Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Designed for use on all floor types, the Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum delivers intense suction power while you vacuum. The ergonomic handle enables easy navigation, and you can quickly direct the Panasonic vacuum with a simple turn of the wrist. A quick-draw telescope reach wand and stretch hose allows the multi-floor vacuum plenty of reach. Plus, the upright vacuum comes with two standard wands, crevice tool, dusting brush and air turbine — you'll easily clean every nook and cranny!
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%74 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

I will only buy Panasonic Vacuums

04/03/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Panasonic I used for 15 years; my son is still using it for his apt. I tried other brands both with and without bags. They did not live up to what I need in cleaning. I bought the UG471 and love it! It has great power for rugs, terrific suction for cleaning cat hair off furniture, and I can change the bag without having to pull tops off to clean the inside of the vacuum and breathe in the dust and dirt. My first Panasonic cost me $99.00; this one cost me a total of $132.00 and no shipping charge (there was a sale). Walmart was way less expensive than any other store for this cleaner, including HSN. I would recommend it to EVERYONE !!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent Product

11/07/2013
By ,
Mount pleasant wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research before I purchased this cleaner. I had an Oreck before this and it performed well for only 2 years and then it didn't pick up anymore. The repair would have been more than it was worth.
The Panasonic offers great suction, on board tools, a special attachment for stairs and furniture and it is light weight. I did buy the extended warranty, which is a nice offer through Walmart.
I prefer a bag cleaner versus a filtered cleaner. I find that in emptying a cup the dust is not contained, where in a bag it is.
All over, an excellent product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonics Rule!

03/07/2011
By ,
Manteca,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was in the need for a vacuum, since I have a Panasonic and have had it for over 10 years I looked into a Panasonic for her too. We decided on the MC-UG471 as it is very sturdy, durable and an overall great, easy to use vacuum for a good price. My daughter loves her vacuum and would not trade it for any other. The only thing I did not like about it is the lengh of the cord. The cord could be a few more feet longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great!

05/16/2011
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great vacuum cleaner. The price was excellent as well. We went to a local vacuum cleaner store to purchase this same item and they were going to charge us 180.00.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent value

05/10/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have owned an Oreck, several Bissells and Eureka vaccum cleaners. I've tried bag versus bagless vacs, and I will honestly say that this Panasonic is one of the best vacuums I have ever owned. The UG471 has an automatic cord reel which is hard to find on a vacuum in this price range. I do not find the vacuum particularly cumbersome or heavy, and I have back problems and arthritis. The suction power is impressive on carpet and hardwood surfaces. All in all, I have absolutely no complaints. For the money, this vacuum is an excellent value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471
06/25/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old vac was a Hoover wind tunnel, I like my new panasonic better because: Panasonic is much quieter, it adjusts by itself from carpet to floor, it is MUCH easier to change the belt, does not hit the furniture as hard (rubber bumpers are in the right place). And I really like the cord wrap feature because the cord stays out of my way while vacuuming and I can put the vacuum away quickly without sitting on the floor to wrap the cord. About the belt...my fault that it broke so soon.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Purchase

07/30/2009
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several Panasonic Vacuum Cleaners and this one is wonderful~ It is heavy duty and picks up great. I have NO complaints what-so-ever.
I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great product

05/16/2011
By ,
Ocean Park, washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second panasonic first one lasted over 10 years. this new one looks to be the same great quality.
Love the attachements. Could not understand why anyone would buy another name brand for 5 times the cost when this one is perfect and does everything to keep the household in shape
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This Vacuum Has So Much Power!!

08/09/2013
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine. The retractable cord is really handy and the upholstery attachment is really powerful. I like this vacuum so much I bought one for my daughter, and she really likes hers too. Much more suction than so many others I've tried.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

11/16/2013
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a bagged vacuum. I was not thrilled with the idea of cleaning a filthy filter every time I vacuumed at work. I researched and read reviews first. This is a very good vacuum. Great suction and easy to use attachments. I ended up buying another one for my daughters new place.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This vacuum has only improved with time!

01/07/2014
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased another home and I tired of taking my 20 year old Panasonic Quick Draw vacuum back and forth between houses. I was thrilled to find, after an internet search, that they still make the same vacuum. It came today and I just finished using it. (Might be the only time I am excited to use it)
It is hard to believe that something has actually IMPROVED over the years and it cheaper than the original. ( I think it was around 150.00 when we bought it in 1991 from a dealer --pre-internet) I love the turbine attachment, something my other one doesn't have. It made the stairs so much easier. I am not sure about the cord reel; those things never seem to last, but I did note that they kept the design so that you can still wind the cord around the back of the vacuum, if it does fail. The attachment storage design has improved greatly too. The clip for the brush attachment broke on my old one, bc it stuck out and was exposed to the occasional wall banging. (I have 3 boys: they aren't gentle with things)
As far as suction and power, that has not changed, but it rolls much more easily than my old one. My mom, who has an expensive Hoover, prefers my old, green Quick Draw vacuum. She will love this one too, so I better hide it.
My old one had a foam filter, which I just washed and reused. It will be interesting to see how I like the Hepa filter, and the extra expense of using it, but other than that, you can not go wrong with this vacuum, especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

So far so good

11/14/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Panasonic so far. I had a Panasonic years ago and it lasted till I ran it into the ground. I have gone through 2 other vacuums so far this year. I thought they stopped making Panasonic but then I saw the Walmart commercial announcing they carried it. I bought one immediately and we are happy with the suction and performance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Fantastic vac!

03/19/2013
By ,
Glendale, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a panasonic vacuum for years & I just bought this one.....love it....does everything I want it to do....love the instant wand use.....I have a Kirby too but this is the one I use the most!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great Powerhouse Vacuum

08/30/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vac is a nice powerhouse, Especially for the price.
It is fairly quiet for a vacuum. Has a bright light
Airflow/suction is Fantastic, be careful around light floor rugs though!
The hose is made of a quality rubber-like plastic which has a nice 8 ft reach , add extensions and crevice wand and you've got an easy 11ft to work with. Comes with a nice little air power brush attachment which sits neatly on the front. Extensions sit neatly on side as pictured. On/Off switch is conveniently on top of bag area.
The bottom plate can be removed (without a screw driver) to clean or change the belt which makes it easy for maintenance. Bags are easy to put in/remove (U-6) available at Walmart and many places with drop in "HEPA" filter in the front under bag area.
Does have a "push lever" to roll up electric cord, although you may have to assist the cord in the last 5 feet as the roll up isn't that powerful.
Has dual edge cleaning but you'll get best suction using the side the hose is on. Hose detaches from vac so you can clean it or unlodge something you sucked up.
Rolls very nicely, almost pulls it's self across my low pile berber.
Will lay flat with a 11" height to get under most things.
This is a nice well built vacuum, it has enough weight to stick to the floor but overall not too heavy.
The design is functional and easy to clean. I replaced my last Panasonic after 12 years with this one. Still uses same belt and bags as they always have. I use furniture polish on the plastic
(not the oil kind) as it cleans and buffs to a nice shine and helps keep the dirt from sticking to the underneath, just don't get it on the belt or belt area.
Overall, you can't go wrong with this Panasonic and the price range.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson
Addendum to my Review above
Posted 04/01/2014
The cord windup is a little worse than I originally stated, you will have to help it along most of the way as it isn't that strong. But other than that still is doing good for me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent vacuume cleaner

10/29/2012
By ,
Southeast Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online as a replacement for the same vac I had for many years. (That one turned out not to be broke the tube had a toy stuck in it. Moved that one to lower level) new one has same great suction, cord reel is a nice addition, cord length is sufficient, quieter than the last one, the stair tool works great on stairs furniture or small rugs. Only thing I miss is it does not have the option to disengage the beater and the extension tubes are a little shorter. Well worth price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471
04/21/2013
By ,
Lake, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Panasonic vacuum lasted almost 15 years so didn't think twice about purchasing another one. I especially love the new attachment on this model called the air turbine with a spinning brush which makes cleaning upholstery and small areas quick and easy. This comes in very handy if you have pets as the spinning brush picks up the hair much better.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent prior experience with Panasnoic BAGGED V

12/07/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a long time to discover that Panasonic made the Kenmore version of this BAGGED vac. We bought a Kenmore version over 5 years ago and it finally broke. We tried many other brands even the Panasonic Bagless versions. They were terrible. This model is the closest to the Kenmore version we had. It is the exact same vac EXCEPT this does not have the floor height adjustment. So it drops the head down on the surface and gives a little "buzz" when using on bare floor when you pull back. On carpet, it is excellent but I really miss the floor height adjustment. Panasonic vacs seem to have the most powerful suction from what we've tried.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Very Happy with Purchase

03/22/2013
By ,
Bellmore, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine and has two new great features that my old one didn't have. The retractable cord saves all the winding around that I used to do and now it comes with the small rotary brush that sits on the top front. Also, they have made the handle one piece and placed the on and off switch on the body. A much better feature. Great price too. I had my old Panasonic for over 13 years. Still works but I thought it was time to replace it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471
07/14/2013
By ,
Eastern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We replaced a similar but much older model only because the belt began to come off frequently.
The new model is a bit harder to push. We only use it on carpet, no bare floors. Carrying the extra tools on the frame is not a smart idea. It adds weight, clutter and simply unnecessary bulk. Clumsy design in our opinion. Needless to say, we took the extras off.
Powerful superb cleaner and at a very reasonable cost, This version was about 40% less than the previous. Maybe that just serves as a reminder to shop on the internet (which was very uncommon back then).
Also, this model was not available anywhere locally. It was shipped to our home and delivered by Fed-Ex less than 24 hrs after it was ordered. Great service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Perfectly powerful, caution: pulls up area rug!

06/27/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sucking up an area rug is a good sign to me, I don't mind. I'm glad it has the guts to clean.
It does a great job along the wall too, very happy with it. Attachments are handy. Aesthetically, I don't like the fire engine red plastic color, but it doesn't affect anything, it's in my closet! $20 cheaper than Amazon, delivered to my door for free and earlier than later on the estimated delivery range. Also earlier than if I were to order it "site-to-store"! Neat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 79 total reviews