Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge is an excellent buy for storing perishable items at low temperatures to keep them fresh. This Black & Decker compact refrigerator is a great way to preserve edible items, due to its Compressor-Free Cooling Technology. The NuCool mini fridge does not use HCFCs, making it an eco-friendly option. The temperature control can be set up to 37 degrees Fahrenheit for maximum cooling. Its design is portable and lightweight. This 1.7 Cu. Ft compact refrigerator is ideal for use in places where there is a lack of space, such as small homes or even dorms. This NuCool fridge is extremely lightweight, which makes it very easy to move from one place to another. It's easy to keep cool beverages within reach with its 2-liter bottle door storage. Its compact size, recessed door handle, and stylish exterior make the Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge a popular choice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation81%202 out of 249reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Quality Inconsistent

01/06/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The quality of this product seems to be very inconsistent. I purchased seven of these units between April and June 2010 to use to store vaccines in our dispensaries. They all worked fine and then one by one they started getting too warm for our use. All of the units were outside of the 90 day return period when they failed. I thought I could trust the Black & Decker name. I have contacted WalMart to see if anything can be done about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Looks good.. with a big catch.

08/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wanted this little fridge to keep baby milk cool in the bedroom. Hoped that a fridge with a Peltier element would be quiet (at least most of the time)... Wrong.
Pros:
-Looks good enough
-Cheap
Cons:
-It uses more electricity than a full-size fridge (45W continuously after settling)!!! This little guy will cost more in electricity in 1 year than it's price...
-The fans run all the time - this is annoying if you want to keep it somewhat close to the bed.
-Per instructions the fridge should be kept below 80F and ideally at 70F... this must be a sad joke...
-Doesn't cool nearly enough with 75F ambient temperature.
Bottom line: I'd probably like it for an office where a bit of noise (again, not much but annoying at night) wouldn't be an issue and I wouldn't have to pay for the electricity it uses (ahem...).
For a bedroom it's totally worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Worked good for 1 week

08/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for 1 week than quit. Milk had to throw out. Dissapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Quit working at 1 year mark; did not work well

10/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got just over the 1-year mark and the refrigerator quit working. It did not just stop cooling well, it quit entirely.
When it was working, it was not great. I used it for drinks and if I put more than a few bottles of water in at a time, everything else in the fridge seemed to warm up. Maybe that is just the nature of a small refrigerator, but this one seemed worse than most.
The box indicates this is made by Haier... I will be staying away from both the Haier and Black & Decker brands after this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Poor Choice

01/06/2010
By ,
Dallas, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this as a Christmas present for my son and it worked for about 24 hours. It completely stopped working - only blew room temperature air. Would not purchase this refrigerator again and will replace it with a different brand. Read all the specifications to make sure the conditions were right - it was a dud. This refrigerator has no condensor -
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 6 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

bad fridge....

10/08/2011
By ,
la jolla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holy baloney it woke me and my roommate up in the middle of the night twice because either something was caught in the fan, or it was manufactured incorrectly. it's convinent, a little small, but i just spring an extra 20 dollars for a much better fridge (and double the size)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Lukewarm at best

08/20/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great look and size. Too bad it doesn't cool!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Does not last

01/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these 2 years ago and it quit working 9 months after I first bought it so called the manufacturer and sent them a check for shipping on the replacement unit and a year and few months later the replacement unit breaks down too, this is not environmentally friendly and walmart should quit selling these normally a fridge last at least 5 years and we cant be throwing all the metal and plastic out yearly
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Black and Decker means Made in China

08/25/2010
By ,
Blackwell, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit for my library at school. I plugged it in and it didn't work and kept it plugged in for 15 hours. It never turned on, cooled, etc. I will never buy anything made by Black and Decker again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

worst purchase I ever made.

06/13/2011
By ,
Longview TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase I ever made. After buying 2 refrigerators and neither one lasting more than 3 mos I will go with another brand or another store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 11 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Do not buy this piece of junk

01/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought this unit for my son's dorm room. The unit does not cool and and it makes everything placed inside it smell like plastic. This is yet another foreign-made appliance that I have had to scrap before its second year of use. I'm very disappointed and will not buy anything with the Black and Decker brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

No "Cold" Drinks

08/22/2011
By ,
Lubbock, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product at Walmart in Lubbock, TX in July. I have it in my office for "cold" drinks, Coca-Cola. My drinks could be better described as warm drinks even when the unit is turned up high. I have the alotted space around the unit as indicated in the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Glorified cooler

01/08/2011
By ,
Cambridge, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this item. While the draw is supposed to be a quiet unit, it's because there is no compressor which makes it little more than a glorified cooler. My food is never cold as should be. Plus, it only works adequately in "ideal" temperature settings according to the manual. I bought it for my graduate dorm room, and am now going to sell it/give it away to get another larger one with a compressor. It barely chills drinks. No more spoiled food for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Cooling

08/08/2011
By ,
ROCKDALE TEXAS 76567
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It don't cool very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

WOULD NOT COOL BELOW 60 returned TO WALMART

08/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAS NO COMPRESSOR AND RUNS ALL THE TIME. WE HAD FOR ONE WEEK B-4 RETURNING. I HAVE HAD SMALL REFRIGERATORS IN THE PAST BUT NOTHING THAT WORKED AS POORLY AS THIS ONE. WE COULD NOT GET IT TO COOL BELOW 60 DEGREES. AFTER READING OWNER MANUAL AND SETTING UNIT TO HIGHEST COOL SETTING I DETERMINE THIS UNIT WAS NOT GOING TO WORK. I WOULD NOT PURCHASE OR RECOMMEND THIS REFRIGERATOR TO ANYONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 16 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

A Dud

07/21/2010
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ran for 2 days and died completely. Will not purchase same brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

broken

09/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My fridge was smashed in, in the back and it didn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 18 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Bad Fridge

09/07/2010
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for about 5 months and now it's dead. And I'm out $80. Do not buy this piece of junk fridge or you'll be replacing it in less than 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

I spoke too soon.

09/07/2010
By ,
Lafayette, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fridge in red and was totally thrilled with it and I said so in a product review. Well, it looks like I spoke too soon. Exactly 1 month after I plugged it in the unit shut off and wouldn't start again. It was properly grounded so it didn't take a power spike; I have no idea what the problem was. I took it back to the store and got a full refund, but I'd rather have a working fridge.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Bad Choice all around

05/28/2010
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this minifridge for my office about 9-10 mos ago. Was "cool" at first, turned down temp to coldest setting and no change. Still is not cold. Want to return/exchange it. Must be a dud.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next