Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge is an excellent buy for storing perishable items at low temperatures to keep them fresh. This Black & Decker compact refrigerator is a great way to preserve edible items, due to its Compressor-Free Cooling Technology. The NuCool mini fridge does not use HCFCs, making it an eco-friendly option. The temperature control can be set up to 37 degrees Fahrenheit for maximum cooling. Its design is portable and lightweight. This 1.7 Cu. Ft compact refrigerator is ideal for use in places where there is a lack of space, such as small homes or even dorms. This NuCool fridge is extremely lightweight, which makes it very easy to move from one place to another. It's easy to keep cool beverages within reach with its 2-liter bottle door storage. Its compact size, recessed door handle, and stylish exterior make the Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge a popular choice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation81%202 out of 249reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Compact Fridge in Black

12/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this compact refrigerator as a gift. It is a refrigerator only, no freezer, but that's what we wanted. It needed to fit in a small place and the size was perfect. I didn't give the durability a high mark because it's a recent purchase and time will tell. It does not keep things very cold, but cold enough. For the price, I think this compact refrigerator is a very good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 42 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

AND YET ANOITHER A+ PURCHASE

09/12/2010
By ,
EXMORE,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BECAUSE I LIVE UPSTAIRS IN THE HOUSE & HAVE SEVERAL HEALTH ISSUE I DECIDED TO PUT THE FRIDGE IN SO I WOULD NOT HAVE TO GO DOWNSTAIRS THROUGH THE NIGHT WHEN I WOULD GET VERY THIRSTY. THIS FRIDGE IS GREAT & HOLDS FAR MORE THAN I THOUGHT--I DI KEEP THINGS LIKE YOGURT, FRUIT, COTTAGE CHEESE AND WATER AS WELL AS DIET DRINKS AND OTHER JUICES--WHAT A BARGAIN!!!!! WHAT A BLESSING!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 43 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Nice Little Fridge

07/20/2011
By ,
Malibu, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice little fridge that fits under my work desk. The space in the fridge is limited of course, but is enough a to hold everything I need. You have to be patient with this fridge though since it takes about 10 days to cool initially to it's maximum, but after that it stays nice and cold. For the price I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 44 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

A good little fridge that gets the job done...

07/22/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read some good and bad reviews about this little fridge. However, I decided to give it a try and hopefully cut my ice buying expenses down. A good investment! This fridge does NOT freeze because it's not designed to do so. However, it DOES keep drinks cold, and I will buy another one if I ever need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 45 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

excellent

12/11/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this fridge for my husband and his friends to use at work. They're automotive technicians and not easy on their stuff. This little fridge is holding strong and they all love it. Would definitely buy again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 46 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Great fridge for price!

08/02/2011
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just plugged my frigdge in on Monday in my classroom before I left, so I don't really know how it cools. But it was already beginning to cool down within 20 minutes or so. It will work for what I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 47 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Good Product

01/03/2010
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our son was very excited to get this for his bedroom. For the price we paid I think we got a great product. I'm not sure about durability because we've only had it 2 weeks, but it's spacious and has good storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 48 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Fine I guess

10/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this fridge for over a year and it still works. However it has a very low beeping noise that is so annoying it makes me want to buy a new one. Would love it even better if would stop beeping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 49 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Works great

07/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps food and drinks very cold, dont even know its on till I open it and see the light. Wish the light would go off when the door is not open. I know its led but I did unplug it, dont need a 24hour light
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 50 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Good Product

01/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this product so far. I really like the fact that it has a light inside of it, which a lot of mini fridges do not have. It keeps everything nice and cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 51 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge
08/03/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like my new fridge. It is just right for my office. I made a great choice when I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 52 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Poor Choice

01/06/2010
By ,
Dallas, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this as a Christmas present for my son and it worked for about 24 hours. It completely stopped working - only blew room temperature air. Would not purchase this refrigerator again and will replace it with a different brand. Read all the specifications to make sure the conditions were right - it was a dud. This refrigerator has no condensor -
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 53 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Nice, quiet refrigerator

02/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because the main cooling system is run by fans, the only noise that comes from the fridge is a soft buzz compared to the loud humms and violent shaking that came with my previous mini fridge. If the room you keep it in is less than 75 degrees, it seems to work fine, the only problem I have seen so far is, because it works on air circulation, if you keep bread in the fridge, it gets dried out and stale within 24 hours, but I didn't have it wrapped in anything, just a foam box. It doesn't have a freezer, which I was happy about, because I really don't need one, and it takes up room. There is a place in the door for large juice bottles, and the shelf inside is adjustable/removable. There is also a light inside, which comes in handy at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Did not meet expectations

05/26/2010
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product about 8 months ago. Seemed to be exactly what I needed for my office area; however, after about 4 months of use it no longer cools as well as it originally did. It is advertised to go to 37o but seems to actually cool to around 50o. Drinks are cool to touch but not when opened for drinking. The more I have read, the more I'm convinced it is the NuCool technology - give them more time to perfect the technology before buying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 55 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Not worth buying

02/15/2011
By ,
Saginaw, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product for college and was somewhat worried about the semi-conductor cooling but it seemed to work once it got going. I worked fine for about 6 months then over two weeks it slowly died. I can get a replacement shipped from Black & Decker (Haier) for $15, don't have to send the unit back.
However, I read other reviews and I don't think this semi-conductor cooling technology is mature enough. It does not seem to last very long. I will be looking for the old compressor type this time around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

worst purchase I ever made.

06/13/2011
By ,
Longview TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase I ever made. After buying 2 refrigerators and neither one lasting more than 3 mos I will go with another brand or another store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 57 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

low cost, good value, good performance

01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I was a little concerned about a true "compressorless" refrigerator as a replacement for a traditional bar refrigerator, i was very pleasantly surprised. at first, i was nervous because the cube weighs a fraction of the traditional compressor styles. but i had no time to go back and make a switch since i had guests showing up the following day. i loaded it with beer and soda and let it go overnight. it is very quiet and i was expecting cool, but what i got was very cold beer and soda. needless to say, i am now a believer in this style refrigerator! the cost and energy usage are also going to be small in comparison to what it was replacing. i would not hesitate to purchase another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 58 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge
12/05/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This refrigerator works fairly well altho I have also owned the old coil/compressor type and I have to say the old ones work much better, keep things way colder and with less worry. As stated in a previous review you do need to give at least 4" of clearance behind the unit as it works with heatsinks and fans to cool. I can see how this might be more efficient for the unit itself in comparison to the old style but the heat that comes off this thing is enough to make your a/c kick on. So the impact on the house as a whole is IMO not so efficient. The room in which I keep this unit is noticably warmer than what it was before. Personally if I could have gotten the old type I would have.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Great

09/03/2010
By ,
Lebanon,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is really quite and gets drinks colder than my fridge at home. I got this for my dorm for college and it is real compact but, still holds around 16 bottles of vitamin water. I found that it was around $10 bucks cheaper to order it off line than to get it at my local wal-mart. I would recommend this to any college student for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Home away from home convenience!

12/10/2010
By ,
Hamden, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this refrigerator to keep in my work office under my desk. I love the convenience of having a cold drink right at my hand without having to interrupt my work to get up & go to our kitchen. There are NO worries about someone else taking my lunch from the communal refrigerator anymore! That's a PLUS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 208 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next