Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Designed for use on all floor types, the Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum delivers intense suction power while you vacuum. The ergonomic handle enables easy navigation, and you can quickly direct the Panasonic vacuum with a simple turn of the wrist. A quick-draw telescope reach wand and stretch hose allows the multi-floor vacuum plenty of reach. Plus, the upright vacuum comes with two standard wands, crevice tool, dusting brush and air turbine — you'll easily clean every nook and cranny!
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%64 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471
06/25/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old vac was a Hoover wind tunnel, I like my new panasonic better because: Panasonic is much quieter, it adjusts by itself from carpet to floor, it is MUCH easier to change the belt, does not hit the furniture as hard (rubber bumpers are in the right place). And I really like the cord wrap feature because the cord stays out of my way while vacuuming and I can put the vacuum away quickly without sitting on the floor to wrap the cord. About the belt...my fault that it broke so soon.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

11/16/2013
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a bagged vacuum. I was not thrilled with the idea of cleaning a filthy filter every time I vacuumed at work. I researched and read reviews first. This is a very good vacuum. Great suction and easy to use attachments. I ended up buying another one for my daughters new place.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent Product

11/07/2013
By ,
Mount pleasant wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research before I purchased this cleaner. I had an Oreck before this and it performed well for only 2 years and then it didn't pick up anymore. The repair would have been more than it was worth.
The Panasonic offers great suction, on board tools, a special attachment for stairs and furniture and it is light weight. I did buy the extended warranty, which is a nice offer through Walmart.
I prefer a bag cleaner versus a filtered cleaner. I find that in emptying a cup the dust is not contained, where in a bag it is.
All over, an excellent product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent value

05/10/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have owned an Oreck, several Bissells and Eureka vaccum cleaners. I've tried bag versus bagless vacs, and I will honestly say that this Panasonic is one of the best vacuums I have ever owned. The UG471 has an automatic cord reel which is hard to find on a vacuum in this price range. I do not find the vacuum particularly cumbersome or heavy, and I have back problems and arthritis. The suction power is impressive on carpet and hardwood surfaces. All in all, I have absolutely no complaints. For the money, this vacuum is an excellent value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonics Rule!

03/07/2011
By ,
Manteca,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was in the need for a vacuum, since I have a Panasonic and have had it for over 10 years I looked into a Panasonic for her too. We decided on the MC-UG471 as it is very sturdy, durable and an overall great, easy to use vacuum for a good price. My daughter loves her vacuum and would not trade it for any other. The only thing I did not like about it is the lengh of the cord. The cord could be a few more feet longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

12/02/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is great,It has excellent suction,picks up great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Perfect Panasonic

01/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having a two year Bissell Bagless break, I am so happy to get another Panasonic. This one is similar to my last one that lasted over 10 years. Bagless is messy and had to be emptied each use because of pet hair. I would rather replace a paper bag often. This vacuum also adjusts automatically from carpet to bare floors rather well. My only wish is that the cord was another foot or two longer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum for the money

04/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a construction cleaning business and I use this vacuum for cleaning sample homes and also sales trailers. The bypass feature makes it great for my business because I always come across rocks or bigger objects. Suction is very good and the onboard tools are very convienant
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

BEST VACUMN I HAVE EVER BOUGHT

03/25/2013
By ,
WINSTON SALEM, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AFTER 5 NEW VACUMNS WHICH WERE BAGLESS AND I HATED!! I WENT BACK TO A VACUMN WITH BAGS. IT WORKS GREAT, QUIET, EASY TO PUSH, AND NO DUST ON FLOOR AND ALL OVER VACUMN WHEN YOU CHANGE BAG UNLIKE WHEN YOU EMPTY A BAGLESS CANISTER, THE DUST GOES EVERYWHERE, AND YOU HAVE TO CLEAN IT UP.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Best Vaccum on the Markert

11/29/2013
By ,
Winter Springs,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum on the market. I had this for 20 years. It finally wore out. I will always buy it.
The rest of the vacuum are junky. Why would anybody buy a $600.00 vacuum. They are a waste.
I will always buy them. I was surprised when I saw it online. I hurry it up. I bought it. You will love this as much as me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Love my Panasonics!!!!!

05/19/2013
By ,
Long Island, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum after buying MANY other ones over the past couple of years. Even a $600.00 machine that didn't perform as well as this. I've had panasonic vacuums for about 20 years now, the quality isn't as good as it used to be, but it is still a VERY GOOD VACUUM! Attachments out perform many other expensive brands and it does a very good job picking up litter off of hard wood floors, which is my first test for any vacuum. I've always loved the retractable cord too. I've only had this one a couple of weeks so let's see how many belts through the years I have to replace, but the cost of this vacuum and the performance can't be beat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Vaccuum!

05/03/2011
By ,
Beavercreek, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my new Red Panasonic vaccuum! It has wonderful suction power and there is no need to "adjust" the heighth for bare floors versus carpeting!! It's a "no brainer" Only downfall, is that I can't seem to find any replacemant filters for it very easily!! I do Love this vaccuum so much better than my old Hoover cyclone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Perfectly powerful, caution: pulls up area rug!

06/27/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sucking up an area rug is a good sign to me, I don't mind. I'm glad it has the guts to clean.
It does a great job along the wall too, very happy with it. Attachments are handy. Aesthetically, I don't like the fire engine red plastic color, but it doesn't affect anything, it's in my closet! $20 cheaper than Amazon, delivered to my door for free and earlier than later on the estimated delivery range. Also earlier than if I were to order it "site-to-store"! Neat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Fantastic vac!

03/19/2013
By ,
Glendale, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a panasonic vacuum for years & I just bought this one.....love it....does everything I want it to do....love the instant wand use.....I have a Kirby too but this is the one I use the most!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Good suction power. Like the rewind feature.

06/27/2013
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Less filters to constantly clean as in the bagless vacs. I found the hard way, warranties are not honored if you do not clean the filters or even if you do they will find a reason not to. So back to the bags. The access to the belt is much easier and does not require a screwdriver.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

So far so good

11/14/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Panasonic so far. I had a Panasonic years ago and it lasted till I ran it into the ground. I have gone through 2 other vacuums so far this year. I thought they stopped making Panasonic but then I saw the Walmart commercial announcing they carried it. I bought one immediately and we are happy with the suction and performance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This vacuum has only improved with time!

01/07/2014
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased another home and I tired of taking my 20 year old Panasonic Quick Draw vacuum back and forth between houses. I was thrilled to find, after an internet search, that they still make the same vacuum. It came today and I just finished using it. (Might be the only time I am excited to use it)
It is hard to believe that something has actually IMPROVED over the years and it cheaper than the original. ( I think it was around 150.00 when we bought it in 1991 from a dealer --pre-internet) I love the turbine attachment, something my other one doesn't have. It made the stairs so much easier. I am not sure about the cord reel; those things never seem to last, but I did note that they kept the design so that you can still wind the cord around the back of the vacuum, if it does fail. The attachment storage design has improved greatly too. The clip for the brush attachment broke on my old one, bc it stuck out and was exposed to the occasional wall banging. (I have 3 boys: they aren't gentle with things)
As far as suction and power, that has not changed, but it rolls much more easily than my old one. My mom, who has an expensive Hoover, prefers my old, green Quick Draw vacuum. She will love this one too, so I better hide it.
My old one had a foam filter, which I just washed and reused. It will be interesting to see how I like the Hepa filter, and the extra expense of using it, but other than that, you can not go wrong with this vacuum, especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

this is our third in 20 yrs

02/12/2014
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is even quieter than our last. Also like that it has a small turbine brush. Good power and great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Best Vacuum to Buy!

01/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum cleaner around 2 years ago when I first got married. I researched, researched, and researched for the best vacuum cleaner and I found this one. It truly is the best vacuum cleaner to purchase! It makes it so easy to clean...which really helps. It never loses suction (unlike all of the many bagless options out there), it has all the extra needed tools right at your hand (instead of digging in the box it came in to find them) and when you are finished, press a button and the cord reels back in so you can neatly tuck it away! I have been meaning to write this review for some time. I know it helped me when others shared their experience and so I want to help others. (I know we all hate wasting money on products that...in this case...Don't suck) You will not be disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Powerhouse Vacuum

08/30/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vac is a nice powerhouse, Especially for the price.
It is fairly quiet for a vacuum. Has a bright light
Airflow/suction is Fantastic, be careful around light floor rugs though!
The hose is made of a quality rubber-like plastic which has a nice 8 ft reach , add extensions and crevice wand and you've got an easy 11ft to work with. Comes with a nice little air power brush attachment which sits neatly on the front. Extensions sit neatly on side as pictured. On/Off switch is conveniently on top of bag area.
The bottom plate can be removed (without a screw driver) to clean or change the belt which makes it easy for maintenance. Bags are easy to put in/remove (U-6) available at Walmart and many places with drop in "HEPA" filter in the front under bag area.
Does have a "push lever" to roll up electric cord, although you may have to assist the cord in the last 5 feet as the roll up isn't that powerful.
Has dual edge cleaning but you'll get best suction using the side the hose is on. Hose detaches from vac so you can clean it or unlodge something you sucked up.
Rolls very nicely, almost pulls it's self across my low pile berber.
Will lay flat with a 11" height to get under most things.
This is a nice well built vacuum, it has enough weight to stick to the floor but overall not too heavy.
The design is functional and easy to clean. I replaced my last Panasonic after 12 years with this one. Still uses same belt and bags as they always have. I use furniture polish on the plastic
(not the oil kind) as it cleans and buffs to a nice shine and helps keep the dirt from sticking to the underneath, just don't get it on the belt or belt area.
Overall, you can't go wrong with this Panasonic and the price range.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson
Addendum to my Review above
Posted 04/01/2014
The cord windup is a little worse than I originally stated, you will have to help it along most of the way as it isn't that strong. But other than that still is doing good for me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 69 total reviews