Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SOG SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

SOG SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

The SOG Trident knife has a built-in safety that locks the blade closed when it is not in use. Another safety feature is that the blade of this SOG knife must be manually pulled out of the handle, and when the blade is closed, it is held securely inside the handle. The handle of this black knife features a patent-pending groove and a Digi-Grip variable pattern for coarser grip to help keep the SOG knife from slipping out of your hand. The SOG Trident Knife's bayonet-style clip is easily switched for right- or left-handed carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Exactly as advertised

08/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife lives up to its name. Very well built, sharp and durable. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife
04/06/2010
By ,
Akron, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recieved my knife today and its a little bigger than i had expected. It came out of the box razor sharp, very easy to open with one hand but its a little difficult to close with one hand, it takes some practice. You won't be disappointed with this product. Great knife i recommend this knife to every one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Love at First Sight

11/09/2009
By ,
Chandler, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutly love this knife! It comes out of the box razor sharp. The knife stays sharp, after about a week of everyday carry I didn't even have to re-sharpen the blade. The pocket clip is one of the best concealment clips I have ever used, S.O.G got the clip perfect. The knife goes in and it is almost impossible to notice you are carrying a knife. A must have for all knife lover!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

SOG Trident

12/10/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, operates as advertised. Have not subjected the knife to extreme conditions yet but feel that it will perform well. Solid construction and retains sharpness, does not fit knife pocket on the Tru-Spec 24/7 tactical pants well but on 5.11 tactical pants works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

good product

08/07/2010
By ,
Ozark, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the knife had a good edge from the store. I have not tried to sharpen it yet so I'm not sure how that will work. It opens and closes well. the lock seems to be a strong design, it is also easy to operate with either hand. the tanto point is good for thrusting, it does take some getting used to when doing, every day type cutting though. it has a lock to keep the blade folded up, which I like. it does however require some practice to use it smoothly. if the locking closed function is a pain you could always supper glue it open and not use it. you have to open it about 1" before the spring load kicks in any way so its not likely to open in your pocket. The handle portion is big enough to use comfortable. it also fits well in the pocket. the clip design keeps the knife out of sight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Quality and Functionality in a Single Package

10/11/2009
By ,
Normal, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife is well-made. The blade locks firmly in place in either open or closed position. The blade is thick for a folding knife and opens easily with one hand. It has the look and feel of a quality knife.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

GODZILLA Tough !!!...

09/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...What A GREAT Product! It Is Wonderful To Have SOG Offered By WalMart!...I Have The Trident Tanto & Can Only Rave About It...VERY SAFE Blade Lock...Quality Steel, Incredible Design...$59.00? You Must Be Kidding! Get All The SOG Products Before They Disappear...NO! I Am NOT A Sales Rep! I Just Think WM Made A Great Choice In Offering A Product Of THIS QUALITY! GO GO Godzilla!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Not SOG Quality

10/03/2011
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this knife for work thinking it'd be great since it had decent features and its a SOG, who usually makes outstanding high quality knives. Upon opening the package and getting some hands on, I noticed a fair amount of blade play, which for my job would be unacceptable. Also the composite handle felt cheap and I just couldnt trust it, even though I know composite is extremely strong and in some cases is even stronger than certain metals. For just standard EDC, its a great knife, but for tactical purposes (fire/EMS, military, police), not so great. Ended up getting the Kershaw Blur and so far I have been pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Good all around knife

04/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This knife was given to me before I went overseas as a gift. I carried all year. It handled everything I through at it from opening mail to cutting cargo netting. I could not give it 5 stars due to the difficulty of using the cord cutter(you have to lock the blade and pull pretty hard because the pocket clip gets in the way, then you have to remember to unlock the blade). Also keep in mind that with the assisted opening and blade length it might not be legal in your state.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

unsatisfied but i found better options

05/03/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wasn't worth the money in my opinion. Very sharp but I was expecting it to be much more durable so after being unsatisfied i found a nice line of fishing tools on facebook just by searching "fishing tools" on google, Boomerang tool company popped up and I went to their facebook page and found that you can purchase straight off their social sites so I ordered a much more affordable knife from them and it is a 7427851586163741545 times better.
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Great knife!

07/27/2010
By ,
Savannah. GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent knife. Blade came out razor sharp. Handle is light but extremely sturdy. The assisted open mechanism is very fast. The lock is tight with a smooth release. The safety can be controlled with the base of the thumb so you can take off the safety and open the knife without a lot of movement. However, I feel comfortable with the safety off. I can't imagine the knife opening accidentally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Terrific knife

12/20/2012
By ,
Adrian,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this US made product to be reasonably priced and a quality product. This was my first SOG purchase and I plan to buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Finest blade I ever had

02/24/2011
By ,
Austin Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a persion fine tuned edge weapon, I had a Beretta light lock & deemed it the best blade on the market, But this blade is the stuff of old Japan, Spain, & the US rooled into one. I have several SOG blades but nothing like this! Bravo!
Dtmjkd, Vietnam class of 72.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

junk

04/23/2010
By ,
az.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
plastik broke first week
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Nice

04/25/2010
By ,
Elbert, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife is awesome. Lite, sharp, quality, and the price makes it an easy purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

SOG Trident

06/15/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a high quality knife that is very versatile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

Great Knife

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great knife at a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife

worth the wait

05/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharp quick and fits in pocke well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SOG Trident Tanto Black TiNi Knife
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5