Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Sauder Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

This Sauder new cottage desk features a handsome, vintage-like antiqued paint finish. Perfect for small spaces and corners, the antiqued pedestal desk is designed to fit your lifestyle - and your budget. This Sauder black desk features 3 drawers with metal runners and safety stops, a concealed slide-out keyboard/mouse tray, and a lower drawer that holds letter-size hanging files. Made from engineered wood in an antiqued paint laminate finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(587 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
213
3 stars
39
2 stars
14
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation92%538 out of 586reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 239 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
213
3 stars
39
2 stars
14
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

looking good

06/23/2009
By ,
Arizonia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd seen the desk in the store, so I knew it was just what I was looking for to set my laptop and Cricut machine on. Very functional for me. Only one thing, the corners really hurt when you run into them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

very nice desk

01/17/2013
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I put this desk together tonight...It took us about 2 hours..It is pretty easy to follow directions...A few things we didn't like:
1. Edges are very sharp...Hubby filed them lightly, because the desk is a distressed look, the filing blended right in...
2. We had to take the keyboard drawer face off...If you drop it down to type, the hinges rub your wrist when using the mouse...And your arm would have to lay across the hinges...very uncomfortable...
What we like:
1. Love the color...It is a brownish black distressed look.....Looks black when standing away from it...
2. Very sturdy...
3. Great size for monitor, speakers, and printer...Plenty of room...
4. Amazing Value
5.Very nice looking...Not shabby or cheap looking
The back of this is finished, but it doesn't look good enough to use as a desk facing out...I put it against the wall....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint
06/16/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have serious concerns regarding this companies standard of quality concerning this desk. When I received the desk the covering was coming off one of the legs (which I was forced to super glue into place) and one of the drawers was not aligned properly (so that I had to drill new holes just to make sure all the drawers would close). There was also a hole punched into the bottom piece of one of the drawers. Further, if you plan on typing at this desk, you will need a pad in front of the keyboard and mouse, because the edges of the desk are very sharp and will hurt your wrists.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Item A , E2 and T assembly issue

06/15/2013
By ,
Lakewood, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I spent hour assembling and all was well until item A , E2 and T final assembly. The screw holes that tied T item to A and C2 were in the wrong place. I tried getting tools form home depot to help.. but in vain as the wood is compressed wood which got damaged easily. Called customer service today , Saturday however they are closed and open only on Monday to Friday. All in all a waste of whole day. Hoping that I can get a replacement on Monday or fix to the damaged items else a $150.00 in loss.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Very nice desk

06/26/2011
By ,
gotha FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk was perfect for our living room. Looks great, great quality love it. I put this together on my own in about an hour and a half, wasnt hard, directions were easy to follow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Good Looking piece of Furniture

06/11/2010
By ,
Powder Springs,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out reading all the instructions and checking off the contents list to make sure everything was there. It took me and my grandson 5 hours to assemble but it was worth it. He is very happy with his new desk.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great Buy!!!

02/10/2010
By ,
Florence, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's heavy and very large. U can't beat the price! It looks great in my reading room. It's a distressed black. Very high quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Paint

02/20/2010
By ,
Sea Bright, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Desk and fully functional. Very attractive traditional appearance and moderately priced. Very easy assembly instructions. I would recommend a portable hand powered tool with philips and straight edge adapters for assembly. Very well engineered hidden sliding key board drawer, file drawer, and 2 upper drawers. I am very much impressed with these two pieces of furniture and would highly recommend them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Better than pictured - Great value

09/08/2013
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a small desk that had some sort of storage with a "vintage" touch. The pictures online do not give the finish justice. The finish I was most concerned about because online it made it look super fake looking. Once I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised with the finish. It has that antique feel but does not at all look over done or super fake. The quality is heavy duty and does have a ton of pieces (NO issues with broken pieces or scratches). However, my husband put this together himself without my help. Not sure why everyone has commented that it was extremely difficult to put together. All the pieces were labeled correctly and the instructions were good. It was just there was a lot of pieces and you pretty much had to build the entire thing down to the knobs but to me it was worth it for the price (and the husband didn't complain at all). Be mindful that the storage isn't too deep. It holds what I want it to but for those of you that are looking for DEEP drawers this wouldn't work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Beautiful Desk!

07/11/2009
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice desk. Would suggest having it assembled at the store. Took a good three hours to assemble, that was not fun, would rather it would have been all put together and not in a box! I used a battery powered screwdriver to assemble this product, the directions said to use just a screwdriver that would have probably added a couple more hours of assembly time. Overall the desk is a nice piece of furniture. I do not have an office so the desk "lives" in the corner of my living room. It is nice enough looking to compliment the rest of my furniture though. If you have a small space like I have, I would recommend buying this desk. The file drawer is nice and so are the other two drawers, but the drawers could be a little bit bigger. The drawers all slide easily and the desk seems to be solid, I think it will last for a long time. The finish on the desk is really pretty, it doesn't seem like it will scratch too easily. I looked online at several different sites and in several different stores looking for a desk - this desk was the least expensive and had the most features out of all the desks I looked at. Also the keyboard drawer is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+205points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Took 1/2 day to put together, parts were short

04/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shorted me 24 pan head 7/8" screws, could not find any at Home Depot so I
had to improvise and use 1" screws with a flat washer. Cost me an extra $ 5.00
and 2 trips to Home Depot. This should never happen, makes me wonder about
quality control of Sauder Corp.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Very nice looking

03/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall it took me a couple of hours to put together, but I was taking my time and it could have been done in less than two hours I am guessing. Even less if you have someone to help. I think it would help to have a screwdriver that is comfortable and easy for that person to really put some torque to the hidden cams. You are given the exact amount of screws to work with and the bags that hold them are big and make it easy to keep up with them. The finish on the desk is nice and smooth especially for the top of the desk and it seem like it would hide any imperfections like minor nicks and scrapes. The drawer rollers take a little of adjustment to make them fit best, and the drawers roll smooth. I considered the 99 dollar version of this with the 1 small drawer, but I am glad to have this one with the extra drawers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

sturdy constructon great desk

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well constructed,easy to assemble,compact yet functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great desk for the price

03/10/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Considering the price of this item I wasn't expecting high quality but this desk is of higher quality for its price range. It is an attractive piece and seems to be sturdy. I don't think I would call the color black but more of a dark brown which is what I wanted to begin with so not a problem for me but it may be for someone who is looking for a dark black finish. The only complaints I have and the reason it didn't receive 5 stars was because the hardware that holds the flip down part of the keyboard drawer is bulky and not very comfortable on your wrists while trying to type. The other thing was the edges of the desk are rather on the sharp side so again not very comfortable on your forearms if you are writing on the desk. The drawers are on the smaller side being just 12 1/2 inches in length but the width and depth are good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great Desk

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very durable computer desk. Easy to assemble. I'm a 26 year old female and I put this together by myself. It comes in a lot of pieces but all you need is some time and a screw driver to assemble. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

For the price, this is great!

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the drawers does not sit quite right, but I can live with it. I actually bought 2 of these at the same time. Putting the second one together was much quicker! The top drawer on both don't close properly, but I can live with it for the $!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Excellent!

08/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great desk! I am surprised how great it looks for such a low price! Very simple to put together, took my wife and I 2 hours. Several times I thought pieces were missing, but they were all there! Couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great product but...

04/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this desk as a birthday gift for my daughter who lives in Astoria, NY. It arrived earlier than expected. YAY! Unfortunately, it arrived damaged. BOO! There was a scratch across the top and one corner was smashed in. She went ahead and put the desk together...it took her and a friend over 2 hours (but I had forewarned her from other reviews). She really likes the desk and is trying to be OK with the damage. She said she didn't know the extent until they had it together - there was NO WAY she was taking it apart and going through the ordeal of returning it. Her comment was "I live in New York, everything is delivered damaged." an unfortunate but probably true attitude. I have ordered her other items that have arrived damaged. (Sam's Club) Other than the damage, she loves the desk, it fits perfectly in her space and was exactly what she wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Nice, sturdy desk.

08/20/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this in a few days ago and i'm very happy with my purchase. It was very well packaged and protected, which is a plus. All the pieces were there and this was actually the easiest piece of Sauder furniture i've ever put together. It took about an hour, make sure you have a good amount of room to work with, and just pay attention to the directions. The directions are very clear, the only thing i had a slight problem with was putting the part where the keyboard would go in, once i had completely assembled the desk it took me a good 5 minutes to get everything lined up so it would actually slide in, and in the process i ended up scratching a small part of the desk. It was easily covered with a black sharpie, but another thing i also want to note is when putting in the side drawers you do have to do a little bit of adjusting to get them even. I highly recommend this to anyone that's needing a simple yet nice piece desk, i did end up using some wood glue just to try and prolong the use of the desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder New Cottage Desk, Antiqued Black Paint

Great desk Slightly difficult to setup

04/07/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The desk is slightly difficult to set up, but once its done it is sturdy and efficient just what I need for my computer, slightly wider would be more helpful.
Some of the parts could be pre attached to make it slightly easier to assemble, overall I would recommend this desk .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 522 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next