Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Learning to sew is fun and easy when you start with the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263. This product is designed specifically for first-timer sewers and offers all the foundational features you need to get off to a positive and productive start. Featuring 23 different kinds of stitching patterns, the Singer Simple sewing machine 2263 is designed to let your creativity shine. It comes with an accessory package that includes friction-free spool holders, transparent bobbins, different needles suited for different kinds of fabric, a dust cover and a link brush cleaner for easy maintenance. This lightweight sewing machine is compact and requires little space for use or storage. It features a slide-off extension table for free-arm sewing. The dials of the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263 are marked for easy and quick identification and use. Automatic 4-step buttonhole and adjustable stitch length and width features are also included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.928 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(501 Reviews) 449
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
104
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
78
Customer Recommendation78%392 out of 501reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
197 Questions | 356 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
104
3 stars
26
2 stars
23
1 star
78
Customer Reviews
Review 101 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

An Ideal Product

01/31/2010
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went online looking for a sewing machine that was inexpensive, light, simple and smart looking. Other sites were looked at but I would always come back to Walmart and my mind was made up. I purchased the Singer/Simple simply because this was precisely what I was looking for in a machine. The day after delivery, I was using the machine while watching the demo. The instructions were clear and simple to follow. Yes, I did have to play the demo about 3 or 4 times for step 4/5 for threading the upper thread, but I got it now. The whole process is a breeze. It's good-looking, light, simple & easy to use. It also has many features you would expect a more expensive machine would have and yet this machine is affordable. I deem it a good value and would highly recommend this product to anyone who does basic sewing and/or crafts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263
01/02/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a humiliating piece of junk for Singer. In my 48 years of sewing, it didn't matter how expensive or inexpensive the Singer was it worked! I do alterations and I bought this machine because I could grab the handle and go. It jams, the thread gets stuck in the bobbin, the zig zag doesn't work, the light is poorly positioned behind the needle, getting to the bobbin is inconvienent, the spool of thread lies down and you have to use a round piece of plastic to hold it in place (that was a whale of an idea) and if the slot of the spool faces toward the front of the machine the thread gets caught in the slot causing the thread to break.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Like the workhorse Singer I learned on.

03/09/2014
By ,
Banning, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our old Singer we have had for over 50 years now dead a few years ago and we tried like crazy to find the part to fix it but that just couldn't be done. So after talking to a very nice lady a Singer she asked what I had so she could give a idea for what model would replace nicely without to much fluff. I had bought another machine but it was so fluffy I can't figure it out. So she this one, I checked it out and really like what I saw, got it and fell fast in love. Thanks nice lady at Singer who's name I can't remember, you were right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

I enjoyed the DVD instructions

06/30/2014
By ,
Deer Park Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT value for a great price! I enjoy the bobbin loading in the front and it is really quiet,
Luv this machine!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Good features for the price

08/02/2009
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother love this gift I gave her in the birthday . She begining to use straighforward. Ease to use and plenty of features. The automatic thread is a very good feature for people with poor vision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

So dissapointed!

10/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine to be able to continue my quilting hobby, but I spend more time trying to make the machine work then actually sewing. So far in the 3 months I've had it, I've had to order a new set of needles because they kept breaking and I've brought it to a quilting store 3 times to see if others could get it to work. It has been such a waste of money and of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

GREAT

02/19/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my current Brother machine since all it did was move in reverse. I wasn't sure how much it would take to fix it, but it would take 2 weeks just to find out. I went online & found this machine. I'm not sure why some of the reviews have this so bad (ie: the bobbin keeps jamming. If you watch the video on Singer.com - they explain exactly what constitutes too much/too little/just right tension for the bobbin) I even used my current metal bobbins and I'm not having any problems at all. I like the simplicity of this. Small projects, (fairly) simple alterations, etc. I would definitely recommend this for someone who would like to have a machine to fix a hem instead of having to keep threading a needle and doing it by hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

so-sew machine...

05/01/2012
By ,
Petersburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine seemed like a good choice for a beginner and it’s a Singer, a name that I thought was synonymous with quality sewing machines. Two dresses and two tunics into my new hobby, I am exchanging this machine for a Brother with far more accessories. It took about two hours for me to understand the automatic threader and to get the bobbin to wind properly, but I had never cut on a machine let alone sewed in my entire life. All things considered, if you only want a machine for the very basics (I can’t believe it didn’t come with a blind stitch foot) then this will probably do: or if you already have a lot of accessories that will fit it. However, if you plan to do lots of projects and are a beginner you will probably want a machine with a few more options and accessories included. The extra $$’s in the beginning will be nothing compared to what you will spend trying to get this one up to snuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

ok for a beginner

03/02/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never used a sewing machine in my life and I am 36 years old. It comes with a dvd that is very short in instructions. The only complaint I have is the automatic threader which doesn't always work especially when I change the needle. I give up and thread it manually. I am using it faithfully as I have alot of clothes I need to alter. I have 3 kids. I plan to make clothes for my daughter as I find the clothes in the store doesn't fit her body the way I want. Overall I am happy as I can find singer sewing machine parts everywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263
07/27/2013
By ,
Black Hawk, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a sewing machine to get some projects around the house done. My husband ordered this machine and I waited a week for it to come in. I was so excited when I took it out of the box and set it up. It was pretty easy to set up and thread. Then when I started trying to sew with it, the top thread kept breaking and the bottom thread kept balling up and tangling. I adjusted the tension on both and tried changing thread to make sure it wasn't that and nothing helped. The machine ripped up material I had for one of my projects so now I have to buy more material for that project. I will be returning this to Walmart as soon as possible and hopefully will get a machine that at least does basic stitches. So disappointed, Singer used to be a great brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

DOES THE JOB

04/20/2012
By ,
Jamaica, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is simple to work with. It offers a little more than the basic including hem stitching and feature to do a zipper. Only minor problem is that the instructions for automatic self-threading isn't too clear and I haven't been able to use this feature, but it is just as easy to do it manually. The machine requires very little space as I have it sitting on a small table approx. the size of a 'TV tray table. I also bought a cute little stool from Walmart for approx. $28 with site to store free shipping option. The stool is made out of plastic, backless and with a lever which adjusts the height, plus it has casters so it is easy to move around. All in all, I think this machine is fantastic for the basic sewing needs. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

first time sewer , easy to use

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this as a gift for my granddaughter and she loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Experienced Sewer Loves "beginner machine"

02/27/2010
By ,
Eastern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been sewing for almost 50 years. I was a little hesitant about buying this model because it looks too "simple". However, I've been pleasantly surprised with all the features on this machine. I've owned Singer machines before (also Kenmore), so the threading diagram was very easy to learn.
I haven't learned to use the automatic threader yet, but I have only owned this machine less than a week. I was in the middle of a making curtains and pillows for my daughter's house, and did not want to take the additional time to shop out of town. I was able to see the sewing manual before purchase, so I knew it could do what I needed. I don't do quilting or decorative sewing, just ordinary household sewing and kid's clothing.
I just wish this came with a zipper foot, as I am having trouble finding one.
All in all, I am very pleased with the quietness and ease of use with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

DO NOT BUY

11/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this machine for almost 2 years and while trying to make beautiful items for a baby the bobbin thread started giving me issues. At first, it was only when the thread was completely out, that I would need to replace the bobbin thread, but more recently, I had issues of the bobbin thread breaking within 15 inches of stitching zig-zag and messing up the stitches on BOTH sides of the fabric. Tried using the trouble-shooting guide, tore my machine apart and cleaned it, tried changing the bobbin tension, but nothing seems to work. Well, my husband tried as well, and I tried sewing, the tension was set just right when I placed the bobbin back in and started sewing, I checked the underside in about 10 inches of my material, and the bobbin thread was somehow getting cut on each stitch! When I stopped and trimmed my threads, removed my fabric, I tugged on the bobbin thread, and it was like there was absolutely no resistance to keep it from getting pulled too much! Somehow the tension is loosening on its own and causing me frustration. Would LOVE to throw this piece of junk out of my 2-story window!! Can't buy bobbin case anywhere near me. Closest repair place is over an hour away. Seriously considering different, pricier brand. RESEARCH before you BUY - I've learned MY lesson!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 115 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Overall its a good starter machine

06/12/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a winner! Overall, i'd say this machine is well worth the price. It's a good starter machine and it's easy to use for someone who has never operated one before. The only thing i see wrong with it is that the automatic needle threader is a little cheap although it does work from time to time. Easier/quicker to just thread it yourself once you have the skill to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 116 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Good all-around machine

01/08/2014
By ,
Ajo AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having sold and repaired sewing machines, this was the one for my wife with arthritic hands. Especially the needle threader. Very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 117 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great for all levels!!

09/03/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for 3 days and I really really love it!!! It's simple, portable and all out great for everyone!! My aunt had Ben giving me sewing lessons for a while, but now I'm taking an real class, so I needed my own machine, and after we got this one I haven't regreted it!! I have already used it so much!! I hope you enjoy yours as much as I enjoy mine :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 118 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

NOT GOOD

12/07/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine less than 6 months ago. I used it just over 3 months and it became 'out of time' where it won't pick up the thread. I called Singer and they extended the warranty for another 30 days so I could get it fixed. I had to drive 100 miles to a warranty place and they fixed the machine the same day. Singer customer service and the warranty repair were great. However, I only used the machine for another 6 weeks and it did the same thing again. All it took both times was sewing something a little thicker; two single layers of denim. The machine is made of plastic parts and won't hold up to everyday sewing. I am not a heavy user, but a little more than occasionally. I certainly didn't get my moneys worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 119 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

It's perfect for beginners

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this product. I recommended for people learning how to saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 120 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Simple, light, easy of use

05/16/2012
By ,
Calexico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had used some other sewing machines but with troubles for changing stitches, with needle, etc
This machine has numbers printed on it for easy uderstanding of how to put thread y right place, how to change stitches size or width, etc
I think that this is the right model for people like me, amateur in sewing activites
Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
101-120 of 414 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8  ...  21 Next