Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Singer Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Learning to sew is fun and easy when you start with the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263. This product is designed specifically for first-timer sewers and offers all the foundational features you need to get off to a positive and productive start. Featuring 23 different kinds of stitching patterns, the Singer Simple sewing machine 2263 is designed to let your creativity shine. It comes with an accessory package that includes friction-free spool holders, transparent bobbins, different needles suited for different kinds of fabric, a dust cover and a link brush cleaner for easy maintenance. This lightweight sewing machine is compact and requires little space for use or storage. It features a slide-off extension table for free-arm sewing. The dials of the Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263 are marked for easy and quick identification and use. Automatic 4-step buttonhole and adjustable stitch length and width features are also included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.865 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 400
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
92
3 stars
25
2 stars
21
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation76%345 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
186 Questions | 333 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
92
3 stars
25
2 stars
21
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Easy to use, wish it had instructional dvd !

09/08/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a little trouble with the bobbin, thread knotting up, but I think I had the parts where the bobbin goes installed wrong, finally got it figured out, was a breeze to use. Just wish had instructional dvd on how to sew basic stuff, this is my first sewing machine!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Perfect for beginners!

09/23/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never used a sewing machine before. The dvd instructions were very helpful on how to get started. While it did jam up (what sewing machine doesn't), it was very easy to fix. Just remove all excess threads from your bobbin area and re-thread as necessary. That cleared up all my jams. Now my infant son has a super cute and unique Halloween costume! Thanks Singer Simple!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263
02/16/2011
By ,
Provo, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this machine sews fine for about 3 inches until ALL OF A SUDDEN the fabric balls up underneath the fabric and the machine completely stops. I've tried pretty much everything and can't figure out how to make it work. i think it's the tension... but i thought this was a machine for BEGINNERS! i think it just wasn't built right because you can tell from looking at it that the parts don't align quite right.
this is NOT a machine for beginners... but from reading other reviews, it seems like even expert seamstresses can't fix the problem!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Tampa
Posted 06/21/2014
I had this same thing happen, change your needle it is probably bent. Sounds crazy but it works.
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Same Problem
Posted 02/05/2014
I have this same machine and it does exactly the same thing and I know how to sew. I can mess with it for about 30 minutes and get it to work for awhile then boom all the sudden it does the same thing. I purchasing a cheap brother i don't sew very often and after using a friend that sews all the time it felt like heaven compared to this one. She paid less for it too! I paid $99 for this one in store but i see here its $79 the brother is $89 i think i will give it a try.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jamaica
Just a suggestion
Posted 12/11/2013
Based on the pictures you provided, I think there is something wrong with how your bobbin is fixed. The tension in the bobbin case may need to be adjusted. Check youtube for a helpful video.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Think twice before you buy.

06/27/2010
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have read reviews first. I paid $99 at Walmart store, when I see here it is $79.
My 45 year old Singer has a major problem, so I purchased this to teach my 13 year old granddaughter how to sew while she was staying with me for a week.
Hate the machine, cannot get a decent stitch, puckers no matter what length stitch, or no matter what tension. Bobbin winding is awful, it is not a smooth wound bobbin, thread loops hanging out all over.
No zipper foot, although it say it comes with one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

TERRIBLE!

01/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When it came to choosing a machine, I bought this one, at the time at $99 because my friend had a similar, older model that I had used successfully to make a prom dress.
Without reading the reviews first... HUGE MISTAKE!
This machine is terrible! My main problem is that it wastes a HUGE amount of thread and jams, locks up, and jumbles any type of thread at any setting. I even had a sewing expert look at it, but to no avail. Total waste of money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sugar Land , TX 77479
Singer Esteem II
Posted 02/05/2014
Only, 3 years back, I got Singer Sewing machine as a Mother's Day gift . The number is #2273 which I think, is an earlier version of new #2263. Recently, the Upper Thread Guide got Jammed. So, the Thread take-up lever is not going up & down. I unscrew the Face Plate located at the left side. Inside there was a small broken plate. The name is not mentioned in the manual. I could not find any Singer on-line repair instruction or guide. I took it to the repair store and they were charging me $79.99 almost equivalent to buy a basic new one. I gave up the idea. I am the third generation of Singer machine user and have such high opinion about Singer. Although I was tempted to buy another Singer, settled down for Brother sewing machine on-line from Walmart and waiting for its delivery. I wish Singer would have some on line service or somebody available on phone to give us guidence to repair.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Sewing is fun again!

08/25/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sewing seems so easy with this machine. And I now have more space in my bedroom.
I keep it on my ironing board when I'm not ironing. The height of the ironing board is adjustable, making sewing much less painful for my neck and my back. (I place the sewing machine on the floor or dresser while I adjust the height of the ironing board.)
I've completed many projects that I'd been putting off, dreading pulling out my 42-year-old clunker.
This one is very easy to set up, and makes it easy to wind and change the bobbin.
It runs smoothly and sews very straight (when you want straight) for a machine that can also make decorative stitches.
The only difficulty I have is in turning the Pattern selector dial. But that's because of previous nerve damage to my hands.
I haven't yet figured out how to use the automatic needle threader, but I believe I'll soon catch on.
I just use an ordinary threader if necessary.
Thank you Singer people for making such a fine inexpensive machine.
HLHL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

I hated it, but now I love it!

03/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as a present for my birthday because I have always wanted a sewing machine. I've had it for months but never had a chance to use it until recently. As I set it up, I became progressively annoyed with it. So, I looked up reviews here on Walmart to try to see if others were having the same issues. After agreeing with all of the horrible reviews, I decided to give the machine and its manual just one last go. Then I found the solution! You haaaave to adjust the bobbin's tension or else the bottom thread will be really bunchy and ugly. The manual tells you that you have to use a small screwdriver (or the piece of metal that comes with the machine) to adjust the tension on the bobbin's steel case. Do this, and I'm pretty sure a lot of you all will have a better time with this machine because I sure have! Oh, and something else I would like to mention would be to twist the the large knob (on the right side of the machine) towards you to raise the needle to its highest position after sewing something. Remembering this has helped reduce my machine's number of jams to zero. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+376points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Needle problems
Posted 05/05/2012
I wonder if anybody else has trouble keeping needle threaded. The little wire above the needle is giving me fits. The thread will not stay in it and therefore the needle becomes unthreaded. Hate this machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great basic machine! Don't let USER ERROR fool you

03/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First things first, to make this machine work you must thread the top properly. The tensor knob on top for winding the bobbin is NOT the one you'll thread through for sewing! If you try that, you'll get bunched threads like all these other poor folks. The problems with this machine are USER ERROR. I put the thread through the correct tensor plates, the ones located UNDER the square of plastic that the bobbin-winding tensor sits on and my threads have never once bunched in the several months I have owned this machine. I have used it to sew through four layers of flannel + two layers of batting at once and it does fine. In the beginning it skipped two stitches on a very thin fabric, but has been smooth sewing since. Very pleased with this machine. I use it nearly every day as I make clothing, quilts, and cloth feminine products for sale. Please, don't be afraid to give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/21/2011
I have had this machine for one year now, it's still working great despite frequent use (and a little abuse). If you make sure you always use it properly and adjust tension according to what you're sewing, you should have no problems. I still give it 5 stars... it's pretty good for a machine under $100!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

USE THE RIGHT THREAD

09/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a day and a half of using this machine, I was ready to return it - calling it a piece of junk. Then my husband suggested that I try a different thread. He went to the quilting store near me - that also sells singer sewing machines. The clerk called me and suggested polyester thread. I was concerned because I was working with heavy upholstery fabric, and she assured me that it is the strongest thread.
That was the problem. I have never had a problem since. Great little machine and a good tool for every home. I'm very impressed. I had to order a zipper foot from on-line because it doesn't come with one, but it does come with bobbins, standard foot, and various other things that fit neatly into the front compartment.
VERY light weight - and so much smaller than machines used to be. This means that it's no big chore to bring it out to use it.
Sewing machines are so improved in every way - except that it's harder to thread the needle with silver against a silver background.
Needle threader does not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Must thread this machine with care!

04/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a fairly experienced sewer but most of my sewing is home dec, straight lines, piping and zipper installations. This machine was given to me and has performed well. There is NO way you can sew on it if the thread isn't threaded exactly right. Miss one step or position and you've got a real thread mess on your hands. I did have a very loud and annoying squeak develop with every stitch. Grabbed the manual and like others wondered, ok add oil...WHERE for Pete's sake?? My engineering husband squirted some where he thought it should go. Once the oil found it's way to the inner workings, no more squeak!! YAY! Great machine for simple sewing, on run of the mill fabrics and for repairing the occasional ripped seam. Probably not a great choice for very delicate fabrics or any application beyond basic sewing...Biggest beef, no zipper foot...really Singer? Shame on you. Second beef/wish-it-had an adjustable pressure foot....not all fabrics are the same weight!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great little machine!

12/21/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After not sewing for many years, I decided to purchase a new machine and get back to it! I've always used and loved Singer so they were my first choice. When I found this one, the price was difficult to ignore so I chose it. I didn't want to spend to much since my sewing skills have declined over the years with not sewing for many years. Well, it seems I made the perfect choice! I really love this machine. It feels good, has some weight to it and incredibly easy to learn and use. I got so excited I bought the Singer Sewing Kit days later which I also love. So far, I've only used my new machine twice and it's a breeze. I enjoy it so I want to sew all day but still busy with Christmas errands. Once the holidays are over, I'm pretty sure my new year will be filled with lots of sewing and creating new things! I highly recommend this machine to everyone. You can't go wrong with a Singer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Doesn't last

05/18/2011
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The automatic needle threader sold me on this machine. However, like many other reviewers, I had trouble with the thread bunching underneath. I would class myself as an intermediate sewer, so it's not that I am clueless on how to work a sewing machine. I fought and fought with it and nearly took it back. The machine and I eventually came to an understanding and it finally worked acceptably well.
However, after owning it for just under a year the stitch length just quit working. I was nearing the end of a project when the needle suddenly broke. After replacing it the feed dogs wouldn't feed the fabric through any faster than a .2 length stitch, no matter how I adjusted the stitch length dial. I called Singer and they couldn't figure out what was wrong with it over the phone and suggested taking it in for repair. In my area of the country, repairs cost more than this machine brand new! Now I'm in the market for a new one and I'm definitely going to get one with a top drop-in bobbin.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

VERY poor quality

12/24/2010
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this sewing machine for my wife to do some simple sewing projects. It worked fine out of the box--for about 3 days. The bobbin tension was bad. We reset it and it went bad again...and again...and again...etc. We took it to a sewing center and they told us some interesting facts:
1) They see this machine a lot & breaks repeatedly. 2) Bobbin tension does not remain set. 3) The timing was off and, although they could reset it, it experience said it would go out again soon. 4) These machines are not the same as Singers made 30 years ago. After the company went through bankruptcy, they sold the trademark & this machine is notorious for poor quality. We bought this expecting to have a machine that matched the Singer reputation and we are very disappointed. Bottom line -- DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great Beginner Machine

06/16/2010
By ,
Anderson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine met all of my expectations as a beginner. I did my research on sewing machines. I looked at Janome, Brother, Husqvarna, and many others but this Singer was perfect for me as a beginner and my crafting needs. Within 3 hours of opening the box I had made a blanket and diaper changing pad. I would recommend this to everyone starting out. You can't beat it for the low low price. The lower bobbin can be tricky and it took me about 30 minutes to figure everything out but once that was taken care of, there's been no other issues. Just follow the directions carefully and play around with the machine. The tension has to be right or there will be bunching or too loose but that is easily fixed. Again, I would recommend this sewing machine to all beginners who are on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+248points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
canada
Thanks
Posted 10/06/2011
thank you for your review! this is the machine that the hubby better get me for christmas lol.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Name says it all !! (n__n)

05/16/2010
By ,
L.A - And I dont mean Lousiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this sewing machine as a Birthday present and it's my first time owning/using a sewing machine. The thought of how do I thread a bobbin, how do I thread the needle, how do I do this and that was just overwhelming but fear not ! As the name states Singer Simple ... it is SIMPLE ! The instruction book takes you step by step on how to thread the bobbing and you don't have to strain your eyes trying to get the thread into the needle bcuz the sewing machine has an automatic needle threader. It makes everything so very simple !! I Love the machine already ! (.__.") Now if I can only learn sewing machine skills everything would be great. L0L I'd definitely recommend this sewing machine over others. My Mom's old sewing machine was a Singer and it was a reliable one. Lasted her over 30 yrs or more.
Note : This sewing machine comes with an offer for a year subscription to Martha Stewart magazine but if you read the subscription slip carefully it tells you if you do not want the subscription ... there is an address where you can mail your Name, Address, and copy of receipt of purchase to get $14.95 refund *the value of the magazine subscription*. You have 30 days to request the refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Terrific Value, Sews Very Well

10/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the quality of this machine compared to the price. Like all sewing machine, it takes a little bit of time to learn the subtleties of your particular machine, but I figured it out very quickly.
Previous commenters mentioned issues with jamming; I had those problems too until I realized I was threading the machine wrong; at the top I had threaded around the bobbin tension discs instead of running the thread under the pre-tension spring, which is the flat piece that the bobbin tension discs sit upon.
I found that I needed to loosed the bobbin tension screw a bit.
The selection of stitches on this machine is robust; great blind hem stitch. Haven't tried a buttonhole yet, but it's nice to know that option is available on a starter machine. The automatic threader took me a few times to figure out, but once I got the hand of it, I really loved it. My only complaint with the machine is that it doesn't seem to me as though the bobbin winds as smoothly as on other machines, but that could very well be user error on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Luck of the Draw

12/29/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a beginner, my mom thought this would be a great starter machine. After it took about an hour to set up, we had it sewing for a while but then it quit. The lower bobbin kept getting stuck and would jam up within three or four stitches. We ended up getting nothing sewed. My mom and grandmother, who have sewed their whole lives, couldn't get it to work. We adjusted the bobbin tension, tried different thread, different fabric, different tensions, different stitches, EVERYTHING. We eventually decided that if it was that hard to use and the machine was that picky about tension and didn't work easily, it was never going to get used. We took it back and bought a Brother someplace else where within an hour of opening the box, had two sets of curtains hemmed. DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE UNLESS YOU WANT TO GAMBLE ON WHETHER THE MACHINE WILL WORK OR NOT. Besides, after reading both positive and negative reviews, it seems that EVERYONE has the same issues, it just depends on whether the machine needs to be reset as often as this one would have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Just what I needed - a light, too

06/20/2009
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my 41 year old Singer died, I looked for a replacement checking things out online. I narrowed the search down to a Brother and this Singer before I went to the store. Seeing them side by side helped. I tend to be frugal and was really leaning toward the cheaper Brother, especially since it advertised a light. But, the Singer had an automatic threader. The auto threader won out. To my surprise, when I unpacked it at home, the Singer also has a light (but does not indicate that anywhere on the box or online. It was easy to set up; instructions were clear; works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+845points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rahway,NJ
Does this sewing machine come with a foot petal?
Posted 06/13/2013
I've always used sewing machines with foot pedals but in the description it doesn't mention anything about it. Is their any other way to sew on the machines? They don't show it in the video or the pictures.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

A few problems

02/21/2014
By ,
Fairfield Bay, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First of all I'm old and have just had cataracts replaced in one eye so I'm cattywampus in my vision. However, it would take Superman's vision to thread the machine the way the instructions are written and illustrated. The "automatic needle threader" must be a Singer engineers joke. Best I could tell it didn't even come close. The parts are so tiny it is impossible to see if it is going right. Since the instructions said to thread the needle from front to back I simply stabbed at it until i saw the thread go a bit off line and figured it was in the unseeable hole. I guessed right. Also there is supposed to be some kind of guide just above the needle itself. I never saw it but kept swinging the thread that way and it eventually caught. I was having a lucky but tedious time. Of course I only had two lamps and a flashlight so it should have been easier. I'll learn to live with it but don't anyone count on that "automatic needle threader". You will be disappointed. I'm not sure if any other machine would have been better. "Automatic needle threader". Bah!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Simple 23-Stitch Sewing Machine 2263

Great for a beginner

08/08/2009
By ,
Kingsburg, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first sewing machine, after scouring yard sales I decided to get my very own new machine! I really like this one. I have NEVER sewn before. No home ec, nothing. So, it took me a little bit to understand the winding of the bobbin and pulling the bottom thread up, but after that it was smooth sailing. I have already altered two pairs of pajama pants, made a cover for my sewing machine and made two throw pillows! I can't believe how easy this is! I have only had my machine for a few days, so hopefully it will be durable and last, but, it's got a 25 year warranty, so it should be great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+180points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Not so great after all!
Posted 09/14/2012
I bought this machine and first loved it as it was simple and relatively easy.
Now I am experiencing problems with the low thread and can no longer use it ... it is extremely frustrating! I am thinking of getting rid of it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Goldsboro, NC
Singer..Simple model
Posted 06/06/2012
Absolutely would not advise anyone to purchase this machine. The bobbin loader is so outdated, the thread spool is on its side, very weird, the least little thing thread gets tangled. I sew very fast, and each time I finished a hem or a seam, the needle came unthreaded.
As far as I am concerned, it is more difficult to work with than the computerized models, which I am exchanging this for.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 365 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next