Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. The VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV brings you the latest 1080p full high definition resolution for crisp, clear lifelike images. The 120Hz Smooth Motion technology provides a fluid, blur-free experience. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.473 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%117 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

So Far So Good

04/25/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had it just over a week. The picture is great. I was worried that the picture on the non-HD channels would be horrible. But even those are beautiful. It arrived at the store a couple of days earlier than expected, that made me happy.
I guess time will tell if this was a good purchase or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

DO NOT BUY!! HDMI PORT GOES BAD!!

04/19/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I must say we were much like alot of the people who have posted here praising this TV. We went to Walmart to purchase a flat screen TV. We spent alot of time looking at the TVs to find one that would fit in our entertainment center. Then we compared the ones we found. Very time consuming process. Nevertheless we got this TV. Got it home hooked all the components up to it (cable, surround sound, dvd player, etc), which was quite easy like others say. Turned it on & we were taken away by the picture, beautiful. Everyone who came over thought it looked great too. Well, 28days after purchasing it the screen went blank. We had a blue screen with the words No Signal flashing around on it. We switched the HDMI cable to one of the other HDMI ports and it would work. So the problem was with the HDMI 1 port. But not paying this kind of money for something to be wrong less then 1 month after buying the TV. So we took the TV back to Walmart and exchanged it for a new one. Got home hooked it all up again. No problems, same great picture again. Even had in-laws over to watch Blindside on it & it was great. Well here we are again, had this one for 26 days and the screen went out on us again. Some problem, HDMI port 1 quit working for some reason. Oh and 10 of those days the TV wasn't even used cause we were on vacation. So this time it was only really used 16 days. Now we are not sure what we are going to do. But I recommend to others not to buy this TV!!! If you have purchased this TV and have your screen go blank and can't exchange it anymore like some of the people here. Try changing HDMI ports before just getting rid of it at least then your money wonlt be a total waste. But again if you are considering VIZIO...DON'T!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 83 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Vizio SV420M

11/30/2009
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wall mounted the TV over the fire place. Easy installation. Had to get another power cord as the supplied cord was only 6ft. Picture quality is fantastic, better than my Panasonic 42 inch plasma. Sound could be a little better. Good television for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

A wonderful TV!

11/22/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic tv. The picture quality, especially in HD, is wonderful. I read reviews where the sound quality was fair, but I don't agree. The sound is excellent. We have changed just about all the tvs in the house to Vizio. We are big fans!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

A Perfect Match.

01/08/2010
By ,
Shelby Township, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
- The 42" Vizio, 120hz. Thee perfect tv and blu ray combination. This LCD HDTV has it all. I resently ungraded from the 42" 60hz Vizio to this one. Let me just say this, Worth Every Penny. I know you may have noticed that I gave it 4 out of 5 stars in the audio department. Yes, sorry but its true. Before the upgrade to the 120hz Vizio my volume was amazing. It may just be this TV but the 60hz that I just owned was incredibly louder then this 120hz. Seems like at 13 volume on the 60hz was like 23 on the 120hz.
- But anyways, this tv in a whole is flawless. The picture is to die for, the sound quality is amazing (Just because I didn't give the audio a perfect score doesn't mean it was bad AT ALL), and the features. Just awsome. The PIP is really nice. The Multi-input split screen mode is awsome. You can be playing a game and be on the web at the same time on the same screen. Very nice.
- The Best part of this TV is definatly the 1080p with the 120hz feature. Some people didn't like this but I love it. It gives you that in the movie kinda feel. Let me put it this way, instead of watching the movie, you feel apart of the movie and right there with them. I believe that 120hz and blu ray were just ment to be and the ultimate movie watching experience. I truly like this feature, and also you do have the option to turn it off if you don't like it. Making this TV perfect for any movie lover.
- P.S. I hope this review helps you in your TV purchasing experience and I would like to leave you with something that will sure to be worth your while.
Take this Vizio 42" 120hz TV with a PS3 Blu Ray Player, and watch The Dark Knight. This setup and The Dark Knight were made for each other and you with surely find out. Take care and thanks for your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M
02/17/2010
By ,
san benito texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great t.v, picture is outstanding i have an xbox and a blue ray player both have an awesome picture. the audio on this TV is unbelievable compared to the old vizio 32in i had before its a whole new ball game. very good value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

a great product

06/22/2009
By ,
Seekonk,Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv for fathers day gift have loved all
that it can dish out never have we loved anything so beautiful for the money, just absoutly love it.
Picture looks good, ballgames are a must for this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Great Value!

01/26/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV after doing a lot of research. It is definitely the most bang for your buck! It has great picture and awesome sound. Blu Ray on this TV is AMAZING. I could not be happier with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Very NICE!

11/24/2009
By ,
Lowell MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this TV on Walmart.com 2 weeks ago. It is very nice! Crystal clear pictures and good sound. I added a Sony home theater system to it and its much better now. I would recommend this tv highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

GREAT for gamers

09/29/2010
By ,
Barstow, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this back in June & although its only been set up a few days because my family has been soooo busy, its what I've always wanted since I first bought my PS3, full HD gaming o yea!!! :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 91 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

GREAT PRODUCT

10/30/2009
By ,
SAN DIEGO, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Very Pleased with the performance of this Visio LCD. Great for the Price. True the sound isn't the greatest, but once I connect external sound system, it will be totally AWESOME!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Terrific HZ120

07/08/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best TV and picture quality ever. I have 8 TV's in the house (! in screen room) and this is the best by far. I will be getting another one for my office to replace a 32" Polaroid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Very nice....

01/23/2010
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it as a dedicated PC monitor and the picture quality is fantastic. Great for gaming and a very clear TV picture also. Its well worth the price for a 120 hz LCD of this size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M
12/07/2009
By ,
syarcuse, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up. Great picture, great colors, no dead pixs, sound is pretty good by itself - but I always use a sound system, with 120hz there is no blur, don't have any negs to say.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 95 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Great TV

01/02/2010
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this TV for months now and it has never disappointed. Looks better than my friends more expensive samsung and sony models. A great buy. Plus there are tons of inputs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Excellent Value

01/10/2010
By ,
New Fairfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the price. Excellent quality picture and color. Good range of features and variety of connections. Sound adequate though helped by a home theatre system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 97 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Vizio 42" 1080p

01/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like our new t.v. alot. Picture quality is great! HD clarity is amazing. We have only owned it for a couple of weeks, and we are glad we made the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

vizio

01/06/2010
By ,
ladysmith wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant picture, easy setup, decent sound. plenty of input jacks. nice looking tv. satelite guy said it had the best picture he's seen for awhile
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 99 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

A wonderful addition to my living room

01/09/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant picture,very easy to hook up to existing cable
turn it on & bam beautiful picture no adjustments needed ,Idid not know what I was missing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV, SV420M

Awesome TV

07/18/2009
By ,
Cullowhee, N.C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome TV with 120Hz and 50,000:1 contrast ratio, makes the PC picture crystal clear on it. The price is great for a 120Hz TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
81-100 of 115 total reviews