Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco American Harvest Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco American Harvest Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco American Harvest FD-80 Square Dehydrator is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution. The attachments that come along this unit are 4 to 8 nos. of break resistant trays and a dishwasher. The Nesco American Harvest FD-80 Square Dehydrator comes in white color and weighs about 9.3 pounds. The dimensions of the dehydrator are 14.5" inches length, 14.5" inches width and 9.63" inches height.
Average Customer Rating:
4.651 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(378 Reviews) 323
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%365 out of 377reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 261 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Ready for backpack'n or garden storage stuff

02/12/2011
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too funny that I just got this email to rate the dehydrator and I had just removed a batch of ground beef jerky! Glad I tried this machine. Seems to work well. My only complaint is like everyone else's ... too bad no one thought to incorporate a simple thing like an OFF button. hmmm. no matter. I connected it to a power strip bar with button to turn On/Off. Problem solved.
On first batch of ground beef jerky, I used 2-1/2 trays and time was approx. 3 hrs.
2nd. batch was meat strips which time was closer to 6+ hrs. to process. Both types of jerky were good.
I am soon to experiment with fruits and will anticipate that the results will be likewise good!
Additionally, bought a jerky gun from Walmart and as of one attempt, must admit I'm not quite the expert yet in pushing the meat onto the trays in a nice smooth piece. I ended up picking up imperfect pieces and hand flattening them. The dehydrator didn't know the difference and did its job. Buy one.
Walmart's price was superior as always from comparisons I made on Nextag and Bizrate and for certain, the Nesco website.
I'm not certain that the square machine has more space than the original round ones, but I'm pleased with it, however, don't be expecting some strong, heavy type of plastic because it isn't, but the trays do appear to be sturdier than first glance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Square shape is decieving.

12/24/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this, as I wanted and uninterrupted square shape to do crackers on from my raw pulp from juicing. There is the same hole in the middle, like the round ones. It works fine, but has no shut off switch. you have to unplug it every time you check your food.
Improvements would be a better description with pics, a shut off switch, and a timer would be nice. I also think a fruit leather insert for each tray would be standard.
While it works good, for the price, I could have gotten a cheaper one, just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Large and easy to use!

11/09/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model has worked well for our needs. So far we have dehydrated gallons of vegetables into easy to use quantities stored in plastic bags and put into the freezer. Meats were easy too, chicken, ham and beef. Well worth the investment. Loved how easy it is to clean. It's not noisy at all. No on and off switch, just have to remember to unplug. Using at timer helped us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
12/23/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit works fine. Doesn't have a timer which you really need. I think cheaper units would do the same work. The jerky does turn out great though. Figured I make my money back making my own after using it 4 or 5 times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

So far this is a very good unit!

06/04/2011
By ,
Mansfield, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have used this unit to make beef jerky. It does an excellent job, and I am very pleased so far. I have had this unit only about 3 weeks, so that's why I gave the durability a 3 star rating, but I have made about 3 batches of beef jerky ( sliced meat) and 2 batches of chicken jerky for dog treats. The beef jerky only takes about 4-5 hours. (I have looked up on the web about making chicken jerky, and they recommend that you cook the chicken first, then slice it to make your chicken jerky.) I also made sweet potato and banana chips. Both turned out very good! I would recommend this unit to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Make your own dog treats

11/08/2013
By ,
Smalltown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to work great. I wanted to make my dog chicken jerky and sweet potato treats to avoid the "made in China" controversy. So I bought this dehydrator. After a few rejected batches, I seem to have it down, at least according to Midas. So, he's happy, he's SAFE, and in not very long actually, the dehydrator will have paid for itself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
05/09/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item specifically to make jerky and have only used it once thus far. It definitely works significantly faster that my old dehydrator,with lots of space owing to the square design, and my results were excellent. I especially like the way it heats from the top down, rather than from the bottom up as opposed to my previous dehydrator. My only minor and picky complaints are regarding a couple of missing features that shouldn't have impacted the price much: it should have an "off" setting on the thermostat dial so that when I remove the top, to rearrange the product I'm dehydrating, I don't have to pull the plug out of the wall to shut it off first, and then of course, plug it back in. Also, I wish it had a preset timer so that if I was out for an extended period, I could arrange to have it shut off without having to worry that my jerky might become overdried. I assume such features are available on more expensive models, but for the price, this was still an excellent choice. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars for durability is that after one use, I really can't rate that aspect. It does appear to be well made though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Best Jerkey Ever

11/11/2013
By ,
Wonder Lake, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect and consistent drying thoughout without having to shuffle the trays - SUPER easy cleaning - loved that! Fast drying, easy to use, TONS more drying area than a conventional round dryer. Not only met, but exceeded any expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Jerky dried in about six hours

11/08/2013
By ,
nepa, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am satisfied, it gets good and hot and seems to dry the meat in about 6 hours when the traysn are fully loaded. They should have put an on/off switch on it though. Pretty easy to clean. Soak it in hot water and wipe down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

I am pleased so far

11/05/2013
By ,
Grand Ledge
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this once.. did a great job and the best part is you do not need to move the trays during drying, like you do with some dryers.
design is good sqare better than the round ones I have used in the past.
seems sturdy, price was fair for the item
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

I purchased two, they work.

11/14/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, I did purchase two of these dehydrators. the shape is much better then the round ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

I love it!

11/15/2013
By ,
nowheresville,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE it ! Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

NESCO FD-80 Dehydrator

10/26/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great appliance! I bought it to make jerky after hunting season and I'm really pleased with how it performs! The instruction manual said that it might take from 6-12 hours to dry, however, I used ground meat and it was completely dry in around 5 hours. The finished product is delicious as well! Also dries tomatoes in a great fashion too. I'd highly recommend this product if you are looking for ways to preserve food and save money. The only thing I felt would be handy is an on/off switch instead of the direct plug in cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great unit for a beginner or seasoned chef!

06/05/2011
By ,
roanoke, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we needed a simple, inexpensive dehydrator for jerky and apple chips...and this nesco positively makes the grade! simple to use, relatively quiet, expandable and very easy to clean up...one pound of (ground beef) jerky took less than 3 hrs from start to finish! the only reason i gave it 4 stars (instead of 5) for features is that there no on/off switch... which would be nice instead of having to unplug the unit each time you 'blot' the jerky. we're looking forward to experimenting with the veg's from the garden this summer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Heating element went out

06/15/2013
By ,
Mc Camey Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the square design and it does hold more than some of the round ones, but I just received this item last month in April. Used it three times and the heater went out, not the fan just the heater. This was designed to be used so the heater going out was a biggie for me. Will be returning it asap. Wish it would have worked cause I really like the design of it, just not the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great product

11/10/2013
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend to buy this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Unit

05/19/2010
By ,
Windsor, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made two batches of jerky since getting this unit and it works even better than I expected. Unlike the round models you don't have to rotate the trays while drying, just fill them and all four trays dry evenly in 4.5-5 hrs. If you are now buying jerky at a retail store paying several times more per package you will save $$ and get a much better product with this unit. I use London Broil and a jerky making kit (Flavor-Maker brand) that makes 15 lbs. or 3-5-pound batches, cost $9.00 its GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Results For The Price

08/30/2009
By ,
Middletown, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit aprehensive at the onset, but after unpacking the unit and using it for the first time, I was surprisingly pleased at the results. It did not take long at all to dehydrate 4 lbs of beef which translated into the best jerky I have ever eaten, not to mention that there were no artificial ingredients in the recipe. Clean-up was a snap. Co-workers raved at the delisciousness of my product. I whole-heartedly endorse this product and have since made 3 more batches of Jerky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Costs too much for fair performance

08/12/2012
By ,
De Kalb TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading Walmart and Amazon reviews I purchased this dehydrator. I have never owned a dehydrator but expected it to be easier and more convenient to use than my convection oven.
I tried drying cantaloupe, nectarines, and apples.
The dehydrator may have performed to factory specifications, but about 14 hours trying to dry the above mentioned fruit, seemed excessively long & the fruit seemed quite rubbery.
I also found it to have a much larger footprint than I was expecting, therefore it took up a lot of counter space.
Pricier than other units, I was a bit dismayed that it's either on or off, having no timer I worried about leaving the house with the thing running. So, I ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 324 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  17 Next