Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Keep those classic movies up and running with this Maxell VP-100 VHS head cleaner. It safely cleans the entire tape path and tape head. The cleaner lasts for 100 uses so you can get all of your tapes in working order right away. This VCR head cleaner also comes with a speaker check for added convenience. It is an ideal choice for homes with VHS systems will make a functional addition to your media collection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation61%92 out of 152reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

not so sure it does anything

07/19/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tape plays around 15 seconds or so and is at its end, no indication of improvement on tv screen. wish I could find the old maxell vhs cleaner I once had that played a short video and one can actually watch improvement as it plays.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Did Not Work!!

03/24/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought the Maxell Dry Video Head Cleaner in the past and loved it. Even lasted well past the 100 uses. My last one (that I had for years upon years) finally was getting overworked so I look to see if they still made them. I was glad to find they did, but concerned that the packaging was not the same and the reviews were so terrible. Decided to go ahead and try anyway. I didn't have to use it for a while (hence the reason I was unable to return# but when I did, it did the same as the most other reviewers. It would not play at all, sounded like a screeching noise #like it could not be played#, and then turned off my VCR!! It cleaned nothing, did not work #I tried it a few more times just to make sure and am grateful it did not ruin my VCR#, and had to throw it away!! Try to find a different solution! This is not like the great Maxell Cleaner we were used to in the past! Apparently quality if no longer a concern if it is for VCR's! :# I wish I would have spent my money more wisely!! I don't know why but this review is putting # symbols in place of most of my parenthesis.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Doesn't Work and Almost Damaged my VCR

06/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second one of these head cleaners I tried. The first time the tape failed to move in the VCR and I returned it. Thinking it was that I just got a bad one I tried again and this time the tape also didn't move and to make matters worse, when I went to try playing my VCR again, there was no picture alternating with black and white bands of squiggly lines that covered the screen--seemed the head cleaner tape deposited some residue on the VCR heads and it was way worse than before I used it. We had to take apart the VCR on our own and clean the heads using rubbing alcohol following a video we found on YouTube about how to clean the heads on your VCR and after doing that the picture came back. But that was extra work and drama we were not looking for. I would not buy this product and it's going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Still trying ...

07/11/2014
By ,
Gulfport, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a old [don't we all] Panansonic VCR. I notice the lines coming up indicating dirty heads. I bought the dry version of a head cleaner b/c it has worked in the past [early 2000s] They weren't maxell but if figured i give it a shot.
I used it several times [at various speeds] and while it has improved the integrity of the image, the lines still popped in from minimal at the top, to semi-severe to the middle of the screen. it doesn't last long but it still impedes the enjoyment of watching the tape. I run the cleaner after every viewing in the hopes it will clean the heads better....so far it has helped only slightly.
I think I'll try a wet version and see if that helps
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Did the job

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am satisfied that this head cleaner did the job and cleaned the tracks in my various VCRs which I use constantly on a daily basis.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Excellent results

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleaned the visual and audio heads with just the first use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

wont work

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought 3 of these for family and self. first one i opened and tried to use and it did not work. didn't even run at all in vcr.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Waste o money

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tape unwound inside my machine, now the vcr doesn't work
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

VCR Head Cleaner

07/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine basic head cleaner that does not use a liquid. Maxell states that it can be used up to 100 times. Plays a left right channel test while cleaning. As far as I can tell, it works fine at cleaning the heads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Maxwell VCRF cleaner

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked well on my VCR, had used before over years, this was a replacement !.
Very hard to find, so I was glad Walmart had in stock online.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Different item sent than pictured

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to get the item pictured but instead got same type of product but not the one I wanted. This cleaner comes with no instructions whatsoever, written or audio. The only way I "think" it's cleaning is the grating sound I hear when tape is playing. Also it seems you have to rewind after each cleaning and no instruction as to how often this can be done. Very disappointed,especially since the one pictured I have owned before and IT works flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

VCR still works like a champ

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this VCR cleaner for my mom since she still missed her VHS movies and couldn't find out where to buy the cleaner. I found it online at Walmart and set it up for her to pick it up at her nearest location (we live half way across the country). She picked it up with no problems and is a happy camper watching her movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Good Head Cleaner

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a VCR that was dirty from an old tape, when I used the head cleaner it cleared lines in the video signal right up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Great Dry-Type VCR Cleaner

10/23/2014
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great cleaner to use on your VCR to keep it in good working condition. I prefer the dry-type cleaner over the wet type. You can't go wrong by using this product after so many hours of playing your VCR to keep it working well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Kinda Worried

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our VCR! When it needed to be cleaned we panicked because we didn't expect to find cleaning tapes. WalMart had them! Affordable too!
We were kinda worried because the reviews were about 50/50.
Thankfully, it worked. It did take 2 runs with the cleaning tape before we got a response but now our regular VHS tapes play just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Hard to find, worth it though.

07/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is hard to find due to everything going blue-ray these days. but if you still have some old VHS tapes that you like to view and the VCR is a little cloudy, this will clear it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Not working properly

10/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not working properly
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry
12/30/2009
By ,
Ballwin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - arrived asap - great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

It does not work

12/01/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It turned off in 3 seconds and I had to take apart my VCR/TV combo to get the tape out. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

so far so good, used twice

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
product did not say how many uses you get out of it,
it did say to use after every 20-30 hours of taping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next