Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 36" ASPCA Kennel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic 36" ASPCA Kennel

Give your furry friend a place of his/her own with the ASPCA Kennel. Line it with your pet's favorite towel, play thing, and a durable chew toy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.083 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation58%7 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

So mad complete waste of money.

07/07/2010
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this crate yesterday for my lab and he managed to break the tray into pieces in the two hours I was gone. The cage itself is no where near as well made as my other crate as he also managed to bend in the front. I would not ever by another one of these. I am not happy at all. Do not waste your money on this crate!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for 36" ASPCA Kennel
01/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these for my cocker spaniels. They have lots of room in them to turn around and dig that special place in their blanket. Very easy to put together and clean. I only wish walmart sold the mattress pads and bumpers that are recommended for safety.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 3 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

A Little Too Light Weight Construction

10/25/2010
By ,
North Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this for a boxer mix 7 month old female who occasionally tries very hard to get out of the crate. She is crate trained & usually is well behaved. The kennel, however, is somewhat flimsy in construction, and individual parts of the kennel, door frame & slot where base pan slides in, can be bent by a determined dog. Not enough to get out through those openings, but enough to cause the front of the kennel to disengage from its points of attachment, allowing her to escape. I've used 8 plastic cable ties to re-inforce the various points where she was bending it & that solved the problem. Its an OK kennel, and for $64 about what I expected. I'd recommend, however, picking up a bundle of heavy duty cable ties from the electronics dept. along with the kennel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Great buy!!!

03/24/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this crate even after reading the negative reviews. I was a little unsure but it was the only one walmart had in store at the time. I must admit that this is one of the best purchases made. I bought it for my golden retriever when she was 2 mo. old. We began crate training and it has worked out perfectly! She is now 4 mo old (45 lbs) and we have not had a single problem with it. Very easy to clean. Only thing is you have to turn tray diagonal to remove it for cleaning. I found that it is easier to remove tray and hose dwn in tub or outside. The locks are strong and sturdy. My pup is very happy with her "cave". I would recommend this product. Remember ppl, you have to train your dog. You can't just stick them into a crate and expect them to figure things out. If you do your dog will be unhappy and destructive. Also, it's easier to begin the crate experience young.
Hope this helps:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Easy cleaning?? HA!!!!!!!!!!

07/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this kennel for our 48lb dog, we should have returned it the first day as the latch was harder to push in than it should have been, but we decided we could deal with that.
We have had this kennel for about a month, she gets sick in it ONCE and the bottom wont come all the way clean due to the textured bottom. I even used BLEACH and let it SOAK, and still doesnt come clean.
We also noticed a crack going down about a quarter of the length of it. Keep in mind she is only in it when we are in bed or at work, which isnt a lot of time, and shes not rough on it otherwise we would hear it, again due to it having a TEXTURED bottom.
Since we cant find the reciept im sure there is nothing they can do, even though they are the only store around here that carries the ASPCA brand, so im sure we are going to have to go buy a QUALITY kennel from somewhere else.
DO NOT BUY THIS KENNEL!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Junk

04/18/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product must be made for dogs that are sedated, i have a 5 1/2 month old german shepard pup who is very quiet and timid and she bent the bars, the latches won't stay latched i would not recomend this kennel unless your dog is sedated. And she pushed the plastic tray completely out and moved the cage a few feet across room.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Great for small pets

07/30/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two small poodles and the cage works well for them. I would not recommend it for large dogs since is not sturdy enough for a large dog. Overall I feel is a good cage for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Flimsy and Cheap!!!!!!!!!

05/28/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first glance, this crate looked pretty sturdy. I purchased two of these 36" ASPCA crates for two of our three dogs (one is 30lbs and the other 40lbs). We left for two hours, and by the time we got home both ASPCA crates were destroyed (bent bars and cracked/chewed trays). The only one left standing was the 36" Life Stages Crate (which held our 80lb dog). I definitely recommend spending the couple extra dollars for Midwest or Life Stages crates. I can personally vouch for Life Stages because we've owned one that has lasted us for the past 5 years, and it has held each one of our dogs (at different times of course). Walmart sells the Midwest crate for about $5-10 more, and it is equally as sturdy as the Life Stages crate. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

Great Product

05/12/2010
By ,
Gainesville,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have two large dogs and this kennel has met all of my expectations. The tray has clips that keep the dogs from pushing it out while they are in the kennel. The lock is secure and most of the time i only lock the top latch. It is big and roomy and my dogs love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS

05/21/2010
By ,
SAN ANTONIO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JUST BOUGHT IT AND MY DOG COMPLETLY BENT AND BROKE IT THE SAME DAY. COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY. WOULD HAVE EXPECTED A MUCH BETTER PRODUCT FROM THE ASPCA
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 36" ASPCA Kennel
04/26/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does everything I need it to in terms of keeping my dog happy. And I like the idea of a donation being made to ASPCA
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 36" ASPCA Kennel

great deal

05/12/2010
By ,
Bluefield, West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very well built. I have 2 other crates and they are not as good. Also part of the purchase price goes to ASPCA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points