Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

The Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera features a long-range flash to capture clear images up to 45' away. Auto-flash ensures the flash fires only in low-light conditions. Three image and two video settings let you choose the resolution, and each image and video is stamped with time, date and location. Plus, the Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera has a laser aim that lets you see and test the targeted area.
Average Customer Rating:
4.096 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation83%43 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Great value

10/17/2009
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera for the money. Set it up and in the first week had over 175+ excellent picutres. Easy to download to my computer and reset. If I needed another camera, I would definitely buy one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 22 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Disapointed

10/08/2009
By ,
Homestead, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this camera as a gift a little more than a year ago but did not use it until bow season this year. The camera took some decent pictures both day and night and I even watched it flash right in a doe's face and it did not seem to bother her at all . Now the bad . After it's one and only use , the LCD screen is unreadable which makes this useless as far as I am concerned . I called Moultrie customer service, waited 45 minutes to talk to someone, and when the service rep finally answered the phone she basically said that since the camera was more than a year old , I had a better chance of seeing god than them taking care of this piece of junk ! One use for a hundred bucks does not seem like a good deal to me !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Review 23 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Excellent Product

01/11/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. The first week it was out it took 337 pics!!! Second week 367 pics and still has 50% battery life! Night pics are a little "grainy" (not a problem unless you are enlarging the image), but other than that I am very pleased. Excellent flash range. Highly recommended!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Best Value

09/24/2009
By ,
Gainesville, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 3 of these cameras. The last one I purchased was DOA, so test the camera before throwing away the packaging and receipt. I am very pleased with the images I get from them, and will continue to use them as long as I can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

50/50

11/12/2009
By ,
Canton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have bought two Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Cameras.
The price is great and the picture quality is good if you can get them to stay working. The trigger time is close to ten seconds so make sure you point it in the direction you think the game will come from or you will have a lot of blank pictures.
The first one I had worked great for over a year until it was stolen from a tree.
The flash on the second one stopped working after three months. Moultrie's customer service is terrible and it can take ten weeks to get it fixed provided you kept your reciept. Without the reciept Moultrie won't do anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

User Beware

06/13/2010
By ,
West Tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good camera for less than $100, but it is very easy to render it useless. I found that after a couple months, this camera would not turn on or take pictures when triggered. I finally got frustrated and decided to cut my losses. I called the company which told me to reboot it. That actually worked and has worked since, however, I have to reboot it almost every time I put it out. It is a process, but it's not complicated. Other than that little fualt(which can be avoided if you never take the SD card out while the power light is on), it is a good camera that takes great pictures day or night.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 27 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Worth the Money

12/21/2009
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this camera for my 15 year old son. He loves it! I have not had to do anything with it. He was able to figure it all out. (how to set it up and to upload pictures to the computer) He placed it in our woods to take pictures of the wild life on our property. The camera takes Great Pictures! We have had it a couple of weeks & have pictures of deer, turkey and even a hawk "flying" by. I think this is a Great Product Overall. I would recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Moultrie D40 Game Camera

12/21/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a good value for the money spent. Not happy with: black color (rather be green or camo); having to take inside of camera out just to change batteries; with auto flash sometimes get black pics(seems like time changing from dusk to night camera can't decide when to start the flash on auto exposure);. other than that pics are very clear and camera is fairly easy to set up. Would recommend highly for the price for a digital camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Excellent Product!!

05/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband. It was easy to set up and takes excellent pictures both day and night. The pictures are clear and not grainey. You might need to use better bungee cords to tie it up, but overall this is a great product for the money. It does takes 6 D cell batteries which causes the camera to get a little heavy, but again, he is very pleased with the product. I am going to purchase on for myself to use at my deer stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Seems great

12/15/2009
By ,
Columbia, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far it is a very good camera, especially for the price. Both day and night pictures are clear. About 3 weeks into the first set of batteries, the temps have been down to 6 and the batteries are around 60%. Battery life remains my greatest concern but trigger speed, picture quality and ease of operation are fine. As long as the batteries last I will be getting a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Nice game camera

12/13/2009
By ,
Cabot, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes some pretty good pictures. Some of the pictures are fuzzy but overall it's a pretty good game camera. It showed us that we are getting a lot of activity on our feeding plot. The only complaint we have is the tree mounts that came with the camera. They are really cheaply made. We put some different clamps on it and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

fun camera

08/21/2009
By ,
portage, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game camera provided lots of entertainment for wife and me. We purchased mainly to catch local critters in our back yard esp. at nite by our feeders. this camera took fairly good quality pictures and was fun for us and our grandchildren. It was fairly easy to use once we got it figured out and for the cost it was well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Awesome camera

11/22/2009
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera takes fabulous pictures. The night-time shots look like full sunshine. It's been in the woods almost 3 weeks and the battery life is still at 60%. Haven't even hooked up the solar panel charger I purchased with the camera. My guys are totally satisfied with this camera and intend to buy another one next fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Good Value Trail Cam

11/05/2009
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality is good for the price. Battery life seems to be quite good as long as you aren't taken a bunch of pictures of the empty woods with the flash all night long. Seems to be pretty rugged and has given me some quite nice pics of whitetails. I would definitely recommend it for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

NOT WATERPROOF

10/19/2009
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had less than a year, up in woods, 2 1/2 months. Checked it this past Saturday and it was full of water. Took pictures all the way to the 25th of September and then stopped. Pictures it took were goood. To bad it won't take any more ever. A heads up Moultrie warranty does NOT cover water damage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 36 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Best on the Market

12/11/2009
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used alot of cameras on the market and just started using this one this year. I am hooked, the pictures are great and better than alot of the higher priced ones on the market. I have now bought 2 of these and plan on buying the next step up. I give this camera a 9 out of 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

1 Fun Boy Toy :>

01/19/2010
By ,
Gainesville(Monteocha),Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gift from Santa-This Camera has done everything we expected, very good for the price. Has a bright flash, pixs are very clear. We have pictures of critters I didn't know existed..
We have had alot of fun..(Seeing what IS actually coming up to eat the Acorn(s))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

Excellent value

12/10/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far the Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera has performed excellent . I would highly recommend this product . I own several other brands of game cameras and the Moultrie outperforms them hands down for under $ 90.00 delivered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

disappointed!

08/08/2010
By ,
Baiting Hollow, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the camera received was incomplete.
No instructions, warranty card, cable hookup.
Obviously, someone removed these items from the box.
Had to return the camera to Walmart and purchased another Moultrie model from a different supplier.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Moultrie Game Spy 4.0 Digital Game Camera

LOVE IT!!!!!!!

09/24/2009
By ,
King William, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my husband and he loves it!!! It takes great pics. and very easy to use I plan on getting him one more for christmas. He says its the best gift I ever gota him. I'm preety impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 50 total reviews