Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Black & Decker Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

The Black & Decker 6-Speed 250 watt Mixer takes care of most of your cooking needs. This electric hand mixer includes attachments such as the wire beater, whisk, dough hooks, and spatula to help you cook almost anything. With a 250 watt motor, it works at six different speeds from low to high. The first speed is slower than the rest, to help prevent any spills. Simply increase the speed by using the power boost button. This hand held mixer blender has an ergonomically designed handle that helps you hold it comfortably during the mixing process. This set comes with a sturdy little storage box that lets you store the unit as well as the attachments, all in one place. The parts of the Black & Decker hand mixer are dishwasher safe and are easy to clean and maintain.
Average Customer Rating:
3.547 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation64%60 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Garbage

10/07/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned mine for nearly 2 years, got it as a Christmas present in 2010. First time I used it, the beaters broke (and I was only mixing a boxed cake mix!) Called manufacturer... took them 5 months to tell me the beaters were on back order. Finally after a few more months they send me a new mixer for my hassles of waiting months and months for beaters. So I get the new mixer in with 2 sets of beaters. (Apparently the beaters I originally needed weren't on back order anymore). I used it for maybe a month and the motor blew out in one (Note I don't do alot of mixer using... This was maybe 5 uses 10 tops before the motor blew). so I threw it in the garbage and opened the second one they sent me. SAME THING! beaters broke ... and after a few uses the motor blew. GARBAGE. My Cheap $4.00 one I bought years ago is still running and I can mix everything with it! Cake mix, cookie dough, frosting... etc. Don't waste your money on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Did they even test this product??!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking, specifically, for a mixer with a truly low speed. On the front of the box this mixer claims "Easy-Start, Slower 1st Speed". Well, it's got neither. There is no low speed on this mixer. I must say, the higher speeds are impressive...but I can't imagine ever needing to use those top speeds. My food is already dead when I go to mix it. The speed control switch goes from side to side instead of up and down and that is, by no means, easier. This product was such a disappointment up front that I never even used it...I boxed it up and returned it the same day that I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Good Mixer, Horrible Beaters

10/14/2010
By ,
Rexburg, Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this product for about a year and a half, and have gone through 2 sets of beaters. Both beaters broke where the sautering work was done. When this happened 10 months ago, I called customer service and ordered a new part. They were still under warranty (I'd only had the beaters for 10 months) but she said the beaters were on back order. She gave me a date when they would be sent, and I waited, and then I waited. Finally 3 months went by and I gave up and went to Walmart to get my replacements. Now 7 months later I'm in the same spot. Somehow, the beaters are STILL on back order and I was told they would ship out in 2 1/2 weeks. I'm not holding my breath.
The mixer works really well but I can't do much without beaters. Save your sanity and get something else!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

The ABSOLUTE WORST!!!!!!!!

11/15/2013
By ,
Winslow, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never been so disappointed with a B&D product like that this before. After owning this for 4 months the wire whisk and mixers completely broke where the cheap soldering job is. Its still under warranty I might add and I have the receipt yet they refused to replace my broken mixers and whisk. The body of it is big and bulky, even my $10 mixer from Family Dollar is smaller and it works just fine after owning that for 5 years. B&D needs to stick to what they know best and keep out of the small appliances business, its not their strong area.
Oh yeah, they shouldn't offer spare parts for sale if they're not in stock or back ordered, 2 months and still waiting B&D!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

this is a power tool, not for kitchens

02/22/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i liked that there were lots of attachments bc i dont always want to use my kitchenaid... but that is where i stopped liking it. when i first grabbed the mixer, my thumb could press in the plastic on the side and i could make it click so it certainly wasnt too durable off the bat. then i turned it on, holy moley it was too powerful! when i went to add my dry to wet ingredients, the dry just went up in smoke bc the machine awas going so fast, and that was only on speed 1! i make my own icing and there is no way i would be able to keep any powered sugar in my bowl if i used this mixer. the power booster was ridiculous. i mean i know speed is essential for whipping cream and eggs and stuff but why anyone would need a mixer to move that fast i have no idea. it made a mess of the kitchen. this was a gift btw, at it will be going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

shrapnel

11/30/2013
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a Tim the tool man special, The motor is definitely Black and Decker but the beaters are not suitable for such a motor. I bought this to do my Holiday baking last year, I used it three times and put it away, I took it out this year and the third time I used it this year the beaters shrapneled. I mean they became tangled in each other with no warning and bird nested right there in my bowl of batter. It costs over 15 dollars for replacement beaters (including shipping) so the whole thing is a write off. While researching the issue looking for replacement beaters I stumbled upon hundreds of reports of the same thing happening with this model so "NO, I would never recommend this product to consumers."
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

not good enough

12/12/2013
By ,
Altoona, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two of these mixers. The motor is great. It was extremely powerful, too bad the beaters and whisk couldn't stand up to the power exerted by the motor. The first one I bought, I had for about 6 months when the beaters broke. One of the metal peices broke at the weld. I figured it was a fluke, so I went and bought another one. This one broke at the weld also but since I only had two more batches of cookies to make for Christmas I figured I'd live with it. That was fine untill I started making my oatmeal cookies. The entire top of the beater snapped off into my cookie batter. I finished it by hand. I have had many "cheap" hand mixers over the years, but this takes the cake. I can't believe B&D would sell this. The cheaper ones last longer. I just wish those beaters would work in this mixer then I'd have it made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

I Needed a "Spur of the Moment" Mixer

03/04/2014
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this on short notice - needing one asap. For $20, I thought, "what the heck". I used it for the first time tonight (3/4/14) and was SHOCKED as to the speed. Way too high for the lowest speed. I was afraid my flour was going to go flying out of the bowl. I will definitely have to purchase something else that has a lower speed. I will keep this as a back up mixer.
My mistake was that I wasn't able to look at the reviews on any mixers - for the reason I was in Wal Mart when I realized I needed a hand mixer for my baking class.
I would not recommend this beater for the reason that the speed it way too high for it's lowest level. That would be the only reason so far. I was pleased that it came with a case and attachments... but that's not enough for me to recommend this mixer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Didn't last

08/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mixer less than a year ago. Within a few months the plastic gears quick working and one beater would not turn. I called the company, and they would replace the mixer for an $8 shipping fee since it was still under warranty. The replacement mixer lasted six months before it did the same thing. I will not be spending another $8 to have it replaced "for free."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Not for serious baking

05/02/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Last christmas I was busy in the kitchen baking fifteen Pumpkin Cheesecakes for friends and family. After baking two, my poor $8 hand mixer that I've had for 5 years finally burned out. I quickly ran out to pick up a new one and figured I should spend more money considering all of the baking I was doing.
At first, I was amazed. This mixer was quiet, had great power, and looked pretty sleek. I was able to finish my cheesecakes, but led to more requests.
When I started on my new batch, I noticed a weird black line in the cream cheese. I checked my measuring tools, clean. Then, I inspected the mixer and part of the whisk broke where it attaches to the rod. The rod part is hollow and water must have got in the last time it was cleaned and rusted out. That's what the black line was in my cream cheese.
It's unfortunate the mixers limit was 12 cheesecakes. I really like the appearance and the features, but the durability of its parts need improvement.
I still use the other attachments, and back to an $8 hand mixer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

protect your ears

09/12/2009
By ,
Manhattan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Black and Decker forgot to specify the decibel output of this mixer. At high speed, I wouldn't be surprised if it exceeded OSHA standards. Certainly if you are having to mix at high speed for more than a couple minutes, it would be wise to use hearing protection or risk ringing in your ears. Recommended with precautions
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!

10/30/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching online and reading reviews, I decided to go in store to look specifically at this mixer. I found it and decided to get it. I took it home and tried it out tonight on a batch of chocolate chip cookies for a church function tomorrow. I'M SOOOO HAPPY with this mixer. It does a great job... I am SOOOO GLAD I got this mixer - it's my first mixer as I'm getting married & am in the process of trying to set up house :) I would DEFINITELY recommend this mixer - trust me, you won't be disappointed. I can't get over the price either...THANK YOU Wal-Mart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

What is everyone complaining about?

11/04/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a handheld electric mixer, intended for use by the average home baker. It costs about $20, and is not designed for extremely heavy or frequent use, if you need a mixer that will withstand everyday heavy duty jobs and abuse, spend the money on a professional grade stand mixer like a kitchenaid. That being said, I love this mixer. I have had it for about a year, and I could not be any happier with its quality, power, ease of use or attachments. I was immediately impressed with the heft and power as well as the appearance of this device. I love the protective case for storage. It mixes batters and soft dough with ease when using the (surprisingly strong) wire attachments. It also mixes stiff dough like that for molasses cookies and (small, one or two loaf recipes) for breads better than I'd be able to by hand when I use the dough hook attachments. The dough hooks are small, but again are not intended to be used to mix very large batches of bread dough--if you need a mixer that will do that, get a larger stand mixer with a larger dough hook. But for me, this mixer is absolutely perfect. I bake a lot, but not on a professional level and not every day; I have had not even one single problem using this device and would spend the $20 in an instant to replace it if it were to break (which I don't foresee happening in the near future since it has held up so well to-date). I think all the low ratings and complaints people have made about this mixer are because they were unrealistically expecting a handheld mixer to do the sort of job that can only be done by a larger, more expensive, more powerful piece of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Attachments are weak

01/16/2014
By ,
Cabin in the woods, northern Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The motor seems strong but the attachments can't handle it. The dough hook snapped in half on the 3rd use. Also, things get into the beater holes, there is nothing totally covering them when the beaters are in place. Black and Decker will replace them but I expect more breakage.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

don't know why there are so many bad reviews...

02/24/2014
By ,
montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dont know why there are so many bad reviews i love mine and need one for another place and i am buying another one. I use it a lot and hopefully the other ones were just those lemons you get once in awhile. I hope my second one is as good as my first one.fingers crossed...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Strips the plastic gears

07/26/2012
By ,
Boulder, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on my third one. The motor is powerful and is quite able to strip the plastic gears inside. It cannot survive making icing for cake. Applica is the actual company that markets this. They just ask you to send them the plug which has a dete code on it. You also send a check for $8. It costs $2 to send in the plug USPS first class mail. Applica is not interested in doing failure analysis on their products. They just send another of the same thing. The same thing happend to a Sunbeam and some other brand I bought at Walmart. I don't know who makes a decent hand mixer. Next time I'lll spend over $25 and see what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

A gift for my granddaughter

08/26/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She moved from college dorm to an apt and this was a gift. She has used it and loves it. Says it has plenty of power and does what she wants it to do. Very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

so-so

12/05/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my review for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer. I bought it couple of weeks ago and use it only 2-3 times so far, so cannot comment on the durability. I use it mainly for making cakes, which is not such heavy-duty job. This mixer does the job pretty well. Its slow initial speed is good, so there is less mess. Just hold it vertically down to avoid splattering. I'll keep you updated after I use it on some tough jobs. Many people commented about rust on the attachments. Its still almost new for me to notice anything like that. Its not a solid construction, but for the price, it seems to be good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Too Much Power

12/16/2009
By ,
Hyattsville, Md
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After I wipe off my walls and floor, this baby is going back to Wal-Mart. The lowest setting sent my cookie dough all over the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 6-Speed, 250 watt Mixer

Not dishwasher safe

02/17/2014
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk, the reason I bought this mixer was becouse it said dishwasher safe. The first time I put the beaters in the the dishwasher they rusted all over. Mixer motor works good but the attachments are not dishwasher safe.JUNK JUNK JUNK
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next