Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Learning to sew is fun and easy when you start with the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263. This product is designed specifically for first-timer sewers and offers all the foundational features you need to get off to a positive and productive start. Featuring 23 different kinds of stitching patterns, the Singer Simple sewing machine 2263 is designed to let your creativity shine. It comes with an accessory package that includes friction-free spool holders, transparent bobbins, different needles suited for different kinds of fabric, a dust cover and a link brush cleaner for easy maintenance. This lightweight sewing machine is compact and requires little space for use or storage. It features a slide-off extension table for free-arm sewing. The dials of the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263 are marked for easy and quick identification and use. Automatic 4-step buttonhole and adjustable stitch length and width features are also included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.937 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(521 Reviews) 469
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
279
4 stars
113
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
80
Customer Recommendation79%410 out of 521reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
201 Questions | 386 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
279
4 stars
113
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
80
Customer Reviews
Review 101 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Overall its a good starter machine

06/12/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a winner! Overall, i'd say this machine is well worth the price. It's a good starter machine and it's easy to use for someone who has never operated one before. The only thing i see wrong with it is that the automatic needle threader is a little cheap although it does work from time to time. Easier/quicker to just thread it yourself once you have the skill to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Horrible!

03/26/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed a basic machine to replace my 30 Kenmore machine which was just wearing out. It sewed great for the first 20 minutes, then the needle got stuck in down position. Once I freed it, saw the needle was broken so replaced it with one of mine. After a few minutes the needle got stuck and broke again. Maybe this one is a lemon but I am done. Returning it today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Cheap

11/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always used a Singer, my middle of the line one finally died and I was just going to replace it with a basic machine. This one does not have a drop in bobin feature and I had problems with the bobin tangling up, so I took it back and bought my first Brother machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great for all levels!!

09/03/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for 3 days and I really really love it!!! It's simple, portable and all out great for everyone!! My aunt had Ben giving me sewing lessons for a while, but now I'm taking an real class, so I needed my own machine, and after we got this one I haven't regreted it!! I have already used it so much!! I hope you enjoy yours as much as I enjoy mine :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

NOT GOOD

12/07/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine less than 6 months ago. I used it just over 3 months and it became 'out of time' where it won't pick up the thread. I called Singer and they extended the warranty for another 30 days so I could get it fixed. I had to drive 100 miles to a warranty place and they fixed the machine the same day. Singer customer service and the warranty repair were great. However, I only used the machine for another 6 weeks and it did the same thing again. All it took both times was sewing something a little thicker; two single layers of denim. The machine is made of plastic parts and won't hold up to everyday sewing. I am not a heavy user, but a little more than occasionally. I certainly didn't get my moneys worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Simple, light, easy of use

05/16/2012
By ,
Calexico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had used some other sewing machines but with troubles for changing stitches, with needle, etc
This machine has numbers printed on it for easy uderstanding of how to put thread y right place, how to change stitches size or width, etc
I think that this is the right model for people like me, amateur in sewing activites
Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

"Nesting" Issues Galore

11/21/2010
By ,
Fall River, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not want to bother trying to calculate how many hours I spent trying to get this machine to work, but it was far too many. The bobbin case has major issues and even after you pull the bobbin thread up through the machine, the stitches from the top won't met with the ones from the bottom. I waited too long (trying to get it working) to return this, but I will never buy a Singer again in my life. I would've had a more productive time setting $90 on fire than trying to do anything like sewing with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

So easy to use

12/05/2012
By ,
Schuylkill Co. PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my daughter. I already own this machine myself and love it. It was a replacement for my old Singer that I had owned for 35 years. My daughter borrowed mine and liked it so I knew it would be a great gift. It is very easy to use and light weight. It is great for most any sewing task or project.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Problem out of the box !! Save your money!!!

01/01/2013
By ,
Columbia,SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The problem started as soon as I took it out of the box. The tension was off and to save my life I couldn't get it right , the bobbin kept jamming. After fighting with this machining for over a week I took it back ( it was Christmas gift, so i did felt bad taking it back ) . Got me better machine for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Automatic needle threading is awesome.

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine does everything for the average home using. I especially like the automatic needle threading and the front loading bobbin system. I was impressed with the nice job done on the thick jean pants hem. Sturdy built with smooth motor run with beautiful outside shape design, I love its everything.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Excellent Choice!

06/12/2010
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this item to make a costume for Halloween and it is great! it is easy and simple to use and has a very good price... i have made tons of clothes for my dog and some dresses for me too... i really recommend it. i never used a sewing machine before but it was really easy to learn with this one :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great for Price

02/11/2011
By ,
New Berlin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this machine. I sew mostly things for the home - pillows, comforter covers etc and this machine has everything I need. I love the self threading part - I watched the video it came with and have had no problems with it. It doesn't have a lot of fancy stitches but I don't need them. Haven't used any of the extra stitches except for the buttonhole maker and that worked just fine. Great value for what I need and being a Singer - I'm hoping it will last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Good all-around machine

01/08/2014
By ,
Ajo AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having sold and repaired sewing machines, this was the one for my wife with arthritic hands. Especially the needle threader. Very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Starting to Sew with Singer

02/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This machine is fairly simple, but I don't like the bobbin set-up. The light on the machine is very dim, and almost useless. But for the price, it has several nice features, such as a thread cutter on the side, and a couple of decorative stitches. Those are nice to have. Overall, it is not as easy as some of the others I tried, but at the price I got this machine for, it is fine. I would only recommend it for a beginning sewer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 115 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Jam, Jam, Jam

07/28/2013
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the machine works properly its a great tool, But most of the time it doesn't and your stuck fixing jams or broken needles. I waste so much thread I am considering taking it back and buying an older second hand machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 116 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

great

07/05/2013
By ,
t texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is great,once you get the kinks out, Just be patient and work with it. It took me about 3days to get everything to work correctly. Had trouble with the bobbin case. Have to take it apart an re install the inner works ,where the bobbin sits. It must have slipped in shipment. Once I took it apart and oiled it works now like a charm
Then the needle threaded gave me fits till I learned to let go of the thread, once its hooked in the groove so the thread would pull thru.Leave the tension wheel between 3and4And the length on 3for straight sewing
Don't forget when threading the machine to be sure the thread goes in the little metal bar in front of the needle at the top of the shank
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 117 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

NOT WORTH THE LOW PRICE

12/12/2012
By ,
SOUTH CAROLINA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I AM NOT AN ACCOMPLISHED SEWER IN ANY WAY, BUT I HAVE HAD A SINGER FOR ABOUT 43 YR- YES, THE SAME ONE. IT RECENTLY STARTED SEWING VERY SLOWLY & SO I LOOKED FOR A NEW ONE. I USED IT FOR BASIC THINGS. I DID NOT MAKE CLOTHING ALTHOUGH I DID MAKE SOME PURSES. MOSTLY IT WAS FOR PILLOW COVERS, MENDING, & SUCH. IF THE THREAD BREAKS ON THIS ONE, THE 'DOOR' DOES NOT OPEN, YOU HAVE TO COMPLETELY UNDO THE THREADING. THE BOBBIN CONSTANTLY GATHERED THE THREAD WHICH THEN HAD TO BE TORN OUT & REDONE. I ALSO BROKE 3 NEEDLES USING THIS. WHEN I PUT IN ONE OF MY OWN, IT WORKED FINE. I'M RETURNING THIS. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE POOR QUALITY OF A SINGER. AS MOST THINGS, THE QUALITY HAS DECLINED FROM YEARS AGO.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 118 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Ordering the sewing machine

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the machine, if you know anything about sewing, it's a winner. I love the automatic threader and just easy to use. If you aren't planning on using it often, either plan on making a better grade of cover that comes with it or purchase a hard case. They have one that looks like a suitcase on wheels that will be great for traveling. I found that my bobbins from my OLD Singer, fits this machine perfect, which is a great bonus.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 119 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Happy sewing!

02/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall satisfied with the sewing machine. The threader, steel plate, affordability and brand name attracted me to this model. After using the machine for a project I came to know that the threader is very sensitive and can dysfunction if not handled properly. It took me a bit of learning on this aspect as I was brushing up my sewing skills since the early 90's. The vertical bobbin system worked perfectly fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 120 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

crummy machine

09/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is - by far - the worst sewing machine I've ever used, and I've used many. it skips stitches, probably; 4 out of 5 on anything other than straight stitching. i'd rather buy a generic Brother than this machine. also, i sent in a card that was supposed to give me 12 issues of Martha Stewart Living, included in the price of the machine. I have not received the first copy. save your money - spend an extra $100. and go for an electronic machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
101-120 of 434 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8  ...  22 Next