Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(398 Reviews) 343
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
79
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation96%383 out of 397reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 266 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
79
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Easy to use

05/20/2013
By ,
Long beach, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this dehydrator. It's fits about 3-4 lbs of beef jerky. The only thing is that it doesn't have a timer to turn off. So most likely would make it overnight.. But the price is great..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful machine - Highly recommended

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using a 30 year-old old, "as seen on TV", convection type dehydrator regularly for Jerky and dog treat making. The trays had become brittle and were cracking; it took a long time to dehydrate and it was a pain to clean. Time for retirement. I researched thoroughly for a replacement and was constantly pointed to the Nesco FD-80.
I couldn't be more pleased ... very sturdy construction; top down heater (adjustable up to 160F) with a remarkably quiet fan; very easy to clean and it holds a lot more on 4 trays than round units hold on 6 trays. It will take an additional 4 trays - purchased separately. Because of the fan and higher heat, it dehydrates everything much more rapidly with no need to "rotate" the trays every couple oh hours.
Compared to other dehydrators out there, the Nesco gives fantastic value for $$$.
As always, great price and excellent service from Walmart. Walmart was $40 less than virtually all other sites ... including the manufacturer's site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Best Jerky Ever!

05/22/2011
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs.
w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it!
I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.!
I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe!
Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart!
If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great product

09/07/2014
By ,
Wytheville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am having fun with this. It doesn't bother me that there is no on/off switch because you leave it on for hours and don't have to turn it off to check the food. I would have rated it excellent if it had come with 4 plastic sheets instead of one. However I am using the plastic canvas sheets (found in craft stores) cut to fit and that works to keep food from sticking to the plastic so much. The square shape is definitely the way to go to fit more food on it. I haven't tried making jerky yet but have done bananas, pears, plums, apples, tomatoes, and am doing watermelon right now. Make your own trail mix or healthy snacks. I may get more trays because I have a garden and fruit trees but it holds more than I expected. It is pretty quiet. It is a comfort to have the temperature control and guidelines. There are a lot of helpful u tube videos to watch when trying out a new food item. I am glad I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Square design great for laying out beef jerky!

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used it once so far, with wonderful results. Used granny smith apples, red delicious apples and marinated sirloin tip for beef jerky. Did them all at the same time, with absolutely no blending of smells, meaning the apples tasted like apples! Everything got eaten in 2 days! Can't wait to do a whole 4 trays of beef jerky!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Reasonable, healthy treats for the dogs and family

10/27/2014
By ,
Toms River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. This is a first time using this type of product. I really bought it for dog treats, but after looking at all the things I can do with the dehydrator I am hooked on trying all the recipes that come my way. Easy clean up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

A great choice for the beginner.

10/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I are beginners in dehydrating foods and have found this
unit to be easy to use with quality construction. We are both very
satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Don't buy this for drying herbs!

08/22/2013
By ,
Marion, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Does the job well!

10/16/2014
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Nesco American Harvest dehydrator is very good for the price. It gets the job done and my only issue is the plastic trays seem a bit flimsy and I'm afraid they will not hold up over time, but we shall see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

best

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, I have two now and couldn't make all my dog treats with out them :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Exceptional Product!!

11/03/2013
By ,
Swainsboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great for beginning dehydrator

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great dehydrator for the beginner -- not too expensive, and easy to use. It has no timer, which means that the user has to watch the clock and keep checking the food to see if it is ready. Also, some units will shut off after a set time, but this one does not. Otherwise, it is quiet, easy to clean, and has multiple temperature settings that are suitable for herbs, fruit, jerky and fruit leather. We have been having a great time -- and have enjoyed dried apples, cherries, strawberries and peaches. Terrific for the summer harvest season!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

dries good

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it 3 times. Two times for herbs and once for apple slices. My only question is how long does it take for the plastic smell goes away. you can taste it in the apples. It does dry things evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Hopeful

09/27/2014
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely excited to get my new dehydrator. Unfortunately, once I had it full of fruit and vegetables, it worked for one hour then quit! All of the reviews that I read were good. I must have gotten a lemon. I'm going to return it and try again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Dehydrator But Needs TIMER!!!

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That's my only complaint - the lack of a timer. Otherwise, the device works as it is described, and zucchini squash turned out light and crunchy. However, I gave slices of watermelon and bananas a few extra hours with little change in their composition. Watermelon, if thinly sliced, turns out like a delightful fruit roll, while banana slices turned out as if not dehydrated at all - nothing like the ones bought at the store.
This is a great tool for someone wanting to easily store fruits and vegetables or someone wanting them (and I can't wait to try making jerky) with less messy fluid to deal with.
What more can you ask for for the price - except for a timer, for Pete's sake?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Amazed

03/02/2010
By ,
Sparks, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Very Happy with this dehydrator

09/05/2014
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the different reviews and borrowing my friends dehydrator, I got my self one. Very happy with this dehydrate. Love being able to choose the temp. to dry things at. The square shape makes it easier to dry so much more at once then the round ones. The price was excellent. There is another dehydrator that was as high or maybe 1/2% higher in ratings, but it was easily 3 times the price. This Nesco FD-80 is well within my budget. Only came with one clean a screens for fruits and no tray for the fruit roll ups. However, I was able to order these separately. Overall, the best dehydrator for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Basic dehydrator

09/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dehydrator was affordable compared to some of the others. It works well enough but takes a very long time to dry things. If I were to do it over again I would've bought a higher quality model. Excalibur or Nesco.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wow great beef jerky

06/06/2009
By ,
san diego ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+198points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful Dehydrator

06/15/2009
By ,
sandy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few weeks, but its been great. It cooks a lot faster than my previous dehydrator and the square shape allows for more on each tray. So far it can cook fruit leather in about 8 -12 hrs depending on how many trays at a time. Love the variable temperatures! Cons: wish it had an on/off switch. Only way to turn it off is to unplug it. Otherwise its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 344 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next