Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(410 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
304
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation96%394 out of 409reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 270 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
304
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Simply Awesome

05/29/2010
By ,
Bayville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to make jerky. I became an expert with my first batch. I'm dehydrating every kind of food now. It's a very fun and healthy hobby. The machine is great and the square trays make it so much easier to configure the food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

so glad purchased this

09/10/2014
By ,
Elk River, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this machine. Was bugged with it saying 20-24 hours for basil, sage, rosemary etc. But then thought try turning up the heat a little bit. I did and all that happened was got finished allot faster about 1/2 the time and turned out the same. For anyone who plans on doing allot of dehydration I would highly suggest thin one, you will be as I am very happy with your purchase. I woild also say buy extra trays.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Life Saver

04/28/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make hand decorated sugar cookies and after almost 2 weeks of rain this little machine saved my life! I use it to do a quick dry for the icing so the colors won't bleed into each other.
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Does the job well!

10/16/2014
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Nesco American Harvest dehydrator is very good for the price. It gets the job done and my only issue is the plastic trays seem a bit flimsy and I'm afraid they will not hold up over time, but we shall see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great dehydrator

11/25/2013
By ,
Troy, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
made jerky twice now and I am really pleased with how quickly it dries food! definitely need to get more trays!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

A great choice for the beginner.

10/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I are beginners in dehydrating foods and have found this
unit to be easy to use with quality construction. We are both very
satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Just ordered my 2nd

12/02/2011
By ,
Puyallup, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been dehydrating everything in sight & vacuum sealing it & decided we needed another one to get more done faster. Between the economy, nature (we live on a fault line & have a BIG ol' volcano, Mt. Rainier, in our backyard) & the impending Zombie Apocalypse <G> we want to be ready for when IT hits the fan. As far as there not being an on/off switch, we plugged it into a power strip with a switch. The one thing I don't like about it is the big spaces between the slots at the outer edges. We bought nylon screen mesh, cut it to size & use that when we're doing corn & peas or anything else that's small enough to fall through the 'cracks' when drying. Other than that, it's been great. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great purchase.

10/08/2013
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an easy machine to use, and was as quiet as expected. I would recommend it to my friends. I look forward to using it frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Beautiful machine!

06/01/2011
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first dehydration I completed was fruits--awesome! I love this dehydrator! Can't wait to get into all the other fruits/vegetables/meats that I have waiting for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Love it Love it Love it

06/03/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this dehydrator because my last two shelves melted on another brand. Love making jerkey for my family and friends. This product was above my expections when reading the other reviews about the time it takes to make the jerkey. Boy was I surprised when it really was true!! The clean up was so much more easier than what I had expected. I love the smell the jerkey gives off in the house when it is cooking. Can't wait to eat it. A on and off switch would be convenient, but then it doesn't interfere with the dehydrating of whatever one makes. Thank you Walmart for having this product available on line for ordering and easy pick up at the store's location one chooses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product

07/12/2009
By ,
Masontown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using this product for several months now and it has exceeded our expectations. We replaced a dehydrator with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

dries good

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it 3 times. Two times for herbs and once for apple slices. My only question is how long does it take for the plastic smell goes away. you can taste it in the apples. It does dry things evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful but does not last long.

05/24/2013
By ,
pittsburgh, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this dehydrator for a total of (maybe)30 times/450 hours. It suddenly died. I feel that the machine should last longer for the price. It is not extremely expensive but not cheap either in my case each time I dehydrated it cost me an average of $2.50 including power. I feel I didnt really get my money worth it. I just purchased another unit of the same model with a 24 months extended warranty this time. The warranty was only $5 so I am hoping it will pay off in the long run and this unit will last a little longer.
The durability factor compared to the price is very significant for me because I use it frequently. That aside, the dehydrator works really well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

best

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, I have two now and couldn't make all my dog treats with out them :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Excellent

08/18/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator works great! Can't beat the price. Great value for your money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

One word....AWESOME!

08/22/2011
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine works like a charm! Quiet, easy, could not be happier!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great dehydrator.

01/03/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nesco FD-80 dehydrator is a very nice unit. To prepare the fruit, I used a hand crank apple slicer/corer/peeler to prepare the apples and pears because the slices needed to be somewhat thin and all as similar as possible for them to dehydrate evenly. I sprinkled all the fruit with a little bit of a sugar/cinnamon mixture. The square dehydrator took a lot fruit to fill up the trays, so I dehydrated quite a bit at one time. I've already dehydrated apples and pears which came out slightly chewy with a cinnamon taste and were very good. It took about five hours for the apples and six hours for the pears. This is a fun unit to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Really loving it!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it twice so far and I'm loving it. My bananas were so tasty and the orange slices are divine. Next up, jerky. Yummy. I am very pleased that it heats from the top. The dehydrators that heat from the bottom tend to NOT dry evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

1st dehydrator

07/01/2009
By ,
Raleigh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The FD-80 is my first dehydrator. It has worked well. The trays hold a lot of food. So far, I have tried green beans, okra, jalapeno peppers, bell peppers, bananas, mangos, blueberries, pineapple, and cherries. The peppers worked best. Fruits take a little bit longer than the instruction manual. I also used it for granola.
The unit is quiet and doesn't put out too much heat at the fruit/vegetable setting (135 degrees). The best feature of the dehydrator is the adjustable thermostat.
The negative features are the lack of an on/off switch and the fact that it comes with just one of the fruit leather insert trays.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Dehydrator!!!

09/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started making jerky because my son loves it and I hate all the nitrates that go into packaged jerky. I made it in the oven a few times and it was tasty, but still wanted to try a dehydrator. I marinate first thing in the morning for about 6 hours and dehydrate for 6-8 hours depending on how dry I want it. As for noise, I don't hear a thing. My house is never quiet enough to hear it.
I clean the trays in my dishwasher with two racks per shelves. My dishwasher doesn't have a bottom heater so I can put plastic on the bottom. If yours does, I'd put in two at a time.
Only two cons: 1. an off/on button
2. a timer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 356 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  18 Next