Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Creating gorgeous images is more fun than ever with the sleek, impressively equipped PowerShot SX200 IS, elegantly designed in three new colors. Capture close-up, wide-angle shots with stunning 12x optical zoom. Experience the unprecedented image quality and point-and-shoot convenience of Smart AUTO, along with enhanced operability and an intuitive new menu. HD shooting at 1280 x 720 pixels with HDMI output lets you see all the beauty of your HD images and movies on your HDTV.
Average Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%159 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Worth every dollar!! EXCELLENT camera.

09/12/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Kodak Easyshare for the past 8 years. I finally needed a new camera and wanted a camera with a great zoom but that was easy to use. I researched reviews on EVERY brand of camera and compared all prices for what you get with the camera, etc. This was one of the only cameras that had 5/5 stars on every site along with great reviews. I have had my camera for about a month & I LOVE it. I love that it has alot of options for settings (night setting, beach setting, portrait, etc) but that you can still get great pictures if you are just using the standard "auto" setting. I love that right on the camera you can crop, fix red eye, change the colors (black & white, sepia, etc) & that you can take pictures where only certain objects are color & the rest of the picture is black and white. I made sure to wait and really use the camera before I wrote a review, because I wanted to give a completely accurate review. If you are looking for a great camera at a great price, this is it! The zoom is AMAZING! The quality & colors are amazing as well. I would def. recommend this camera to anyone! The sample pictures I have provided were taken from across a football field. I was able to easily zoom in to get these great pictures!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Awesome Zoom

07/08/2009
By ,
St Charles, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The camara is light, easy to use and the pictures are great. With the 12x zoom I was able to catch the beautiful sunset in Cancun Mexico. Iguanas are on the side of the road sunning. Spectacular!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great camera!

06/08/2009
By ,
Stoughton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own this camera for a couple of weeks and so far I'm very happy with it! I's a bit larger then I was expected and pop-up flash makes handling a bit unconvinient but the quality of pictures and possibility of this camera makes it the best in its class!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

NICE!!

12/21/2009
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been in the market to buy a new camera since the birth of my little girl. As a parent, I want to capture every milestone, and try to preserve these wonderful times.
This camera has been great so far, I love the details that you notice with a higher megapixel camera, and the zoom is out of this world! I can't wait to take pictures of my older child's sports activities to really test it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

The best digital camera ever!

03/26/2010
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera a few weeks ago and have been using it almost every day... and, I have to say, Canon truly outdid themselves on this one. Superior image quality/workability, and a boatload of features I couldn't find on any other camera in the $250-$350 price range. At first, the menu and function controls are hard to master. Once you get the hang of it, though, you will be shooting like a pro.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom
12/13/2009
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had a number of Canon digital cameras. This one to replace an older 4 AA battery flash card model. Rechargeable batteries are an advantage. The features and operation of this model for the price are well worth it. Good value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great Buy!!

07/17/2009
By ,
Or.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a sony power shot and the pictures always or well most of the time came out, out of focus. So when I dropped it I called Sony and it was going to cost just as much as I bought it for to fix it. So I decided to look for a new camera. I'm a point and shoot kind of person so I needed something with lots of different modes and I also needed a great zoom. This camera has it all and the pictures come out so clear and crisp. It also fits into my bag a little bigger then some of the others, but still goes in to my purse. I love this camera and I'm always going to buy a Cannon. It even has a kids/Pet mode. How cool is that??
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Superb-Picture Quality

11/21/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently used this camera at a work-party event and when I showed the finished product/pictures to co-workers via e-mail, I received a lot of positive feedback. Many people asked if I used the expensive, company Nikon; they were surprised when I told them I used my personal digital camera and then asked what camera I owned. Very cool.
This camera takes excellent pictures with its wide-angle lens. Face detection is spot-on! Images are bright, colorful, and super-clear. Colors stand out vividly, especially when using vivid color mode. The huge, cannon-looking barrel of a lens is sweet. Camera is very nice to look at; very asthetically pleasing on the eye (brushed aluminum, curves, and intricate chrome accents). Video is super-crisp and clear. Microphone picks up as a condensor mic would. HUGE, 3" LCD is amazingly clear, bright, and perfect in displaying color.
*I would not recommend this for a loud concert setting, however. That's the main reason I bought this camera (to shoot HD video at concerts) and is the only reason it did not meet my expectations. The microphone is EXTREMELY sensitive, which can be good for recording acoustic guitar concerts, childrens' school plays, or other events where there is not "loud music." I experienced an incredible amount of audio distortion when I took this to a rock concert. An SD1100, or 1200, is a better choice if you are going to go to a concert, or somewhere that might be very loud; you will not get audio distortion with those; I own an SD1100, as well and have taken it to many concerts and filmed at the front of the stage. Also, video format is saved in .MOV files, which is relative to Apple. If you don't have QuickTime, you will need to download it, which is different from the typical Windows Media player .AVI format that the SD1xxx series uses.
Overall, I give this camera 5-stars, even though I'm not happy with the audio recording in video mode; I still feel that Canon gives an excellent product and package with this camera; semi-professional looking pictures, extremely easy-to-use when using "AUTO-mode", but also very easy to use in "MANUAL-mode", as well. You just can't beat the picture quality with any other Point-and-Shoot camera, in my opinion.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great ZOOM!

03/30/2010
By ,
Chesterton,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this camera. This is replacing an old 35mm Canon Powershot. The zoom is fantastic and you can still fit it in your pocket. Yes there is a delay in the method you use to take pic so I wouldn't reccommend for high speed shots.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great Camera!

06/02/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera the day before I left on my honeymoon without even seeing it in person. It looked great online and is even nicer in person. Very good purchase!
I had a Kodak before and this Canon is a better camera all around. Very easy to use, great zoom, the flash is wonderful (especially in dark spaces), automatically chooses the setting (people, landscape, sunset, if flash is needed, etc.) Has face and blink detection, and nice LCD screen. The zoom goes out quite a ways, and for all of the features, it's a camera that still fits great in my purse. It is a bit heavier than my Kodak camera, but once you get used to the camera, you don't even notice the weight. I would recommend this camera to those who want a nice camera with a large zoom - but thats not too big in size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+123points
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom
06/23/2009
By ,
Hortense Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the camera. I would reccomend the camera for any one. I have not had the camera but 1 1/2 monthes. I am still experimenting with it The only thing that I dislike about the camera is if you do not use the date when you take the pucture,you can not put but one date on all the the pictures. I have not found a way; there may be a way but I have not found it. Like I said I have only had the camera a little while. This is the only compaint I have. The more I use the camera the more I love it!! I am having fun experimenting with the camera. I have just learnied how to take videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Canon PowerShot

09/30/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera takes fantastic pictures. It's slightly bigger than most of the compact point and shoots and doesn't fit in the pocket very well, but the quality of pictures more than make up for that. The lens is superb, 12x optical is amazing for a point and shoot. The only issue I have with the Canon PowerShot SX-200-IS is that the flash is in an awkward location. It pops up right were my left hand index finger seems to be naturally positioned, so when turning the camera on, my finger hinders the flash from opening. I'm sure after a few more uses this will be a non-existent problem, once I've become accustomed to the location. Overall, this is a definite buy...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Awesome camera

07/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS: The camera takes wonderful pictures and I think it's really easy to use but I have always stuck with Canon's. Several family and friends have asked me where I got my camera. I think the size and the weight of the camera are perfect. Video is great. Love it, love it, love it!
CONS: The auto flash pop-up can be annoying and I am still getting used to it. My finger always seems to be in they way. I wouldn't trade this camera for any other though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great Pictures

08/12/2009
By ,
Norwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had a camera in years. This camera is great and tasks great pictures. It is extremely easy to use. I wish it was a little bit bigger because I have big thick hands and it's size sometimes makes it difficult to manipulate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great Photography

03/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera was realy worth waiting for, with 12.1 Megapixels, 12 times zoom, ease of handling and setting and great results and pic's. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great Looks. Slow Camera.

09/12/2009
By ,
Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loved the retro look of this camera, and the picture quality was great, but the shutter speed was too slow for me. I ended up with blurry pictures and missed shots because it took forever for the camera to snap the photo. I ended up returning the camera within a couple days. Plus... it cost too much for such headaches.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Easy to use.

01/30/2010
By ,
Iraq
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice camera for the money. I get high quality pictures with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

So much more to see

03/25/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think the thing I like best about this camera is that there is so much more to see in the picture. My old camera would focus too much on the forefront and lose everything in the background. I took a picture of my husband and I infront of the atrium on a cruise ship, using the flash. The picture focused on us perfectly but was also able to capture the beautiful lights behind us that lit up the atrium. I would definitely recommend this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Great camera

03/07/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera mainly for its optical zoom and I am truly pleased with the camera so far . The picture quality is excellent and the 12x zoom is great . I like the size of the camera and the controls are easy enough to use . I would have liked to have some type of material added to the body of the camera to help grip it better as it can be a little hard to get a grip on . Overall I feel this is an excellent camera for the price .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX200-IS Black 12.1MP Digital Camera with 3" LCD, 12x Optical Zoom

Camera was all the awesomeness i expected

09/24/2009
By ,
ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the specs and i'm very tech savvy. build my own PCs and home theatres for my friends etc... I love this camera, it was exactly what i was looking for. Full manual controls, high res, great zoom. If paired with a quick card then rapid recovery between shots. HD video is nice and sharp, the photos came back gorgeous I'd post some but i havn't had any spectacular shots, I've only had the camera a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next