Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Spalding Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

The Spalding 88454G In-Ground Basketball System will transform your backyard into a basketball court. This system features a tempered glass backboard with heavy-duty steel frame to offer long lasting performance. The four-inch Square Steel PolePro Image Breakaway Rim effectively reduces the shattering of backboard and risk of hand injury. The board offset u-turn lift system allows you to adjust the rim from 7 to 10 feet in gradual increments. The ground sleeve that comes with this 54-inch glass basketball system makes for easy installation and removal of the item. Play every shot with confidence with this basketball backboard system. Made by Spalding, this is sports equipment you can trust.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Good Goal - a lot of work to put together

01/10/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently purchased this goal with the exception that the one I purchased had an acrylic backboard. I am mostly pleased with the final result however I thought I would provide a few observations/suggestions to those considering buying one of these. The directions were decent. It would have helped to have actual size pictures of the hardware at each step. I found myself looking at the parts list alot and deciding which bolt, nut, etc was which. Take your time here so you use the right part at each step. The hardest part of this installation was digging the hole, filling with concrete, putting the pole together, and filling it with concrete. After that all the other steps were easy except for having to drill out a few previously drilled holes that were now to small to insert a bolt in due to the extra thickness from painting/powder coating. A few tips.... I ended up using a little over 12 bags of 80lb concrete. The hole is deeper than the actual sleeve depth so, I connected a piece of re-bar to a 2x4 to set in the middle of the hole at just the right depth to give the pole sleeve something to set on while the concrete dried. The hardest step of the entire project was getting the 3 pole sections to fit together to the correct overlap point. I tried about every trick in the book and still didn't get them to over lap as much as I wanted, but since they are concrete filled at the end, I don't think they will come apart. I did caulk and tape the joints of the pole before pouring concrete in them. This will minimize the concrete leakage before drying. Alot of hard work, but the goal seems great and the kids love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Good Product, lousy instructions

07/21/2010
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product at a great price, looks great after assembly. Adjusts up and down very easily, great for our six year old. Instructions were horrible - basically pictures only - but if you're handy at all it can be figured out pretty easily. Took two weekends to put up, but we spread out the work to let the concrete dry better. The backboard, pole and concrete are heavy - at least two strong adults are required, preferably three when installing the backboard. A tip - the pole fits into a sleeve which is embedded in concrete. The sleeve is not as long as the hole is deep, so we set it on a sand base directly under the sleeve and propped up the sleeve with rebar before adding the concrete, which later helped to support the pole as the concrete set. Also added some more rebar into the concrete - it's cheap and really strengthens the concrete. Lastly, after installation is done, caulk where the pole enters the concrete with flexible silicone caulk - it will minimize the amount of water entering the sleeve embedded in the ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Excellent Glass backboard at Reasonable Price

06/07/2010
By ,
Phila Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We paid about $550.00 USD for this system.
It is not easy to put in but I actually was able to do it myself over 3-days. Only 5-6 hrs of work but concrete needs to cure overnight on two different steps (post support and filling of the actual post).
The filled post weighs 200 lbs or so and it's awkward to get into the ground sleeve so it would be good to have an extra person to set the post and help lift the backboard onto the support
Started on a Fri eve and was able to play Sunday.
My kids and neighbors love it.
Only downside is the backboard seems a little small. Go for a larger backboard if you have the room and extra cash
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

backboard shattered after 4 minutes

06/25/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had some minor issues getting pole sections together as described in instructions. After 3 days of setup (mostly for concrete to cure) the backboard shattered after 4 minutes of normal use. Although company said they had an issue and are replaceing them under warranty the wait time is 2 months for replacement backboard. No basketball for the summer. Kids are not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Pleased Overall

06/30/2010
By ,
Tustin CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value. Not the most easy installation. A couple of hints; Make sure the bottom pole will go into sleeve EXACTLY how you set the concrete (be aware of how top holes of the top pole will end up). When putting cement in pole, STAND UP pole on 2 by 6 piece of wood. Otherwise cement will come out bottom. Use parts list for hardware reference (not hardware identifier). I had 4 thick rubber spacers left over but used them to help support/cushion the backboard. I added a cement pier around base but the basket was still too shaky for me. Also the rim and backboard were not perpendicular to the ground even though pole was "level" so I would recommend waiting until the end to level basket using cement around the pole in a pier(pier forms are available at home improvement stores, put pier form on pole before installing hoop and hardware). Overall I am pleased with this product and look forward to years of enjoyment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Great value

10/25/2010
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased 2009 - easily $80 cheaper than the next lowest price locally at that time. The price has dropped even more in the year since our purchase. Ship-to-store was easy. Assembly was straight-forward but it obviously takes some time since you're dealing with concrete (and lots of it - 900lbs). Pay close attention to the pole halves - there are tops an bottoms to each and getting it right makes pole assembly easier. While your pole base is curing, I recommend caulk and tape around the pole joint, prior to pouring the pole full of concrete to prevent leaking. Once the pole pour is cured, remove the tape and you'll have a nice, stain-free joint. The backboard IS heavy so make sure you have at least one friend on standby when you get ready to mount it to the pole. Ours has been in constant service about 16 months and is still in great condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

help will be needed

11/11/2010
By ,
Canton ,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had some trouble putting the pole filled with cement into plastic holder in cement. I think the pole sould have been set into the first pour in the ground with cement( set at the bottom of the hole ), two things it would help 1st the pole should be set at the bottom of the hole to make it more sturdy. 2nd filling the pole with cement then tring to put into the hole was very hard to line up, then after we had it in the plastic holder it seemed to move inside the plastic holder to much and keeping the plastic holder clamp above the cement to tieghten up the bolts kept the plastic only in the cement 16 to 17 inches into the cement.other than that ok for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

No better deal out there!

12/01/2009
By ,
West Jordan, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart.com delivered the high-quality in-ground basketball standard of my choice at a price $100 less than anybody else on-line was offering. I still can't believe it. I haven't put it together yet, but I expect the system will meet and exceed all of my expectations. Thanks, Walmart.com!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Excellent product. Would recommend

08/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. It was not to hard to install. My wife and kids helped. Even the install was fun doing with my family. My kids love it. I love playing pig with the wife and kids. I would HIGHLY recommend this basket ball system. One thing we did while installing was once you put the poles together put the pole in the sleeve before adding the concrete and add it while it is in place. Made it a lot easier. Also it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

A pretty good product

04/19/2011
By ,
Houston MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am satisfied with the system. The instructions were not very easy to navigate with several langauges making each page confusing. It wasnt very hard to assemble, be sure to have help around when installing the brackets and backboard. It is already serving our neighborhood as the new "hangout".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System
09/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent lots of time sorting parts. I followed the installation directions and have a very sturdy pole. The backboard and rim are at my my expectation for the price and really a bit better.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 88454G 54" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

EXCEEDS OUR EXPECTATIONS

08/15/2010
By ,
Faribault, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The basketball system instructions were very straight forward. The quality,price and professional look exceeded our expectations. Very satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.