Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

This feature-packed camcorder is great for recording life's special monents. By setting time intervals for frame capture, you can take full advantage of the Time Lapse Recording function. This feature uses selective frame capture to record over an extended period of time. You'll see the effects of long-term recording condensed into a shorter time frame. Plus, the unique Swivel Hand-Grip design makes shooting difficult angles a snap. With a flick of the wrist, you can change the shoot angle of the camcorder to take the perfect video every time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation38%5 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

Software Problems

08/02/2009
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera is okay. The flash drive recordings are NOT good quality. I get better shots from my little point and shoot digital camera that takes short video clips... DVD recording is better but when I went to install the software on my computer it said it could cause System Failures and might not be compatible with my computer. Even though it says it works with XP, perhaps you have to have a DVD burner and accompanying software.
I'm going to try to take it back and get one that has built in memory and not have to worry about the whole DVD burning process.... if I can find the stupid box :o/
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 2 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

horrible product

07/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product for our vacation and to record our children while my husband is overseas and so far i get half way through a disk and it gives me a disk error. I am very unhappy with this product and will be returning it for a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

Would Recommend

11/19/2009
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my camcorder for a year and a half and I love it, I have no complaints about it. If your looking for a camcorder I would recommend this one, mine has been a good on, it's with stood my little boy who is now 3yrs old, never sits still and loves to record and take pictures of his little sister (7wks old) and everything else.
I love my little camcorder!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 4 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

An Excellent Product to Purchase

07/22/2009
By ,
Mableton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Samsung SC - DX205 DVD Camcorder is one step higher than its predecessor SC - DX103/105. The Zoom factor and the LCD Display size are the same. The big difference is the ability to use SD/SDHC card storage media. In the older model only SD cards are accepted i.e., Maximum storage size is 2 GB. In this model the SDHC card allows the Camcorder to accept storage size 8X times or even more. The maximum SDHC size available now is 16 GB which is about 486 minutes of good quality video. This Camcorder model features a full function remote control that is not seen in the older model. Overall this product is great for both indoor and outdoor activities. It also the same DVD features as its predecessor. I only wish that the DVD media available can store a lot more video than the SD/SDHC card storage media on this camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

Would not buy again!

06/18/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My camcorder worked for the first 6 months. Just long enough for the warranty to run out. And when it did work, the video was jumpy and skipped a lot. I have not been able to use it not even once in months. All the DVD's have "disk errors" and the battery drains within 20 minutes. Samsung wants me to pay over $200 to fix it. I would rather cut my losses and buy a camcorder from a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

DISK ERROR

05/04/2010
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bout this camcorder a few months ago and about the time you get to the end of a mini dvd it stops recording and shows a disk error. And you lose all your info. This is now the 2nd time it has done this. I am taking it back to the store and getting my money back and getting something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

Samsung DVD camera not recommended

07/21/2009
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was shipped with a dead battery. When connected to AC for power, the DVD created a grinding and clicking sound making recording with sound impossible.
I had to return the camera to my nearest WalMart and request a cash refund, then purchase a Canon still camera with movie option, and a 4GB memory card.
I strongly suggest you stay away from this product, and if possible avoid mini-DVD cameras in general, unless you have no DVD burning drive or software installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

not as expected

09/04/2010
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A well built DVD camera but rather hard to use. The sound is raspy and the anti-shake is less than desireable. Down loading to your computer requires a masters degree in computer and camera technology. My last camera a Sony, required only to plug a wire from the camera to the computer and everything else was basically automatic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens

Awsome

06/29/2010
By ,
Zachary, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this product. It did what I needed it to do. The dvd side recorded but I couldn't make a copy to duplicate. As long as the sd slot did the job it was ok with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens
07/08/2009
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Takes horrible still shots. For recording a video, it's okay. I wanted a camera that takes great still shots and great video. I am returning it. Not worth 250.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung SC-DX205 Black DVD Digital Camcorder with 34x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD, SD/SDHC Card Slot, Schneider Lens
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5