Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Designed for use on all floor types, the Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum delivers intense suction power while you vacuum. The ergonomic handle enables easy navigation, and you can quickly direct the Panasonic vacuum with a simple turn of the wrist. A quick-draw telescope reach wand and stretch hose allows the multi-floor vacuum plenty of reach. Plus, the upright vacuum comes with two standard wands, crevice tool, dusting brush and air turbine — you'll easily clean every nook and cranny!
Average Customer Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%84 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

12/02/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is great,It has excellent suction,picks up great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Powerhouse Vacuum

08/30/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vac is a nice powerhouse, Especially for the price.
It is fairly quiet for a vacuum. Has a bright light
Airflow/suction is Fantastic, be careful around light floor rugs though!
The hose is made of a quality rubber-like plastic which has a nice 8 ft reach , add extensions and crevice wand and you've got an easy 11ft to work with. Comes with a nice little air power brush attachment which sits neatly on the front. Extensions sit neatly on side as pictured. On/Off switch is conveniently on top of bag area.
The bottom plate can be removed (without a screw driver) to clean or change the belt which makes it easy for maintenance. Bags are easy to put in/remove (U-6) available at Walmart and many places with drop in "HEPA" filter in the front under bag area.
Does have a "push lever" to roll up electric cord, although you may have to assist the cord in the last 5 feet as the roll up isn't that powerful.
Has dual edge cleaning but you'll get best suction using the side the hose is on. Hose detaches from vac so you can clean it or unlodge something you sucked up.
Rolls very nicely, almost pulls it's self across my low pile berber.
Will lay flat with a 11" height to get under most things.
This is a nice well built vacuum, it has enough weight to stick to the floor but overall not too heavy.
The design is functional and easy to clean. I replaced my last Panasonic after 12 years with this one. Still uses same belt and bags as they always have. I use furniture polish on the plastic
(not the oil kind) as it cleans and buffs to a nice shine and helps keep the dirt from sticking to the underneath, just don't get it on the belt or belt area.
Overall, you can't go wrong with this Panasonic and the price range.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson
Addendum to my Review above
Posted 04/01/2014
The cord windup is a little worse than I originally stated, you will have to help it along most of the way as it isn't that strong. But other than that still is doing good for me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Yah, We'll See

08/25/2011
By ,
Lake Bluff, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the owner of several low-priced vacuums over the years, I have come to the resignation that they are all garbage. The best of the bunch was a Hoover Tempo that lasted for 4 years before burning out. Powerful but loud, I was going to buy another one when I read online that they have been cheapened in both quality and features since the model I bought. So, I bought this Panasonic. I have used it only a few times, but it matches the power of the Hoover and is much quieter. A few other nice things are the automatic roll-up power cord, the automatic height adjustment for floors and carpets, and you store the hand tool assembly with one wand already attached, which is more convenient than always having to attach tools. The upholstery cleaner is excellent. The hand tool sucked up a sock with ease and had it in the bottom of the bag within one second. It is better on carpets and rugs than on bare floors. It is also fairly lightweight. Would like a longer cord.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: Cord Length
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Isn't anything made to last ????

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have gone through 7 vacuums in 20 years. I researched this purchase for several weeks (knowing that after using a bagless, which didn't last for two years and created a dust cloud everytime I emptied it) I would return to a bagged vacuum. I read many reviews on moderate priced vacuums and the Panasonic Bagged Upright seemed to be a good purchase.
My order arrived before the expected delivery date. It was packaged well and only had to attach the handle with a screw (provided) to the body of the vacuum. I have been using the vacuum daily now for a little over a week. It does a wonderful job, suction is good. I like the placement of attachment storage and they are a good length.
Now for the problem!! This vacuum has a retractable cord. For a week, I enjoyed this convience. After a week of using the product, the cord no longer retracts. UGH!!!!
Other than that, I like the vacuum. Hoping it will last for a few years.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nevada
Posted 08/29/2014
Did you return it?/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Best Vacuum to Buy!

01/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner around 2 years ago when I first got married. I researched, researched, and researched for the best vacuum cleaner and I found this one. It truly is the best vacuum cleaner to purchase! It makes it so easy to clean...which really helps. It never loses suction (unlike all of the many bagless options out there), it has all the extra needed tools right at your hand (instead of digging in the box it came in to find them) and when you are finished, press a button and the cord reels back in so you can neatly tuck it away! I have been meaning to write this review for some time. I know it helped me when others shared their experience and so I want to help others. (I know we all hate wasting money on products that...in this case...Don't suck) You will not be disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good vacuum for the price

10/02/2014
By ,
Mineola, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light weight and simple assembly. Good value for the price. My biggest cons are the retractable cord is a little short and the on/off switch should be located right on the end of the handle. I bought it because I hated my bagless which costs 3x the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Worked fine for Six months

08/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum is January 2014 after reading many favorable reviews and searching for a low cost vacuum. Things worked well for the first six months and then the vacuum would start to shut down after 2 minutes of vacuuming. I changed out the bag, changed the HEPA filter and checked the vacuum roller brushes for anything that might be caught underneath. I even checked the hose with a flashlight to see if any debris was hung up but didn't see a thing.
My biggest disappointment came when trying to get the vacuum repaired since it was still under the one year Panasonic warranty. First of all, the phone number listed on the back of the user manual was incorrect. I had to search online for the right phone number. Once I called the correct number, everything was automated. They wanted to know my zip code so I provided the information. In a very garbled recording, I was given a repair shop 60 miles away from my home. You would think in a city as large as Los Angeles, Panasonic could do better than that. I tried calling the repair shop to get more information and to see if they could provide a location a little closer to my home. It's been 3 days and still no call back. Needless to say, this has been a very frustrating situation. Why can't we talk to a "live person" anymore when we encounter problems? I would think twice about buying another Panasonic product with such a lousy repair program.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Hard working vacuum for the price

08/20/2014
By ,
Beltsville MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third Panasonic red vacuum. I run a small cleaning company, so my vacuums get dragged up and down flights of steps, yanked in and out of a van sometimes 3 times each day, and vacuum miles of carpet. This is a great little performer for the price. The onboard attachments are some of the easiest to use on the market. I suction debris out of cabinets, refrigerators, stoves, window tracks and more.
It is a good idea to get extra bags and belts when you buy the vacuum. Both are hard to find. Check the bags often and don't let them get overfull. If you follow that rule your vacuum should work well for many years to come.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Works great on hardwood floors

10/28/2010
By ,
Parma Heights, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a professional housekeeper and my biggest concern was how it would handle on hard floors especially wood.. it's great!! It is absolutely safe for wood and it doesn't kick debris around! It picks-up everything!
It is slow to move on a higher pile carpet.. self propelling would be nice... the cord is a bit too short and the unit is a bit heavy.
I am very pleased on how all the attachments work together.. the reach is good. All the attachments come apart and remove from the vacuum for easy washing. The carrying handle is in the right place.. making simple work of stairs.
Overall I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good suction

09/17/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I owned an old Panasonic vaccum for more than 10 years. I got it from my mother and it was used at least for several years before it came to me, so I am guessing it lasted for more than 20 years total. It finally quit working...mortor was still good because the hose attachment worked fine. It didn't suck from the floor unit. Anyway I didn't want to spend any money to repair it so I got this new model. I like my new one except one thing...it is too powerful and has no suction power control. My old one had a low-high power setting. I used the hose attachment to clean small rugs in my bath room and kitchen. This one sucks so powerful; it dosen't work on those small rugs. I am a little disappointed because I love all the attachments came with it but I cannot use it for what I need it...bummer! Overall, it's a good vaccum when used for cleaning floors.
Pros: Suction, Size & Weight
Cons: suction power control
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This is a very good product.

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something simple to replace my broken Kenmore runabout and this fits the bill. It is quiet, has plenty of power and is easy to push.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Buy

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had Panasonic Vacuum cleaners before and had good luck with them. We have tried several other brands of vacuums but were not satisfied. We are very satisfied with this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Vaccuum!

05/03/2011
By ,
Beavercreek, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my new Red Panasonic vaccuum! It has wonderful suction power and there is no need to "adjust" the heighth for bare floors versus carpeting!! It's a "no brainer" Only downfall, is that I can't seem to find any replacemant filters for it very easily!! I do Love this vaccuum so much better than my old Hoover cyclone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Better than bagless.

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum ever. It picks up everything.
I feel that my carpets are really clean and look great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Awesome product for the price!

06/06/2011
By ,
Gridley California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always owned Sharp vacuums. When I found out the Panasonic was the same basic design at a fraction of the cost, I couldn't believe it. This vaccum out-performs my Sharp and has more user friendly on board features. I would caution anyone with deep pile carpets that may not suit your needs as the suction is so great I don't think you could push it. I have a low cut no nap berber and this product works better than I imagined!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Most Powerful Vacuum I have ever owned !

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned many different vacuums and tried out and returned many of them too. I always thought the Eureka Boss Smartvac's were my favorite of all until I gave this Panasonic a try . This vacuum is very powerful ! Has even stronger suction than the Eureka Boss Smartvac . It even does a great job on bare floors ..doesn't throw the dirt around like so many other uprights I've tried . Automatically adjusts to floor height which is a nice feature as well as a cord rewind peddle that can be operated with your foot . Very quiet compared to most vacuums as well. Now for the drawbacks ..it does not have a spring latch on the bag compartment door which would have been nice . Instead you have to pull out the door which I worry may eventually break if you are not careful. The other drawback is that the hose attaches to an extension that then goes into the vacuum . This is a bit odd and because of this design the hose doesn't want to stay on its hanger . Easy solution I found was just to take the extention off and plug the hose directly into the vacuum . This will solve the problem . Otherwise I love this vacuum !
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Purchase

07/30/2009
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several Panasonic Vacuum Cleaners and this one is wonderful~ It is heavy duty and picks up great. I have NO complaints what-so-ever.
I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum for the price

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used and liked Panasonic vacuums for 20 years. This one is even better than the others I've owned in that it is quieter and more powerful. Hopefully it will last as long as the others and is of the same good quality. The price is remarkable for a vacuum this good.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonics Rule!

03/07/2011
By ,
Manteca,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was in the need for a vacuum, since I have a Panasonic and have had it for over 10 years I looked into a Panasonic for her too. We decided on the MC-UG471 as it is very sturdy, durable and an overall great, easy to use vacuum for a good price. My daughter loves her vacuum and would not trade it for any other. The only thing I did not like about it is the lengh of the cord. The cord could be a few more feet longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent vacuume cleaner

10/29/2012
By ,
Southeast Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online as a replacement for the same vac I had for many years. (That one turned out not to be broke the tube had a toy stuck in it. Moved that one to lower level) new one has same great suction, cord reel is a nice addition, cord length is sufficient, quieter than the last one, the stair tool works great on stairs furniture or small rugs. Only thing I miss is it does not have the option to disengage the beater and the extension tubes are a little shorter. Well worth price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next