Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(405 Reviews) 350
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
80
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation97%390 out of 404reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 270 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
80
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Unit

05/19/2010
By ,
Windsor, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made two batches of jerky since getting this unit and it works even better than I expected. Unlike the round models you don't have to rotate the trays while drying, just fill them and all four trays dry evenly in 4.5-5 hrs. If you are now buying jerky at a retail store paying several times more per package you will save $$ and get a much better product with this unit. I use London Broil and a jerky making kit (Flavor-Maker brand) that makes 15 lbs. or 3-5-pound batches, cost $9.00 its GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the many other reviews this fd-80 is a great product and is extremely extremely reasonable! compare this to some that costs 200+ and it will far surpass them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Results For The Price

08/30/2009
By ,
Middletown, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit aprehensive at the onset, but after unpacking the unit and using it for the first time, I was surprisingly pleased at the results. It did not take long at all to dehydrate 4 lbs of beef which translated into the best jerky I have ever eaten, not to mention that there were no artificial ingredients in the recipe. Clean-up was a snap. Co-workers raved at the delisciousness of my product. I whole-heartedly endorse this product and have since made 3 more batches of Jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/25/2013
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
made jerky twice now and I am really pleased with how quickly it dries food! definitely need to get more trays!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator.

01/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco FD-80 dehydrator is a very nice unit. To prepare the fruit, I used a hand crank apple slicer/corer/peeler to prepare the apples and pears because the slices needed to be somewhat thin and all as similar as possible for them to dehydrate evenly. I sprinkled all the fruit with a little bit of a sugar/cinnamon mixture. The square dehydrator took a lot fruit to fill up the trays, so I dehydrated quite a bit at one time. I've already dehydrated apples and pears which came out slightly chewy with a cinnamon taste and were very good. It took about five hours for the apples and six hours for the pears. This is a fun unit to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

so far is seems like a great product

07/14/2013
By ,
fort morgan, colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the dehydrator and have just started using it. The thermostat seems to be working fine and this is the first dehydrator that I have owned with one. Great feature!!!! As reported by others it would be nice to have an on and off switch but it really is not a big issue. Instructions and recipes are great and free Jerky mix and cure included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

GREAT UNIT

03/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Nesco FD80 square food dehydrator. I chose the ship to store option to save on shipping charges. The unit arrived a week sooner than expected. It was my first Walmart purchase and would not hesitate ordering in the future using the same shipping option.
The unit is well designed and built and meets all my expectations. The only negetive is like other reviews read, the lack of on/off switch though not a big deal. I made my first batch of beef jerky and I must say, it came out excellent. 5 1/2 pounds of meat dried in just slightly over four hours. Six pounds of meat would have filled all four trays that came with it. I am definitely going to purchase four additional trays. The trays are a bit large for the dishwasher but I did make them fit. I love this unit and would definitely recommend it. I can't wait to experiment with different recipes on the next batch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great purchase.

10/08/2013
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an easy machine to use, and was as quiet as expected. I would recommend it to my friends. I look forward to using it frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

better than older models

05/11/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a one previously but in the round style with motor on the bottom. Used it a lot but in the moves we had to leave it behind.
Finally purchased this newer model in the square, and it is so much better for making the jerky and drying fruits and vegetables. Just need to get additional trays and the fruit roll up inserts.
Love the adjustable temp but would like it to have an on/off switch also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Square shape is decieving.

12/24/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this, as I wanted and uninterrupted square shape to do crackers on from my raw pulp from juicing. There is the same hole in the middle, like the round ones. It works fine, but has no shut off switch. you have to unplug it every time you check your food.
Improvements would be a better description with pics, a shut off switch, and a timer would be nice. I also think a fruit leather insert for each tray would be standard.
While it works good, for the price, I could have gotten a cheaper one, just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco review

12/04/2009
By ,
Jeff City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Will make jerky in 5 hours versus 15 hours in my previous $40 dehydrator.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
12/23/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit works fine. Doesn't have a timer which you really need. I think cheaper units would do the same work. The jerky does turn out great though. Figured I make my money back making my own after using it 4 or 5 times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great product

03/18/2011
By ,
Safford, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is well worth the investment. We make a batch of jerky every week and it is so convenient. No rotating of trays needed and clean up is easy. The machine is fairly quiet.....sounds kind of like water boiling on the stove. Very happy with it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator

08/16/2009
By ,
Liverpool, NY - USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. It works great, with no issues so far. Fast, efficent and reliable.
Pros:
-Temp control
-Big surface area for laying out foods
Cons:
-Cleaning can be a little work
-No off switch (which seems to be standard on dehydrators...)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Love it Love it Love it

06/03/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this dehydrator because my last two shelves melted on another brand. Love making jerkey for my family and friends. This product was above my expections when reading the other reviews about the time it takes to make the jerkey. Boy was I surprised when it really was true!! The clean up was so much more easier than what I had expected. I love the smell the jerkey gives off in the house when it is cooking. Can't wait to eat it. A on and off switch would be convenient, but then it doesn't interfere with the dehydrating of whatever one makes. Thank you Walmart for having this product available on line for ordering and easy pick up at the store's location one chooses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Simply Awesome

05/29/2010
By ,
Bayville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to make jerky. I became an expert with my first batch. I'm dehydrating every kind of food now. It's a very fun and healthy hobby. The machine is great and the square trays make it so much easier to configure the food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Heating element went out

06/15/2013
By ,
Mc Camey Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the square design and it does hold more than some of the round ones, but I just received this item last month in April. Used it three times and the heater went out, not the fan just the heater. This was designed to be used so the heater going out was a biggie for me. Will be returning it asap. Wish it would have worked cause I really like the design of it, just not the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rural Missouri
Surprised
Posted 07/09/2014
The machine seems to have an excellent warranty, perhaps you got a dud. I would call the number in the owners manual and ask for guidance from the manufacturer. Try: Customer Satisfaction at 800-288-4545.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

excellant product

01/09/2014
By ,
Watonga, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After studying reviews, I decided to try this dehydrator for making jerky. Having now made half a dozen batches, I must say this is an impressive appliance. The square design makes for easy loading. The trays fit snuggly together. I dreaded clean up but to my surprise, the base and trays wipe clean after only a moment in hot soapy water. I would recommend this to any one interested in a dehydrator. Not having a shut off has not been a problem. I plug it into a digital timer which works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful but does not last long.

05/24/2013
By ,
pittsburgh, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this dehydrator for a total of (maybe)30 times/450 hours. It suddenly died. I feel that the machine should last longer for the price. It is not extremely expensive but not cheap either in my case each time I dehydrated it cost me an average of $2.50 including power. I feel I didnt really get my money worth it. I just purchased another unit of the same model with a 24 months extended warranty this time. The warranty was only $5 so I am hoping it will pay off in the long run and this unit will last a little longer.
The durability factor compared to the price is very significant for me because I use it frequently. That aside, the dehydrator works really well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 351 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  18 Next