Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baby Trend Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Baby Trend Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

If you are looking for a car seat for your little one, the Baby Trend Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat Dakota is a great pick. It comes with a five-point safety harness with push button release to hold your baby snugly and an adjustable headrest for comfort.. The easy one-hand harness adjustment provides extra safety to your little one. Installation is a breeze using the 4-postion push-button height adjustable base with a level indicator. This energy-absorbing foam car seat ensures that the head is protected from side impacts during the ride. It is designed for infants weighing between 5 and 30 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%71 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

It's Okay

08/10/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a cute car seat that does the job. We bought it because we wanted an infant seat that would hold a baby up to 30 pounds. We had been using a Graco SnugRide that only holds up to 20 pounds and knew that our baby would likely be >20 pounds before she would be old enough for the next car seat that we have.
It works fine, but there is one thing that my husband and I do not like about it, which is how it buckles. With the Graco, you snap the two sides together and then snap one piece down into the buckle. With this car seat, you have to hold the two sides together like a puzzle and then snap it in--as baby arches her back and makes it difficult, naturally. It's not the greatest design.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 2 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Great Value w/minor Issues

09/10/2009
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this car seat for 2 months now and really like it. The design and pattern are very cute. I love how you no longer have to re-thread the straps to adjust the height, just the simple turn of a knob. The foot cover is great for the cold mornings. I have read that some people have issues with the seat fitting snuggly in the base, I on the other hand have not experienced any problems with it.
With as much as I like this seat I do have a few issues. The seat w/the base are a little bulky. I have small car so this is a big issue for us. We have a 2 yr old as well and putting this seat in the middle next to his is a very tight squeeze. We had to buy him a narrower seat to get the two to fit properly. The release for the seat is at the feet instead of the head like almost all other infant carriers. Some times my husband has an issue trying to fit his hand between the carrier and seat to get it out.
All in all we really enjoy the seat itself. I just wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a small car especially if they have another child in any kind of booster or car seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Glad I Got It.

03/22/2010
By ,
Ogden,Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost did not get this carseat. I had read all the reviews and there were more people who had negative things to say then good ones. But I went ahead and ordered it. I am so glad I did. First it is the cutest thing ever. It fits in my Plymouth breese and chevy malibu just perfact. It Fits snug in the base and I got it buckled snug in both vehicles. It doesn't bother me that the lock release is in the front, I like it better this way for then I can grab the handle as I release the lock and it is just a nice smooth process out of the car.. I love to read what others have to say but in the end I am very glad I went with my gut because I don't think I would be this happy with any other carseat. Plus my baby girl looks very very cut in it..I will be buying the stroller, high chair and playyard very soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 4 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Best product ever bought for my daughter!!

06/17/2009
By ,
Hamilton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this travel system a few years back for my daughter Mirelle.She loved it!!It was a great success.When we brought her home from the hospital she cried when grandma took her out!She loved it too much.Now after I've bought two other travel systems I clearly see this is the best!!!The butterfly beautifully commented her bald head!!Because she was born in September,she had to use something to keep her warm.The foot cover did a great job of keeping her feet warm.She grew out of it when she was 17 months old!!Now it is going to her new cousin who should be able to use it for another 16 months at least!!We'll just keep passing it around.This is the #1 product I've bought for my baby girl!And I recommend it to all!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 5 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Loving this Car Seat

07/04/2009
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not due to bring our baby home for a little while, but I got this car seat today and put it in my car with GREAT ease. I have a 4yr old and I can't believe how much infant car seats have changed just since she was in one last! Baby Trend thought of EVERYTHING with this seat and it's freaking adorable. Instead of having to take the harness out to raise it or lower it a level you just crank a little knob in the back. That was the biggest pain when my 4yr old was in an infant seat. The seat is a little big but I think it's due to the fact it's for kids up to 30 pounds instead of 22. I love this seat and I cannot wait to bring my daughter home in it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Review 6 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

STURDY,SAFE, AND 100% DAD APPROVED

10/17/2011
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this of course for my newborn baby girl, and I like using this. The brand, Baby Trend, I've never heard of, but then I've never had a baby before either. Anyways about the product...
The triangle shaped handle fits perfectly in your hand for maneuverability and in any position. It is lightweight but durable which is a big plus. I don't use it everyday, but my daughter does, and I love how secure it holds her in... the straps don't come loose and stay put! It is easily adjustable to set the shoulders higher, as she grows, just by the turn of a knob on the back! I recommend this to any newborn so parents keep your eyes open for this one!
THIS IS THE ONE YOU WANT!
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Base feels secure, Comfortable padding, Easy to install in Car, easy and comfortable to carry
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Baby Trend - High Chair, Dakota
4.6 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
Review 7 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Not practical!

08/25/2009
By ,
Orland, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item with the travel system online, and when it arrived, my husband put it together with ease. I absolutly loved the material, and the colors, so very super cute for a little girl. However, once our babygirl arived, and we were at the hospital to go home, we put her in it for the first time, and had a heck of a time with the straps, they are not soft, and do not have much flexability, also the way the part snaps between the legs is a huge inconvennience, two pieces have to be held together and then snapped into another part( they dont stay together easily), it took us about ten minutes to get her in it properly. Once we got to the car (a Toyota Corolla) we had already put the base in the car, nice intalation, however with the seat in the base, and the big bulky handle in the down position, we could not put the seat back far enough to drive. We then moved the base and seat to the middle in the backseat, and that worked ok, until my 6 yr old son got in the car and tried to put on his seatbelt, with his booster there was no room for him to squeeze his hand in to click the belt. needless to say, for our family of now four, one in a booster and one in an infant seat it took us over 30 minutes to get in the car and go. we tried one more time to leave the house as a family and had the same problems. My husband took the carseat back to walmart and bought the graco passage travel system, and it is much smaller and lighter and easier to unstal. This is abeutiful product, but unless you drive and super roomy car or SUV, this product is not for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Covington,Ky
JUST WANTED TO KNOW
Posted 07/26/2012
does this seat come with the outside cover that it shows in the picture my baby is due dec 14th and i was needing one and just wanted to know if it was included
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Beautiful Baby Car Seat but...

01/05/2010
By ,
Miramar Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful product and very sturdy (well made), but the tan material for the leg cover stains very easily and the directions say not to wash it... so this will become a problem for new babies and all the mess that they naturally make. The leg cover will become dirty looking very quickly. I was able to clean it - but even water makes a stain - so I went against directions and soaked cover entirely to remove the water stains.
But overall this product is beautiful my daughter-in-law and I just love the butterfly and daisy decal...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Great product

08/05/2009
By ,
Moxee, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is beautiful and is just as described. It is heavy duty but not too heavy to hold on its own. Base is very nice and has adjustable reclining positioning. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

The perfect carseat!!!

11/01/2010
By ,
Tupper Lake, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought 2 of these car seats for my twin girls that are due in January, and from a mom of 3 other children after checking safety ratings and design these car seats are perfect. They were easy to install in my full size truck, perfect positioning and the fabric is beautiful and soft! The one touch release is great( never had that luxury with car seats I had for my 9, 12 and 13 yr olds many years ago). Hopefully, I will never have to find out if the safety ratings are accurate but I feel confident that my babies will be safe in these seats, which takes alot of worry away since they are my most precious cargo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Pleased

02/11/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our little girl that will be here in two week. I love the color just enough pink for a little girl but not so much that your like wow. I love the clips on the base that makes it easy to put it in my car but it has a place for the clip if you can't use them. It is a little bulky but if your willing it's easy to work with. Over all I am really pleased and excited to bring her home in it, the pictures don't do it justice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 12 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Better than most

10/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this carseat for my second child and I love it. It is better than the 1st one I had. It took some time figuring out how it actually works but once you get it you'll find it rather easy. The fact that I dont have to mess with the straps to adjust to babys height is a plus all on its own. The design is very cute. I know my daughter will enjoy this seat.
Pros: Straps and buckle feel secure, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Base feels secure, Comfortable padding
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota
08/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My four year old picked it for her sister. The pattern is great for any girls. The only thing I don't like is the closure. You have to put both sides together to snap it closed. This is hard to do if the baby is moving.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Beautiful Looking BUT not easy to use

09/18/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I LOVE the look of this carseat, it is absolutly gorgeous which is why we purchased them. They were easy to install, and seem very safe. We've been using it 5 months now with no problems on the actual install part of it.
The problems with this car seat is 1. the buckle, you have to hold two clips over top of each other and then snap it into the bottom. This is a huge pain and is hard to do without having to loosen the straps first then re-tighten after. I've also had some problems with the buttons on the side that move the carrier handle up/down. Sometimes these are near impossible to push in. It also stains super easy, a drop of water stains the tan fabric right away.
I'm so disappointed with this car seat and can't wait until we switch to convertible's.
Pros: Clear Instruction, Base feels secure, Easy to install in Car
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

So cute..

03/30/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this seat - especially for the great price. The only issue that I'm having is that my daughter is getting too big - too quickly. The seat is supposed to be used for up to 25 pounds, I believe. Any child over 15 pounds would have to be pretty petite to fit in ANY brand of these infant seats. My daughter's feet were hanging over the end of the seat at 3 months & now, at 5 months & 15 pounds, her shoulders are just about too wide to be squeezing into this seat. This is baby #4 & I've had the same issue with all of the Graco seats that I've used in the past. Just go into it knowing that these seats aren't used for very long & you'll be good.
It was very easy to set up & is no trouble to get in and out of the vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Great Item and very cute!!

04/24/2012
By ,
Cleveland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently bought the car seat, but haven't been able to use it yet since my baby isn't due for another 5 weeks. I can tell it will be really convenient. I like the fact that the base release latch is on the opposite side from the common car seats, making it easier to lift the baby in car seat with my right arm and release with my left (while on rear facing position). I also love the convenience of not having to re-thread the shoulder belts in order to adjust the height... you simply turn the nob and it will go up or down to adjust to the height of your growing baby. I love the colors and butterfly design of the product (light neutral colors). I would definitely recommend this car seat to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota
12/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the car seat..i got it out of the shipping box and it is what i expected..i love the colors and the butterfly design..i havent got to use it yet cause our baby girl hasnt arrived but i know she will love it..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 18 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

ILOVEIT <3

02/03/2010
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I REALLY LOVE THIS CAR SEAT...
TO ME ITS NT HARD AT ALL TO PUT IN THE BASE OR TAKE IT OUT..
MY BABY WAS JUST BORN FRIDAY.. AND IT IS VERY EASY TO HANDLE.. MY BABY SEEMS TO BE SOO COMFORTABLE IN IT.. IT WAS EASY TO SET UP! IVE NEVER DELT WITH ANY CAR SEATS SINCE IT IS MY FIRST, AND BESIDES THE FACT THAT IT IS VERYYY PRETTY I LOVE THE DURABILITY IT PROJECTS.. I LOOKED IN ALOT OF DEPARTMENT STORES AND NOT ONE CARSEAT GRAVED MY ATTENTION AS THIS ONE.. THATS WHY I LOVE IT..
I WOULD TOTALLY RECOMEND IT!!! ALTHOUGH IT IS KINDA BIG IN SIZE, SO IF U HAVE A SMALL CAR, THERE MIGHT BE ISSUES.. BT OTHER THAN THAT, ITS GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota
11/24/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have yet to use it as my second child is due any time but it has some great features like a knob that lifts the shoulder straps instead of having to take the whole thing apart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Baby Trend - Flex Loc 30 Infant Car Seat, Dakota

Looks Beautiful

09/07/2009
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product for someone else. I loved that you don't have to unthread the straps to adjust it for the baby and that it only takes a turn of a knob. Once put inside the car I realized the other comments were correct. Even after securing the seat and base into the car it was still very mobile. I have used many car seats myself from peg perego to graco and I have never had this be an issue for me before. I told my friend to try it without the base since she loved it so much. Overall it is a beautiful travel system but I am not happy about its stability.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next