Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(410 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
304
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation96%394 out of 409reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 270 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
304
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great for jerky and other stuff

11/24/2013
By ,
McComb,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the lst dehydrator I've ever bought. All the reviews loved it, so took a chance on this model. Really like it- makes great jerky. Can't wait to use it to make banana chips and other stuff. :) I also like it being easy to clean/ 4 trays and the square shape really makes it easy to put on counter or to store.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

GREAT UNIT

03/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Nesco FD80 square food dehydrator. I chose the ship to store option to save on shipping charges. The unit arrived a week sooner than expected. It was my first Walmart purchase and would not hesitate ordering in the future using the same shipping option.
The unit is well designed and built and meets all my expectations. The only negetive is like other reviews read, the lack of on/off switch though not a big deal. I made my first batch of beef jerky and I must say, it came out excellent. 5 1/2 pounds of meat dried in just slightly over four hours. Six pounds of meat would have filled all four trays that came with it. I am definitely going to purchase four additional trays. The trays are a bit large for the dishwasher but I did make them fit. I love this unit and would definitely recommend it. I can't wait to experiment with different recipes on the next batch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

better than older models

05/11/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a one previously but in the round style with motor on the bottom. Used it a lot but in the moves we had to leave it behind.
Finally purchased this newer model in the square, and it is so much better for making the jerky and drying fruits and vegetables. Just need to get additional trays and the fruit roll up inserts.
Love the adjustable temp but would like it to have an on/off switch also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

so far is seems like a great product

07/14/2013
By ,
fort morgan, colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the dehydrator and have just started using it. The thermostat seems to be working fine and this is the first dehydrator that I have owned with one. Great feature!!!! As reported by others it would be nice to have an on and off switch but it really is not a big issue. Instructions and recipes are great and free Jerky mix and cure included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco review

12/04/2009
By ,
Jeff City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Will make jerky in 5 hours versus 15 hours in my previous $40 dehydrator.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
12/23/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit works fine. Doesn't have a timer which you really need. I think cheaper units would do the same work. The jerky does turn out great though. Figured I make my money back making my own after using it 4 or 5 times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Works well

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What we expected
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the many other reviews this fd-80 is a great product and is extremely extremely reasonable! compare this to some that costs 200+ and it will far surpass them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/25/2013
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
made jerky twice now and I am really pleased with how quickly it dries food! definitely need to get more trays!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great product

03/18/2011
By ,
Safford, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is well worth the investment. We make a batch of jerky every week and it is so convenient. No rotating of trays needed and clean up is easy. The machine is fairly quiet.....sounds kind of like water boiling on the stove. Very happy with it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator

08/16/2009
By ,
Liverpool, NY - USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. It works great, with no issues so far. Fast, efficent and reliable.
Pros:
-Temp control
-Big surface area for laying out foods
Cons:
-Cleaning can be a little work
-No off switch (which seems to be standard on dehydrators...)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great purchase.

10/08/2013
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an easy machine to use, and was as quiet as expected. I would recommend it to my friends. I look forward to using it frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Simply Awesome

05/29/2010
By ,
Bayville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to make jerky. I became an expert with my first batch. I'm dehydrating every kind of food now. It's a very fun and healthy hobby. The machine is great and the square trays make it so much easier to configure the food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Just ordered my 2nd

12/02/2011
By ,
Puyallup, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been dehydrating everything in sight & vacuum sealing it & decided we needed another one to get more done faster. Between the economy, nature (we live on a fault line & have a BIG ol' volcano, Mt. Rainier, in our backyard) & the impending Zombie Apocalypse <G> we want to be ready for when IT hits the fan. As far as there not being an on/off switch, we plugged it into a power strip with a switch. The one thing I don't like about it is the big spaces between the slots at the outer edges. We bought nylon screen mesh, cut it to size & use that when we're doing corn & peas or anything else that's small enough to fall through the 'cracks' when drying. Other than that, it's been great. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great!

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited 6 months for this because it was out of stock and now I see why it was definitely worth the wait!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Beautiful machine!

06/01/2011
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first dehydration I completed was fruits--awesome! I love this dehydrator! Can't wait to get into all the other fruits/vegetables/meats that I have waiting for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Love it Love it Love it

06/03/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this dehydrator because my last two shelves melted on another brand. Love making jerkey for my family and friends. This product was above my expections when reading the other reviews about the time it takes to make the jerkey. Boy was I surprised when it really was true!! The clean up was so much more easier than what I had expected. I love the smell the jerkey gives off in the house when it is cooking. Can't wait to eat it. A on and off switch would be convenient, but then it doesn't interfere with the dehydrating of whatever one makes. Thank you Walmart for having this product available on line for ordering and easy pick up at the store's location one chooses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator.

01/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco FD-80 dehydrator is a very nice unit. To prepare the fruit, I used a hand crank apple slicer/corer/peeler to prepare the apples and pears because the slices needed to be somewhat thin and all as similar as possible for them to dehydrate evenly. I sprinkled all the fruit with a little bit of a sugar/cinnamon mixture. The square dehydrator took a lot fruit to fill up the trays, so I dehydrated quite a bit at one time. I've already dehydrated apples and pears which came out slightly chewy with a cinnamon taste and were very good. It took about five hours for the apples and six hours for the pears. This is a fun unit to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Best dehydrator I've used

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We make chicken jerky for our little dog. The last one I bought was hard to clean and it finally just blew up. I searched the web and came across this one and ordered it. I am very pleased. What I do like about it that the motor is on the top and none of the juices from the chicken come in contact with it. It is easy to use, easy to clean and works fast. I can get 6 pounds of cut up chicken on it at a time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 356 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  18 Next