Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Sauder Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

This Sauder new cottage desk features a handsome, vintage-like antiqued paint finish. Perfect for small spaces and corners, the antiqued pedestal desk is designed to fit your lifestyle - and your budget. This Sauder black desk features 3 drawers with metal runners and safety stops, a concealed slide-out keyboard/mouse tray, and a lower drawer that holds letter-size hanging files. Made from engineered wood in an antiqued paint laminate finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(648 Reviews) 582
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
337
4 stars
225
3 stars
47
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation91%589 out of 647reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 260 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
337
4 stars
225
3 stars
47
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Wonderful assembly instructions for a first timer!

12/09/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this desk because I needed something for a small space. It is very attractive, and I was pleased that the instruction were spot on. Everything about assembly was easy to understand, and I did not need special tools, just a hammer, phillips and flat-head screwdriver. The only complain I have that does not meet expectations is that the drawers do not align. When I open or close the second and third drawer, I have to lift because they hit each other. Otherwise, I like the desk, packaging, and look.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

very nice desk

01/17/2013
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I put this desk together tonight...It took us about 2 hours..It is pretty easy to follow directions...A few things we didn't like:
1. Edges are very sharp...Hubby filed them lightly, because the desk is a distressed look, the filing blended right in...
2. We had to take the keyboard drawer face off...If you drop it down to type, the hinges rub your wrist when using the mouse...And your arm would have to lay across the hinges...very uncomfortable...
What we like:
1. Love the color...It is a brownish black distressed look.....Looks black when standing away from it...
2. Very sturdy...
3. Great size for monitor, speakers, and printer...Plenty of room...
4. Amazing Value
5.Very nice looking...Not shabby or cheap looking
The back of this is finished, but it doesn't look good enough to use as a desk facing out...I put it against the wall....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Takes time to put together.

09/21/2014
By ,
NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Assembly started off well until the drawers were assembled. They would not fit properly using the screw holes provided for the fronts of the drawers. I had to measure and re-drill 6 holes in two drawers, the top and bottom drawers. Once that was done they still didn't fit quite right but with a little nudging they all closed and looked very nice. Altogether, it probably took 4 & 1/2 hours to assemble. So far I like the product but hope I never have to put together another.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint
06/16/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have serious concerns regarding this companies standard of quality concerning this desk. When I received the desk the covering was coming off one of the legs (which I was forced to super glue into place) and one of the drawers was not aligned properly (so that I had to drill new holes just to make sure all the drawers would close). There was also a hole punched into the bottom piece of one of the drawers. Further, if you plan on typing at this desk, you will need a pad in front of the keyboard and mouse, because the edges of the desk are very sharp and will hurt your wrists.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Item A , E2 and T assembly issue

06/15/2013
By ,
Lakewood, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I spent hour assembling and all was well until item A , E2 and T final assembly. The screw holes that tied T item to A and C2 were in the wrong place. I tried getting tools form home depot to help.. but in vain as the wood is compressed wood which got damaged easily. Called customer service today , Saturday however they are closed and open only on Monday to Friday. All in all a waste of whole day. Hoping that I can get a replacement on Monday or fix to the damaged items else a $150.00 in loss.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

looking good

06/23/2009
By ,
Arizonia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd seen the desk in the store, so I knew it was just what I was looking for to set my laptop and Cricut machine on. Very functional for me. Only one thing, the corners really hurt when you run into them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Paint

02/20/2010
By ,
Sea Bright, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Desk and fully functional. Very attractive traditional appearance and moderately priced. Very easy assembly instructions. I would recommend a portable hand powered tool with philips and straight edge adapters for assembly. Very well engineered hidden sliding key board drawer, file drawer, and 2 upper drawers. I am very much impressed with these two pieces of furniture and would highly recommend them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Very nice desk

06/26/2011
By ,
gotha FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk was perfect for our living room. Looks great, great quality love it. I put this together on my own in about an hour and a half, wasnt hard, directions were easy to follow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great Buy!!!

02/10/2010
By ,
Florence, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's heavy and very large. U can't beat the price! It looks great in my reading room. It's a distressed black. Very high quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Good Looking piece of Furniture

06/11/2010
By ,
Powder Springs,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out reading all the instructions and checking off the contents list to make sure everything was there. It took me and my grandson 5 hours to assemble but it was worth it. He is very happy with his new desk.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Not what I expected from Sauder

07/02/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The photo was a little deceiving... we have had Sauder furniture before that really held up and looked great. Unfortunately, there really wasn't any quality to this desk. I would only recommend this desk if you are buying it for a kid's room... it's not something you would want to be displayed in a main room. In the picture it has a nice antiqued wood look with some detail. When you see it in person... all you notice is the sharp edged particle board, with what looks to like shelf liner, pasted over it. There were a few dings and cracked board on the corners from shipping (even though it looked as if the packaging was as cushioned as it could be). My husband was very upset with the quality and asked me if I could return it. I had ordered it online with free shipping to my home. I called my local store and fortunately, they were nice enough to take my return and refund my money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Better than pictured - Great value

09/08/2013
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a small desk that had some sort of storage with a "vintage" touch. The pictures online do not give the finish justice. The finish I was most concerned about because online it made it look super fake looking. Once I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised with the finish. It has that antique feel but does not at all look over done or super fake. The quality is heavy duty and does have a ton of pieces (NO issues with broken pieces or scratches). However, my husband put this together himself without my help. Not sure why everyone has commented that it was extremely difficult to put together. All the pieces were labeled correctly and the instructions were good. It was just there was a lot of pieces and you pretty much had to build the entire thing down to the knobs but to me it was worth it for the price (and the husband didn't complain at all). Be mindful that the storage isn't too deep. It holds what I want it to but for those of you that are looking for DEEP drawers this wouldn't work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Beautiful Desk!

07/11/2009
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice desk. Would suggest having it assembled at the store. Took a good three hours to assemble, that was not fun, would rather it would have been all put together and not in a box! I used a battery powered screwdriver to assemble this product, the directions said to use just a screwdriver that would have probably added a couple more hours of assembly time. Overall the desk is a nice piece of furniture. I do not have an office so the desk "lives" in the corner of my living room. It is nice enough looking to compliment the rest of my furniture though. If you have a small space like I have, I would recommend buying this desk. The file drawer is nice and so are the other two drawers, but the drawers could be a little bit bigger. The drawers all slide easily and the desk seems to be solid, I think it will last for a long time. The finish on the desk is really pretty, it doesn't seem like it will scratch too easily. I looked online at several different sites and in several different stores looking for a desk - this desk was the least expensive and had the most features out of all the desks I looked at. Also the keyboard drawer is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+214points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great Buy!

07/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleasantly surprised how heavy and sturdy this desk is for the price I paid. There are a lot of pieces and space is needed to be able to spread out for assembly. It took just over two hours to put the desk together and I was able to do it on my own with just a screwdriver and hammer. The drawers open and close with ease and the description offered online is accurate with regards to the color & measurements.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Very nice desk

07/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took a while to put together but is working well for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Excellent!

08/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great desk! I am surprised how great it looks for such a low price! Very simple to put together, took my wife and I 2 hours. Several times I thought pieces were missing, but they were all there! Couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Love this desk!

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online, and received it on my doorstep two days later. Assembly instructions were easy to follow, and when put together, the desk is sturdy and good looking. I'd definitely recommend this desk to anyone who just needs a small desk (4" wide) for their home. Two thumbs up, y'all!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great product but...

04/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this desk as a birthday gift for my daughter who lives in Astoria, NY. It arrived earlier than expected. YAY! Unfortunately, it arrived damaged. BOO! There was a scratch across the top and one corner was smashed in. She went ahead and put the desk together...it took her and a friend over 2 hours (but I had forewarned her from other reviews). She really likes the desk and is trying to be OK with the damage. She said she didn't know the extent until they had it together - there was NO WAY she was taking it apart and going through the ordeal of returning it. Her comment was "I live in New York, everything is delivered damaged." an unfortunate but probably true attitude. I have ordered her other items that have arrived damaged. (Sam's Club) Other than the damage, she loves the desk, it fits perfectly in her space and was exactly what she wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Gray Desk

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of these desks. One for each of my sons very good quality. Nice space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Nice Desk

01/03/2010
By ,
Mt. Sterling, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I really love this desk, is nicely sized and looks more like a piece of furniture than a desk. The only issue with this product is the front edge of the desk top is sharp, it is not beveled and is irritating to the bare forearm. Edge should be smoothed down, every side is except for the area your arm comes in contact...go figure?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 583 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next