Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(396 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
295
4 stars
78
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation96%381 out of 395reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 266 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
295
4 stars
78
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like the many other reviews this fd-80 is a great product and is extremely extremely reasonable! compare this to some that costs 200+ and it will far surpass them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/25/2013
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
made jerky twice now and I am really pleased with how quickly it dries food! definitely need to get more trays!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

NESCO FD-80 Dehydrator

10/26/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great appliance! I bought it to make jerky after hunting season and I'm really pleased with how it performs! The instruction manual said that it might take from 6-12 hours to dry, however, I used ground meat and it was completely dry in around 5 hours. The finished product is delicious as well! Also dries tomatoes in a great fashion too. I'd highly recommend this product if you are looking for ways to preserve food and save money. The only thing I felt would be handy is an on/off switch instead of the direct plug in cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great unit for a beginner or seasoned chef!

06/05/2011
By ,
roanoke, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we needed a simple, inexpensive dehydrator for jerky and apple chips...and this nesco positively makes the grade! simple to use, relatively quiet, expandable and very easy to clean up...one pound of (ground beef) jerky took less than 3 hrs from start to finish! the only reason i gave it 4 stars (instead of 5) for features is that there no on/off switch... which would be nice instead of having to unplug the unit each time you 'blot' the jerky. we're looking forward to experimenting with the veg's from the garden this summer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Unit

05/19/2010
By ,
Windsor, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made two batches of jerky since getting this unit and it works even better than I expected. Unlike the round models you don't have to rotate the trays while drying, just fill them and all four trays dry evenly in 4.5-5 hrs. If you are now buying jerky at a retail store paying several times more per package you will save $$ and get a much better product with this unit. I use London Broil and a jerky making kit (Flavor-Maker brand) that makes 15 lbs. or 3-5-pound batches, cost $9.00 its GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

so far is seems like a great product

07/14/2013
By ,
fort morgan, colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the dehydrator and have just started using it. The thermostat seems to be working fine and this is the first dehydrator that I have owned with one. Great feature!!!! As reported by others it would be nice to have an on and off switch but it really is not a big issue. Instructions and recipes are great and free Jerky mix and cure included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Results For The Price

08/30/2009
By ,
Middletown, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit aprehensive at the onset, but after unpacking the unit and using it for the first time, I was surprisingly pleased at the results. It did not take long at all to dehydrate 4 lbs of beef which translated into the best jerky I have ever eaten, not to mention that there were no artificial ingredients in the recipe. Clean-up was a snap. Co-workers raved at the delisciousness of my product. I whole-heartedly endorse this product and have since made 3 more batches of Jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great purchase.

10/08/2013
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an easy machine to use, and was as quiet as expected. I would recommend it to my friends. I look forward to using it frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
08/17/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged it in to use for the first time, it ran for about 30 seconds and popped the circuit breaker. Removed top and pieces of metal fell out of the fan/heater area. Returned same day. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Own 2 easy to use

08/07/2013
By ,
Ellijay Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough the first Nesco American Harvest Dehydrator and loved it. Used it at the Farm where I work, and kept taking it home and back to the farm to use, I was dehydrating everything. Kale Chips, lemons, shiitake mushrooms, cooked pinto beans and cooked garbonzo beans. Everything. It makes it soo easy. So I bought a second one to leave at home. then a friend was so impressed he ordered one for his wife to make doggy treats, then got one for my sister along with the jerky maker. Now she is making lots of tasty jerky. This is such an easy machine to use and easy to clean up. I love it, and would definately recommend it. I read in reviews before I purchased the first one, some one complained it did not have an off and on switch. But come on.....how difficult is it to unplug it? haha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Review

07/13/2009
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks to be quite useful in that we use a solar dryer, except when it is cloudy, and then this electric unit will be a life saver.
I cannot address the durability as have had for less than a month. A downside: extra trays are not available for the square model (only available for the round ones), and the lid does not fit as snug as it could.
Altogether a good value and I expect to get lots of good use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Costs too much for fair performance

08/12/2012
By ,
De Kalb TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading Walmart and Amazon reviews I purchased this dehydrator. I have never owned a dehydrator but expected it to be easier and more convenient to use than my convection oven.
I tried drying cantaloupe, nectarines, and apples.
The dehydrator may have performed to factory specifications, but about 14 hours trying to dry the above mentioned fruit, seemed excessively long & the fruit seemed quite rubbery.
I also found it to have a much larger footprint than I was expecting, therefore it took up a lot of counter space.
Pricier than other units, I was a bit dismayed that it's either on or off, having no timer I worried about leaving the house with the thing running. So, I ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

better than older models

05/11/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a one previously but in the round style with motor on the bottom. Used it a lot but in the moves we had to leave it behind.
Finally purchased this newer model in the square, and it is so much better for making the jerky and drying fruits and vegetables. Just need to get additional trays and the fruit roll up inserts.
Love the adjustable temp but would like it to have an on/off switch also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product for the Price

07/01/2011
By ,
Shreveport, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love my Nesco Dehydrator. The only thing I would change is I would add an off/on switch rather than having to plug/unplug each time I use it. I have used the machine probably every other day since I received it, making jerky, drying herbs, even made my own "instant" rice. I love it!!! Also, I want to thank Walmart for the fast delivery time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Excellent product

11/16/2010
By ,
Warsaw, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator, FD-80 is by far the best dehydrator that I have ever purchased. By being square I am able to process much more meat at one time than I was able to do with round dehydrators. I have already dried about 50 pounds of venison into jerky. The drying time is less and the jerky is great! Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great for first timers

08/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with this purchase. Having never used a dehydrator before it was very easy to use with the knob and temperatures labeled on the machine it's very simple to use. it isn't very loud when on and the drying time for our jerky was less than expected. Highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great product

03/18/2011
By ,
Safford, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is well worth the investment. We make a batch of jerky every week and it is so convenient. No rotating of trays needed and clean up is easy. The machine is fairly quiet.....sounds kind of like water boiling on the stove. Very happy with it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator

08/16/2009
By ,
Liverpool, NY - USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic product. It works great, with no issues so far. Fast, efficent and reliable.
Pros:
-Temp control
-Big surface area for laying out foods
Cons:
-Cleaning can be a little work
-No off switch (which seems to be standard on dehydrators...)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator.

01/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco FD-80 dehydrator is a very nice unit. To prepare the fruit, I used a hand crank apple slicer/corer/peeler to prepare the apples and pears because the slices needed to be somewhat thin and all as similar as possible for them to dehydrate evenly. I sprinkled all the fruit with a little bit of a sugar/cinnamon mixture. The square dehydrator took a lot fruit to fill up the trays, so I dehydrated quite a bit at one time. I've already dehydrated apples and pears which came out slightly chewy with a cinnamon taste and were very good. It took about five hours for the apples and six hours for the pears. This is a fun unit to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 342 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  18 Next