Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Reed Drummond shares how she learned to cope with the isolation and peculiarities of an Oklahoman ranch life in her cookbook "The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl," from chasing beavers out of the pond and saddling horses, to cooking for a man who believes the sun rises and sets in a steak and baked potato. This Ree Drummond Cookbook includes delicious recipes such as cowboy calzones, pioneer woman's ribeye steaks, cheese grits, fresh blackberry cobbler, pico de gallo and Iny's prune cake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.943 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%87 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Real food, good recipes, great photographs

10/28/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this cookbook because it is real food. . .not super fancy with ingredients that are hard to find. And I like how Pioneer Woman weaves the story of her family and life on the ranch into her recipes. Plus she is an incredible photographer and the cookbook provides step-by-step photos to go along with the recipes. She does the same thing on her blog but I think it may be easier to read in a book rather than on a website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

A Must Have in your Kitchen

10/28/2009
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already love reading Ree's blog everyday, so it didn't surprise me when I fell in love with her cookbook. I love it and want 25 more to share. Her step-by-step recipes are easy to follow and are REALLY good. THANK YOU PIONEER WOMAN!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

More than a cookbook

12/01/2011
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shouldn't be called a plain cookbook. Yes, it contains great recipes (many containing plenty of butter; if you are looking for low-fat, low-calorie dishes the pickings will be slim). There are not hundreds of recipes but a decent variety, and each has step by step instructions that will give even an inexperienced cook the confidence to try these recipes. What sets this cookbook apart is the author's folksy, goofy, good-natured humor; beautifully photographed color photos of every recipe and many photos of the preparation instructions; and glimpses into an Oklahoma rancher's life that makes you feel like you're part of the family, or at least a ranch hand. It's a fun read that will leave you hungry (literally!) for more.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Great Cook Book

12/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cookbook is the best. I bought 3 for gifts. There is not a bad recipe, tried almost all of them, and have never been disappointed. The photography is beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

good recipes

02/13/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
another good cookbook from pioneer woman. the pictures are really nice and the recipes are everyday food. would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Handsome Useful Cookbook

11/30/2010
By ,
plano tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Pioneer Woman Cookbook is a delight. I especially enjoyed the pictures along with the recipes...really nice food photography. I thought I made good white beans but yummm. I returned to buy another. The value at Walmart was exceptional. Beat the heck out of Barnes and Noble, Borders. I will return to Walmart to buy Books! Who thought?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Ree Drummond

01/11/2014
By ,
Newberry, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think the Pioneer Woman is one of the best cooks on TV and I love her Blog. I think this is one of the best cookbooks she has written. Now I understand why she mentioned gaining weight writing her cookbooks. Seeing her then and now she has gained a bit. I will keep that in mind. It must be all the tasting. Great recipes for everyone. I scale them down since there are just two of us and it is very easy to do or freeze part of it. She has recipes for every occasion and all her cookbooks are worth buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

life book lets cook

11/07/2013
By ,
Thomas,OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spot on nailed with real cooking, for real life, Ree and Miss Kate (duck dyn) should get put one together, like to sit at that table, by the way doing the review for the wife i eat what she cooks , can i just sayhappy at home .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

The Pioneer Woman Cooks - such a great cookbook!!

01/09/2014
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love all of Ree's cookbooks - not only for the recipes but the stories Ree includes about herself and her family. What a wonderful, real person....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Pure Love

03/07/2011
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually found out about this book on her website, but wanted to have her wonderful photos and recipes in front of me. This cookbook is tremendous! I absolutely love it and plan to use it for years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Just what the doctor ordered

01/01/2014
By ,
rexburg, id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave it as a gift for Christmas, she has already read the whole thing once. I hear about it all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Great recipes

04/06/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend told me about this cookbook after making the meatballs from it. Everything that she and I have tried is wonderful. Ree also tells us a little about her life. She includes photos that she took. I love PW!! Walmart delivered this to my house faster than expected!! I would cook from this cookbook more but most of the recipes are no low calorie or low carb. So I probably use it about once every week or two now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl
08/29/2013
By ,
phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cook book. simple to read & understand, and very tasty down home food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Awesome Cookbook!

06/02/2013
By ,
Myrtle Creek, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited impatiently for this cookbook to arrive and was not disappointed! Fans of the PW's blog will love this cookbook. The photography is lovely and the recipes are well thought out and simple to follow. Even my own rancher husband was paging through looking longingly at 'Cowboy' food. I was happy to see that some favorite recipes like 'Edna Mae's Sour Cream Pancakes' were included in this cookbook as well as unfamiliar recipes. Well worth the already reasonable price point. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

My Kind of Cook Book

02/11/2011
By ,
Taylor AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gal knows about good down home country cooking. She is a gal after my own heart. I just got the book and have read it from cover to cover. It is not your typical cook book the stories and pictures are wonderful. Now to get cookin' and try some of her recipes. I know this is a book I will be purchasing as a gift for family and friends. It even has a place of honor on my kitchen counter with a book holder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Fun, basic recipes if you are not on a diet.

11/05/2011
By ,
Monterey, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cookbook is beautiful. The pictures are mouth watering. The family photos make is personal. It gives you a feeling of who the author is. I'm making her pot roast tonite, a little bit different than mine, but it smells wonderful. Can't wait to try other recipes. These are not lo-cal at all but they look like a good guilty pleasure recipes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Love it!!

01/13/2010
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough nice things about the way PW has put this cookbook together! She not only gives us some wonderful recipes, but awesome photography as well.
This cookbook is true to PW's style....open, honest and sharing!
Oh..my 19 year old took my copy off to the BF's parents and made the artichoke dip for New Year's party..she's lovin it too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Amazing Cookbook!!

06/24/2012
By ,
Steuben, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love every recipe that I have tried. I also enjoy her stories and beautiful photographs. This is my new favorite cookbook! Walmart.com had the best price I could find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl
10/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best family cookbook I have and I have a lot! Not only is it user friendly, it has amazing photos and stories in it. I can not wait for her next one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

Very good, down to earth recipes

05/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've really enjoyed this "cookbook." It has wonderful recipes, pictures and enjoyable extra reading. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next