Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 335
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
75
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%377 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 266 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
75
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Unit

05/19/2010
By ,
Windsor, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made two batches of jerky since getting this unit and it works even better than I expected. Unlike the round models you don't have to rotate the trays while drying, just fill them and all four trays dry evenly in 4.5-5 hrs. If you are now buying jerky at a retail store paying several times more per package you will save $$ and get a much better product with this unit. I use London Broil and a jerky making kit (Flavor-Maker brand) that makes 15 lbs. or 3-5-pound batches, cost $9.00 its GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Results For The Price

08/30/2009
By ,
Middletown, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit aprehensive at the onset, but after unpacking the unit and using it for the first time, I was surprisingly pleased at the results. It did not take long at all to dehydrate 4 lbs of beef which translated into the best jerky I have ever eaten, not to mention that there were no artificial ingredients in the recipe. Clean-up was a snap. Co-workers raved at the delisciousness of my product. I whole-heartedly endorse this product and have since made 3 more batches of Jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
08/17/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged it in to use for the first time, it ran for about 30 seconds and popped the circuit breaker. Removed top and pieces of metal fell out of the fan/heater area. Returned same day. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Own 2 easy to use

08/07/2013
By ,
Ellijay Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough the first Nesco American Harvest Dehydrator and loved it. Used it at the Farm where I work, and kept taking it home and back to the farm to use, I was dehydrating everything. Kale Chips, lemons, shiitake mushrooms, cooked pinto beans and cooked garbonzo beans. Everything. It makes it soo easy. So I bought a second one to leave at home. then a friend was so impressed he ordered one for his wife to make doggy treats, then got one for my sister along with the jerky maker. Now she is making lots of tasty jerky. This is such an easy machine to use and easy to clean up. I love it, and would definately recommend it. I read in reviews before I purchased the first one, some one complained it did not have an off and on switch. But come on.....how difficult is it to unplug it? haha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Review

07/13/2009
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks to be quite useful in that we use a solar dryer, except when it is cloudy, and then this electric unit will be a life saver.
I cannot address the durability as have had for less than a month. A downside: extra trays are not available for the square model (only available for the round ones), and the lid does not fit as snug as it could.
Altogether a good value and I expect to get lots of good use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Costs too much for fair performance

08/12/2012
By ,
De Kalb TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading Walmart and Amazon reviews I purchased this dehydrator. I have never owned a dehydrator but expected it to be easier and more convenient to use than my convection oven.
I tried drying cantaloupe, nectarines, and apples.
The dehydrator may have performed to factory specifications, but about 14 hours trying to dry the above mentioned fruit, seemed excessively long & the fruit seemed quite rubbery.
I also found it to have a much larger footprint than I was expecting, therefore it took up a lot of counter space.
Pricier than other units, I was a bit dismayed that it's either on or off, having no timer I worried about leaving the house with the thing running. So, I ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator.

01/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco FD-80 dehydrator is a very nice unit. To prepare the fruit, I used a hand crank apple slicer/corer/peeler to prepare the apples and pears because the slices needed to be somewhat thin and all as similar as possible for them to dehydrate evenly. I sprinkled all the fruit with a little bit of a sugar/cinnamon mixture. The square dehydrator took a lot fruit to fill up the trays, so I dehydrated quite a bit at one time. I've already dehydrated apples and pears which came out slightly chewy with a cinnamon taste and were very good. It took about five hours for the apples and six hours for the pears. This is a fun unit to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

better than older models

05/11/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a one previously but in the round style with motor on the bottom. Used it a lot but in the moves we had to leave it behind.
Finally purchased this newer model in the square, and it is so much better for making the jerky and drying fruits and vegetables. Just need to get additional trays and the fruit roll up inserts.
Love the adjustable temp but would like it to have an on/off switch also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product for the Price

07/01/2011
By ,
Shreveport, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love my Nesco Dehydrator. The only thing I would change is I would add an off/on switch rather than having to plug/unplug each time I use it. I have used the machine probably every other day since I received it, making jerky, drying herbs, even made my own "instant" rice. I love it!!! Also, I want to thank Walmart for the fast delivery time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Excellent product

11/16/2010
By ,
Warsaw, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator, FD-80 is by far the best dehydrator that I have ever purchased. By being square I am able to process much more meat at one time than I was able to do with round dehydrators. I have already dried about 50 pounds of venison into jerky. The drying time is less and the jerky is great! Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great for first timers

08/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with this purchase. Having never used a dehydrator before it was very easy to use with the knob and temperatures labeled on the machine it's very simple to use. it isn't very loud when on and the drying time for our jerky was less than expected. Highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great product

03/18/2011
By ,
Safford, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is well worth the investment. We make a batch of jerky every week and it is so convenient. No rotating of trays needed and clean up is easy. The machine is fairly quiet.....sounds kind of like water boiling on the stove. Very happy with it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator

08/16/2009
By ,
Liverpool, NY - USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. It works great, with no issues so far. Fast, efficent and reliable.
Pros:
-Temp control
-Big surface area for laying out foods
Cons:
-Cleaning can be a little work
-No off switch (which seems to be standard on dehydrators...)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Fabulous!

01/25/2011
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a beginner, I wasn't sure what I was doing so I thought I would try an inexpensive one to see if I liked it. I have only done fruit so far but this machine is great. Love that it is square, would be nice if it had a timer but not necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Simply Awesome

05/29/2010
By ,
Bayville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to make jerky. I became an expert with my first batch. I'm dehydrating every kind of food now. It's a very fun and healthy hobby. The machine is great and the square trays make it so much easier to configure the food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Beautiful machine!

06/01/2011
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first dehydration I completed was fruits--awesome! I love this dehydrator! Can't wait to get into all the other fruits/vegetables/meats that I have waiting for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
09/15/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Took way too long to dehydrate things. I was not happy with performance so I returned it and bought an Excalibur. More expensive but worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product

07/12/2009
By ,
Masontown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using this product for several months now and it has exceeded our expectations. We replaced a dehydrator with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Square Dehydrator

02/05/2014
By ,
Robstown,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice dehydrator. I bought it primarily to make my dog's chicken treats. It did a very nice job. I like the fan in it makes cooking time faster. The square shape is much bigger to allow more to fit. Love it!! Best price too I did a lot of research before buying and this one won on all elements considered--- size, wattage, price. great product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 336 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  17 Next