Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nesco Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Nesco american harvest square dehydrator and jerky maker is designed to dehydrate fruits, vegetables and fresh meat products. The square shaped flat surface provides more than 50% drying area. The Nesco 700 watt Food Dehydrator delivers high power ranges to quickly dry the food material, while not compromising the quality of the food. An adjustable thermostat in this Nesco Food Dehydrator helps in consistent results. A bail handle is provided to aid in removing the power head. The 2400 RPM fan and 700 watt motor makes for effective drying. With an integrated converge-flow drying action, the dehydrator eliminates the need for rotating the trays for quick and even heat distribution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(406 Reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
80
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation96%390 out of 405reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 271 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
80
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Easy to use

05/20/2013
By ,
Long beach, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this dehydrator. It's fits about 3-4 lbs of beef jerky. The only thing is that it doesn't have a timer to turn off. So most likely would make it overnight.. But the price is great..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful machine - Highly recommended

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using a 30 year-old old, "as seen on TV", convection type dehydrator regularly for Jerky and dog treat making. The trays had become brittle and were cracking; it took a long time to dehydrate and it was a pain to clean. Time for retirement. I researched thoroughly for a replacement and was constantly pointed to the Nesco FD-80.
I couldn't be more pleased ... very sturdy construction; top down heater (adjustable up to 160F) with a remarkably quiet fan; very easy to clean and it holds a lot more on 4 trays than round units hold on 6 trays. It will take an additional 4 trays - purchased separately. Because of the fan and higher heat, it dehydrates everything much more rapidly with no need to "rotate" the trays every couple oh hours.
Compared to other dehydrators out there, the Nesco gives fantastic value for $$$.
As always, great price and excellent service from Walmart. Walmart was $40 less than virtually all other sites ... including the manufacturer's site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Nice dehydrator

11/01/2014
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my new dehydrator. I have had it for about a week and have made apple, pineapple, banana slice along with two types of jerky, strips and ground and everything has come out great. With the ability to control the temperature from 95 to 160 degrees you get to control the proper curing time for products to prevent food poisoning. With the top mounted heat and fan you get even heat through all four trays. If after several hours of drying jerky you were to take the trays out and put them side by side, you would not be able to tell top from bottom. You do not have to rotate the trays but some time I do, so to tell them apart I took a magic marker and put little dots on the trays so I could tell and not ruin their appearance.
One trick they tell you in the book is to use a squirt of cooking spray on the trays to prevent any sticking and it is right on. I made beef jerky from meat that I ground and a jerky press and forgot to spray one of the trays that I used and I knew immediately which tray did not get the spray. It wasn't bad but it was easy to tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

The Best Jerky Ever!

05/22/2011
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has been making Jerky 4 like 15yrs.
w/ this Nesco Brand, only difference is her's is the round 1..! This was my 1st time making Jerky and i must say it was fabulous every time i made it!
I thought I would buy this 1 sense u can put more Jerky on it, and also makes it alot faster then my daughters which takes 8 hrs.!
I made my own marinade and used 5 lbs. of Lean London Broil and had the Butcher slice it 4 me free and it was exactly enough 2 fill all 4 trays plus 2 more after this and only took approximatley 5 hrs. and I never had 2 rotate it as my daughter does her round one, this 1 dehydrates very even and I got 2 full quart size bags, also it cleans very easily and is Dish Washer safe!
Received in like 3 days 2 my door Ty Walmart!
If u like Jerky w/ out the high store prices and only get but a few pieces in a bag, then u won't be disappointed in this product this will more then pay 4 itself 4 all us Jerky lovers!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great product

09/07/2014
By ,
Wytheville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am having fun with this. It doesn't bother me that there is no on/off switch because you leave it on for hours and don't have to turn it off to check the food. I would have rated it excellent if it had come with 4 plastic sheets instead of one. However I am using the plastic canvas sheets (found in craft stores) cut to fit and that works to keep food from sticking to the plastic so much. The square shape is definitely the way to go to fit more food on it. I haven't tried making jerky yet but have done bananas, pears, plums, apples, tomatoes, and am doing watermelon right now. Make your own trail mix or healthy snacks. I may get more trays because I have a garden and fruit trees but it holds more than I expected. It is pretty quiet. It is a comfort to have the temperature control and guidelines. There are a lot of helpful u tube videos to watch when trying out a new food item. I am glad I bought this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Don't buy this for drying herbs!

08/22/2013
By ,
Marion, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had a hard plastic dehydrator from the 1970s. It fell and broke so I needed a new one. I primarily dry herbs. Not finding any locally, I looked online and was delighted to see the Nesco at 4+ stars available from WalMart. The majority of reviews raved about jerky. I figured it must work for everything. First I did fresh figs - took twice as long as they said, but good results. Next I tried basil, as I'd be doing herbs the most. Preparation of the leaves was a lot fussier than my old dehydrator, but I followed directions and set at 95 degrees F. It said 24 hours (much longer than I was accustomed to, but the temp was lower). After 24 hours, my basil was merely wilted, as if I'd left it out on the counter. I flipped the order of the trays (you're not supposed to have to) and raised the temp 40 degrees. Another 24 hours, only half the lot was dried. I picked off the driest and let it go another 12 hours. That's 60 hours. And I STILL had to finish it off in my oven to get it crisp enough to jar. I returned the Nesco unit to the store, which at least was convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Broke after 3.5 months, very light use!

12/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased august 18th 2014 and stopped working December 2nd, 2014. - light use- very disappointing but under warranty. So far have spent 45 minutes to get warranty help, not to mention had to give away about a hundred dollars worth the produce we bought to dehydrate because it stopped working- no room in freezer and the food was to make layered soups. Now I have to pay shipping to return it for warranty service at the manufacturers company- purchase a box to ship it in, purchase insurance what a hassle especially since I purchased around $80.00 worth of accessory trays and fruit roll mats for this dehydrator so I feel compelled to send it back for repairs!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Exceptional Product!!

11/03/2013
By ,
Swainsboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a 2 round Nesco dehydrators for many years, one with a thermostat and one without. The description of this square model wasn't joking when it said this model holds 40% more than a round one. I had my local meat market slice a 4 lb. bottom end round roast (very lean & perfect for jerky). I marinated it overnight in the fridge and put it on at 10am the next morning. I'm used to my old round ones taking 12 to 14 hours. But after reading other reviews about how fast this one is, I decided to time it closely. By 3pm it was finished! Five hours instead of 12! WOW! I'm not easily impressed. This dehydrator impressed me. It is WELL worth the price and if you like making your own jerky or drying fruit or whatever you can use it for, you will love this machine! I think you'll be impressed, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great Dehydrator

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought extended warranty policy. Item arrived quickly, well-packed and intact.
Comes with four trays and one fruit roll sheet (a thick "mesh") that fits one entire tray. Trays are made of a durable and easy-to-clean plastic. Bottom tray of unit is easy to clean and catches spills (if any). Fan sits on top and stays clean.
Variable temperature settings with oven markings i.e., "125 degrees" and what most used for, such as "fruit", "vegetables," etc. Easy to move handle to set temperatures. No built-in automatic timer.
Not overly loud (fan). I have mine running in a maid's room off my kitchen and my husband didn't notice it was on while he walked past the doorway several times.
Great accompanying instruction book and a number of seasoning samples for jerky.
Enjoying my purchase. Hubby is enjoying zucchini chips, dehydrated mushrooms for cooking, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Amazed

03/02/2010
By ,
Sparks, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make jerky and dried goods for Sons in the US Military that are deployied. 6lbs at a time. So I have a 60s style Dehydrator and it would only hold 3-4 lbs and take 24 hrs. I was AMAZED that I fit 6 lb.s of meat on just 4 trays. At first I thought "Oh No gonna need more trays". Well I just could'nt believe it. Also very quiet operating. One of the best things, it says on the box, "Made in USA". Great recipes and great info manual. Cant beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Square design great for laying out beef jerky!

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used it once so far, with wonderful results. Used granny smith apples, red delicious apples and marinated sirloin tip for beef jerky. Did them all at the same time, with absolutely no blending of smells, meaning the apples tasted like apples! Everything got eaten in 2 days! Can't wait to do a whole 4 trays of beef jerky!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wow great beef jerky

06/06/2009
By ,
san diego ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far this is the best dehydrator, I have purchased.The unit has an adjustable thermostat so you can dry other foods and not turn them to powder or have them be too crispy.I have dehydrated steak,ground beef,chicken, and turkey and all took no more than 24 hours. This is the machine if you are tired of rotating your meat,and waiting for 2 -3 days.I am going to dry some fruit,this is great it has a setting for fruits too.Thanks Nesco
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Great for beginning dehydrator

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great dehydrator for the beginner -- not too expensive, and easy to use. It has no timer, which means that the user has to watch the clock and keep checking the food to see if it is ready. Also, some units will shut off after a set time, but this one does not. Otherwise, it is quiet, easy to clean, and has multiple temperature settings that are suitable for herbs, fruit, jerky and fruit leather. We have been having a great time -- and have enjoyed dried apples, cherries, strawberries and peaches. Terrific for the summer harvest season!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

great deal

11/08/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing works like a charm. Runs quiet, very easy to clean if you soak trays first in hot soapy water for a minute, and holds a lot. Like others have said wish it had off/on switch. So what I did I went to Hardware department in Wal-Mart, Lamp Switch Isle, got inline cord switch and instahled. Works great and now I have a on/off switch. Hope this helps. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80
04/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehydrator is great. I can make three pounds of beef jerkey using lean ground beef and the nesco jerky gun in about 4 1/2 to 5 hours. I used the Nesco mix that came with the dehydrator and with the jerkey gun, it turned out amazing. Everybody that as tried it has loved it with the exception of my 9 year old when I slipped him a piece of the hot and spicey. But he loves the original recipe jerky. I tried to dry bananas but I failed, they came out brown and mushy, then I tried again. I soaked them in lemon juice for 5 minutes then dried them for 14 hours and they turned out nice and crispy with lots of flavor. Strawberries and Pineapple are very tasty also. I highly reccomend this dehydrator... especially for the price. It produced very even drying and I had all 4 trays full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Wonderful Dehydrator

06/15/2009
By ,
sandy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few weeks, but its been great. It cooks a lot faster than my previous dehydrator and the square shape allows for more on each tray. So far it can cook fruit leather in about 8 -12 hrs depending on how many trays at a time. Love the variable temperatures! Cons: wish it had an on/off switch. Only way to turn it off is to unplug it. Otherwise its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Reasonable, healthy treats for the dogs and family

10/27/2014
By ,
Toms River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. This is a first time using this type of product. I really bought it for dog treats, but after looking at all the things I can do with the dehydrator I am hooked on trying all the recipes that come my way. Easy clean up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Unbelievable!

05/16/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space: Before purchasing I read the reviews about how much more space this square dehydrator offered compared to round ones. When I got mine home and opened the box, I just couldn't see that it would offer any additional space. It didn't look any larger. Boy was I wrong! I was able to get my whole batch of beef jerky in to dry when on my old one I couldn't and it had more trays. I know this because my old one quit working only a few hours into the process so I had to get this one to finish the job.
Speed: Old one took about 3 days for a whole batch of jerky. This one, 11 hours! Could have been faster than that but I didn't check it. I was stunned. I initially got this only to make jerky, but since it's so fast I am considering drying fruit too. I tried drying fruit on my old one but it took forever. I think this one is so fast that it'll make it worth the effort.
Noise: It hardly make any noise. This thing is so quiet, I know on future batches I'll forget that it's running because it so hard to hear. My hubby walked right by this one while it was running and didn't even hear it. If he had heard it I know he would've raided it!
On/Off Switch: I know others have said it would be nice to have a switch, and I agree. However, a switch can break so with no switch that means there's one less thing to go wrong. So looking on the positive side, I don't mind at all.
Site-to-Store: My first time using this. It was great. Would definitely use it again if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Best dehydrator I've used

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We make chicken jerky for our little dog. The last one I bought was hard to clean and it finally just blew up. I searched the web and came across this one and ordered it. I am very pleased. What I do like about it that the motor is on the top and none of the juices from the chicken come in contact with it. It is easy to use, easy to clean and works fast. I can get 6 pounds of cut up chicken on it at a time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco American Harvest Square Dehydrator and Jerky Maker, FD-80

Best Ever!

06/06/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased a Ronco Dehydrator and it stood up well, over 10 years of jerky making. Took 12+ hours and had to rotate trays and remove metal heating element to clean bottom rack. WITH THIS DEHYDRATOR THERE IS NO TRAY ROTATING, 2LBS OF BEEF DONE IN 4 OR LESS HOURS AND CLEAN UP IS A BREEZE!! The motor being on the top is great because it never comes in contact with the items on the trays. Would recommend an on/off switch though!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 352 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next