Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco American Harvest Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco American Harvest Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco American Harvest FD-80 Square Dehydrator is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution. The attachments that come along this unit are 4 to 8 nos. of break resistant trays and a dishwasher. The Nesco American Harvest FD-80 Square Dehydrator comes in white color and weighs about 9.3 pounds. The dimensions of the dehydrator are 14.5" inches length, 14.5" inches width and 9.63" inches height.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 324
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
285
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%366 out of 378reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 262 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
285
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Easy to use

05/20/2013
By ,
Long beach, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this dehydrator. It's fits about 3-4 lbs of beef jerky. The only thing is that it doesn't have a timer to turn off. So most likely would make it overnight.. But the price is great..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Best Jerky Ever!

05/22/2011
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs.
w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it!
I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.!
I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe!
Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart!
If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Exceptional Product!!

11/03/2013
By ,
Swainsboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Don't buy this for drying herbs!

08/22/2013
By ,
Marion, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Amazed

03/02/2010
By ,
Sparks, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wow great beef jerky

06/06/2009
By ,
san diego ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Best Ever!

06/06/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased a Ronco Dehydrator and it stood up well, over 10 years of jerky making. Took 12+ hours and had to rotate trays and remove metal heating element to clean bottom rack. WITH THIS DEHYDRATOR THERE IS NO TRAY ROTATING, 2LBS OF BEEF DONE IN 4 OR LESS HOURS AND CLEAN UP IS A BREEZE!! The motor being on the top is great because it never comes in contact with the items on the trays. Would recommend an on/off switch though!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful Dehydrator

06/15/2009
By ,
sandy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few weeks, but its been great. It cooks a lot faster than my previous dehydrator and the square shape allows for more on each tray. So far it can cook fruit leather in about 8 -12 hrs depending on how many trays at a time. Love the variable temperatures! Cons: wish it had an on/off switch. Only way to turn it off is to unplug it. Otherwise its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great deal

11/08/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing works like a charm. Runs quiet, very easy to clean if you soak trays first in hot soapy water for a minute, and holds a lot. Like others have said wish it had off/on switch. So what I did I went to Hardware department in Wal-Mart, Lamp Switch Isle, got inline cord switch and instahled. Works great and now I have a on/off switch. Hope this helps. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Overall good - lacking features

10/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am happy with the purchase of this product. It has most of the standard features you would expect. It's very spacious and its square design makes it perfect for arranging jerky. It also has a good drying capacity. The only complaints I have are lacks of convenience. There is no on/off switch, which means you must disconnect the unit from the wall to turn it off. This isn't a big deal, but it can be a bit annoying at times. Also, there are no mesh overlays for the trays. If you are dehydrating small objects, you'll be picking them up off the bottom of the dehydrator. I used a piece of window screening to make my own mesh overlay which seems to work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Unbelievable!

05/16/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space: Before purchasing I read the reviews about how much more space this square dehydrator offered compared to round ones. When I got mine home and opened the box, I just couldn't see that it would offer any additional space. It didn't look any larger. Boy was I wrong! I was able to get my whole batch of beef jerky in to dry when on my old one I couldn't and it had more trays. I know this because my old one quit working only a few hours into the process so I had to get this one to finish the job.
Speed: Old one took about 3 days for a whole batch of jerky. This one, 11 hours! Could have been faster than that but I didn't check it. I was stunned. I initially got this only to make jerky, but since it's so fast I am considering drying fruit too. I tried drying fruit on my old one but it took forever. I think this one is so fast that it'll make it worth the effort.
Noise: It hardly make any noise. This thing is so quiet, I know on future batches I'll forget that it's running because it so hard to hear. My hubby walked right by this one while it was running and didn't even hear it. If he had heard it I know he would've raided it!
On/Off Switch: I know others have said it would be nice to have a switch, and I agree. However, a switch can break so with no switch that means there's one less thing to go wrong. So looking on the positive side, I don't mind at all.
Site-to-Store: My first time using this. It was great. Would definitely use it again if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

I like the square shape. Lots of room on the tray

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy, easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
04/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is great. I can make three pounds of beef jerkey using lean ground beef and the nesco jerky gun in about 4 1/2 to 5 hours. I used the Nesco mix that came with the dehydrator and with the jerkey gun, it turned out amazing. Everybody that as tried it has loved it with the exception of my 9 year old when I slipped him a piece of the hot and spicey. But he loves the original recipe jerky. I tried to dry bananas but I failed, they came out brown and mushy, then I tried again. I soaked them in lemon juice for 5 minutes then dried them for 14 hours and they turned out nice and crispy with lots of flavor. Strawberries and Pineapple are very tasty also. I highly reccomend this dehydrator... especially for the price. It produced very even drying and I had all 4 trays full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

It does a great job.

10/13/2013
By ,
Victor, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had it a little over a week or so and have be using it every day for about 20 hours a day to process our apples and it has been working great. we bought two extra trays so there is 6 trays in it each time and no rotating of the tray is needed. It takes about 10 hours to do 6 trays of apples. We really like it much better than our old RONCO one we had. Can't speak on durability for we have only had it a liitle over a week, but I think it will keep working fine over the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Speedy

06/08/2009
By ,
Hastings, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an older model dehydrator that bit the dust recently and went looking for another. This met our criteria...low price....adjustable temperature. In our old one, apples would take over a day to do. In this one, 3-5 hours. This gives us the opportunity to do more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product at Great Price. Works like a trooper

10/31/2013
By ,
Hillsborough NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a basic, very easy to use machine. I have been using mine for a second season. I use it year round for banana chips, apple chips and anytime I can get a good deal in bulk. In the mid summer to fall I use it just about weekly dehydrating from my garden. With a lot of use it performs like new.
This unit can use up to 8 trays and will do a lot of food in short order when fully loaded.
I have absolutely nothing negative I could say about the Nesco American Harvest (Square)
Easy and hard working. Durable and an easy to store shape for when not in use.
Highest recommendation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Product

09/03/2009
By ,
Reno Nv.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Only Make Jerky But Weve Had 3 Different Ones Now.This Is By Far The Best.It Makes Jerky Excellent And Easy Cleanup & Its Fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Glad I waited

01/29/2010
By ,
Morristown, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to order this for my husband at Christmas but it sold out before I could place my order. I looked around on the internet and found several places that had this dehydrator for a lot more money.
I decided to wait and see if it came back in stock and when it did ordered for my husband's birthday.
It's great - we have two of the older style (round) ones and they are hard to clean, hard to store, slow, and a lot of work moving the trays around.
This dehyrator is fast and easy, you don't have to move the trays around to get even drying, it fits in on the counter and looks nice. Made our first batch of jerky in about 4 or 5 hours not around 12 hours like our older ones. FYI - my husband has a meat slicer and cover the meat about the thickness of bacon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Excellent!

08/31/2009
By ,
Swansea IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this dehydrator for a couple of weeks now. We've made jerky - takes 4-6 hours to dry and 1-2 days to eat.... can't keep it in the house, my family is eating it faster than I can dry it! I like the shape, seems you can put a lot more on the trays than with a round one. Having a little trouble finding additional trays, but I believe this is a new model so I'm sure they'll be out soon. I can't comment on durability as I've only had it a couple of weeks, but it seems very well made. It's exceptionally quiet, only about as much noise as a box fan on low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Definitely worth the money!!

10/14/2013
By ,
Western Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dehydrator, better than I thought it would have been. Im very impressed. Bought it mainly for jerky, and it works great. Jerky is done in less than 10 hours. I like that it has temp settings, the only downfall is there's no on off switch. It has to be unplugged to be turned off. It's very quiet and cleans up easy. I would definitely recommend this dehydrator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 325 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next