Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Spalding Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Take your passion for basketball wherever you go with the Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System. Designed so you can play the sport anywhere, the portable basketball system's 50-inch polycarbonate backboard and steel board frame make it feel as though you're playing on a real basketball court. The 20-degree pole angle, and the Exacta Height Lift System, allows for better shooting. The two attached wheels make it easy to move the basketball hoop to wherever you want to play. With this portable basketball system, you will be able to unleash your passion for the game no matter where you are.
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%40 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Hard to mount

12/18/2012
By ,
Belleville, nJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Putting this together is a huge task requiring several people at least.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Enjoying a good portable basketball hoop

04/09/2010
By ,
Arbuckle, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the item. Took about a good 4 hours to assemble. Overall this portable system will meet your expectations. I have had this now for about 1 week and my family is enjoying it tremendously. The angle of the basket-ball hoop is great, it's adjustable in height and has a water meter that tells you when to add more water to the bottom holder. A good product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Spalding hoop

05/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from being a great product, this is likely the best engineered item I've ever had to assemble. The assembly is not trivial, but the parts all fit together extremely well and the directions were VERY clear. They were clearly not written first in spanish, then translated to english in a chinese factory like so many other items that require assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Hoop Only Up Two Days but We are Happy!

01/10/2012
By ,
Westchester ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of the previously posted reviews before purchasing so I knew what I was up against. I picked up the very large box from a local Walmart after ordering it with free shipping to the store. The staff was great and rolled it right to my car and loaded it into the back of my Suburban. I laid out all of the hardware, sorted the components and made sure to look INSIDE components to find other hidden hardware---as I read on previous posts. There were a few times I became nervous and thought I was missing hardware but always found rolled up somewhere...... It was time consuming to put together but with the right tools, all worked out. I did not follow the warnings about having two adults set up. I'm a 45 year old woman....... Did it all by myself. Probably took 4 to 5 hours in total. My son and I were playing one on one as soon as it was set up. So far---very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

great product

12/29/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I assembled it in 2 hours. basket height adjustment is easy. be sure you fill base with water before you raise it to 9 or 10 ft. A christmas present that everybody enjoyed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Buyer beware - difficult to assemble

09/23/2013
By ,
santa clarita, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you are an adept builder with a garage full of tools, this is a difficult system to assemble. Assembling it turned into a two-day project with two trips to Lowe's for tools and parts. It will also take a toll on your hands/fingers (at times, it requires you to insert/tighten screws which are awkwardly positioned). To really make matters worse, a set of screws which were provided by Spalding (the screws which are used to attach the black, plastic protective pads to the bottom of the backboard) did not fit the pre-drilled holes in the metal frame of the backboard (seriously?). Spalding either provided the wrong-sized screws or did a poor job in pre-drilling the holes. I had to buy 3 different sets of screws in order to find the right match for the holes.
In hindsight, I now understand why this system was priced so low (which fooled me into buying it for the price value).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Great to Use

08/03/2010
By ,
Yonkers, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandkids/son and reminded my son to follow the directions from other reviews that I read - and he had no problem and had it ready to play in two hours. The boys now have something to look forward to do when they are bored.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Solid, Sturdy

01/04/2012
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really solid and sturdy unit. It took my son & I about 2 1/2 hours to get it together. It definitely needs weight in the base, it is rather unstable without it. Adjusting the tension on the adjusting arm takes a few tries - Luckily my son is 6'+...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

sturdy body poor base

01/03/2011
By ,
Southern Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my husband as a Christmas present. It really does take two people to assemble, a workbench, and at least 2 hours. I didn't like that every little part had to be assembled. I think some of the smaller parts could have been preassembled. I am impressed that the pole and backboard are as sturdy as they are, but I am so disappointed with the base. The first time my husband used it, he stepped on the front part of the base as he was shooting a basket. Next thing we know, we have a leak and had to switch to sand as a filler. That was a pain to fill with sand since the hole is small and the base has a design that does not allow for sand just to drop down. Works fine now, but would have liked a stronger base to begin with.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

It's Okay

06/14/2011
By ,
South Padre Island, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very difficult to line up the bolts. And extremely hard to insert. Some of the bolts were hiidden in the spacers and so it seem they were missing. Had to purchase seperatly to finish assembly. And main poles don't line up quite right. Making it sligtly crooked when standing up finished. But it seems to be a good goal.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

sturdy backboard and goal

12/22/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the goal is a quality product. It does take considerable time and 2 people to assemble. You will need an 8 foot step ladder and some tools.
The backboard and goal are sturdy, so bank shots are not a problem - as they can be on less expensive units. Adjusting rim height is not as easy as I would like, but it works.
"Portable" but not easy to move. It is heavy. There is no handle and with wheels only in the front, the system is apt to tilt forward and could fall to the ground. 2 adults definately recommended to move this goal system.
If you want a bball goal that can be moved around the driveway as needed, this is NOT the one for you. Great if you have a designated place for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System
12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All parts were included, directions were good, would recommend this basketball goal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Good sturdy hoop, but assembly was very difficult

11/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If I were grading this product strictly on the hoop, I'd give it a 5. It's sturdy, good looking and works well...once its up.
Assembly was a nightmare. NOTHING is labeled so you're constantly searching for the right screw, nut or bolt and of course there a ton of different types of each in the package. The directions themselves are not explained well at all and rely on lame pictures.
Bottom line is I read numerous reviews on here where folks complained about assembly but figured they just weren't good at that sort of thing. Wrong. If you do buy it, just take your time and don't plan on finishing it in short order.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Nice Goal

01/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality. Straight forward directions. Assembly is time consuming and really does need 2 people at certain times. Worth the effort but plan on 3-4 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Sturdy product

06/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Spalding basketball system is made by Huffy. The box doesn't tell you but the packaged components are labeled Huffy, made in China. Assembly of this isn't rocket since but it IS very time consuming. The directions are mostly complete and easy to follow. There were some omissions that my son and I had to figure out ourselves but obviously the system is simple enough. For the price it should come preassembled. The final assembled product is very sturdy and well designed. I expect it to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System
06/14/2012
By ,
Tupper Lake NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this for my 14 year old son. He has been driving me crazy for a new Basketball net and I searched a lot of places and this was the best priced one I found for my budget. It took a few hours to put together but once we were done it is an AWESOME system. I have kids playing all the time with it. Easy adjusting for heights and very strong and sturdy. We love it and recommend this to all. Thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Good Hoop for the Price

10/13/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall a good basketball system. It was on the lower end price wise and that showed in some aspects. Not all the plastic pieces went together as well as some of the higher end models I have assembled. The plastic base could be thicked. It would make it more stable when moving. For the price, $300 delivered, I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Good value, almost 5 stars

11/18/2011
By ,
WPB, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions were well written and the build process was easy. It came with an assembly DVD which I thought was a good concept, but poorly executed. Who is going to go back and forth from garage to living room for 2-4 hours to watch the DVD and then assemble repeatedly. A Youtube video (or equivalent) would have been smarter for use on mobile phones. Once built, the system was sturdy. The backboard doesn't shake a lot when a ball bounces off of it which is contrary to other reviews. This system would have received 4 stars from me had it not been for one thing. The base when filled with water is not sturdy enough for a lot of moving around. If I tilt it forward to roll it on the front wheels the base bends. Maybe its not supposed to be moved once filled, but that defeats the purpose of a portable system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System

Even an Engineer Can Put it Together

12/13/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5-year old "helped" me. After reading some of the reviews, I'd planned 4 or 5 hours for this job. It took me 2 hours to unpack, sort and assemble this. Is it advantageous to be an engineer? Most people tease them for their inability for actually assembling anything. Maybe I just got lucky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 66349 50" Polycarbonite Portable Basketball System
01/04/2012
By ,
Sonoma, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our new Basketball System. The only thing I didn't like was putting it together. It took about 5-6 hours. We also opted to put sand in our base to hold it instead of water and that took much longer. There really should be a better way to fill the base for those who want to put sand in it. The hole is incredibly small for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next