Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Spalding Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Spalding is in the game for keeps. Dedicated to the sport - to the pure passion of it - nothing but our total commitment ever hits the courts of play. No compromises. No flash. No hype. Just honest passion for pure play. The Spalding 88461G Glass In-Ground Basketball System helps make Spalding - true to the game. This in-ground basketball system features a 60" tempered glass backboard, a Pro Image Breakaway Rim, and a 4" square steel pole for durability. Get your hoops game on, player!
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation91%10 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Best Mid-Range System Available

01/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been installing for 11 years. For the price this one is the best (or the 54"). This is a huge step-up from the low end "toys" that are only good for little children. This goal is great because: 1) 4" square pole 2) great looking and rebounding backboard 3)good break-away rim 4) crank adjust makes installation (getting 10' height) easier and is the best way to adjust the height without the limitations of the ratchet pre-selected positions of the cheapers.
MY ADVICE: TOSS THE PLASTIC GROUND SLEEVE IN THE TRASH. Plastic between the steel pole and concrete gives and then your goal is wobbly like a loose tooth. Unless you plan on moving soon, don't use it. Use it to mark the pole so you know how deep to put the pole but then chuck it. Filling the pole with concrete is recommended because it adds sturdiness or rigidity to the pole (less wobble) and most importantly, it won't fill with water and rust from the inside out and fall over after 5 years. A pole filled with cement will last 20+yrs.
Lastly, it does not take 5 or 3 or even 2 people if you have a pick-up truck. Just set the pole and on the "day2" pull your truck up along side and stand in the back and attach the arms, crank, backboard then rim, respectively. done. If you don't have a truck, it is still very easy to do by yourself except for the backboard. Get someone to put the two bolts in the backboard while you hold it up. But after that the rest can be done by yourself. Then, mix one more 80lb bag of quikcrete with a tad too much water so it will pour from a bucket. With a ladder or from the truck, using a square bucket slowly pour a little at a time down the pole till it's all used up. It does not have to be filled to the top but at least past the joint of the two pole segments. Be sure to duct tape the joint also before pouring, the concrete will seep from the joint and run down the pole and IT DOES NOT WIPE OFF due to the matte paint. The old gloss paint would but not this. You pour the concrete in the pole on day 2 because that is when the pole will be strong enough to hold the weight of the concrete inside it. Doing it on the day 1 will make it heavy and fall over. Pouring it in with a cap on the bottom and trying to pick it up and put in the ground sleeve that you should have tossed is stupid. Basketball goals should be as sturdy as possible not removable! unless you are renting or moving soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yorkville, IL
Very nice system
Posted 06/30/2012
I agree with Atlanta Hoops and disgarded the plastic sleeve and put the pole directly in concrete.
I have two teenage boys that have given this basketball system a work out and it has not missed a beat.
Last night mother nature gave it a workwork with Hurricane force winds. The system still stands proud, but I can not say the same for some of the trees in my yard.
One recommendation that I do have is to purchase a pole pad as once the pole has concrete in it, it is not very forgiving when you run in to it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Good final product but long getting there

08/20/2010
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The basketball system is good overall. We ran into several issues that caused a lot more work than necessary. They show the two tube sections going together by just banging them on the ground. With 3 of us, over 6 foot tall men, there was no way they were going together. Fortunately, we had a backhoe available and used the pressure from the bucket to get them finally together. This bent the top of the pole but I was able to straiten it out. Pouring the concrete in the pole also makes a mess and leaves stains that are hard to get off. The crank is next to impossible to raise and lower so don't plan on doing it often. This actually worked out well since our last system was too easy for kids to play with. All in all I would consider it again but it was far more effort than planned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Pretty Good basketball goal

12/30/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well it was about like the reviews I read and what I expected. Installation is a bit involving. I am a heavy equipment mechanic and have a background in construction. Not too big of deal for me, but beginners beware. All and all the goal is solid and good looking once you get the pole in the ground and everything installed. I believe it's a good alternative to the $1000 models at the big box sports stores, at least for my 13 year old son. Only time will tell how it holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Very good inground hoop

04/13/2010
By ,
Roselle, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions were well written and the product is very sturdy. It is easy to adjust the height and the spring on the rim gives it a friendlier bounce than you'll get from those at most parks.
It does take 900 pounds of cement for the hole & pole. If you dig the whole to spec the cement will be used about about perfectly.
It will take 3 people to put up the backboard and 2 to fill & move the pole. Other steps 1 person can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

best basketball goal on the market!

09/12/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched and reviewed many options but this by far is the best you can get outside of buying an authentic NBA goal. It is very sturdy and very true. Be careful when installing - I recommend just throwing away the sleeve for the ground and concreting the pole itself and use some anchors. Not really as hard as it sounds but just be sure to make it level before letting the concrete dry. The top portion of the pole sits over the bottom part that you concrete and that will definitely require 2 adults but it's not that hard. I definitely recommend purchasing this and trust me, your friends will be envious of you for owning this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Backboard broke first day

08/24/2012
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This appears to be an impressive set, and the price I got at Walmart was spectacular. But the day we installed it a neighborhood kid dunked on it and the backboard shattered.
I called Spalding and they say they're going to ship me a new one. Hopefully they'll back that up.
I still gave it three stars because other than our bad moment with the backboard, it's an great set of hardware for the money. Hopefully they will get us a new backboard and everything will be okay going forward.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Cheapest real glass backboard hoop I could find

09/22/2012
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had someone else install it. The height adjustment crank works well for adults but is hard for kids. Seems like it would last a long time since it is just a long threaded bolt. Attractive unit. I like the 60 inch backboard. The metal on the pole seems a little thin. I tried to make it super solid by filling the entire pole with cement up to the bolts that attach the backboard. It is solid but I thought it would not flex at all in the wind or when the ball hits the backboard but it still does a little bit but not bad though - don't know why it still does this even with the cement. I knew putting the poles together would be an issue because of reviews I had read. The installers had to use a bang plate to get them together so remember to put them together first if you are going to fill most of the pole with cement.
The biggest problem I have with the unit is the rim. It is a heavy duty rim but has a slight give to it when the ball hits it - not firm when the ball hits - but again I think it is durable and is attached well. I haven't tried to dunk on it so I'm not sure how it handles in that situation. Overall I like it for the price - cheapest glass unit I could find that seems to be good quality. Definitely not the same quality as a $700 to $800 unit but I think it will serve its purpose and last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System

Better than the cheap hoops

10/01/2012
By ,
Franklin, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We had this hoop professionally installed.
It is nice. Way better than a cheap hoop.
BUT the hoop and board are definitely softer than ideal.
If you are real serious hoopster than pay the big buck for a $1000+ hoop.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spalding 88461G 60" Glass In-Ground Basketball System
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5