Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Learning to sew is fun and easy when you start with the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263. This product is designed specifically for first-timer sewers and offers all the foundational features you need to get off to a positive and productive start. Featuring 23 different kinds of stitching patterns, the Singer Simple sewing machine 2263 is designed to let your creativity shine. It comes with an accessory package that includes friction-free spool holders, transparent bobbins, different needles suited for different kinds of fabric, a dust cover and a link brush cleaner for easy maintenance. This lightweight sewing machine is compact and requires little space for use or storage. It features a slide-off extension table for free-arm sewing. The dials of the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263 are marked for easy and quick identification and use. Automatic 4-step buttonhole and adjustable stitch length and width features are also included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.928 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(501 Reviews) 449
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
104
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
78
Customer Recommendation78%392 out of 501reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
195 Questions | 354 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
104
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
78
Customer Reviews
Review 101 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

DO NOT BUY THIS

04/23/2010
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine is a nightmare. I've never had so much trouble with jamming or threads breaking. I had a portable as-seen-on-tv machine that didn't give me this much trouble. The bottom thread bunches, tangles and pulls the fabric into the bobbin case. It doesn't stitch over more than 2 layers of fabric so good luck going over seams. The zigzag stitch is pretty much useless. It stitches straight half the time and jams the other half. It doesn't do very well with one layer either. Trying to put in a gather stitch is practically impossible. The backward stitch feature just causes the thread to knot, break or jams the machine all together. There are better machines out there for the same price. DO NOT BUY THIS. I've been sewing off and on since I was a teenager and I can pretty much make due with just about anything. Anything except this horrible sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

An Ideal Product

01/31/2010
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went online looking for a sewing machine that was inexpensive, light, simple and smart looking. Other sites were looked at but I would always come back to Walmart and my mind was made up. I purchased the Singer/Simple simply because this was precisely what I was looking for in a machine. The day after delivery, I was using the machine while watching the demo. The instructions were clear and simple to follow. Yes, I did have to play the demo about 3 or 4 times for step 4/5 for threading the upper thread, but I got it now. The whole process is a breeze. It's good-looking, light, simple & easy to use. It also has many features you would expect a more expensive machine would have and yet this machine is affordable. I deem it a good value and would highly recommend this product to anyone who does basic sewing and/or crafts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263
01/02/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a humiliating piece of junk for Singer. In my 48 years of sewing, it didn't matter how expensive or inexpensive the Singer was it worked! I do alterations and I bought this machine because I could grab the handle and go. It jams, the thread gets stuck in the bobbin, the zig zag doesn't work, the light is poorly positioned behind the needle, getting to the bobbin is inconvienent, the spool of thread lies down and you have to use a round piece of plastic to hold it in place (that was a whale of an idea) and if the slot of the spool faces toward the front of the machine the thread gets caught in the slot causing the thread to break.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

singing singer

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought this for My Wife and She hasn't stooped yet. I might have to rip some of my socks!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

STICHES

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WORKS WELL. SO FAR I AM PLEASED.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Good features for the price

08/02/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother love this gift I gave her in the birthday . She begining to use straighforward. Ease to use and plenty of features. The automatic thread is a very good feature for people with poor vision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

So dissapointed!

10/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine to be able to continue my quilting hobby, but I spend more time trying to make the machine work then actually sewing. So far in the 3 months I've had it, I've had to order a new set of needles because they kept breaking and I've brought it to a quilting store 3 times to see if others could get it to work. It has been such a waste of money and of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

GREAT

02/19/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my current Brother machine since all it did was move in reverse. I wasn't sure how much it would take to fix it, but it would take 2 weeks just to find out. I went online & found this machine. I'm not sure why some of the reviews have this so bad (ie: the bobbin keeps jamming. If you watch the video on Singer.com - they explain exactly what constitutes too much/too little/just right tension for the bobbin) I even used my current metal bobbins and I'm not having any problems at all. I like the simplicity of this. Small projects, (fairly) simple alterations, etc. I would definitely recommend this for someone who would like to have a machine to fix a hem instead of having to keep threading a needle and doing it by hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

OK so where are the missing parts.

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the standard accessories pack was not included . When I called Singer I was put on hold for 45 minutes and then when I finilaly spoke to someone they wanted items that I did not have aviable and would not work with me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

first time sewer , easy to use

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this as a gift for my granddaughter and she loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

so-sew machine...

05/01/2012
By ,
Petersburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine seemed like a good choice for a beginner and it’s a Singer, a name that I thought was synonymous with quality sewing machines. Two dresses and two tunics into my new hobby, I am exchanging this machine for a Brother with far more accessories. It took about two hours for me to understand the automatic threader and to get the bobbin to wind properly, but I had never cut on a machine let alone sewed in my entire life. All things considered, if you only want a machine for the very basics (I can’t believe it didn’t come with a blind stitch foot) then this will probably do: or if you already have a lot of accessories that will fit it. However, if you plan to do lots of projects and are a beginner you will probably want a machine with a few more options and accessories included. The extra $$’s in the beginning will be nothing compared to what you will spend trying to get this one up to snuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Cheap

11/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always used a Singer, my middle of the line one finally died and I was just going to replace it with a basic machine. This one does not have a drop in bobin feature and I had problems with the bobin tangling up, so I took it back and bought my first Brother machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Small sewing

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is small, compact and quick to setup. It came with everything needed and sewing commenced within 5 minutes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

very nice sewing machine

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 115 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

It's perfect for beginners

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this product. I recommended for people learning how to saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 116 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

ok for a beginner

03/02/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never used a sewing machine in my life and I am 36 years old. It comes with a dvd that is very short in instructions. The only complaint I have is the automatic threader which doesn't always work especially when I change the needle. I give up and thread it manually. I am using it faithfully as I have alot of clothes I need to alter. I have 3 kids. I plan to make clothes for my daughter as I find the clothes in the store doesn't fit her body the way I want. Overall I am happy as I can find singer sewing machine parts everywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 117 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great machine

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sewing machine for the price. I take this machine to quilt group and leave my heavier more expensive machines at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 118 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263
07/27/2013
By ,
Black Hawk, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a sewing machine to get some projects around the house done. My husband ordered this machine and I waited a week for it to come in. I was so excited when I took it out of the box and set it up. It was pretty easy to set up and thread. Then when I started trying to sew with it, the top thread kept breaking and the bottom thread kept balling up and tangling. I adjusted the tension on both and tried changing thread to make sure it wasn't that and nothing helped. The machine ripped up material I had for one of my projects so now I have to buy more material for that project. I will be returning this to Walmart as soon as possible and hopefully will get a machine that at least does basic stitches. So disappointed, Singer used to be a great brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 119 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

DOES THE JOB

04/20/2012
By ,
Jamaica, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is simple to work with. It offers a little more than the basic including hem stitching and feature to do a zipper. Only minor problem is that the instructions for automatic self-threading isn't too clear and I haven't been able to use this feature, but it is just as easy to do it manually. The machine requires very little space as I have it sitting on a small table approx. the size of a 'TV tray table. I also bought a cute little stool from Walmart for approx. $28 with site to store free shipping option. The stool is made out of plastic, backless and with a lever which adjusts the height, plus it has casters so it is easy to move around. All in all, I think this machine is fantastic for the basic sewing needs. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 120 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Good all-around machine

01/08/2014
By ,
Ajo AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having sold and repaired sewing machines, this was the one for my wife with arthritic hands. Especially the needle threader. Very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
101-120 of 414 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8  ...  21 Next