Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Scribble & Write

LeapFrog LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Help your kids learn how to write, draw and doodle with the LeapFrog Toy Scribble and Write Learning System. This unique educational toy encourages your budding artist to trace simple shapes and images displayed on the bright, easy-to-read screen. With the step-by-step guidance, this LeapFrog learning toy helps teach the art of drawing, as well as how to write lower and uppercase letters. The LeapFrog Toy Scribble and Write learning system reinforces alphabet recognition and pencil control skills. It uses a single retraceable surface for ease of use and hassle-free portability. The LeapFrog Toy Scribble and Write can also connect to the internet, where you can customize learning ideas according to your kid's diverse interests.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(298 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
221
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%283 out of 298reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
221
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Wonderful learning tool!!!

01/21/2010
By ,
West Jordan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a present for my 3 1/2 yr old daughter. She's been able to recognize the letters for a while now and knows all the sounds they make, but she hadn't even begun to start writing them yet. She's in preschool and she'd bring home worksheets where I could see they were trying to teach her to write the letters but she didn't seem to be getting it at all. This is definitely one of her favorite Christmas presents and she's still playing with it almost every day. She TOTALLY knows how to write a bunch of letters now, though! It's amazing!!! I'm sure that her preschool also helped some, but it's like this gave her the ability to do it with confidence (since she's just tracing over the lights) and it's a fun way like a video game. She still can't write all the letters, but she knows at least 2/3 I'd say and the best thing is she can write them in upper and lowercase, which is something my older daughter really struggled with since she only ever practiced capital letters. Her favorite thing to do while we're sitting in church now is for us to take turns drawing letters on each other's backs and then guessing which letter it was. I honestly can't believe how much this has helped her learn to write letters and it hasn't even been a month!
There were 2 things that weren't what I was expecting when I got this, so I'll quickly share those, too. The screen that they write on is sort of like those old wax boards we had when we were kids (in pre magna doodle days =), where you'd write with the pencil onto the thin sheet on top and when you were done you'd lift it up to separate it from the piece underneath and erase it (hopefully you know what I'm talking about). When you move the slider across to erase it's separating a top layer of that type of thin paper stuff from the underneath. I don't mean it's wax underneath, but it just reminded me of those things. Like, for example, you can just use your fingernail to write on the screen instead of the pencil thing it comes with. It seems a little more fragile than a harder screen like a magnadoodle or the things you sign your name on in the grocery store credit card machines, but it's still okay, and because it's like that probably lends to the very low price. My kids are really rough on toys so they've been able to put a few minor indentations in it from pressing a ball point pen onto it (the pen marks washed/rubbed right off, though!), but it still works fine and isn't too distracting.
The 2nd thing is because I thought it was more like a computer screen, I thought it would be able to know what the child wrote and say something like "great job!" if they traced it correctly or "try again" if they didn't. It doesn't know what they write so when they're done writing the letter and they press the little paw button to say they've finished it just says the letter and says the sound it makes. Then it tells them to use the slider to erase and points up for them to pick another letter. BTW, it has really great instructions in a clear, easy-to-understand voice which is nice because my daughter is never bringing it to me saying she doesn't know what to do next.
My daughter loves writing notes for me now and when she asks me how to spell something and I tell her a letter she doesn't know how to write, she just pulls this over and uses it as a tool to learn how to write that letter! It's such a wonderful toy and I would highly recommend it! At such a low price, it's a perfect gift, too! I'm more than pleased with it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Great for Beginners

03/27/2014
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fantastic tool for kids to learn to write their letters. There are two levels: Level One shows the child how to draw the letter and then allows them to follow the dots to create the letter themselves; Level Two tells the child the letter, shows the blinking dot and encourages the child as they write the letter. The "pad" that they write on is merely a piece of plastic that sticks to the plastic behind it where the child draws the letter. A swipe of the bottom button clears the "screen" for the child to begin again. My kids really love it. The woman's voice is pleasant and very positive sounding. My first wish is that on Level Two the child didn't have to press the "Enter" button. The computer doesn't recognize the letter at all, so it's up to the child to either write the correct letter or scribble, and if they scribble- it can't tell. My second wish is that the child didn't have to select the letter- that it would encourage them through all of the letters.
Other than that, my children like playing with it and they can follow along.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Awesome Awesome

09/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We picked this item up for my 34 month old (almost 3), she has set and played with it for about 2 hrs and her tracing skills have improved 10x what they were before. It is awesome for anyone who is beginning hand writing or tracing skills. I want my daughter to have that little bit of advantage which im sure all parents do. But I would recommend this to anyone. So far i have NO downfalls to it, but it has went above our expectations for the toy, i already have this planned for Christmas gifts for a couple other kids i know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Love it!

07/12/2009
By ,
Altus, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is 3 yrs old and loves to play with this product. You never know if they'll like it or not, but she does. She caught on pretty fast and has done a great job with the tracing the letters. I've worked with her with just paper and pencil/crayon and haven't gotten the success this has done. Highly recommend it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Good game

09/15/2009
By ,
Cartersville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great first computer game. It teaches shapes, letters, and encourages drawing. The buttons are easy enough for my 23month old. She likes it, but doesn't really get it yet. My 5 year old plays with it and teaches my 23month old letters and shapes-VERY CUTE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Needs supervision

12/28/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product for my 3 year old because she was having fun tracing over letters I drew at home with pencil. I love the step by step instructions ("start here, then draw a curved line to here"), and the options to learn upper AND lowercase letters, as well as basic drawing such as a zig zag line. My daughter loves the game option where she guesses what letter is showing up dot by dot, then draws the letter, then follows the blinking light to draw a picture such as a balloon or house. Some drawbacks are: (1) even on the lower level the product is very loud, but I fixed this by putting a piece of scotch tape over the speaker. (2) I thought the screen was like a Magna Doodle but it's more like the old fashioned static electricity writing tablets where you draw and then lift up the thin piece of clear plastic to erase your picture. (3) I wish it had numbers to learn to trace as well. (4) Biggest drawback: it can't sense if your child draws the letter correctly, so even if all she does is draw a straight line for a letter "M," if she presses the "paw" button it tells her good job and goes to another letter. That's why the product requires supervision to make sure your child is drawing the letters correctly. I didn't let her play with it on her own (like in her car seat for example) until I saw she was tracing over the lights and not just randomly drawing on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

My daughter Loves It

09/18/2009
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw another girl get this for her birthday and all the kids seemed to want to play with this toy. So when my daughters birthday came I decided to get it for her as well. She loves this toy and takes it everywhere we go. Its small and easy to bring any where. I like that its also helping her learn her letters so not only is it fun its educational.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Very Good Teaching Tool

10/15/2013
By ,
Dayton OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grand-Daughter is in love with her birthday gift and its teaching her how too write.....So I'm pleased with my purchase...Thank you so very much walmart....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Very Educational

12/28/2010
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 year old daughter loved this toy. She was having a little bit of difficulty getting her alphabet down. This toy helps them not only learn the letters but also helps them learn how to write them. I would definately recommend for any girl or boy who needs just that extra help with their ABC's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Poor learning tool

06/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give this zero stars I would. My son received this as a gift. First, the writing part didn't even work. The games were not attractive to my 3/4 year old. We have a high standard for learning. My son can read second grade books at age 4, this is not a learning tool. It hardly works, and if it did work it would not be interesting enough for them to play and learn past 2 minutes. Do not waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Nice learning tool

11/22/2010
By ,
Burlington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my 5 year old boy and let me tell you that it was a good investment. My son is learning not only how to write down his letters, but also how to sound them out. He is practicing with games his alphabet.
I would recommend this product! It is not expensive and the kids love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

MUST have for Pre-schoolers!

12/28/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so amazed at the teaching system on this! Makes it so simple I think they should be used in teaching adults that do not kknow how to read or write! Fantastic!!! My G'daughter opened it before she opened her Barbie doll collection for Xmas, and she played with this more than the dolls since it is interactive and she liked the praise, noises and how easily she was able to write! And that is saying alot, she treasures her Barbie dolls above all. For under 20 bucks, you can't go wrong with this educational 'toy'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

GREAT item for children learning to write or kids

11/22/2013
By ,
walnut cove nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great item for children who are learning to write. Also one of my children has autism and if has been great for helping him with his fine motor skills. Age recommendation Pre-k to 2nd grade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Exceeds Expectations

08/06/2011
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased the Scribble & Write for our 2 year old son. He learned very early to recite and identify the alphabet. Because he is so young, we were only expecting this product to occupy him for a few minutes each day. After 4 days, he was on the path to tracing letters and loving it. This is an excellent learning tool--entertaining and educational.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Really great!

11/04/2013
By ,
Byram, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this product for our twin 5 year olds (just turned 6) as they have begun practicing to write letters in Kindergarten. They really enjoy practicing because it lights up and has very encouraging sounds. The writing tool is awesome because it helps reinforce pencil grip! Also, my 4 year old is very intrigued with it and loves to practice as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

great gift for grandchild

11/14/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought it for a gift for my grandchild, works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Awesome, Fun, Learning toy!

11/05/2010
By ,
Pocahontas, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter received this toy as a present for her 3rd birthday, by her 4th birthday she was writing most of her letters. We upgraded to the LeapFrog text and learn for her 4th birthday it is a little bit more challenging but she loves it just as much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Gift for granddaughter

12/03/2013
By ,
Jacksonville NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my 3yr old granddaughter. I have not given it to her yet but I think she will enjoy pressing the buttons and learning to recognize and write the letters and numbers. There is a volumn control switch which is very good and the "pen" is large enough for her to handle with out too much trouble. I hope this will keep her happy and not fighting with her 6 yr old brother for his Leappad2.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

My 3 yr old son loves this toy!

12/28/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 yr old son may have ADHD and nothing keeps his attention for more than 5 seconds ( not kidding). He asks to take this toy to him every night at bedtime. He calls it his "game" and loves to learn to trace the shapes. We haven't gotten past shapes yet but he is doing really well so far. I am just so happy that it holds his attention for a good 10 minutes or so.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog Scribble & Write

Great educational toy for toddlers and preschooler

11/22/2013
By ,
Norfolk, Virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this educational toy for my 3 year old grandson for Christmas. I am sure he will love it and learn from it quickly while having fun. He enjoys learning new things and this will reinforce what he already knows.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 219 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next