling unit works fine. The bottom cooling unit does nothing to cool the refrigerator. Also, if it works, the unit takes a long time to cool down so if you plan on buying one, don't open the door more than 3 times in one hour or your food may become spoiled early.
This 27 lb. paperweight was tolerable at first, but now I will know to avoid purchasing the NuCool technology. What a piece of garbage. Four months of saving electricity for a box that can now be used as a conversational piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next