Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Pinnacle Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%17 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

one in a million?

04/22/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the reel and in 5 minutes after I started using the reel casting lures, I pushed the release button and made a great cast and then the reel was completely locked up! The handle was not and could not be turned even though I had repushed the release and the spool turned freely. Just my luck. The reel was returned the next day and replaced. Not been out to try the replacement-hope to have better luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Good reel

06/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been fishing for many years using spinning reels. I have been wanting to learn how to use a baitcaster for some time now, but didn't want to put much money into it untill I knew I could use them. This has been a perfect beginers reel. I have taken it on three fishing trips now and once you get the adjustments right you can cast a mile. I am sure there are better reels out there but if you are looking for a good one to learn on without breaking the bank consider this one. I already have one of the 9 ball bearing Pinnacles on order and look foward to trying it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

works great

04/03/2010
By ,
Astoria NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one good reel. casting is very smooth IF SET RIGHT. I read on the reel 12LB - 120 YDS of mono or florocarbon. I spooled up 30LB braid on it and I got better casting distance and no back lashes on this reel. works better then my Abu Garcia reel. The only thing wrong is the package does not come with any instructions. For all you first timers remember it must be set to the lure your useing. So if your looking for a good baitcast reel this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

used once.Worked well

03/24/2014
By ,
nh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too cold to use fishing, but cast in the yard, no birds nest. Brake worked well. Used a 2 oz practice weight. Not sure how it will cast with lure alone, warmer weather will tell.
Well built, Still have to see the quick removable side covers, but they look easier than my Diana bait caster
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

perfect reel for the money

09/21/2009
By ,
new wash, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have to say that i was reallly suprised that this reel for the money was as good as it is. i have several very expensive reels this i the first pinnacle reel for me. i give it an A+++.casts are super long no backlash.not even on the first cast.after 3 or 4 cast i had it fined tuned for cast without my thumb as a break.the magnets are super at preventing those unwanted tangles.if you know how to was a bait cast caster then you can not go wrong with this reel period.hands down the best reel for the money.i am getting three others for xmas gifts for my brothers and father.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Top notch

03/25/2010
By ,
Louisville Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two of these fine reels they work perfectly they throw extremely well and are slick as can be..Cannot believe a reel at this price works this darn good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Ideal first baitcast reel.

07/15/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spooled up with good 50# braid AND SET UP CORRECTLY for your lure weight you will catch fish. That is, you will when you learn to present your lure with proper technique. I can say with certainty that largemouth bass don't know the difference between $40 and $400 reels. YOU may at some point if you stick with it.
I fish with a couple Platinum Plus and a couple really slick (and pricey) baitcasters. They have one BIG thing in common. Set them up wrong (magnets and/or spool tension) and you will get over-run and "birdnests". And they are frustrating. Practice in the yard with a light "hookless" lure. Set the magnet dial to 6 or 7 and an extra 1/4 turn on the spool tension and begin making short casts. It will take TIME. And it's worth every single minute too.
This is an inexpensive, light weight reel that casts and feels great. An ideal first baitcast reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Cant complain for the price

10/21/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reel works pretty darn good considering the price. Its a little noisy when Im slingin my gear halfway across the river (but its a pretty wide river and im really zingin it). Hasnt caused any issues though and if I make shorter casts there is no noise. Hardly any issues with backlash. One thing ive noticed is you need to check the drag every now and again because it has a tendancy to loosen up on you after a while. Overall its a great reel...Ive landed many 10-20 lb salmon and steelies with this little reel over the last year and it hasnt complained yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Great value

05/20/2013
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this reel to replace a defective bait caster that cost me two fish. This reel is very smooth casting and more forgiving on back-lash than any of my (6) bait casters. This would be a great choice for a first time bait caster purchase. Sadly I haven't been able to check out the drag yet but everything else works smooth as silk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Excellent value

04/17/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as stated above, great beginner's reel and I am not a beginning baitcaster. Great straight out of the package, it swallowed an entire 125 yd spool of 10lb Spiderwire braid and cast well, even with smaller jigs than one might use with a bc reel. You can't go wrong with this one for under $40.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Amazing reel!

08/28/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this reel and I got to say, this is a good baitcaster for a beginner on a baitcaster. I put the brakes on 10 and after about 10 minutes I was already down to 0 with no magnetic brakes. Casts are accurate and far. Seriously by this reel and throw on a 7 dollar shakespeare rod and you're good to go. If you're scared of backlashes, trust me, everyone gets backlashes, just take a quick 10 seconds to pluck out the line and you're good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

sweet deal

04/25/2011
By ,
Oviedo Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first baitcaster and cant beat the price. easy to learn on. i put 14 lbs mono on and works good, no birds nest, just some back lash. Caught five bass on my first day with it, i'm excited!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel
04/25/2012
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a couple weeks and caught a few fish never had a problem first bait caster ever in about 30 min had it down just use a fat weight and I've got better cast and using 30 pound test just cause I've got big fish around here just takes a little time to get it set to lure and weights ur using good reel for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Great reel

11/17/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this reel after comparison-shopping a few models, and I cannot say I am disappointed. I'm no expert with a baitcast reel, and I still get very few backlashes. I'm very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel
08/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel once you get used to it is a great reel, However when you first get it you may experience a lot of backlash but keep workin at it and i can promise you you wont find a better reel for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Great reel

01/31/2011
By ,
Rahway,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet and smooth reel, can't wait to fish
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel

Works Great

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is smooth casting and reeling. I't serves the needs I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pinnacle Plainum Plus Baitcast Reel
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5