Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

This GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint, has a two- to four-hour off timer and is Energy Star rated, which is designed to help you save on utility costs. The air-filter dehumidifier has a washable air filter and an external drain for removal of the water collected from the air. An automatic defrost control keeps this dehumidifier from freezing up. With three fan speeds, the defrost dehumidifier allows for low-temperature operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%91 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

QUIET!!!! and efficient

07/24/2009
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of using a dehumidifer - it died sending me on a search of replacement. While GE was on back order with Walmart and there was no way of knowing if it will be available at all I went and risked bying a different type at Sears. I had to return it few days later as the noise was unbearable. I waited number of days before I got an email about the GE dehumidifier from Walmart being finally shipped. WHAT A DIFFERENCE: GE is QUIET comparing to other brands! I can watch TV in the same room with GE Dehumidifer running. The bucket is also much easier to install although when emptying it you need to take your time to avoid spills. Do not consider getting any other brand bexcept GE. Works efficiently, quietly AND discharges hot air on the top instead of back or sides allowing for more convenient placement in the room. And it was slightly cheaper then any other comparable product on the market. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! it is worth the wait!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Works very well

07/13/2009
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third dehumidifier that I have purchased in recent years. All the controls function as they should. It has a much better system to hook up a garden hose to drain the water. I have it in the basement and the hose is hooked up to a hole in the concrete floor to permit drainage. The previous dehumidifiers I owned did not have the same type of hookup for a garden hose and did not work as well. I highly recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+87points
Review 3 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

It works

07/13/2009
By ,
Bemidji, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased about 1 month ago. Started using it immediately in lower level of home next to water tank. I have it set to continuous operation which keeps the humidity level down to around 40%. I live in Northern Minnesota so gage your humidity level in comparison to ours. The basement is under 1,000 sq ft. The unit is nice looking and easy to use. Did not need the owners manual to get it started. I empty the unit daily. Fan is set to high (maximum) which is not nearly as loud as I had expected it to be. However if the unit is set in close range to the TV you will have to turn up the volume a bit. Other fan levels are very quiet and pleasant. Very pleased with the unit, it is as I expected however if I were to purchase over again, I would get a larger unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 4 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Excellent Choice

05/21/2009
By ,
Leominster MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Quieter than the rest, and a SUPER value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 5 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Dehumidifier, GE, 50-pint

07/09/2009
By ,
Greeley, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs quietly, controls are easy to operate, castors are a good feature. Appearance is a clean design so it could be used in any room. The condensate bucket a bit difficult to empty without spilling some.
Overall this was a good buy; other brands were rated much lower by Consumer Reports and users (e.g. Kenmore).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Works well

06/05/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier does it's job well. It's not super quiet, but if you put it on low speed, it's not bad. Mine is outside my bedroom, and on low I can sleep with it on. I like having access to the resevoir in the front, and with a handle; it makes it much easier to empty than those with back access. I've only had it about a month, so I can't address durability. It's a bit pricey, but mostly you get what you pay for....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 7 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Noisy Noisy!

12/01/2009
By ,
Columbus area, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Lots of features, like the e-z clean air filter, 3 fan speeds, simple hose connection and effectiveness at removing moisture
Cons: Very loud. I bought this unit primarily because of the reviews on this and other websites that talked about the unit being quiet. No such luck for me. The plastic case pieces somehow vibrate when the compressor runs and it buzzes very loudly. Forget watching TV or listening to music in the same room. We have the unit in the basement rec room and I can hear it in the 2nd floor bedroom at opposite corner. No help from GE website. Tried various positions, straps, blocks without luck. Next I'll try taking case apart and inserting rubber bushings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

thumbsdown

10/09/2009
By ,
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I owned this product for about 18 months and it has quit working already?!! I owned a Whirlpool before this and it worked for over 8 yrs. before it was struck by lightning.Both cost about approximately $200.00. I'm very disappointed with GE and won't be buying any products from them any time soon if they can't build a better product than this or back it any better!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

It's going back to the store

12/17/2009
By ,
Monterey California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have needed to use dehumidifiers in my basement apartment for years. This is the worst one I have ever tried. It's made in China, in case you were wondering, although the quality seems to be fine.
First of all, there is no remote control as the Walmart website indicates. Which isn't really important.
What is important, is that this unit, which is not inexpensive, has no automatic shutoff when the pre-set humidity level is reached! It just keeps running and running forever until you manually turn it off. Yes, there is a digital humidity gauge and preset display, which is apparently designed to shut the compressor off when the pre-set is reached, but not the noisy fan. In my case it didn't even do that.
Further, I was not able to get it to dry the room lower than 50% humidity, and the room is not that big. It was able to pull ambient 65% down to 50% in 24 hours and maxed out at that point, even though I set the pre-set at 45%.
If you want this unit to just temporarily dry out a space to no better than 50%, it will do fine for you. If you want it for a living space or bedroom and to operate automatically, forget it. If you want to see about 45% humidity, forget it.
The fan is very noisy, more so than my previous Kenmore unit. The fan speed setting is meaningless, because the dehumidifier will periodically revert the fan to high speed, apparently to defrost the coils, and that goes on constantly and will drive you nuts.
The manual says the it shuts off when the bucket is removed. Well, no it does not. Possibly the compressor shuts off when the bucket is removed, but not the fan or the unit itself. The bucket is easily removable, but small and does not hold much water (50 pints means how much water it removes from the air, not the size of the bucket.)
Bottom line - this unit is totally unsuitable for an occupied living space, because it's too loud, and does not have automatic operation. It's incapable of easily reducing the humidity below 50%, as well.
If you know what to expect in a dehumidifier, it would be hard to believe you would be happy with this thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Worked great but died after 2 Years

05/07/2012
By ,
West Virgina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this item in May 2010. I used a drain hose with the unit. The unit worked great for a about a year until the drain opening plugged with slime inside the machine & wouldn’t allow water to flow through the drain opening into the hose. The unit was still operable at this point allowing water to drain into the bucket. I didn’t have any problems until about a week ago when the sealed system leaked oil all over my floor. The warranty is only good for one year on the total unit. No additional 5 year warranty for the sealed system like many other dehumidifiers. I contacted GE. They offered a rebate for a new GE dehumidifier but refused to repair the old one. I declined the rebate offer since my next dehumidifier will not be manufactured by GE due to the problems I had with this one and the poor warranty coverage.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 11 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Just what we needed

12/08/2009
By ,
Pennsylvannia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a 1st floor family room, not a basement and not an area that seemed really damp. But it felt damp to us and had musty odors, so we decided to try a dehumidifier and see if it helped. The first night we had it in there, we had a quart of water, just overnight and after dumping 2 cups out from the first 2 hrs that it ran. We have had it about 3 weeks and so far it's worked great! The room feels and smells so much better. The product has been a perfect size for us and easy to dump. Since this is not a basement we don't have anywhere to use the hose function. Some people complained it was noisy, but we don't find it obtrusive. It's no more noisy than running a regular box fan in the room, and you can turn down the fan if you wanted. We are finding that the air circulation also helps, so we keep it running fairly high.
Overall, I would definately recommend this product and would choose to buy it again if we were in the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

It's a good deal

07/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit over the internet using Wal-Mart's Site to Store program (which ships the unit to the Wal-Mart nearest your location free of charge!). It comes ready to use right out of the box. The instructions are very easy to understand and the unit does what it's supposed to do. I let it run for 24 hours initially per the instructions until my basement achieved the desired humidity level (50%) and I let it run continuously using a hose connected to it which leads to the drain. This way I don't have to worry about emptying the bucket. Every now and then the unit shuts itself off for about 30 seconds and then continues. It's a bit noisy but you get used to it. Upstairs it's inaudible. You have to clean the filter every so often (a light comes on to alert you). Access to the filter is a snap; you just rinse it off, let it dry, reinstall it and voila! Back in business. Overall an excellent product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

A wonderful product

10/11/2009
By ,
Keokuk, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. I just moved into a new house last May and it has a finished basement. I recently noticed some of the leather furniture started turning white from moisture. After setting up this dehumidifier, in just one week, the basement is no longer damp, and my things are fine. I was amazed, and never expected it to work so well. I would recommend this product in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Goodbye Moisture

03/02/2010
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even during the winter months this dehumidifier is pulling buckets of moisture out of the air in my basement. I've had no trouble with the noise level or with emptying the reservoir (as I've read in other reviews). After one month of usage, I'm very much a fan of this dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Excellent product

10/28/2009
By ,
Labadie, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reduced the humidity 20% in large finished basement the first night running just 8 hours. Only negative is that you can't set a humidity level to maintain. I handle this by selecting continuous operation (with drain hose attached) and plug dehumidifier into a heavy duty timer and adjust on/off time to maintain humidity level I want. When using timer, plug dehumidifier into timer, turn timer on, turn dehumidifier on, then it will start when timer turns on. Just make sure the timer will carry the load of the appliance. Works great, not too noisy on high and very quiet on low. Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Good Buy

05/27/2009
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent unit. Took it home plugged it in. Pulled all of the water out of the air just like advertised. I purchased a bigger unit than I needed. I am glad that i did. I have a feeling the smaller unit may not have done the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Noisy and no cycling

06/02/2010
By ,
Lebanon, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The good news: This dehumidifier works. I set it up in my basement to keep the humidity at 55%, and it's keeping the humidity within 2% of 55%.
The bad news: It is noisy. Even on the lowest fan setting, it's noisy. And the fan NEVER turns off, even when the actual humidity reaches the target humidity. There are buttons to turn off the unit after 2 or 4 hours, but it doesn't cycle. In other words, the unit turns off but not back on when you hit one of those buttons. On my unit, the switch that turns off the unit when the bucket is removed appears to be broken. That's not a big deal for me, as I'm using a drain hose.
This dehumidifier is worse than the Comfort-Aire BHD-501-A that it replaced. The only reason I got rid of the Comfort-Aire was that it wouldn't allow me to set the humidity level any longer. When I find a dehumidifier that's better than this GE, I will buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

Good product

08/10/2009
By ,
Montgomery, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quiet machine. Works a lot better than the Kenmore model I replaced. Only concern I had was, I hooked up a garden hose to it and the bucket still fills up. I might just need to check the connection and make sure it's draining properly. All in all, it's a great machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

GE Dehumidifier lives up to its ad

04/25/2010
By ,
near Boston MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for a new dehumidifer for our basement after the recent floods of new england. We didnt have that much wather but enough to cause a very musty smell. I ordered the unit and to my surprise it arrived only 4 days later. We plugged it in with the humidity reading 80%. After only a day it dropped it down to 70% and a full bucket. We have been running it religously since we received it and it continues to remove about a full bucket every day and a half. The humidity reading is down to 60%. I expect that as it gets warmer the humidity will drop even more but the main fact is the musty odor is almost gone!
The only complaint I have is that the unit is advertised as having a remote but it does not. Walmart should correct this otherwise the ad is correct. if you have a large space and need a good dehumidifier then this unit is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for GE Dehumidifier, 50-Pint

hot and noisy

05/27/2010
By ,
royal oak, mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the first thing i noticed about this dehumidifier was the loudness of the fan, which was heard well throughout the house. the unit was placed in the kitchen, but was easily heard in the upstairs bedroom of this brick and wet plaster home. the next thing i noticed was the significant heat generated by the unit. despite having a ceiling fan in our kitchen - which is rather large - the room became significantly hotter than the rest of the house; ironically, we bought the dehumidifier to reduce the load on the air conditioner. the worst part though, is that now the dehumidifier - which we've had for only a couple weeks - is making grinding and chirping noises. this product is an engineering and/or manufacturing failure. i wonder if this unit would still be energy star compliant if consideration was made for the load it puts on air conditioners?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next