Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Singer Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

The Singer Fashion Mate 7256 Sewing Machine is easy to use. Have fun creating garments, wall decorations, fashion and home accessories and more. The Singer electronic sewing machine has 70 stitch patterns including six styles of one-step buttonholes and automatic lock stitch. Youll never run out of decorative options with this Singer Fashion Mate 7256 Sewing Machine. There is an LCD screen option that clearly shows the stitch settings, which are selected and set electronically. This free motion sewing machine also features a needle threader, five snap-on feet options, easy bobbin winding and horizontal threading. This Automatic Sewing Machine comes with a DVD from The Martha Stewart Show with helpful tips and projects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.521 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%64 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Fashion Mate Feedback

03/07/2010
By ,
Knoxville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used it to make 5 sets of curtains so far, and I haven't had any problems with it. The only thing I don't like is the reverse button to secure your work. It doesn't work if you are in a decorative stitch, only the very first stitch. And its important to secure your work.... And you almost have to time it out to where you push in the button and the pedal at the same time or it freezes up. It's kind of weird. I am very dissapointed in the reverse button.... I have used thicker fabrics and very thin sheerlike fabrics. It did well with regular to thick, but I had to double up the sheer, and pull it real tight ir it would get stuck and loop up the thread on the underside. It's very easy to use and selecting stitches is pretty easy. Definatly a lot easier than my last machine. All except for that reverse button...... Another thing weird about it, is the thread lays on it's side, and not upright like most machines. And you have to put these little caps over it so it won't slip off. There are different sized caps, for different sized spools. And when you thread the bobbin, you put the spool upright on a separate stick. Very odd. And the sticks for the spool of thread are plastic. They use to be metal. I wasn't very happy with that. Thought it was a way to be cheap.... All in all, it gets the job done, and quickly. However, when you are in a decorative stitch, it is very slow.... some stitches you can hardly tell it's moving along....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

The Singer Fashion Mate is great

07/19/2009
By ,
Lake Geneva,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had not sewn in a few years and was looking for a machine that had a lot of automatic features to just push and sew. This machine is all electronic and the stiches are already set to whatever you need them to be. The elctronic dial would be a bit confusing if your not good at using electronics, but it has pictures on the front, so it would still be easy for anyone to use right out of the box. It comes with a DVD if your unsure about the whole thing, so you can see how it all works. It is VERY quite and smooth next to ANY of the Brother machines that I have used and that was a plus too. It DOES have a somewhat dim LED light, so I would reccomend a clip on light for your sewing table. Other than that it is great ! I have done something on the machine everyday since I got it, and still have not done everything it can do. Just watch the DVD and you will be amazed at the features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+261points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Not what I expected

11/13/2009
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I thought this was a really good machine. I tried out all of the different stitches and thought it was good, but I was sewing on cotton fabric. When I tried to sew on heavy material it wasn't so good. I was trying to sew on fleece and it just would not feed when I sewed over seams and darts it would not feed and the thread would loop up on the bottom. When I tried to do buttonholes it would not feed at all. I tried everything I knew to make it work but it was hopeless. I tried for several days to get it to work but never got it to work a buttonhole in the fleece.
Finally I took it back to Wal*Marts and got my money back. I got a "Singer Confidence 7470" and it works like a dream. If you want to be able to sew on all fabric this is not the right machine. If you will only be sewing on light fabrics the "Fashion Mate" machine will be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Poor quality machine

02/22/2010
By ,
Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this machine for 3 months now, and will be returning it for an exchange or refund. In fact this is the 2nd of this model machine I have had. The first one had to be returned almost immediately because I was having problems with the bobbin that couldn't be corrected. The 2nd machine has been hit or miss. It seems to be fine when I am sewing lightweight fabrics. But once I switch to medium or heavyweights, that's when the problem begins. The major problem is with the bobbin. It loops up pretty consistently when I am sewing the heavier fabrics, and according to the manual there is no way to adjust the bobbin tension as this was supposedly set at the factory. I run a sewing business from my home, and need a dependable machine to get the tasks done professionally. Sadly this machine is not it. I have sewn exclusively on Singer machines for 36 years now, and have never had the problems I have encountered with this machine. I just hope I can find another Singer model to exchange it for that can do the work I need to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Singer has made a great machine.

03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an advanced sewer and have owned a pfaff embroidery machine, which I did love. When it died, I looked for a machine with a few fancy stitches and a blanket stitch that was adjustable for machine applique. Of course, my husband checked Consumer reports while I checked out the machines being used at my quilt guild. Several of the ladies were using the 7256, they were please with the machine and Consumer reports had rated the machine as machine of the year!!! Been using my machine for about a month, finished quilt borders, quilt blocks, and been refashioning several outfits. Machine is working fantastic!!! Only one word of caution - watch your bobbins, mine was making the bobbins too loose, so I tightened the bobbin wind tension. Love the drop in bobbin with the see through case!!!! My machine wasn't available in the store, so ordered on line...delivery was faster than stated! Great machine, great service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Great Value

05/07/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As an expierenced sewer I purchased this machine to get back into the groove of sewing after taking a break for a few years. Needing a durable, dependable, machine I chose the Singer based on the metal frame, price, and features. Overall it's a great machine, but does lack a light up display screen for stich selections and the light for sewing is not as bright as I'd hope for. I bought a brother machine but returned it because it was noisy, the stiches were uneven, and the thread kept jamming in the bobbin casing. The singer is ultra smooth and quiet and can sew while others are in the room.
It comes with an instruction DVD with sewing tips from Martha Stewart and is helpful if you are starting out sewing for the first time. I love the helpful hints about threading and craft projects.
I took this machine out of the box and was sewing within 10 minutes. The cool feature is the needle threader and all the stitches it comes with. I have used many other machines but this one so far has been reliable, dependable, and care free sewing.
It's great for mending, crafts, alterations, quilting, and clothing construction. It's trendy looking machine to leave out for quick projects and I love the computerized features and is not complicated to use. Just push on the stich selection you want to use and your off. It's that easy. I look forward to many creative projects I have on my sewing list.
Happy sewing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Happy with my Singer 7256

09/30/2009
By ,
Prospect, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't sewn for a while. Had very old machine, and just purchased this Fashion Mate 7256 a few months ago. Very easy to use out of the box, great instructions for threading and bobbin insertion. Very quiet machine and no vibration when using. Love the fact that it winds the bobbins so greatly. Had trouble finding extra bobbins (uses the class 15J) but found them online at http://sewingmachinesplus.com at $4.99 per 10 pk. I'm thrilled so far with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Would highly recommend

07/06/2009
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine as a back-up to my Janome 10001. I wanted to be able to do straight sewing while I was doing embroidery. I was very surprised at how well it sewed. I don't expect to be doing heavy-duty sewing with it, so I don't know how it will handle. I did try out some of the decorative stitches and sewed over 4 thicknesses of fabric and it seemed to do just fine. My only complaint is the light. It really doesn't accomplish anything and I will be getting a desk lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
canada
7256 Singer
Posted 02/03/2014
I purchased this machine after reading several reviews. I was very disappointed in the machine because it will only sew light fabric. I wanted to be able to hem a pair of jeans and this machine can not handle it. The stitches were nice and if I was just using it to sew light fabrics it would probably be ok. I also found the lighting was not good and you would need an extra light source. I have sewn for years but will keep my old one and return this one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Love My Singer Fashion Mate

03/23/2010
By ,
Azusa, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although in Automotive Upolstery for years and years, I had never sewed with a machine in my life.
I bought this little Fashion Mate and watched the DVD instruction over and over, and it helped me determine what it was that I needed to get started with sewing. Finally, I set up the machine after admiring the unit from the distance, and started making an altar cloth for my coven. People were surprised at how well I was able to sew for a beginner. I love the electronic controls, and the easy thread and bobbin system. My only gripe is the fact you do not get a quilting table like you do with the brother machines- but I think Singer is much better than Brother on Customer Service. Once you become versed with threading and bobbin winding, the sky is the limit. The unit comes shipped with button feet, satin foot, brush and yes, plastic spool holders. Some do not like the plastic spool holders, but they are quite durable providing you do nnot plan on dropping the machine on the floor. Personally, providing you take care of this machine, it should provide years of good service. Singer has informed me that the only time they have had issues with repair is when people use other needles instead of the 2020 and 2045 SINGER NEEDLES and the singer 15j bobbins- you can buy these at JoAnne Crafts or on line. I had an opportunity to buy a Brother machine with much more features- but this is a Mercedes compared to Brother. Just make sure you pause when using the back ward stitch button- as people have complained. Remember, this is a computerized machine, and not a mechanical one. Always pause when using the backward stitch and you will have no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Not bad

01/27/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend giving this to a beginner unless an experienced sewer is there to help them understand how to do things. The noise alone would scare the poo out of a beginner!! Very noisy machine. It is the best machine I've ever had for true tracking, it goes where you tell it too. I have much more expensive machines but this is the only one that has the 3 stitches that I use the most. The bobbin placement is normal for a singer but I find it awkward, personal preference. This is my little work horse and will use it till I kill it. After reading some of the other reviews, I was hesitant but I'm glad I trusted my sewing ability. We will have many happy years together... although, I'll probably need a hear aid soon... I'm tempted to wrap it in noise proofing foam but I don't think I could sew that way...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

What a great value

09/11/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned to sew many years ago on my grandmother's singer. I was not the best but there was always a dealer who cold repair it. if it ever needed it.
Once I got a real job I have purchased brother machines.Several sadly. And yes they have great features... but little or no warrenty. So it was off to a shop for $150 in work. Not worth it. Too much bother over a brother machine. When my last brother machine broke that was it.
I had been looking at this model for months anyway. What I like about it over the brother is I can adjust the length and width of each stitch. So to me i can do satin stitches in any size. It is able to sew with a dual needle, great for pintucks. I also like the singer warrenty. It is easier to find shops willing to fix them. Besides... Appleteeni green design. My fav.. now my phone and laptop match too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Lots of bells and whistles......

07/15/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't bought a new machine in 25 years, and I'm pretty much happy with this one. Of course, you have to learn how to work it first and practice everything. Takes a while, but once you learn it the machine works great. Occasionally, the automatic buttonhole maker will skip a stitch or two, but it's not that noticeable. I was disappointed that the DVD that was supposed to come with the machine is the wrong one for this model. After I called Singer, they apologized and mailed me a new one (overnight) but unfortunately it's the same one I received with the machine. Go figure. And I also asked about the extension table that is optional, and no one seemed to know anything about it. They even told me it didn't come with one, although the manual said it did. Again, go figure. It's very quiet, the light appears to be a little dim for me, but I like the automatic needle threader. Again, it takes a while to master it. Threading the machine is simple, like older models. I like the dust cover that comes with it, even though it's really thin plastic. I plan on sewing a fabric cover in the future, using the plastic cover as a pattern. Overall, I like the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Extremely easy to use

04/16/2010
By ,
grants, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy bobbin winding,easy threading of machine.Digital stitch selection very easy.Sound of machine working is super quiet. I sewed 8 layers of med.wt. fabric with no problem as well as 1 layer.This machine was able to auto adjust with no problem. The owner manuel very easy to read and clear pictoral instruction.I Love this machine and would highly reccommend it to anyone:o)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256
12/22/2010
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned to sew on a Singer and fall in love with it and won't sew on any thing else. My husband bought me a Singer when we had our first child and I sewed for us, made shirts, pants, skirts, and so forth. That sewing machine lasted 38 yrs. So I thought is was time for a new machine and found the Singer 7256 and like what it had to offered. I enjoy sewing on it. It is a pleasure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256
09/12/2009
By ,
Haskell, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a gift for my daughter and she is thrilled with it. She says it is perfect. She has already made two little girl dresses with matching backpacks and has started a third. She is especially enthusiastic about the automatic needle threader.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Love this machine!

02/15/2011
By ,
Central CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had had a Singer about 50 years ago but needed to get at "updated" one so bought this one. It is so easy to use and easy to understand.
Would definitley recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Recommended!

08/03/2010
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good sewing machine. So far all I've made on mine is purses and bags, and it does very well on multiple thicknesses of medium weight fabric. Threading the machine and the needle works like a charm IF you read the directions and give it a few tries until you learn its little quirks. I'm not crazy about the bobbin winding, which is kind of uneven, but even so I haven't had any problems sewing with them. The lamp is a little dimmer than I would like, but a work lamp placed close by solves that problem. Overall, this machine is good value for the money and will do most projects for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256
08/29/2011
By ,
Midwest USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, a good machine for the price. I just wanted something that could do a nice straight stitch without dropping the thread coming from the bobbin, didn't need anything fancy, just reliable. Two quirks that are sort of annoying and take some getting used to: 1) The power and the foot-pedal/controller cords do not attach to the machine at the same place. The power cord fastens into the right-rear of the machine, and the pedal cord fits into a separate place in the right-front -- which means that the pedal cord is too short to wind down behind the sewing table and has to come down the front of the table, basically right in your lap. 2) The reverse-stitch button is very sensitive, and it's easy to reverse back farther than you wanted on the fabric. All in all, it's working well so far for simple straight-stitch sewing projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Great Choice!

03/08/2012
By ,
Millville,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love It! It's quiet, smooth running, and easy to operate. The needle threader is a wonderful idea, a little trickey at first, but you soon get the hang of it. I never could get the tension right on my old machine. This one is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256

Great for the money

10/14/2010
By ,
Vancleave, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sewing machine has a lot of features. Easy to use the automatic settings and a very quite machine. I still have not yet figured out how to use the "automatic" needle threader. Great sewing machine for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next