Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Keep those classic movies up and running with this Maxell VP-100 VHS head cleaner. It safely cleans the entire tape path and tape head. The cleaner lasts for 100 uses so you can get all of your tapes in working order right away. This VCR head cleaner also comes with a speaker check for added convenience. It is an ideal choice for homes with VHS systems will make a functional addition to your media collection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.045 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
30
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
74
Customer Recommendation55%98 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
30
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
74
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

not so sure it does anything

07/19/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tape plays around 15 seconds or so and is at its end, no indication of improvement on tv screen. wish I could find the old maxell vhs cleaner I once had that played a short video and one can actually watch improvement as it plays.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Did Not Work!!

03/24/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought the Maxell Dry Video Head Cleaner in the past and loved it. Even lasted well past the 100 uses. My last one (that I had for years upon years) finally was getting overworked so I look to see if they still made them. I was glad to find they did, but concerned that the packaging was not the same and the reviews were so terrible. Decided to go ahead and try anyway. I didn't have to use it for a while (hence the reason I was unable to return# but when I did, it did the same as the most other reviewers. It would not play at all, sounded like a screeching noise #like it could not be played#, and then turned off my VCR!! It cleaned nothing, did not work #I tried it a few more times just to make sure and am grateful it did not ruin my VCR#, and had to throw it away!! Try to find a different solution! This is not like the great Maxell Cleaner we were used to in the past! Apparently quality if no longer a concern if it is for VCR's! :# I wish I would have spent my money more wisely!! I don't know why but this review is putting # symbols in place of most of my parenthesis.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Maxell. VCR. Cleaner

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

maxell vcr head cleaner

05/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 2 VCR/DVDRs sold at Walmart. Both head cleaners turn off the machine when I click on play. Total waste of my money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Item is not as pictured

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item was not as pictured. I returned it to Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

VCR Head Cleaner

07/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine basic head cleaner that does not use a liquid. Maxell states that it can be used up to 100 times. Plays a left right channel test while cleaning. As far as I can tell, it works fine at cleaning the heads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Doesn't Work and Almost Damaged my VCR

06/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second one of these head cleaners I tried. The first time the tape failed to move in the VCR and I returned it. Thinking it was that I just got a bad one I tried again and this time the tape also didn't move and to make matters worse, when I went to try playing my VCR again, there was no picture alternating with black and white bands of squiggly lines that covered the screen--seemed the head cleaner tape deposited some residue on the VCR heads and it was way worse than before I used it. We had to take apart the VCR on our own and clean the heads using rubbing alcohol following a video we found on YouTube about how to clean the heads on your VCR and after doing that the picture came back. But that was extra work and drama we were not looking for. I would not buy this product and it's going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Good Head Cleaner

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a VCR that was dirty from an old tape, when I used the head cleaner it cleared lines in the video signal right up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Hard to find, worth it though.

07/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is hard to find due to everything going blue-ray these days. but if you still have some old VHS tapes that you like to view and the VCR is a little cloudy, this will clear it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry
12/30/2009
By ,
Ballwin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - arrived asap - great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Still trying ...

07/11/2014
By ,
Gulfport, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a old [don't we all] Panansonic VCR. I notice the lines coming up indicating dirty heads. I bought the dry version of a head cleaner b/c it has worked in the past [early 2000s] They weren't maxell but if figured i give it a shot.
I used it several times [at various speeds] and while it has improved the integrity of the image, the lines still popped in from minimal at the top, to semi-severe to the middle of the screen. it doesn't last long but it still impedes the enjoyment of watching the tape. I run the cleaner after every viewing in the hopes it will clean the heads better....so far it has helped only slightly.
I think I'll try a wet version and see if that helps
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Not as advertised

11/13/2013
By ,
Weslaco, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item clearly states on the box in the picture that there are ON SCREEN instructions. My previous Maxwell dry VCR cleaners had this feature. The maxwell dry VCR cleaner I received does NOT have on screen instructions and has messed up my VCR. Grrrrrrrrr
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Different item sent than pictured

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to get the item pictured but instead got same type of product but not the one I wanted. This cleaner comes with no instructions whatsoever, written or audio. The only way I "think" it's cleaning is the grating sound I hear when tape is playing. Also it seems you have to rewind after each cleaning and no instruction as to how often this can be done. Very disappointed,especially since the one pictured I have owned before and IT works flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

It does not work

12/01/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It turned off in 3 seconds and I had to take apart my VCR/TV combo to get the tape out. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Thank You Walmart!

12/04/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I own over 300 VHS Movies I constantly use my 3 VCRs. These Head Cleaners are invaluable to keeping my VCRs working properly and insuring that I am taping "clean"copies of programs. The one place I can always find them is at Walmart.com. The service is Great and the Price is a Real Bargain. Please, Keep on stocking this product since - contrary to most retailers beliefs - many of your customers are still using VCRs. I appreciate the fact that Walmart gets this concept!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Don't waste your money or time! Horrendous!

03/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have an old tv/vcr combo for my kids to use with my old tapes, they love it but after sitting so long everything is dusty. I bought this after reading the positive and negative reviews which is why the second I got it I putnit in my VCR. It is total junk, you put it in and it screeches and buzzes with the fuzzy screen no picture and shuts down the VCR after a minute. The picture looks worse now than before. The only upside is its a Walmart.com product so I can return this worthless piece of junk right back to the store and hopefully find something that works. Waste of time and money!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Poor quality

12/05/2013
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used 1 of each of these head cleaners in 2 VCR's. This product tangled up in both VCR's, never went through a cycle and now neither VCR works. I am now stuck with 2 non working VCR's; I did get my $10.00 back; a drop in the bucket for what I lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Not worth it.

11/07/2013
By ,
Elkton,md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried it in my first VCR and mad a scratching noise and tape reel stuck in VCR. Tried again same results. Played a regular tape and that didn't happen. Doesn't seem to be working. Not even worth taking it back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

poor quality

11/27/2013
By ,
canton,oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i used the cleaner and it made screeching noise and when i went to play a tape I couldn't get a picture. then in my other vcr the tape unwound. will never buy this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Best tape cleaner ever made.

11/11/2013
By ,
Hancock County, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If this tape cleaner cannot fix the problem, it's probably time to toss the VHS tape player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next