Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maxell Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Maxell Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Enjoy stereo surround sound on your portable MP3, CD, DVD player, or iPod with Maxell NB/HB-210 neckband head buds. These Maxell stereo earbuds feature a unique close fitting wrap around design and have soft silicone tips for extended wear and comfort. These 15mm driver earphones feature neodymium magnets for high performance, and a sporty, low-profile design.
Average Customer Rating:
3.553 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation68%26 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Great Bargain

10/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Previous reviews made me cautious, but for $5 I figured that I could risk it. The headset is of a one size fits all configuration - leading to the painful pressure that other reviewers have reported. I took a heat gun to the center of the neck strap area and "opened up" the distance between the earbuds. That made it more comfortable, but not perfect. I then heated up the rear of the earbud sections and "twisted" the earbuds slightly so that they'd point into the fleshy portion of the ear canal. Problem solved, product works wonderfully now at a very low cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Cheap for a reason

03/07/2010
By ,
milwaukee,Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed headphones for running. Got this after reading the positive reviews. . After 10 mins of running, my ears started to hurt. Every time the wire touches your clothing you hear a scraping sound that overwhelms the music. Its not adjustable. So, if it does not fit you well you cant adjust it. So, i returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Awfull

06/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wearing this headset was like having a railroad spike driven into each ear. After 2 hours the pain was unbearable and I had to take them off. My ears were sore for the next 2 days. Walmart.com was great to deal with and I would certainly buy from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

just ordered 2 more

06/13/2009
By ,
South Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have played 20+ years as a professional drummer. I was at a show and left my headphones at home. I ran to Wal-Mart and had enough in my pocket to get these maxell headphones, so I bought them and I used these little headhones on stage and was very happy with their performance. They are a little hard and need some padding but I got used to them and was overall happy. They are well worth the pocket change it takes to buy them. I like them so much I just bought 2 more online. Great for my MP3 player! Great Gift Idea!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Very Uncomfortable!

12/16/2009
By ,
Medaryville, Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This headphones have great sound, but have really bulky ear pieces and are extremely uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Great for Hearing Impaired

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have profound hearing loss and require hearing aids 24/7 - except that I hate them and wear them as little as possible. I generally watch TV and movies through my computer with these headphones and would highly recommend them to those doing the same or watching a standard TV set.
The highest priced headphones which "float" over the ears are useless to me. I cannot decipher spoken words correctly with any over-the-ear type headphones with foam either. Ear-buds constantly fall out and I have torn the cords from the buds dozens of times.
These guys are comfortably "tight", durable, and sit directly IN my ear canal. I pull them off by the neckband, not the buds or cords. Best yet is that I can actually HEAR everything at a moderate sound level. No more TV at full blast with closed captioning! I don't even use the CC any longer.
I have used these for 2 years now and just ordered/received 2 more as backups. I tested one and I think the sound is even better - so I'm using that one now. I'm going to order 1 more, just in case. Don't let the price fool you... they are excellent - at least for my needs. I would gladly pay 10 times the amount for these as I have a drawer full of inadequate earphones that cost me much, much more.
Maybe I'll order 2 more for prosperity. Heck, the price is right. And this was my first Ship-to-Store experience. It went very well. My very first Wally review, too.
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Good product for the price range.

11/30/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For this price range, it's a fairly good product. Noise isolation is typically good. Takes a while for your ears to adjust to the shape but then it's fun using it.
But if you are using some clothing to cover your head in winter, then this - although being a 'neck-band' earbud - isn't useful as it would obstruct the clothing somewhere at the back of your temple. Else thumbs up to this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Painful

02/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased these specifically for the behind-the-neck band because ear buds (like ipod earbuds) fall out of my ears when I run. I've used this style before, even a one-size-fits-all model, but never by Maxwell. Maxwell's one-size-fits-all is just too tight, and therefore painful. I can only last about 10 minutes before I take them out. The sound and weight is great, but I cannot run with pain - it's hard enough to exercise. Do not buy these - spend some more money and purchase something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Awesome

02/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good deal for the price. The sound quality is the best I have ever heard in any headphones under $20. Best type of earbud headphones, because they only come out when you want them to. The only con I can think of is the plastic earbuds are hard and take a while to adjust to and are probably not a good idea for those who are overly sensitive.
I use these headphones everyday while working and will never buy any other type other than these for now on. hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Great product for the money

12/31/2011
By ,
Naples, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two to wear while I run each day. A little adjustment was required, but the sound is great and they lasted a long time before the wires finally broke (as they do in all headphones when used for running, no matter the price). I just ordered four more. I will use these as long as Walmart sells them. Easily the most functional cheap headphones I have ever used!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

greatest 1'z ever bought

11/11/2009
By ,
Venice, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey peeps i bought these head phones about a month and these are now my main pc headphones. They get pulled on abused and sat on. THEY ARE GREAT!!! MOST HEADPHONES WHOULD GO MONO OVER DIS ABUSE THESE DO NOT!!! XOXOXOXOXXOXOXOXOXOXO THESE PHONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

less broken headphones

06/21/2009
By ,
fort smith, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you ever sleep with your headphones or are replacing them alot this is the headphones for you this is only my second pair in about 3 years so its worth a couple extra bucks compared to cheaper ones that only sale for a little bit cheaper and end up breaking these headphones have the potential to be louder then the cheaper ones that you put over your ears instead of in your ears and another thing i like about these they dont constantly fall off like the ones you put over your ears
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Great sound

01/08/2010
By ,
Coatesville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these for the family for Xmas as stocking stuffers and the kids love them. My husband said they will be perfect to use when riding the motorcycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Excellent product

11/17/2009
By ,
lawrence, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent little earphones. Only knock is not adjustable. But for the price i will buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

They Hurt

09/04/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got them the music is okay but if you turn your volume up above half of the limit other people can hear your music. They are too BIG. They hurt my ears and they are so big there is no growing into them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

not for athletes

01/09/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i got these for the gym/running which i do very often. i have been through well over 10 pair trying to find the best so thought i would try these after returning some sony around the ear (not bad, but kept going out over time with the sweat). these earphones are bad. the sound is bad and worse than that, they hurt. the only positive thing i can say about them is that they will not fall out. also whenever the wire or head piece rubs or hits anything, you hear it through the earphones. i bought some yurbuds and they seem to be worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

OUCHHH!!!

11/17/2011
By ,
Byram, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I picked these up for listening to music at work and they were pretty cheap. Wearing these is the most uncomfortable my ears have ever felt. The railroad spike comment someone made isn't far off. If you need to wear these more than 5 minutes at a time then don't buy them! The sound quality is pretty good, but definitely not worth the pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Definitely not Sennheizer

07/31/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive replacement for my Sennheiser earphones. Maxell's earphones are definitely not Sennheier. I immediately threw the lousy-sound-quality Maxell earphones in the trash and paid the higher price for the Sennheisers.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

A solution for lil ears

12/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old daughter has had problems with ear buds not fitting her, I decided to give these a try since they didn't actually have to fit in her ear. They worked perfectly. The sound and quality are great for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxell Lightweight Stereo Neck Band Earbuds

Forget about it!

11/22/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By far the most painful headphones ever made. After 30 seconds they went back into the package and I am retuning them tomorrow. Sound reproduction was what you would expect from $5 headphones. Tinny with 0 bass reproduction.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next