Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Frigidaire 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Perfect for medium to large size rooms up to 350 square feet, this Frigidaire air conditioner provides coolness inside when it's hot outside. The Frigidaire air conditioner has electronic controls with a full-function remote. Clean air filtration provides relief for allergy and respiratory aliment sufferers. LVC Technology (Low Voltage Compensation) ensures proper operation of the unit when voltage fluctuates. And with Energy Star efficiency (10.8 ratio), this unit provides savings along with cool, quiet comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%71 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Best Bang for Buck in a Baby Box

08/25/2009
By ,
Pasadena, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you need a powerful unit that is of the smaller window-mount standard size and don't want to spend too much, this is it. My room is 175 square feet and this is about right to keep it cool in Los Angeles heat (old house, no insulation). It will keep things cool all day, but takes a few hours after being started to drop the temps. Mine is mounted on its side in a vertical window (not intended for this purpose, but it works exactly the same, just make sure the water condensation drains away from the house and does not pool inside the unit).
=============================================
PROS:
-------
-Quiet AC compressor (not audible over fans)
-Remote control (great range!)
-Timer for when to turn on
-Air ionizer means no nasty sweat-sock smells from the evaporator or stale air in a closed room.
-3 fan speeds
-Power saving mode shuts off fans most of the time when not needed
-Keeps the room cool all day long
-No bad vibrations, rattles, or other imbalanced noises
=============================================
CONS:
--------
-3 fan speeds are medium, loud, and louder. It moves air, but why does it need to be so loud?! Needs a quiet mode.
-Packaging is horrible, only a few small chunks of foam at the corners. My unit was dented but works, so I didn't want to wait for a replacement one to ship.
-Ionizer setting must be activated every time you turn it on (also cannot be turned on via remote)
-Screen filter access door is clunky and will not open all the way for easy cleaning
-Takes too long to cool a hot room when first turned on (no different from other units, I would guess)
-Timer is too dumbed down. Needs a real thermostat that allows hours of daily operation, but this will do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 2 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Excellent A/C

05/10/2009
By ,
Tonopah, NV.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This A/C unit works great. The energy saving features are a wonderful plus, the remote works great, and it was simple to install! I cool my 1400 square foot with this little cooler so it's somewhat overwhelmed on hot days, but overall I'm more than satisfied. I would highly recommend this unit.
There are two items to note: this unit is quite loud regardless of fan speed, and the user's manual is rather sad and lacking in description. If neither of these are an issue then get this unit for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 3 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Efficient Air Conditioner

06/12/2009
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, fair price, so far excellent performance. Highly rated by Consumer Reports and me!
Easy set up, fits new replacement windows in older home. (1920 era). Not too heavy to lift.
Reviews by prior purchasers accurate, used their opinions to influence purchasing this unit. No disappointments.
Happy with Site to Store option, online and local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 4 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

8000 BTU Frigidaire AC window unit

06/21/2009
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit cools quite well, was easy to assemble and is easy to operate. The filter is easy to remove for cleaning. The directional vents are pretty limited and the unit is quite noisey, which most window units are. Overall the unit is quite adequate for it's intended purpose. With the use of ceiling fans the unit is able to keep a small 2 bedroom home quite comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

nice a/c unit

04/23/2010
By ,
Berlin,Ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been checkinig online review sites and Consumer Reports reviews for mounths. Although this was the second choice for C/R , If you are on a budget like most of us , This is the perfect unit. Almost no shipping fees to home( none for store pickup) . A little louder than I expected but on energy saver and auto fan you get use to it quickly. Installed myself in about 15 mins, Good manual detail.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 6 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Loud!

06/28/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This air conditioner is VERY loud. I had to return it because it was ALWAYS loud. It didn't matter if you were in AC-low, med., high, or in FAN- low, med., high; it sounded exactly the same and it was extremely loud! Also, it didn't turn off when it reached desired temperature. The remote was confusing and the manual had poor directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 7 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Still iffy and deciding.

05/01/2010
By ,
Asheville, North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Delivery was fast. Received product in less than a week after I ordered it. Replaced it with an older air condition which required A LOT of modification because this unit in much smaller. I liked that it comes with a remote and and tells you when you need to change the filter, so the options it offers is great. I however do not like the fact that it is almost as loud as the one it replaced. I do not like that it is taking it forever to cool down. It sorta seems that just the fan is running. Also when I received the product you could tell that it must have been dropped on its way to me because it was dented in several places and the back of it, all the metal looked as if it had been rolled down a hill. I desperately need an air condition or else I would have probably been returning it. I just think that for the money I could have got a way cheaper one that would work just as well. I live in a single wide mobile home and have it placed in the smallest room and even after an hour of running it seems to be the same temperature as when I installed it. Honestly I just don't know.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Impressed With All

06/19/2009
By ,
Bullard, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered on Thursday, was at my front door the next day via UPS.
Installed the unit, and find that it is easy to operate, and the performance is more than what I had expected for the money.
Would highly recommend this unit, as well, buying from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Power and efficiency

05/16/2009
By ,
homosassa, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this one too. Fully automatic, keeps the temp you set without running continuously to save energy.
Easy installation...one person can do it. Quiet, and no rumbling when condenser comes on and off.
Great value..energy saving appliance. Thanks Walmart...best price on internet on the 8000 and the 12,000..I am cooling my 900sq ft home with only these two!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Average Product

06/25/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Eh...it's ok.
Pros:
1) Blows very cold, takes about an hour or two to cool my 300 square foot room down to 68 degrees. Nice.
2) Remote is nice to have to control the settings from the bed.
3) Features (clean air, energy saver, timer, etc.)
Cons:
1) Like all the other reviewers said, it is loud. You get used to it...I leave it on all night now and sleep pretty well, it either drowns out the silence or all the other noise, depending on your setting.
2) I guess what upsets me is that after it is done cooling and the compressor shuts off, the fan stays on. I haven't figured out how to have it shut off completely when it reaches the right temperature. So the fan is on all night and the compressor kicks in every now and again to cool down if necessary.
3) The compressor turning on/off is noticeable, I hear a thump.
4) The remote thermometer and the unit thermometer always register different temperatures! And you have to press a button on the unit to find out what the actual temperature in the room is...by default the unit shows what the temperature is set to, not what it is.
Overall, I'm going to keep it, it's a good value for the money if you can put up with some of its quirks...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Cools but ...

06/10/2009
By ,
Nashua NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was very economical. It cools very well but ... definitely purchase some ear plugs or ask guests or family members to speak up because it is VERY noisey. Small price to pay for the cooling. Definitely a good purchase for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 12 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

8,000 BTU Fridgidaire A/C w/ Remote

05/21/2009
By ,
Voluntown, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this purchase. It cools my dining room and living room with ease. I keep a fan blowing for better circulation (though it really isn't necessary) so even the kitchen gets cooled. I like the timer feature very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Good buy

05/25/2009
By ,
pomeroy, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with my air conditioner, except that it is very loud, even on low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Air Conditioner

05/29/2010
By ,
danvers, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only complaint was the order processing time. It takes two days and when you pay for overnight delivery you are not really getting it overnight even if you order early morning.
About product the fan is louder than some other air conditioners but it is good for me cause I have a loud neighbor above me.
The remote is cheap plastic and doesn't seem like it will last long. Also should be simpler it is a remote after all. The Air vents in front that you can move are a pain to point in the right direction.
Overall the air conditioner it is very well put together and easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Fast, effective, but noise is unbelievable

07/14/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
On the upside, it works fast, and it works well -- no complaints there (haven't compared the bill against the unit it replaced, so can't speak to how energy efficient it is).
The downside was almost a dealbreaker: this bad boy is LOUD. I'm a veteran Manhattan apartment dweller, so I'm no stranger to window units, and I know from A/C noise. I have had four other window units and none of them even approaches the decibel level on this thing. It's bad. You can't use a phone in the room when it's on, even on the lowest setting, and I have missed deliveries because I couldn't hear the door buzzer, which is ear-piercing, over the noise the unit makes. Doesn't seem to matter whether the compressor is running or not; it roars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR
06/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this unit with the idea that it would cool at least the living room and kitchen in my apartment (which are adjacent), and maybe the bedroom (across the hall). This seemed possible based BTU recommendations for our apartment's size, but in reality it was not possible. I would recommend this for just one room, perhaps smaller than my 17'x12' living room, as it has yet to get down to the 78 degrees I have on the thermostat. The instructions are also no help if you have a metal frame for the window and storm window as we have in our apartment. We had to just wing it, and it was a pain to install. I wish I had gotten the 10,000 BTU for only $20 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Loud

07/22/2009
By ,
Butron,MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit is louder than the 20 year old unit it replaced.
I like the remote. It's energy star rated. I hope to save some money. Haven't had it long enough to find out. It cools my 12'X16' bedroom great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Disappointed

06/17/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This air conditioner is very, very loud when on. In order to sleep at night, I have to turn the unit off. Very disappointed with this product and wish I would have kept my old unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Best bang for your buck

05/27/2010
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to carry me over until I was able to replace my central ac unit. I am really impressed with this product. It cooled my 500 square foot bedroom down nicely. I'm sure it could take care of the average size condo easily. I'm glad I ignored the other reviews/complaints about how loud it is. It is no louder that any other ac unit. It was an easy decision for me, "be hot" or "hear the unit running". The choice is yours. Be sure to read the directions about the remote sensing feature carefully. I believe that feature makes a difference in the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 8,000 BTU Frigidaire Window Air Conditioner with Remote ENERGY STAR

Awesome AC

06/01/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit really kicks out. My living room gets so hot it is unbearable in the summer. We couldn't enjoy it in there. Not this yr. Within about 10-15 minutes it lowered the temp greatly. I went out and came back and had to raise the temp because my son was cold. I was so happy I ordered another for my bdrm so I can give my son mine. This time I got 5,200 btu because its a smaller room and the price is better. BUY IT!!!! You will not be disappointed. I've never reviewed anything but I had to let ppl know how much I love this ac!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next