Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

RCA RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

The RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna is an indoor antenna designed to receive HD, Digital TV, and FM signals for free. You need not constantly adjust this antenna for the best reception. With the 360 degree patented reception technology, it provides clear signal reception when set once. This RCA DTV antenna supports 1080 Resolution Reception which lets you watch your favorite programs on your HDTV. With a unique slim, flat, and sleek design it matches well with your home theater system. You can place the RCA multi-directional antenna both vertically and horizontally or even hang it up from a hook. Getting started with this HD flat antenna is easy as you just have to plug it in to your TV or converter box with the help of the built-in coaxial cable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
44
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation70%108 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 168 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
44
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

No Reception

12/11/2012
By ,
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item failed to get TV stations.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Alternatives are better

12/30/2013
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A caveat: Receiving over-the-air broadcasts is largely a hit-or-miss proposition when it comes to antennas, as your proximity to a transmitter will largely influence whether a particular antenna will work for you.
That said, when I bought a new television, I lost my favorite station while picking up a station I had not been able to receive previously with a 1992 antenna that looked like something Dr. Frankenstein would have used to bring his creation to life.
I tried this antenna and lost everything, despite being less than 20 miles from transmitters of all local stations. Thus the poor rating, as when I tried another antenna that looked even less impressive than this one, I picked up all local channels.
A note: Try an old antenna first before thinking you must have a "DTV" or "HDTV" antenna. All TV antennas are capable of receiving the same signals. It's just that manufacturers are worried that if consumers don't see that an antenna "supports" 1080p or digital signals they will buy one that purports to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

03/10/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well except there are stations I can't bring in very well. If weather is bad that also affects it but I found out that is normal for most devices like this.
I'm using two of them in different rooms. I highly recommend it if you don't have cable TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Works good for the price

04/12/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From what I understand, there are different strengths of antennas, and this one is on the low end. I bought this to pick up free broadcast TV stations, and I'm 5-10 miles from the signal. I get the signals most of the time, I've noticed when it's really windy, the signal will go out for about 10 seconds and then return. There's other factors that come into play in addition to your distance from the signal (ie. the tower at the nearest local TV station affiliate that's broadcasting the signal), one is how close the antenna is to a window. The closer, the better the signal. Same with the distance the antenna is from the outside wall. Also, if there's metal in the wall, that interferes with the signal too. But for $20, it's worth a shot, and if it's not strong enough to get the signal you want, take it back and exchange it for the next strength up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Works as expected.

11/01/2013
By ,
Cape Coral FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My second unit I also have the amplified version of the RCA Flat. Amplified works slightly better. Advertising says it's omnidirectional. You need to position the unit for the best reception. It's not a drop and forget proposition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Worked better than expected

11/04/2013
By ,
Baltimore MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make sure you do the auto channel scan to maximize the number of stations.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

works great

11/07/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picks up about 26 channels. Crystal clear, even in FL rain storms!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Had to return item

11/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I read the instructions for installation, it required plugging the unit into am enhancer prior to plugging into power source. No enhancer was packed in box. Called product customer service (with complicated phone tree) and spoke to a live person. She stated that the instructions were for another unit and my unit did not come with an enhancer. She asked for my residence zip code--when she looked my location up on her data sheet, she determined that the unit would not work at all on my TV. The signal in my area required an external antenna. Returned the item to Walmart for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Absolutely No Reception Could Not Use

10/22/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product gives absolutely NO reception and should not be sold to persons who don't live within 5 miles of a TV station. This information would be very useful to have before purchase but that is not so. It is false to indicate that it works up to 50 miles. I live 30 miles uphill so thought that would be okay.... NOT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

great and clear

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had cable in about 7 years, just ordered this because I brought a new big screen. I normally watch dvds, but anywho This antenna picks up HD channels and they look great...advice just keep moving the antenna around and rescanning for new channels, I get more channels every-time I do this. I'm even reorder an second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Product exceeds expectations

11/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this antenna because my financial situation is very tight and i would rather spend my money in other places. I specifically bought it to watch football on Sundays. I have to say I was surprised at how well it works. I had NO problems setting it up. It took about 5min. It found the signal right away. It picked up 30 channels right off the bat. All of the main channels came up ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW, MY 20 etc. There are plenty of faith based channels to. All in al the product does exactly what it advertises. I live in Nashville TN. Its sitting by my window.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

yes

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

just didnt work

04/14/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got in the mail hooked it up scanned for channels found 2 out of 75 if you live in a apartment please don't waste your money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Awesome antenna

04/09/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 360 degree, multidirectional, flat passive antenna, is awesome. I live in Phoenix, AZ, and it receives 70+ channels. My living room 27 inch analog TV, uses the digitrex DTV convertor box. My bedroom TV, is a 19" LED flat screen TV [Element]. I'm saving over $90.00 a month by cancelling COX cable TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

This indoor antenna works great!

11/07/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a big problem tuning in local channels after the sloppy installation job Comcast did - they added too many splitters that seriously degraded the signal. We attached this RCA digital flat antenna and ALL the local channels we were missing were back again - plus even more channels that we were never able to get before! All in HD, too.
Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Reception is really poor

10/23/2013
By ,
Escondido
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only receive two channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Excellent

05/14/2012
By ,
Peoria, Arizona 85345
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I canceled cable because I am tired of the high cost when all I watch are a handful of channels. I went to Radio shack and they tried to sell me a Antenna that cost $56.00. I got on line and looked at what Walmart had to offer and bought this for $21.00 and hooked it up and I got great reception and over 40 channels. I am happy and no more high cable bills to pay. Kim
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

RCA Antenna

01/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The antenna is small and looks fine. I didn't want to get an amplified antenna if we didn't need to. After quite a bit of repositioning, a specific spot on the window sill worked fine. We had to add an extention coax cable on it so be able to move it to the optimum location. Although I thought it would be easier to position it, since we are only about 5 miles from the major metropolitan broadcasting antenna site, it ultimately worked well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Does work o.k.

03/05/2010
By ,
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are about 60 miles from our "local" tv stations. We still managed to pick up several channels with this antenna. Though it is not the best, we bought it as a temporary fix until the additional cable gets installed. For $20 it has done its job. We have to move it occasionally to get better reception, but other than that it does o.k.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna

Great product...

12/24/2009
By ,
Oakland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved it, NO MORE turning and having to change the antenna ears when switching in between channels. Picture, sound and the very simple but does the job feauters are great. My only compliant is that it comes in white! TV's aren't white, so it stands out, in black or silver would definately make this product in all 5 star!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LEHIGH ACRES FL.
WHITE ONLY , NO
Posted 11/12/2012
YOU CAN PAINT IT
0points
Customer Avatar
IL Valley
you can paint the box
Posted 09/14/2012
In the description above it says you can paint the box, so then it would blend in with your wall if painted it the same color!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next