Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Designed for use on all floor types, the Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum delivers intense suction power while you vacuum. The ergonomic handle enables easy navigation, and you can quickly direct the Panasonic vacuum with a simple turn of the wrist. A quick-draw telescope reach wand and stretch hose allows the multi-floor vacuum plenty of reach. Plus, the upright vacuum comes with two standard wands, crevice tool, dusting brush and air turbine — you'll easily clean every nook and cranny!
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%64 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

12/02/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is great,It has excellent suction,picks up great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Powerhouse Vacuum

08/30/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vac is a nice powerhouse, Especially for the price.
It is fairly quiet for a vacuum. Has a bright light
Airflow/suction is Fantastic, be careful around light floor rugs though!
The hose is made of a quality rubber-like plastic which has a nice 8 ft reach , add extensions and crevice wand and you've got an easy 11ft to work with. Comes with a nice little air power brush attachment which sits neatly on the front. Extensions sit neatly on side as pictured. On/Off switch is conveniently on top of bag area.
The bottom plate can be removed (without a screw driver) to clean or change the belt which makes it easy for maintenance. Bags are easy to put in/remove (U-6) available at Walmart and many places with drop in "HEPA" filter in the front under bag area.
Does have a "push lever" to roll up electric cord, although you may have to assist the cord in the last 5 feet as the roll up isn't that powerful.
Has dual edge cleaning but you'll get best suction using the side the hose is on. Hose detaches from vac so you can clean it or unlodge something you sucked up.
Rolls very nicely, almost pulls it's self across my low pile berber.
Will lay flat with a 11" height to get under most things.
This is a nice well built vacuum, it has enough weight to stick to the floor but overall not too heavy.
The design is functional and easy to clean. I replaced my last Panasonic after 12 years with this one. Still uses same belt and bags as they always have. I use furniture polish on the plastic
(not the oil kind) as it cleans and buffs to a nice shine and helps keep the dirt from sticking to the underneath, just don't get it on the belt or belt area.
Overall, you can't go wrong with this Panasonic and the price range.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson
Addendum to my Review above
Posted 04/01/2014
The cord windup is a little worse than I originally stated, you will have to help it along most of the way as it isn't that strong. But other than that still is doing good for me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Yah, We'll See

08/25/2011
By ,
Lake Bluff, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the owner of several low-priced vacuums over the years, I have come to the resignation that they are all garbage. The best of the bunch was a Hoover Tempo that lasted for 4 years before burning out. Powerful but loud, I was going to buy another one when I read online that they have been cheapened in both quality and features since the model I bought. So, I bought this Panasonic. I have used it only a few times, but it matches the power of the Hoover and is much quieter. A few other nice things are the automatic roll-up power cord, the automatic height adjustment for floors and carpets, and you store the hand tool assembly with one wand already attached, which is more convenient than always having to attach tools. The upholstery cleaner is excellent. The hand tool sucked up a sock with ease and had it in the bottom of the bag within one second. It is better on carpets and rugs than on bare floors. It is also fairly lightweight. Would like a longer cord.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: Cord Length
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Best Vacuum to Buy!

01/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner around 2 years ago when I first got married. I researched, researched, and researched for the best vacuum cleaner and I found this one. It truly is the best vacuum cleaner to purchase! It makes it so easy to clean...which really helps. It never loses suction (unlike all of the many bagless options out there), it has all the extra needed tools right at your hand (instead of digging in the box it came in to find them) and when you are finished, press a button and the cord reels back in so you can neatly tuck it away! I have been meaning to write this review for some time. I know it helped me when others shared their experience and so I want to help others. (I know we all hate wasting money on products that...in this case...Don't suck) You will not be disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good vacuum cleaner

03/24/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced a 12 year old Panasonic with this because the cord broke on my other. I have been very happy with my other for 12 years, so naturally I chose another Panasonic. This new one doesn't seem as substantial as my old one, but this new Panasonic cleans very well. No complaints in the cleaning. My only complaint with this new one is that the cord retractor barely has enough pull to retract the cord. Other than that, this is a good vacuum. I recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good vacuum

03/28/2014
By ,
Chippewa Falls, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great suction. Love the retractable cord. Bags fit well. The reason for only 3 stars: can't turn off belt when using tools, no height adjustment.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum for the price

04/09/2014
By ,
Wimington NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Panasonic vacuum over the past 25 yrs. It was easily assembled out of the box. I tried a bagless vacuum when my other Panasonic bit the dust and talking about dirty, WOW. Maybe it was just the brand, maybe it was that I got what I paid for, but I myself was dirty when I finished vacuum and I had to empty the cylinder three times while vacuuming and again when finished. I'll stick to the Panasonic, upright, bagged vacuum from now on. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a good vacuum at a good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Just what I was looking for!

04/01/2014
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had trouble with my previous vacuum getting clogged up and decided to try this bagged upright. It arrived in excellent condition, and I was delighted to find it mostly assembled. I just had to insert one screw to secure the handle. This appears to be a solid vacuum but not too heavy. I like the powerful suction and the ease with which it pushes across the floor. It's true that the cord rewind feature doesn't just whip in the cord, but if you give it a little guidance to keep it from getting kinked, it does fine. I believe I'll be even happier with this purchase as time goes by.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Vacuum Cleaner.

02/17/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm glad to be back with Panasonic. I had a Panasonic vacuum that lasted at least fourteen years. Before I buy anything I usually look at the Consumer Reports, and, based on their recommendations, I purchased most of my appleinces. Even though this vacuum cleaner was not on their recommended list but it had a good ratings. I did not want take chances with any other vacuum cleaner so I bought Panasonic again.
So far the UG471 is working great. Please remember that I just got this vacuum cleaner last week. This vacuum works great picking up cat hairs on hard wood floors and on carpet. The Retractable cord is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Works great on hardwood floors

10/28/2010
By ,
Parma Heights, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a professional housekeeper and my biggest concern was how it would handle on hard floors especially wood.. it's great!! It is absolutely safe for wood and it doesn't kick debris around! It picks-up everything!
It is slow to move on a higher pile carpet.. self propelling would be nice... the cord is a bit too short and the unit is a bit heavy.
I am very pleased on how all the attachments work together.. the reach is good. All the attachments come apart and remove from the vacuum for easy washing. The carrying handle is in the right place.. making simple work of stairs.
Overall I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good suction

09/17/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I owned an old Panasonic vaccum for more than 10 years. I got it from my mother and it was used at least for several years before it came to me, so I am guessing it lasted for more than 20 years total. It finally quit working...mortor was still good because the hose attachment worked fine. It didn't suck from the floor unit. Anyway I didn't want to spend any money to repair it so I got this new model. I like my new one except one thing...it is too powerful and has no suction power control. My old one had a low-high power setting. I used the hose attachment to clean small rugs in my bath room and kitchen. This one sucks so powerful; it dosen't work on those small rugs. I am a little disappointed because I love all the attachments came with it but I cannot use it for what I need it...bummer! Overall, it's a good vaccum when used for cleaning floors.
Pros: Suction, Size & Weight
Cons: suction power control
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Just got this vac and I love it so far.

03/31/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to use. Lightweight yet picks up just fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Vaccuum!

05/03/2011
By ,
Beavercreek, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my new Red Panasonic vaccuum! It has wonderful suction power and there is no need to "adjust" the heighth for bare floors versus carpeting!! It's a "no brainer" Only downfall, is that I can't seem to find any replacemant filters for it very easily!! I do Love this vaccuum so much better than my old Hoover cyclone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

this is our third in 20 yrs

02/12/2014
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is even quieter than our last. Also like that it has a small turbine brush. Good power and great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Awesome product for the price!

06/06/2011
By ,
Gridley California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always owned Sharp vacuums. When I found out the Panasonic was the same basic design at a fraction of the cost, I couldn't believe it. This vaccum out-performs my Sharp and has more user friendly on board features. I would caution anyone with deep pile carpets that may not suit your needs as the suction is so great I don't think you could push it. I have a low cut no nap berber and this product works better than I imagined!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Purchase

07/30/2009
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several Panasonic Vacuum Cleaners and this one is wonderful~ It is heavy duty and picks up great. I have NO complaints what-so-ever.
I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This vacuum has only improved with time!

01/07/2014
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased another home and I tired of taking my 20 year old Panasonic Quick Draw vacuum back and forth between houses. I was thrilled to find, after an internet search, that they still make the same vacuum. It came today and I just finished using it. (Might be the only time I am excited to use it)
It is hard to believe that something has actually IMPROVED over the years and it cheaper than the original. ( I think it was around 150.00 when we bought it in 1991 from a dealer --pre-internet) I love the turbine attachment, something my other one doesn't have. It made the stairs so much easier. I am not sure about the cord reel; those things never seem to last, but I did note that they kept the design so that you can still wind the cord around the back of the vacuum, if it does fail. The attachment storage design has improved greatly too. The clip for the brush attachment broke on my old one, bc it stuck out and was exposed to the occasional wall banging. (I have 3 boys: they aren't gentle with things)
As far as suction and power, that has not changed, but it rolls much more easily than my old one. My mom, who has an expensive Hoover, prefers my old, green Quick Draw vacuum. She will love this one too, so I better hide it.
My old one had a foam filter, which I just washed and reused. It will be interesting to see how I like the Hepa filter, and the extra expense of using it, but other than that, you can not go wrong with this vacuum, especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Serious flaw

01/20/2014
By ,
Waldorf, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upright, bagged vacuums are hard to find, now-a-days, and this one has all the markings of a quality machine, except one very bad feature. The "auto" rewind cord retractor simply does not work. The cord is too thick and heavy for the spring in the retractor to handle, so it barely crawls a few feet before you have to help it along by pushing it. This could take several minutes, and there is no guarantee that it will complete the retraction. You might have to pull it back out and try again. I suppose you can hand roll the cord when it's extended and tie it off to store the vacuum, but why bother. We ended up buying a bagged Hoover. Bad design Panasonic.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonics Rule!

03/07/2011
By ,
Manteca,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was in the need for a vacuum, since I have a Panasonic and have had it for over 10 years I looked into a Panasonic for her too. We decided on the MC-UG471 as it is very sturdy, durable and an overall great, easy to use vacuum for a good price. My daughter loves her vacuum and would not trade it for any other. The only thing I did not like about it is the lengh of the cord. The cord could be a few more feet longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Awesome vac for the price

01/12/2014
By ,
West Salem WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a cleaning business for 20 years...Have used hoovers and a dyson most of the time. Thought I would try a Panasonic. Great suction, handy tools, easy operation. One down fall is the beater bar doesn't shut off when you are using the tools. I definitely would recommend this vac to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next