Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbie Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Barbie Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Three stories of fabulous home decor include a pink personal elevator, and lights and sounds on every level. Enter the Barbie 3-Story Dream Townhouse through the front door to a warm and glowing light-up chandelier, dining area and fully stocked kitchen. Entertain in the second-level living room with roaring fireplace and pop-up flat screen TV, plus an ultra-luxurious Barbie signature bathroom. On the third floor of this Barbie townhouse, there is a posh bedroom suite with canopy bed, and balcony with charming light-up tiki lights and outdoor whirlpool tub!
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
76
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%205 out of 225reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
76
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

HOW TO FIX THE FIREPLACE...

12/26/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Townhouses have ONE FLAW: the fireplace is not hooked up completely, resulting in no sound or lights. The button on the front of the fireplace will activate the lights, the crackling and release the t.v. to go up. THIS IS WHAT YOU DO: If the fireplace can lean forward and you can fit your finger behind to press the button to activate the lights/crackling, then, it is off the hooks (2 in back). Get a flashlight, see where the two hooks are behind it? Gently, try to manuever the fireplace back onto the hooks by pushing the BACK side of the house with your left hand, and pushing the fireplace up and against the wall with your right. It may take a few tries, but eventually, it WILL CLICK COMPLETELY INTO PLACE. Then the button will work. Also, if the chandelier doesn't work properly, gently take it out and, using a flashlight, line up the prongs in the ceiling with the prongs in the chandelier, and replace. It can be perfect, just make sure things are lined up. It sits nicely next to our old Dream House.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+142points
Review 2 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Good Buy

08/12/2009
By ,
Dallas, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dreamhouse cost me 170$ with shipping and tax. I advise anyone wanting it quickly to just go with the regular shipping, do not pay extra for shipping, because I did not pay extra, I ordered it on Thursday evening and it got to me Monday evening via UPS...
Yes, I would recommend this to friends.
Pros: Barbie looks very stylish in her house. She can actually sit at the kitchen table. The sounds are pretty realistic, my daughter loves the sounds.
Cons: Barbie gets stuck in the elevator going up, it isn't very big. And it already is showing some wear, it sometimes doesn't quite line up with the floors exactly. Also I don't like how it doesn't have stairs, we just pretend there are invisible stairs bc it's kind of a pain..
Oh, set up time was probably 45 minutes, not that difficult I gather from watching my husband put it together.
This completes my 5 year old daughters barbie ensemble. Overall I am mostly happy with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Barbie Townhouse
Posted 04/25/2012
Do you happen to remember where you purchased that basket in your picture that you're using to store barbies/accessories? It seems perfect and I can't find anything like it anywhere.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

My daughter and niece love this house!

09/14/2011
By ,
Reading Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister bought this house for my niece for her birthday. My niece loved it so much that I went and bought it for my daughter for her birthday. It is my daughters favorite toy. It stands almost as tall as her and is taller than both of my nieces and they are all 9. She has a lot of toys but this is the only toy that she plays with every single day. When her friends come over to visit, this is the first toy they all go for. My other niece loves this house so much that she asked me to get her one for her birthday, which is coming up.
Yes it was quite a pain to put together (mostly the elevator) but the kids love it so much that it is definitely worth the work! I have spent the same price, and sometimes more, on dollhouses that were not as nice looking or as sturdy as this. Nor did my daughters love them as much. This is a great buy for any little girl that loves her barbie dolls.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Great house!

08/05/2010
By ,
Mt.Vernon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The house is awesome my 4 year old loved it! however her father wasn't real thrilled with the directions, there was fuzzy black and white pictures, but other wise its great! took about and hour to set up even with the stickers. she is rough on toys but she hasn't tore it up at all!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Super Doll House

11/12/2010
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Barbie House! This one is really great and I bought it for my own use. I also have some of the Vintage Barbie houses and this one compares with them. Got lots of Barbies and I feel like a kid again while playing with them. Highly recommend Adult women get this house. You can add lots of other Barbie furnishings and choose the poseable Barbies to fit perfectly in this house. Now there is a problem with the fireplace. I have discovered if you press the back side of it and press the button it will light up and make crackling noises. The lighted whirlpool tub is just great. Highly recommend this toy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valdosta Ga
I am sold
Posted 12/22/2011
I can not wait to get this Product I am DID/MPD and my Girls and me will have tons of Fun playing with the barbies in this House I want to get the Malibu house and the Vacation Dream house as well. I think it is a awesome product but maybe needs to be for the old Clan and not for the 3,4,5 but 6 years old and up that can take care of the house and not tear it up I am getting this house on the 3rd of Jan Can't wait michelle
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Beautiful Doll house

01/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter wanted this house for Christmas and I was able to have it delivered from wal-mart. The shipping was too high. The bottom floor of the doll house has a working chandler however it falls out all the time. It takes some time to put it back in because it has to be positioned just right. The fireplace works but is difficult to push. It's like it isn't snapped into place all the way. The front door will come off easily if opened all the way, however it is very easy to put back on. The chairs in the kitchen do not stand up, the constantly fall over. The best part about it is the TV that pops out of the fireplace. My daughter (5) loves this house and plays with it for hours.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 7 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Will have your little girl screaming with joy

01/06/2012
By ,
Morehead City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this Barbie townhouse for my daughter who will be five-years-old in 2 months. She absolutely loves it!!! She kept shrieking as we put it together, saying, "I'm just so excited!"
The fireplace was a little tricky to figure out, but we got it to work (I had read a lot of reviews saying it didn't work).
The chandelier downstairs does light up, but the door has to be opened just right for it to hit the little button/trigger.
All the sounds (kitchen timer, toilet, shower, and doorbell) work great! They're actually quite loud!
Tip: Make sure you read the directions when putting the columns in. My husband thought they were all the same but they each have 1 specific spot that they go. And once they're popped in, they DON'T come out without breaking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse
12/27/2011
By ,
New Haven CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Excellent Puchase

10/27/2009
By ,
Shelbyville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this Barbie Townhouse for our daughters for Christmas, we decided to open it prior because of hearing the fireplace doesn't work properly. We found that there was a button on the back of the fireplace to turn it on. Overall I believe it is an excellent product. The girls will get a blast out of it, plus it is as tall if not taller than our children. There is plenty of room for two children to play with the house at the same time. We really enjoyed the fact that it was fully furnished.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+141points
Review 10 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

OMG! Fantastic!!

08/14/2009
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my daughters 4th bday. She discovered it one day so I gave it to her early. I thought for 2 days before buying this because of the price!
This is the best toy I have ever gotten. The shower, toilet, doorbell, light, fireplace etc... All work great...
For the price I am SO glad I got this. Alot of the furnitre is oversized so no choking. Alot of the little things are SO little that I was not to worried when I saw then, just look at each piece to make sure for yourself.
I cannot believe I spent that much $$ on one thing, now I am SO glad. I called the 1-800 # on the package just to tell them thank you for it!
P.s... This is past my hips - taller then my almost 4 year old!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 11 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

A lot of money for plastic, but our kids love it

12/30/2009
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Santa brought this for our girls (ages 6 & 2 1/2) for Christmas. They were SO excited about it...and LOVE it. The Zhu Zhu pets invaded almost immediately and seemed to enjoy the amenities as well.
However, while setting this up the "wallpaper" was already starting to get wavy and wasn't sticking well to the wall, and the railing to the porch was almost too long for it and fit in funny.
I also had to push the fireplace in to make it work because it had come loose in shipping. The chandelier comes loose every so often, so we just keep pushing it in. The shower sounds work, you just have to push kind of hard on the floor.
THERE ARE SOME EXTREMELY SMALL PARTS!!! I couldn't believe it but Barbie actually gets a toothbrush...I could barely hold it, it was so tiny. She also has a bottle of perfume that is probably half the size of a pencil eraser. We immediately got a plastic tub to keep these pieces in because they will be gone when it comes time to sweep.
The directions are ridiculous. You will be better off searching for the shapes on the bottoms of the white pieces.
All in all, the kids love it. I think it is a heck of a lot of money for a hunk of plastic, but the things I have issue with they haven't noticed. They are enjoying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 12 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Love it, but a few tips!

12/27/2009
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of negative reviews before purchasing this dollhouse, but I decided to purchase it anyway...mainly because it made me nostalgic of the dollhouse a friend of mine had when I was young. It was a bit pricey, but I got it when Toys R Us offered the free remote control corvette..so it was a great deal as my daughter loves it. We bought this for Christmas for my 3 year old daughter. My husband and I put this together on Christmas Eve and I have to say, yes the instructions are horrible. The most difficult part is the elevator. But just look at the picture on the box to guide you and pay attention to the columns. Some have slots for the elevator to slide up and down. Once you have strung the elevator, if it seems like the string is tight..make sure that the roof is on tightly and that will give you a little more leeway. There are working sounds and lights through out the house. On the 1st floor- the door bell rings, the chandelier lights up and the refrigerator lights up. We had a problem getting the chandelier to come on (as did many people), but found that you just need to make sure the chandelier is in tightly and properly. Also make sure you install the door tightly as well. There is a button in the top hinge that activates the chandelier when the door is open..so if it is not in good it will not work right. On the 2nd floor- the television pops up, fireplace lights and crackles, the shower makes water sounds and you hear Barbie singing and the toilet flushes. We had a problem with the fireplace. The Tv popped up when we pressed the button, but no light or sound from the fireplace. It seems that the fireplace is not completely installed. Check to make sure it is fitting snugly against the wall. There is a button behind the fireplace mantle that actives the lights and sounds. Click it into place so it is snug against the wall wand your lights and sounds should work. However if you are like us..once we did that the TV wouldn't pop up right. If that happens just fool around with it a bit to get the TV back on its track and you should be good to go. On the 3rd floor- the jacuzzi does not actually work unlike some of the pictures may lead you to believe. There is no bubbling mechanism. It does however hold water and the Tiki lights do work. The batteries for the Tiki lights were included, but I had to provide the ones for the house (I think 3 AA). Overall I think the house is really great. I think it was very sturdy unless your child plans to climb on it. No different from any other dollhouse made from Barbie. I was actually very pleasantly surprised at the space. There is plenty. I didn't expect the floors to be so wide. It is very tall and I don't think it will be very easy to take a part once put together, so make sure you pay attention. It is a beautiful house that best of all comes fully furnished. The furniture is not the greatest, but still nice. There are a lot of little pieces for the kitchen and bathroom, but you can always put them away like I did if you don't want your child to have them yet. If you want a beautiful house for your daughter with lights and sounds..buy it, follow these tips and I don't think you will be disappointed. I hope this helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+482points
Review 13 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

6 yr old daughter loves it !

08/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 6 yr old daughters birthday. She absolutely LOVES it ! The house is very large and easy for her to use. Had trouble with the leg of the chair to the dining table - it was crooked and when tried to straighten it broke. Super glued and taped back together - still works. Can't get the fireplace to light and crackle as stated. Overall though - small issues didn't matter to my daughter - she loves the house. The elevator is definitely a big hit !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 14 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Your little girl will love it!!!!!

12/26/2009
By ,
Arnold, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the only thing my 6 yr old daughter told Santa she wanted for Christmas. I was concerned about getting it after reading some of the reviews about certains things not working in the house. We looked at some of the wooden doll houses but she was stuck on the Barbie house. I ordered it early so I could put it together before Christmas to make sure everything worked. This house is soooooo cute!!! Everything works great and it comes with quite a bit of stuff too. You must make sure the fireplace is pushed all the way against the wall while you're putting it together so it will work properly. My daughter was so excited on Christmas morning to get this house and hasn't stopped playing with it yet. It does require 3 AA batteries for all the sounds but no big deal. She loves the elevator, doorbell, fireplace, pop up flat screen tv, and that Barbie sings in the shower. It is also very sturdy for a plastic doll house. I would recommend this house to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Biggest waste of money.

09/24/2011
By ,
Ocoee, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am honestly surprised this has had so many good reviews. The dollhouse furniture is dollar store quality. My girls are 4 & 6. And they hardly play with it bc majority of the furniture has broken or has just fallen apart. I am constantly fixing everything. I wish I would have spent my money on a quality wooden dollhouse. I beg you not to waste your money on this house or you to will be disappointed. Mattel swung and missed. They need to get together with kidkraft and find out how to build a quality wooden dollhouse. Until then. I am never purchasing another Barbie plastic piece if junk again. I wish I could have given it 0 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 16 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse
08/28/2011
By ,
Milpitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter has been wanting the barbie doll house for a very long time. (1 bad experience before...let's just say I purchased one at a store being told it came right from the warehouse only to open it and see that it was clearly used and returned. I'm talking the stickers were put on and there was major damage to the whole house). So I decided to try again and so I purchased one online for my daughter's birthday. And Walmart's price was outstanding compared to the other stores prices. It shipped out quickely and got here in plenty of time before my daughter's party too. But when we took it out of the box there was some minimal damage to some of the pieces which I was a little upset about. But after everything that I've been through to get this doll house I decided to keep it. My daughter loves this house and if it makes her happy than I'm happy. She looked at the part where the bathtub was bent and said it's okay mommy I can still have fun with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Wish I had this when I was little!

07/15/2010
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having girls is great! I get to spoil them with all the things I wish I would have had when I was their age. The Barbie house is so cool! All the parts were there & working. Took my husband about 1/2 hr and just a little cussing to get it together. Daughters have been playing with it since. You dont have to buy anything extra to fill the house (except the Barbies) because it comes with furniture & food. Just needs 3 AA batteries. Slim and light, so it can be moved around easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 18 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

My daughter is thrilled!

12/25/2011
By ,
Boonton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter rec'd this item from Santa this year and is thrilled. She loves the sounds of the shower w/ Barbie singing, the flushing toilet and the TV that rises up out of the fire place. Like many others, we also could not get the chandelier to work -even using the tips listed from other reviews. I'm going to contact the manufacturer to see if they will send another chandlier that works. Even if it will only be used as a decoration, my daughter loves this house. It wasn't too difficult to put together (although the directions are pretty vague ie, "insert elevator" or "step 2: door" that along with dark black and white pictures are not very helpful. We ended up looking at the color photo on the box as a reference. We were a bit nervous that something would snap off as we put it together since the plastic is not sturdy. Also, if you have young children, be warned, there are a zillion tiny little pieces (silverware, toothbrush, soap holder).
Overall, my daughter is thrilled and that's what really matters. Too bad about the chandelier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Barbie 3-story Dream Townhouse

07/28/2010
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the price this dollhouse doesn't seem to be a good value. It is not very sturdy and some of the features do not work properly. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 20 for Barbie Dollhouse 3-Story Dream Townhouse

Daughter still loved it!

10/01/2009
By ,
Humble, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Barbie house looked adorable! My daughter just loves it she plays with it every morning and every night. The house was not hard to but together just MANY very small pieces. The only prob that I am having with it is the fire place does not make any sound, the chandelier does not work and falls out all the time, and the kitchen chair was not made correctly and the front legs had to be put on backwards. I would exchange it, but I think it would be to much of a hassle to load up and take back to the store. So other than the little problems my daughter has not even noticed. IT IS ADORABLE!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next