Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SwissGear SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

SwissGear SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Add comfort and ease to your outdoor adventures with the SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent. With a lightweight design, it is easy to set up and provides enough room for up to three people. It is also loaded with features not usually found on tents this size so you can take your trips to new levels. The sport dome tent has a built-in gear loft and organizer pocket for keeping your smaller items organized and within reach. With a mesh roof and back window, it delivers excellent airflow at all times. This Swiss Gear dome tent also features a handy e-port for simple electrical cord access. The seams and floor keeps moisture out, ensuring that you stay dry and cozy no matter what the weather brings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation86%18 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Decent tent...

08/08/2010
By ,
Masaryktown, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tent to use on an overnight kayak trip. It was more than small enough to pack in my kayak. Ventilation is decent but it is still hot in the summer (southern states) with the rain fly on, even in the shade and at night. The poly-taffeta floor is nice because it makes the tent lighter and smaller to pack but I would recommend using a footprint for rough ground. Stakes are cheap aluminum and are fine in soft soils but heftier stakes would be needed for anything else. My twin air mattress just fits end to end but if you're not sleeping directly on the floor of the tent it's hard to keep your feet or head from touching the tent (I'm only 5' 8" tall). Getting in is easy but getting out with the rain fly on is a little difficult without just crawling out. The tent size is good for one adult and gear or two adults and no gear. I didn't use the e-port or the shoe pocket. I didn't get any rain but trusted that this tent would have kept me dry. The tent is very quick and easy to put up and take down by yourself.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 2 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Nice Tent

08/31/2010
By ,
Edwardsville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for the Registers Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa (RAGBRAI). It's easy to set up and take down and comfortably sleeps 2 adults. It kept the rain away a few nights and had (as a non-camper) what I felt were some interesting features. I would recommend purchasing some better tent stakes as the ones included bend easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 3 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Perfect for one or two

11/15/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent. It's attractive, light weight, and roomy. I took it out to air it, but the materials weren't overly saturated with chemicals - it didn't even need airing out. This is a HUGE plus for me, a chemically sensitive type. The tent is well considered: there are pockets for gadgets, high-hug pockets for fragiles like glasses, and a large pocket built in for muddy shoes that is accessible from the outside. In addition, there is slot for a power cord. Very cool. I'm not a intrepid camper, by any means, but this tent is everything I wanted. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Review 4 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Value Tent : kept me dry

10/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tent for short-term use. It held up very well in the rain, the fly kept out the water and the floor was very weather proof.
Nothing too special but a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Review 5 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Good for a quick fix

07/24/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought our tent for a 2 day overnight in Yosemite. As a tent, it was just right for 2 people and a 2 person sleeping bag, however, the main rods snapped on it and we had to fix them with duct tape. This was unfortuante. We figured that a hotel would have cost us way more than 55 for a 2 night stay, so we figured we had gotten our moneys worth. If you want something you wont have to fix after 2 days, do not buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Review 6 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Awesome value

06/04/2010
By ,
Fountain Inn, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because my husband & I needed a new tent. I took it camping a couple of weeks ago & it rained a couple of times & there were absolutely no leaks. I love the shoe compartment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 7 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent
05/10/2010
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this for our kids and 3 of them slept in there without complaining that one was touching the other.
Its not a fancy tent by any means but it did the job and the setup and tear down were very simple.
The bacg that it comes in is not the greatest quality but it was bigger than the tent was because NOTHING ever goes back in the way it came out!
Stakes were on the cheaper end so buy a stronger set while you are picking this up. I already bent mine.
Went up quickly and broke down easily.
Good value for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hicksville, NY
really nice tent for camping
Posted 07/26/2011
I have always loved SwissGear stuff because they are very good quality, I was so surprised to see that Walmart sells this brand.
I loved the tent, it's very roommy, enough space for a queen size air mattress, is very fashionable and very durable, not heavy at all. I had one bad instance with this tent, is that it will will water proof under extended rains, but the top protects pretty well. Small rains should be okay.
Overall, I recommend this product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Everything I wanted except...

08/31/2010
By ,
Salt Lake, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent was exactly what I wanted and needed except when I was in a wind/rain storm on my camping trip the tent poles weren't very sturdy. The sides of the tent were coming down on my face and the bottom leaked water even with a tarp underneath. It was incredibly easy to set up, and I went to 3 Wal-mart stores and they all had this tent in stock with plenty to spare. Other than the weather issues, the tent is great on perfect sunny days and cool nights. I would recommend this tent for a basic camping trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 9 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Excellent Value

01/03/2011
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would love to have a super duper tent from REI.com or backcountry.com, but those run $200 to $300. So I picked this one up instead and it's worked out fine for the most part. It leaked a bit in the rain and one of the poles broke but I was able to salvage the pole with some tape. When I can afford to upgrade I will but as a comfort-oriented car camper, this tent served me well for many a night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Good Buy!

03/04/2011
By ,
League City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, lots of room and very sturdy. I am very happy with the product. I would buy better stakes as the ones that come with the tent are not very good. I would definitely recommend this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 11 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Camping Trip

08/02/2010
By ,
maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first time sleeping outside in a tent and let me tell you I give this swiss gear tent 5 stars. It was roomy enough for two people with a queen size air mattress, and our luggage. It even rained one night and the tent stayed bone dry inside! It was easy too put up - did it in about 15 minutes. It did say it could fit 3 people but that would be really tight, it was just enough for two adults.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 12 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Good tent

05/28/2010
By ,
Victorville ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got back from a 3 week motorcycle trip and I used it all but 4 nights. It's a good sturdy tent. I did alot of backpacking when I was younger and I wish I had this tent then.
I'm alot older now and I forgot about rolling around on the floor. I need a taller tent!
The tent stakes are a joke!!!!! Get better ones befor you use this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Good tent, Bad poles

08/28/2010
By ,
Lehigh Acres, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tent is what was expected. The tent itself appeared well made, but the poles both broke within hours of setting the tent up. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 14 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Great Value!!!!!

06/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOWS !! My grandson, who is a Boy Scout said it is awesome !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Swissgear Tent

06/01/2010
By ,
Slatington, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not thrilled with it. It's a fine tent for nice weather camping, but lacks a plastic lined bottom and will leak and leave you wet if it rains at all on your camping trip....as it did to me. Easy to put up and pack away, but not a product for anything other then "fair weather" camping. I had to spend another $20 for a tarp to cover it, and another $12 for one to place under it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent
08/09/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very pleased with this tents construction. Very easy to setup. The only hang up I have with it is that it states it is 7' x 7', but when I lay down my head and heals touch the tent. If your 6' or taller go with a bigger tent. I thought 6" extra on each end would be enough, but I was wrong. This tent is on the small side, so don't count on the 7' x 7' spec listed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent
08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 15yr. old grandson. Had a small leak above the door. Other than that it was great. He definitely liked it. I had also bought him a cot but it was too big for the tent. I thought a tent that sleeps three should have room for the cot and a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

Good tent for short term camping

04/03/2010
By ,
Water Valley, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem was that rain seeped in around the edges of the tent. Other than that it survived a torrential downpour. Getting out of the tent was a little tricky for my 50+ husband and I.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 19 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent

best value

07/26/2010
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i dont know the long term use of this product, i am very satisfied with this tent, it looks , sets up and packs away very nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 20 for SwissGear Cheval Sport 3-Person Dome Tent
06/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had the chance to use it yet, but the weight and everything else appears to be just what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-4points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next