Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Designed for use on all floor types, the Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum delivers intense suction power while you vacuum. The ergonomic handle enables easy navigation, and you can quickly direct the Panasonic vacuum with a simple turn of the wrist. A quick-draw telescope reach wand and stretch hose allows the multi-floor vacuum plenty of reach. Plus, the upright vacuum comes with two standard wands, crevice tool, dusting brush and air turbine — you'll easily clean every nook and cranny!
Average Customer Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%84 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Powerful suction

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My carpet looks great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonics Rule!

03/07/2011
By ,
Manteca,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was in the need for a vacuum, since I have a Panasonic and have had it for over 10 years I looked into a Panasonic for her too. We decided on the MC-UG471 as it is very sturdy, durable and an overall great, easy to use vacuum for a good price. My daughter loves her vacuum and would not trade it for any other. The only thing I did not like about it is the lengh of the cord. The cord could be a few more feet longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

great vacuum

09/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had panasonic vacs in the past, but recently bought a hoover due to needing a vac and panasonic are not in most stores. I will never again not buy a panasonic. The hoover is going out in a garage sale.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

this is our third in 20 yrs

02/12/2014
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is even quieter than our last. Also like that it has a small turbine brush. Good power and great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Awesome product for the price!

06/06/2011
By ,
Gridley California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always owned Sharp vacuums. When I found out the Panasonic was the same basic design at a fraction of the cost, I couldn't believe it. This vaccum out-performs my Sharp and has more user friendly on board features. I would caution anyone with deep pile carpets that may not suit your needs as the suction is so great I don't think you could push it. I have a low cut no nap berber and this product works better than I imagined!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

This vacuum has only improved with time!

01/07/2014
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased another home and I tired of taking my 20 year old Panasonic Quick Draw vacuum back and forth between houses. I was thrilled to find, after an internet search, that they still make the same vacuum. It came today and I just finished using it. (Might be the only time I am excited to use it)
It is hard to believe that something has actually IMPROVED over the years and it cheaper than the original. ( I think it was around 150.00 when we bought it in 1991 from a dealer --pre-internet) I love the turbine attachment, something my other one doesn't have. It made the stairs so much easier. I am not sure about the cord reel; those things never seem to last, but I did note that they kept the design so that you can still wind the cord around the back of the vacuum, if it does fail. The attachment storage design has improved greatly too. The clip for the brush attachment broke on my old one, bc it stuck out and was exposed to the occasional wall banging. (I have 3 boys: they aren't gentle with things)
As far as suction and power, that has not changed, but it rolls much more easily than my old one. My mom, who has an expensive Hoover, prefers my old, green Quick Draw vacuum. She will love this one too, so I better hide it.
My old one had a foam filter, which I just washed and reused. It will be interesting to see how I like the Hepa filter, and the extra expense of using it, but other than that, you can not go wrong with this vacuum, especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

I love this vacuum

07/10/2012
By ,
Bradenton. FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Powerful suction. I find that the cord is long enough. I use an extension wand from another Panasonic vacuum and this makes it easier to use the attachments, especially to vacuum floors. I can't rate this vacuum as to its automatic adjustment to different floor covering heights because I only use it on one type of carpet. I have two very small areas which are not carpet and I like to use the attachment for these areas. I am very satisfied with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Perfect Panasonic

01/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having a two year Bissell Bagless break, I am so happy to get another Panasonic. This one is similar to my last one that lasted over 10 years. Bagless is messy and had to be emptied each use because of pet hair. I would rather replace a paper bag often. This vacuum also adjusts automatically from carpet to bare floors rather well. My only wish is that the cord was another foot or two longer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum for the money

04/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a construction cleaning business and I use this vacuum for cleaning sample homes and also sales trailers. The bypass feature makes it great for my business because I always come across rocks or bigger objects. Suction is very good and the onboard tools are very convienant
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great vacuum

12/02/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is great,It has excellent suction,picks up great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Fantastic vac!

03/19/2013
By ,
Glendale, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a panasonic vacuum for years & I just bought this one.....love it....does everything I want it to do....love the instant wand use.....I have a Kirby too but this is the one I use the most!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Panasonic still the best

05/09/2013
By ,
Prescott, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a Panasonic upright for over 20 years and needed to upgrade to a HEPA model for my allergies. I bought a Dyson DC33 bagless, on the hearty recommendation of a Lowes' employee. Worst vacuum ever! Expensive too. Poor ergonomics and made a loud clattering sound all the time. Next I bought a Hoover Wind Tunnel Max, another bagless model. I tried bagless models based on the recommendations of my daughter and daughter-in-law. Hated them both. I decided to stick with bagged uprights, like my previous dependable old Panasonic. Got this machine and love it. Has great suction, better than the previous two bagless models and I don't have to constantly bend down to change the setting level to accomodate differing flooring surfaces. Much faster and my back is glad. The Panasonic cost less than the other two and works much better! I am a confirmed Panasonic user.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent value

05/10/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have owned an Oreck, several Bissells and Eureka vaccum cleaners. I've tried bag versus bagless vacs, and I will honestly say that this Panasonic is one of the best vacuums I have ever owned. The UG471 has an automatic cord reel which is hard to find on a vacuum in this price range. I do not find the vacuum particularly cumbersome or heavy, and I have back problems and arthritis. The suction power is impressive on carpet and hardwood surfaces. All in all, I have absolutely no complaints. For the money, this vacuum is an excellent value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Great!

05/16/2011
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great vacuum cleaner. The price was excellent as well. We went to a local vacuum cleaner store to purchase this same item and they were going to charge us 180.00.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

I will only buy Panasonic Vacuums

04/03/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Panasonic I used for 15 years; my son is still using it for his apt. I tried other brands both with and without bags. They did not live up to what I need in cleaning. I bought the UG471 and love it! It has great power for rugs, terrific suction for cleaning cat hair off furniture, and I can change the bag without having to pull tops off to clean the inside of the vacuum and breathe in the dust and dirt. My first Panasonic cost me $99.00; this one cost me a total of $132.00 and no shipping charge (there was a sale). Walmart was way less expensive than any other store for this cleaner, including HSN. I would recommend it to EVERYONE !!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Love my Panasonics!!!!!

05/19/2013
By ,
Long Island, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum after buying MANY other ones over the past couple of years. Even a $600.00 machine that didn't perform as well as this. I've had panasonic vacuums for about 20 years now, the quality isn't as good as it used to be, but it is still a VERY GOOD VACUUM! Attachments out perform many other expensive brands and it does a very good job picking up litter off of hard wood floors, which is my first test for any vacuum. I've always loved the retractable cord too. I've only had this one a couple of weeks so let's see how many belts through the years I have to replace, but the cost of this vacuum and the performance can't be beat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471
06/25/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old vac was a Hoover wind tunnel, I like my new panasonic better because: Panasonic is much quieter, it adjusts by itself from carpet to floor, it is MUCH easier to change the belt, does not hit the furniture as hard (rubber bumpers are in the right place). And I really like the cord wrap feature because the cord stays out of my way while vacuuming and I can put the vacuum away quickly without sitting on the floor to wrap the cord. About the belt...my fault that it broke so soon.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Excellent prior experience with Panasnoic BAGGED V

12/07/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a long time to discover that Panasonic made the Kenmore version of this BAGGED vac. We bought a Kenmore version over 5 years ago and it finally broke. We tried many other brands even the Panasonic Bagless versions. They were terrible. This model is the closest to the Kenmore version we had. It is the exact same vac EXCEPT this does not have the floor height adjustment. So it drops the head down on the surface and gives a little "buzz" when using on bare floor when you pull back. On carpet, it is excellent but I really miss the floor height adjustment. Panasonic vacs seem to have the most powerful suction from what we've tried.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

So far so good

11/14/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Panasonic so far. I had a Panasonic years ago and it lasted till I ran it into the ground. I have gone through 2 other vacuums so far this year. I thought they stopped making Panasonic but then I saw the Walmart commercial announcing they carried it. I bought one immediately and we are happy with the suction and performance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Panasonic Bagged Upright Vacuum, MC-UG471

Does what a vacuum should do!

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful, light and not super loud. Thinking about ordering 2nd one at this price because I live in fear that bagged vacs will be a thing of the past and I HATE bagless vacuums, they are just too messy to maintain and I've never found one that didn't clog. The only con with the Panasonic is the stupid rubber hose falls off the hanger so I either deal with it or just attach it directly to the vacuum and bypass the extender (you'll see).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 90 total reviews