Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Maxell Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Keep those classic movies up and running with this Maxell VP-100 VHS head cleaner. It safely cleans the entire tape path and tape head. The cleaner lasts for 100 uses so you can get all of your tapes in working order right away. This VCR head cleaner also comes with a speaker check for added convenience. It is an ideal choice for homes with VHS systems will make a functional addition to your media collection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.164 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation58%96 out of 165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

not so sure it does anything

07/19/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tape plays around 15 seconds or so and is at its end, no indication of improvement on tv screen. wish I could find the old maxell vhs cleaner I once had that played a short video and one can actually watch improvement as it plays.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Did Not Work!!

03/24/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought the Maxell Dry Video Head Cleaner in the past and loved it. Even lasted well past the 100 uses. My last one (that I had for years upon years) finally was getting overworked so I look to see if they still made them. I was glad to find they did, but concerned that the packaging was not the same and the reviews were so terrible. Decided to go ahead and try anyway. I didn't have to use it for a while (hence the reason I was unable to return# but when I did, it did the same as the most other reviewers. It would not play at all, sounded like a screeching noise #like it could not be played#, and then turned off my VCR!! It cleaned nothing, did not work #I tried it a few more times just to make sure and am grateful it did not ruin my VCR#, and had to throw it away!! Try to find a different solution! This is not like the great Maxell Cleaner we were used to in the past! Apparently quality if no longer a concern if it is for VCR's! :# I wish I would have spent my money more wisely!! I don't know why but this review is putting # symbols in place of most of my parenthesis.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Doesn't work/didn't get what I ordered

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't receive the product as shown on the web site. No on-screen directions which help you know what the tape is doing and you can clearly see that the tape is actually cleaning. I've read other reviews that complain about the same thing - not getting the product as advertised and the tape only runs a few seconds and then cuts off. Returned the product to my local store. So, don't waste your time ordering this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

vhs tape head cleaner.

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the tape was broken when received.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

This one didnt work.

01/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sorry to say I had to return this to Walmart because the head cleaner would not operate. Probably an isolated incidence but still frustrating.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

was defective

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was not satisfied did not do the job. I think something was wrong with tape..would like like a replacement sent to me..thank you
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

very bad product

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Every player I put it in shuts off vcr then when I turned them on it would eject the tape. But any other tape would play ok I would not recommend this product
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Have the correct picture

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The one I got didn't match the picture, I wanted the one pictured.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

fuggitit

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It doesn't work. When played the picture and sound are garbled!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

VCR Head Cleaner

07/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine basic head cleaner that does not use a liquid. Maxell states that it can be used up to 100 times. Plays a left right channel test while cleaning. As far as I can tell, it works fine at cleaning the heads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Doesn't Work and Almost Damaged my VCR

06/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second one of these head cleaners I tried. The first time the tape failed to move in the VCR and I returned it. Thinking it was that I just got a bad one I tried again and this time the tape also didn't move and to make matters worse, when I went to try playing my VCR again, there was no picture alternating with black and white bands of squiggly lines that covered the screen--seemed the head cleaner tape deposited some residue on the VCR heads and it was way worse than before I used it. We had to take apart the VCR on our own and clean the heads using rubbing alcohol following a video we found on YouTube about how to clean the heads on your VCR and after doing that the picture came back. But that was extra work and drama we were not looking for. I would not buy this product and it's going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

gives old films new life

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helps old films play like new.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Still trying ...

07/11/2014
By ,
Gulfport, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a old [don't we all] Panansonic VCR. I notice the lines coming up indicating dirty heads. I bought the dry version of a head cleaner b/c it has worked in the past [early 2000s] They weren't maxell but if figured i give it a shot.
I used it several times [at various speeds] and while it has improved the integrity of the image, the lines still popped in from minimal at the top, to semi-severe to the middle of the screen. it doesn't last long but it still impedes the enjoyment of watching the tape. I run the cleaner after every viewing in the hopes it will clean the heads better....so far it has helped only slightly.
I think I'll try a wet version and see if that helps
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

no good. don't waste your time.

01/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this did not work and my children are not happy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Did not work

01/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loaded but did not seem to engage. Indicator on the screen showed no tape in the vcr. Tried several times with no success.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Good Head Cleaner

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a VCR that was dirty from an old tape, when I used the head cleaner it cleared lines in the video signal right up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Hard to find, worth it though.

07/22/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is hard to find due to everything going blue-ray these days. but if you still have some old VHS tapes that you like to view and the VCR is a little cloudy, this will clear it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

a VCR necessity

12/23/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a basic need for anyone who still uses a VCR for taping / playback of their VHS tapes. The head cleaner is simple to use, and Maxell is a brand I've trusted since I got my first VCR.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry

Different item sent than pictured

03/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to get the item pictured but instead got same type of product but not the one I wanted. This cleaner comes with no instructions whatsoever, written or audio. The only way I "think" it's cleaning is the grating sound I hear when tape is playing. Also it seems you have to rewind after each cleaning and no instruction as to how often this can be done. Very disappointed,especially since the one pictured I have owned before and IT works flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxell Video Head Cleaner, Dry
12/30/2009
By ,
Ballwin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - arrived asap - great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next