Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%139 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

WOW!!!

05/04/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this Tv for more than a month now and still impressed! Hvae a good friend who works at a store who sells tv's and home theater set ups. He told me that this tv would be good but not great. Boy was he wrong! Playing Xbox 360 games (Battlefield Bad Company 2, CoD MW2, MLB 2k10) all look great on this TV! No lag j8ust great graphics and great gaming. Watching movies is just awesome on this TV. 2012, Transformers 2, Boondocks Saints 2, etc.. just shined on it. Have HD programming through my cable provider. So normal tv is great to look a and very pleasing to the eye. Just watching anything on this tv is amazing. Comparing this TV to a lot of other displays I saw for a lot more this TV blew a lot of the other more pricey brands away. Been saving up for an LCD TV for a while and this TV is worth every dollar I paid for it. A lot of inputs, a lot of gorgeous ways to watch tv! If you are looking for a bargain priced LCD with High Priced LCD features, check this tv out! I recommend this to everyone!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great Picture and Price

10/19/2009
By ,
Orange, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this TV. It was up in no time and needed no adjustments. We mounted it with a tilt wall mount that makes it easy to pull out and plug in connections. Would definitely recommend. With the home theater system that comes with it, we can watch DVD movies, listen to CD's, and also watch clear precise photos. They look great enlarged on the big screen. The theater system also has a USB port that we can attach anything with a USB attachment and show it on the screen. We were able to hide all the wires by running them through a wicker shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 3 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

A WONDERFUL TV!!!!

11/18/2009
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS TV IS FANTASTIC....IT'S BEING ALMOST 2 MONTHS AND THE TV IS WORKING VERY GOOD...I WAS AFRAID IN THE BEGINNING WHEN I ORDERED BY WALMART ON LINE BUT EVERYTHING WAS SHIPPED FINE... I'M VERY HAPPY!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Dont Buy

08/12/2009
By ,
Hardy, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wait to write your review. Our TV only lasted three weeks. The picture quality starts changing colors after the first week and by the end of the second week everyone is blue no matter what you do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 5 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

REally Impressed

05/11/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the 55" Vizio tv and we were really impressed by it. It was so eay to set up. The picture and sound quality are execellent. We shopped around and I went online,I even read Consumer Reports Magazine to get the best TV for our money . This tv lives up to everything we could expect.We bought it for 1298.00 and it is well worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Viziooooooooooo

11/08/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product vizio puts out is unmatched when you look at price/quality. I bought my first vizio flat panel about 3 years ago and it still works flawlessly. Now when it asks how often the TV is used and i say everyday i mean everyday. The vizio i bought 3 years ago is a 37inch and is used as a tv in our bedroom but also as a computer monitor. Our newest Vizio is a 42inch and we have the 55 in our livingroom. They all work amazing. I noticed some of the other comments and the one with the picture of the screen not looking good kind of troubled me. Typically when a screen looks like that is due to using a component cable and having your blue and green mixed up. I dont want to start a war of words here but thats exactly how ours look when the blue and green are switched. In closing if your reading this buy vizio. You wont be disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great tv for the price

03/17/2010
By ,
Midland, Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tv for $1,298.00, I purchased 3 tv's for comparison, the 55" Vizio tru led 551 from Sam's for $1,776.00 and a Samsung 55" 640 clearance from Best Buy for $1,499.00 The VF550M had just as good a picture as the other more expensive sets. If you use pip then Vizio is much more user friendly than the Samsung. I could not find any other brands that offer pip capabilities. Also the Vizio tv's have a matte screen for less reflection. The Samsung is as shiny as a plazma, very hard to see in a room with light. The sound on all three sets could be better, but most people hook up to an external sound system anyway. Also the Vizio offers variable audio output which is a nice feature for controlling your tv and sound system volume with your tv remote. I do have a problem I don't understand and that is the shiny bezel around almost all flat panel's on the market. Why not make this a matte finish to cut down on reflection from the bezel? I did lot's of testing and believe this is a great set for the price. I also purchased the extended 3 year warranty from Wal-Mart.com for $118.00 just to be sure. Hope some of this helps so you won't have to set up 3 55" sets in your den for comparison.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 8 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Still AMAZING Months Later!!!

07/21/2009
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: GEORGEOUS COLOR, CONTRAST, PRISTINE QUALITY PICTURE, BLU-RAY SPLENDOR!!! 120HZ, SMOOTH MOTION, AUTO-ADJUSTING SOUND LEVELS. PLUS, FIVE HDMI PORTS. BIG BANG FOR THE BUCK!!
Cons: THE ONLY BAD THING IS EVERYONE DOESN'T OWN ONE!
Summary: THIS VIZIO VF550M IS QUITE SIMPLY THE MOST AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL TV ON THE MARKET! WITH COLOR SO VIBRANT, IT MAKES EVERY MOVIE, SPORTING EVENT, AND BLU-RAY DISC JUMP OUT AT YOU! IT'S LIKE YOU ARE PART OF THE SHOW!! I CAN'T STOP LOOKING AT IT!!!! IT HAS FIVE HDMI PORTS WHICH ALLOWS ME TO CONNECT MY DIGITAL CONVERTER, PS3, XBOX 360, SURROUND SOUND PLAYER AND HD PC. IT HAS A SMOOTH MOTION FEATURE THAT MAKES EVERYTHING LOOK 3-D (THIS CAN ALSO BE DISABLED), AND CAN BE ADJUSTED FOR ANY VIEWING SITUATION. IT ONLY COSTS $1597 AT WAL MART, LESS THAN THE COMPETITION!! IT IS THE LARGEST ONE IN STOCK. READ OTHER REVIEWS - THIS IS MONEY WELL SPENT!!
I FEEL FOR THE REVIEWER WHO HAD PROBLEMS, BUT HEY, THAT'S RARE. VIZIO WILL REPLACE YOUR TV FOR FREE!! I'VE NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THEM ON THE PHONE. YOUR WARRENTY IS STILL IN EFFECT, JUST WAIT UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR REPLACEMENT TV AND EVALUATE IT BEFORE WRITING A NEGATIVE REVIEW. I'VE USED MINE EVERY DAY FOR 2+ MONTHS WITH NO ISSUES.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 9 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great Tv. Great Price.

10/22/2009
By ,
Hutchinson, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have spent lots of money on tv's in the past but this one was our best purchase for price. I know tv prices have come down recently, but this tv is just amazing. When you are watching shows the people almost look like they are in your room. Do not get to close to the tv in standard definition, because the picture is definitely grainy. When on high-def though you can be right up to the screen and it is crystal clear. Love all of the HDMI ports on the tv, makes for easy connection and with the Vizio soundbar with subwoofer we have a very compact complete home theater system. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+192points
Review 10 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Bang for your Buck

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extensively searching for a LCD HDTV to fit both my expectations and budget. I wanted atleast a 52" to get the real theatre like experience inside my medium size living room. I narrowed down on Vizio VF550M in the end, and boy am I happy !! the first thing that impress you about this TV is its shear size. It is HUGE !! The picture quality is awesome too. The output with BD and 120Hz on this TV is at par with any high end TVs. The sound production ic clear and mainly by the sound bar at the bottom of the TV. To get a real home theatre like experience I would suggest to complement this TV with a home thatre system. Remote control is very basic and simple. With 5 HDMI ports there is never a problem with connectivity of various gadgets !!
I would definitely recommend this product for those who are searching for a 52" or higher TV size. Get it and let the fun begin !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 11 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great LCD

02/16/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Visio after trying out a similarly priced Samsung from Best Buy. The Samsung had a few more features like basic internet connectivity, but the picture and sound quality are clearly better with the Visio. The Samsung had a higher contrast ratio, but the Visio is better at contrast and displaying blacks. So you can't also trust the manufacturers specifications.
The Visio is a bit thicker compared to the Samsung, but who cares unless you pay the big dollars for the ultra-thin model. The downside to the Visio which I knew about up front is that on some channles, during some programs or commercials, you can see a bit of a line at the top of the screen. However, based on the overall picture and sound quality of the Visio and lower price, compared to the entry level Samsung of the same size, in my mind the clear choice is Visio.
I had a bit of a problem finding it, but the extended warranty thru Walmart is priced better than buying one direct from Visio.
So far, very happy with my purchase and I think I did the right thing by sending the Best Buy Samsung 55" back. This is my second Visio LCD. The 37" model is also great.
Both Best Buy and Walmart have great custmer service for on-line purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 12 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Awesome TV

08/09/2009
By ,
Glassboro NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this TV two months awesome TV, beautiful picture I was really suprised.From the reviews I read, most being good also in store compairison I agree.This much quaility at such a low price is amazing.You can not go wrong.You hear alot about issues with poor sound quaility.Try setting the audio to jazz mode and turning off the true sound.Turning the backlight down to about 20 helps alot also.Looking for a great deal? this is it you won't be diapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 13 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

A lesson in value

08/18/2009
By ,
Sun City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value is what Visio is all about. You can spend twice the dollars and see no improvement.
This is my fifth Visio purchase. I have seen other TVs with a better picture, Panasonic for a grand more. The difference is only in deep blacks. Side by side it makes a difference. Alone the picture is very impressive. The 120 htz processor does make a visible difference. I hear they are comming out with a 300 htz TV soon. It does make a difference in sports and car chases. Overall You cant beat the price/quality ratio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 14 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Could not ask for more.

07/18/2009
By ,
Escondido, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV about 2 months ago at the local WalMart. I have not had any problems with it and the picture quality is clear and bright. The sound is not the greatest and is weak. For the price I could not have asked for anything better. I checked this TV out next to Sony and Samsung and the picture brightness and color was better on the Vizio. So don't always go by the name go by what you see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 15 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great TV

07/26/2009
By ,
Fort Smith, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did alot of shopping before buying a tv in this price range and size. This tv will astonish you will the 3d effect of 120 hz . Coming from a 42" 1080i vizio it was breathtaking. I've seen plasmas, several other lcds from sonys to sharps to samsungs, but none offer the value to wow factor in this size. Hooked up to a 7.2; yes I said 2 subs , it is alot better than going to the movie theater. Of course you have to have blu-ray. 5 hdmi inputs means you won't be running out of connections . Best investment in a tv in along time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 16 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

My TV Vizio 55

07/20/2009
By ,
Chester, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought mine about seven months ago & so far no complaints. Picture is great sound is good. For the price, yes is worht it. Enjoy 'cause I'am.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 17 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Best Value 55' LCD TV

01/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched for a week before I decided on this TV for a several reasons.
1. Picture quality
2. Value of the product.
3. Convenience of getting it locally instead of online,
in case I decided to return it, no shipping charge.
4. Walmart 90 day no-hassle return policy. Be very aware of return policies of many online stores.
Only downside I found on this TV is the sound quality and PIP or POP options. It doesn't allow you to view two or more cable channels at the same time.
Overall great TV for its value and I would recommend to others.
Hope this helped others looking for a nice big screen LCD TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 18 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

It really is awesome! and some tips too.

01/12/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought these reviews sounded too good to be true and figured they were written by Walmart or Vizio employees. But after comparing other tv's and purchasing this one, I totally believe them all. WOW!!!
My living room is about 18' x 20' and I thought the 55" may be too big but it fits and looks perfect. Anything else would have looked too small.
As far as value goes, it cost much less than any other brands with the same features. And it's American made!! You can't put value on that!
The picture quality really does look amazing. Everyone reviewing this will say it looks SO lifelike and real, and they would be correct (as long as you have a HD receiver and use HDMI cables you'll get the 1080p). It really does look amazing. Don't hook it up with AV inputs though (the red, white, and yellow cables) they'll only broadcast in 480p.
As far as sound goes, I had a 32" Sanyo box (the "old" tube type of tv) so this one blows that one away. I can't attest to prior flatscreens because I have never had one.
Tip: I used the Sanus/vuepoint low profile wall mount F55 model, $89 at Walmart, and it was so simple and is plenty sturdy for a 55" tv. Just find your 2 wall studs, level it up, drill 4 holes and insert lag bolts. I cut a 2 3/8" hole in the wall directly behind where the power cable goes into the back of the tv and inserted a 2 3/8" desk grommet into the wall. Drill and insert another grommet behind whatever is under your tv, run the power cable and HDMI's from tv through the wall and out to receiver/dvd/video game consoles and SHAZAM! instant professional looking wireless wallmount.
I love my awesome new tv!!! Yay for me!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 19 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

satified Vizio Customer

08/28/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a Vizio owner since March 2007. This is my fifth purchase of a Vizio LCD and I have no compliants. I notice that the comments from a couple of unhappy customers. Unfortunately - there are no perfect products and you are bound to have a defect here or there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 20 for VIZIO 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, VF550M

Great television

07/21/2009
By ,
Marion, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an up-to date tv and reviewed the features and size that this Vizeo offered and knew this was the tv for me!
After hooking up DirectTV HD I was amazed how clear and crisp the screen was.
I would recommend this tv to anyone who wants a big tv!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next