Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

The Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge is an excellent buy for storing perishable items at low temperatures to keep them fresh. This Black & Decker compact refrigerator is a great way to preserve edible items, due to its Compressor-Free Cooling Technology. The NuCool mini fridge does not use HCFCs, making it an eco-friendly option. The temperature control can be set up to 37 degrees Fahrenheit for maximum cooling. Its design is portable and lightweight. This 1.7 Cu. Ft compact refrigerator is ideal for use in places where there is a lack of space, such as small homes or even dorms. This NuCool fridge is extremely lightweight, which makes it very easy to move from one place to another. It's easy to keep cool beverages within reach with its 2-liter bottle door storage. Its compact size, recessed door handle, and stylish exterior make the Black and Decker NuCool 1.7 Cu. Ft. Compact Fridge a popular choice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation81%202 out of 249reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Not Too Shabby

06/30/2010
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been running it for the last few weeks. So far so good. I read reviews on this product before I made my purchase. I heard that it didn't get that cold. Well, it gets cold enough. It doesn't make too much noise. Pretty quiet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+128points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Works well if you treat it well

06/21/2011
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this little guy for a few months now and it works well for keeping drinks cold. I see a lot of reviews that say it doesn't work well or for very long. I have some experience with the Peliter Junction technology this frig uses. You have to be sure to leave enough space around the frig so that it can cool the heat sinks that are in the back. Keep it a least 4 inches from any walls. If the junctions overheat, you will cause them to fail prematurly. I'll bet this is what happened to most of the people who revgiewed this frig poorly. This is a new technology and people have to understand (and read the manual) that it requires a different environment. Give it plenty of cooling space and it will work as designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+295points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Not good for very long

09/24/2010
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved this fridge at first. I have it under my desk at work. I have had it for 2 years, now going on my 3rd summer. Until about a month ago, it kept everything very cold, and the temp maintained around 40 degrees. Lately it hasn't been any lower than 60 degrees so I don't know if something is not working right or what. I like the fact that it doesn't have a freezer to defrost like others, and the light inside is very nice since it is in a dark spot under my desk. Be sure to keep it about a foot away from the wall or it will overheat and stop cooling. I've had this happen twice, I think it just inches its way back on the tile toward the wall every time I close the door. Nice size, and was great for a couple years. I won't be storing dairy or meat in it any longer than just until lunch time anymore though...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

more than i expected.

12/24/2009
By ,
buffalo,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's a great little fridge for a dorm or den. you can actually keep your pop too cold. read the manual and you'll find you can keep dairy and produce in there,(room temp. must be below 80). wattage use is lower than expected too. much lighter and better product than what my kids dragged to college.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+310points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
westlake
hope this works for us...
Posted 09/21/2011
I`m going to get this fridge for our baby. We will put it in her nursery to keep the bottles cool. Hopefully it wont affect the emperature in the room. The kitchen is far away from her room, so it would be nice to have a fridge in her room.
0points
Customer Avatar
how many watts are there?
Posted 06/29/2011
i know it can't be a lot, seeing that it IS a mini fridge... but y'know.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

What I was looking for

03/17/2010
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fridge looks great, holds plenty, and keeps things nice and cold. This unit is very light in weight so I guess if you dropped it on a hard surface it might dent but I have no plans on dropping it to find out. Was surprised that it never shuts off so I called and asked the question and because it doesn't have a compressor like our big fridge it stays on all the time but it is economical and won't use up much electricity they say, you worry when it's not running as then you have a problem. Another thing is it's very quiet, I'm very please with it plus it was here in 2 days time. The only reason I didn't give it a overall 5 star is the price, I would have liked to see it lower but it was better than the others and the other thing is that it never shuts off but if that's the way they make it you can't change that. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

If you like it a little cold...

11/10/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought the fridge from walmart 37' advertised. Well yeah, if you run it empty for 6 to 10 hours. It will reach that temp. After 3 months of use it failed to reach that temp anymore. Norm temp is 55'. Not happy. Called company they are replacing it for 14.99 shipping charges. It has two cooling units and I think one of the two failed on my unit. It uses about 115 Watts while running (24-7). It is quiet, and cool to the touch. It recommends 4 inches from wall for ventilation.
Even new, it took a day for the stuff to cool off to a low, nice temp. But now. Eh. It is using a new technology to cool the stuff.
If I had to do it over I would go with the old style with the mini freezer on the top.
You can fit 6 two litters, and about 6 slimfast size cans in it. Not to shabby on space. But the cold factor can be A LOT BETTER..
Owned for 3 1/2 months & at 55.4's
Not too cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Lukewarm to Chilly

08/27/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed with this product at first. I could not get my items to become cold - instead they were merely slightly colder than my room. However, after acquiring a small table and elevating the unit, it became very chilly in there - colder than my fridge at home, in fact! My unit has a dent in the side that was there when I opened the package, so they are not super durable, but if you give it a bit of breathing room in the back and on the bottom your items will be quite cold!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Great Refrigerator !

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exceptional product for the price. Its quiet, attractive, and keeps everything very cold. I even put milk and ice cream in it! Of course, I ate the ice cream the same day but it kept it fresh and cold. Ive kept salads, and deli meats stored as well!! My only advice, dont put anything in it until youve had it plugged in for at least 24 hrs , and there will be a " plastic smell" for the first few days. It will go away =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Highly recommended

01/02/2011
By ,
Santa Maria, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this product and I would get this product again. No problems at all. Looks great also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Craney, WV
Please read this!
Posted 11/27/2011
I read the manual to everything i have ever bought and follow all the guidelines to the letter. That being said i gave this unit more than enough space for it vents and fans. Now don't get me wrong it worked great for exactly a year and 3 days and then overnight just failed for no apparent reason. It kept everything cold while it did work but 70$ is quite a bit of money to waste for something that only lasts that long. I at first thought maybe i purchased a unit that had defects but after reading reviews from other customers and talking to people this fridge is not built to last. I highly recommend to find something of better quality and craftsmanship than this for as i repeat this new cool technology is not built to last!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Gets the job done!
Posted 09/11/2011
I purchased this product for college and i would have to say that im very happy with it. Small, lightweight & extremely quiet!! It doesnt get very cold, but it definitely gets the job done!!! I store drinks and dairy in it!!! Great buy for the price!!
0points
Customer Avatar
eco-freindly it ain't
Posted 08/27/2011
except for the no compressor part. I have a brand power meter and this little beauty(nucool1.7) uses more than twice as much power than a 20 yr old, twice the size compressor type that I have. This old thing (outside body cooling coils) sits outside on my patio for summer use. temp range from 50 to 90 plus degrees.
Neg: no ice making
twice (or more) the power usage. didn't compare to comparable size compressor
type.
pros: no defrost
it is quiet running
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Great for the Man Cave

08/02/2010
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mini fridge for my husband to store beer and sodas in his man cave.
I like that is small and unobtrusive. He likes that it holds quite a bit of beer (at least 18 long necks, plus some room in the door for soda cans or a two-liter bottle). The shelf is adjustable, which gives you storage options.
The Nucool technology keeps it cold enough for beer and soda. I don't know about perishables, because we don't intend to store those things.
Just like any fridge, it took a couple of hours to cool down completely (but during this time, I opened and closed the door several times to stock it, and then show it off to my husband when he got home).
The motor (if there is one--I don't really understand how Nucool works) is really quiet, so I imagine this could work well in a bedroom or office.
The price was excellent, and really, for $60 and free shipping, who really cares if it doesn't last forever?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Does not last long

03/04/2011
By ,
Northwestern Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this refrigerator in October of 2010 with expectations that it will perform the same as a compressor based model. After first purchasing this product, I quickly realized that this product had positives and negatives about the NuCool technology. In high humidity environments, the lack of the freezer compartment is nice due to the fact that the frost does not build up heavily around the evaporator. This unit is small, and a neat low energy LED light inside to guide your way into this 1.7 cu ft. fridge in the dark of the night.
However, the negatives far outweigh the products positives. In February 2011 (4 months after purchase) the product now creates about a 10 degree difference in air temperature. I have taken the back plate off and found that the top cooling unit works fine. The bottom cooling unit does nothing to cool the refrigerator. Also, if it works, the unit takes a long time to cool down so if you plan on buying one, don't open the door more than 3 times in one hour or your food may become spoiled early.
This 27 lb. paperweight was tolerable at first, but now I will know to avoid purchasing the NuCool technology. What a piece of garbage. Four months of saving electricity for a box that can now be used as a conversational piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 12 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Does the job

03/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this fridge last week and it's working well so far. It doesn't get as cool as I expected, however I use it to store soda/water only so it fits my needs perfectly. I would not recommend this product to those wishing to store frozen products as this unit does not get that cold. However if you are like me and need it for drinks only, then this is a great product. It is also extremely quite which is a huge plus for the office place.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

great value for your dollar

12/01/2009
By ,
Bessemer, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is both attractive in appearance and value. Awesome for the office, great for the Nursing units for medication. Be sure to leave air circulation
room around the unit when installing, if you block off the air it will modify the unit's temperature,
Wonderful all around product for small products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hospital
Glorified Cooler
Posted 11/05/2011
I saw a comment for using this for storing meds...DO NOT. This is not for use in a hospital environment, especially for meds. This cannot maintain the national or state requirements for food or meds. Please this is for drinks only. It will not cool warm drinks. This thing uses a fan and heat sink like in your computer to move heat away and it does it well. Just above 70F it is useless. Throw in a ice pack and some drinks and you are good to go.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Quality Inconsistent

01/06/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The quality of this product seems to be very inconsistent. I purchased seven of these units between April and June 2010 to use to store vaccines in our dispensaries. They all worked fine and then one by one they started getting too warm for our use. All of the units were outside of the 90 day return period when they failed. I thought I could trust the Black & Decker name. I have contacted WalMart to see if anything can be done about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Shhhhhhh

04/23/2010
By ,
Northeast Rochester NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my new office and am really enjoying it. I've got my creamer as well as bottled water staying quite cold. I do like the light...I've got it in a dark corner so it does help! Price was right and I'm really happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 16 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Looks good.. with a big catch.

08/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wanted this little fridge to keep baby milk cool in the bedroom. Hoped that a fridge with a Peltier element would be quiet (at least most of the time)... Wrong.
Pros:
-Looks good enough
-Cheap
Cons:
-It uses more electricity than a full-size fridge (45W continuously after settling)!!! This little guy will cost more in electricity in 1 year than it's price...
-The fans run all the time - this is annoying if you want to keep it somewhat close to the bed.
-Per instructions the fridge should be kept below 80F and ideally at 70F... this must be a sad joke...
-Doesn't cool nearly enough with 75F ambient temperature.
Bottom line: I'd probably like it for an office where a bit of noise (again, not much but annoying at night) wouldn't be an issue and I wouldn't have to pay for the electricity it uses (ahem...).
For a bedroom it's totally worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 17 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

get the same one for $10 less

12/10/2009
By ,
Pleasantville, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fridge is fine however it is the same product as the Haier listed on the walmart site with a black and decker label stuck on it. This unit is probably made by the same company that makes the Haier model, in fact the black and decker box was in a Haier box when i picked it up from the walmart ship to store desk. It is fine. Like most other small cube refrigerators.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Perfect

07/14/2011
By ,
Bayonne, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little fridge is great-there is no ice compartment so the inside is as big as the size of the unit. It holds a lot for such a small fridge and is so quiet, I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

A joke of a "fridge".

08/09/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product generates only a minor cooling effect. Purchased on 8-8-11. Not cooling to any satisfaction 24 hours later. I returned the unit to the store, and there was another individual returning the SAME unit! He is a truck driver and stated that his food went sour after 1 day! He was there to purchase a larger unit, hopefully not Black & Decker. I decided to purchase another also. Rather than purchasing a larger B&D, in effect rewarding them for the failure of one product by purchasing another, I chose to purchase the RIVAL brand. In 1 hour the unit has already cooled better than the B&D unit did in 24 hours. I understand the size difference, but the B&D unit is only good if you want to prevent an item from retaining room temperature. My advice: Pass on it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Black & Decker Nucool 1.7 cu. ft. Compact Fridge

Black & Decker Compact Fridge Dead after 4 months

04/11/2011
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you need a fridge for 4-5 months and just feel like getting rid of some hard-earned cash, then this is for you. If you are like the rest of the world and expect a $70 compact fridge to last 3-4 years then look at another product. Worked great while it worked and then suddenly died for no reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next