Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bear Archery Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Bear Archery Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

The Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Set is the perfect accessory that will allow young children to practice their hand at archery target shooting. It has a draw length of 16- 24 inch and a draw weight of 8-12 pounds. The bow and arrow set can be used by left hand users and by right hand users also. It includes everything that your child needs to practice his aim. The set comes with 2 safety glasses, arrows, armguard and arrow quiver. The Bear archery set has a brace height of 7 inches. It features durable, composite limbs and riser for steady practice and strength. The black plastic grip used in makes it comfortable to handle and use. The set is ideal for archery shooting beginners aged between 4 to 7 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.344 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%57 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Best For Family Fun!

09/11/2014
By ,
Haines City Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Bear First Shot. The molded handgrip is tapered in such a way that both small and large hands fit it well. It is engineered with great simplicity. The range is great for back yard fun. It is easy and fun to shoot. The arrows fly accurately. I added this little bow to my cart to avoid shipping charges on 2 other bows. It was the best of the three! The Sport Flight, and the Lil' Sioux were ok. These 2 bows are VERY AGE SPECIFIC! And the age recommendations are too low. The Bear First Shot did not have the age specific problems. The bottom line on this bow is that it is a fun bow for the entire family. $15 for a fun time is bargain. I did give the other bows a decent trial, but this little plinking bow was the most fun for the money. Hands down it is the best "add to cart" I have ever made. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Great buy, but minimum age is a little low...

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased two of these bows, and I bought them for my daughters, who have always loved my bow. I use a compound with a release, and since they were old enough to stand, we've used a target behind my house, letting them release while I aim the bow.
Because they showed interest in archery, I picked these two up, and because of a positive review on yelp about a man's three-yr old grandsons using them, I thought that my two daughters could handle it, seeing as how my three yr old can climb to the top of a 6ft privacy fence and actually can climb on my roof!
Unfortunately, only my four year old is learning and loving it. My three year old cannot draw the bow. I over estimated her strength, and I may have accidentally turned her off of archery by introducing her too early.
The minimum age is 4 for this bow according to the manufacturer, and they mean it. Four is probably the minimum for most.
Knowing my children, they'll learn it, but the physical strength to draw the 8lb weight is a must. Drawing across the chest is a set of muscles that have to be developed, and stance training is what takes the most time with this learning set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Great for kids

07/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old son bought this with a gift card. It is perfect! Works great and seems to be good quality. Shipping it to the store was a great experience--no shipping fees!
Would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Very Nice Starter Bow

07/27/2010
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really loved this product! It is the perfect size for my 5 year old! Would have liked the target to be made better (it was paper) but other than that I loved it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Very good

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

great starter bow

07/19/2010
By ,
Gerrardstosn, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this bow for my 3 year old son. he loves it. This is a great bow to introduce your kids to shooting sports. would recommend it to anyone with small kids starting out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Perfect Starter

07/06/2010
By ,
Ojai, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our son's 8th birthday. It was the perfect compliment to his new Robin Hood book. It is sturdy and the right size for his frame. The tension on the bow will take him some time to get used to but I think it is better to be a little hard than too easy. Well constructed material but definitely not to be used as a toy. Great for the young novice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Missing items and poor quality arrows

07/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was missing both pairs of safety glasses that were stated to be in the pack, the one arrow broke very quickly, the part that hooks onto the rope broke off, the bow itself seems nice for a beginner, but everything else is low quality
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Bear Archery Set

01/02/2012
By ,
Mooresville NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great item for beginning shooters! By 5 year old was able to successfully hit a target set up 15 feet away on the first shot. The tension is just enough to make the bow a real weapon, but light enough that doesn't frustrate little ones wanting to learn to shoot. The bow comes with two fairly short, blunt-tip target arrows. a fairly flimsy "quiver", arm guard, and a small target . I was kind-of disappointed in the packing, as it arrived in a plain shipping box. Overall a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Solid bow for youngsters

07/05/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my eight year old son who enjoyed archery at Cub Scout camp. The bow is decent quality as well as the arrrows. He has tons of fun with it and you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

perfect first set

04/06/2011
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 10 year old wanted a bow & arrow set & this was perfect. The bow is really weel constructed & has anice taut string & really snaps back. The two arrows were fine; a nice weight & the blunt tips were very much appreciated. My one complaint is that the notched recess on the other end of the arrow, (the end you put into the string) have both broken off already. He can still shoot the arrows fine without that part but it makes it a bit harder.
Now that he's gotten the hang of shooting the arrows, we'll keep the bow & go get him some better arrows.
Don't use the finger or arm guard so no opinion on those.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Perfect bow for our 5 year old!

11/07/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our son loves Lord of the Rings, and wanted to be like Legolas. We thought this would be a great way to get him outside, and in the fresh air. It worked, he spends at least an hour shooting this bow everyday, and we will be upgrading him to a 25lb draw recurve this Christmas. He has found a hobby that will bring him enjoyment for a long time to come. I bought my wife her first recurve this week so she could shoot with him. It has become a family daily event for us, and the bow is perfect for a beginner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set
02/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bow and arrow for young ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

AWESOME BOW FOR MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

04/08/2013
By ,
Bentonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WAS SKEPTICLE AT FIRST, I THOUGHT FOR THE PRICE THIS MAY ACTUALLY BREAK ON ME OR MY DAUGTHER, BUT I WAS WRONG! IT'S PRETTY STURDY AND WELL MADE. IT'S FLAWLESS. "GET YOUR CHILD ONE OF THESE AND GET THEM OFF THE COUCH."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

perfect for begining archer

12/26/2011
By ,
Lancaster, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this archery set for our 8 year-old Cub Scout and it should be just right for him. I have owned a Bear bow for years and it has served me well and I think this pint-sized bow will be perfect for introducing our sons to archery. It is a nice little set complete with 2 arrows, finger tab and arm guard. Just set up a target and start shooting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Good starter set.

01/06/2012
By ,
Potter County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my son for Christmas (9 y/o) He became interested in archery after being a Scout Camp last summer. Overall very pleased with the archery set. Good starter set for a young child just starting in archery. Would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set
12/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice durable set so far. Got this for my 5 year old, only too be used when supervised! Great starter kit and great price
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set
01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great First Bow - not too hard to pull so the child can used it. - Only comes with two arrows but the kid can chase em down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

GREAT FIRST SET

04/26/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my five year old son saw the movie AVATAR he became obsesed with Archery. I purchased the Bear Archery 1st Shot for him as a surprised and he LOVES IT! He cannot put it down. He wants to take the set everywhere he goes. The only disappointment for me was I assumed it would have a strap for his back to carry the bows, but over all this is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bear Archery 1st Shot Bow Archery Set

Broke within hours

12/22/2011
By ,
Fort Scott,ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This broke the first day my 5 year had it! Pretty dissapointed. Its made of cheap plastic. Very dissapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next