Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Electronic Arts Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Electronic Arts Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

In Mass Effect 2, players will step into the role of the heroic Commander Shepard, commanding their crew of some of the most dangerous operatives from across the galaxy on a mission so challenging that it's potentially suicidal. Featuring intense shooter action, a rich futuristic storyline, space exploration and emotionally engaging character interaction through a realistic conversation system, Mass Effect 2 delivers an unparalleled cinematic experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.646 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%46 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Best Campaign experience of any game

02/09/2011
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No game has a better story than this game. It comes with two discs because of the amount of content. It doesn't have multiplayer in it. It has some good DLC as well. IGN gave this the 2010 game of the year award, if that says anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Amazing

02/17/2010
By ,
Pocatello, Id
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game was released in January and is already being considered for Game of the Year 2010 in December. This game is good. Really good. If you have played Mass Effect 1, all of your decisions made will evolve the galaxy you play in in Mass Effect 2. ex: If you killed certain key characters, they won't appear in this game.
Also, keep in mind most of the issues people had with the first game have been fixed in this one. The combat is much more streamlined, the characters are much moer rounded and developed, etc.
The story is good, not exactly epic but pretty close. You end up creating relationships and friendships with all of your comrades, so if they die it can hit you pretty hard. I say "if" they die, because it changes depending on how you lead them. You gain their loyalty, they will take a bullet for you, and depending on the decisions you make throughout the entire game certain characters will be killed while others survive. My room mate had a completely different ending from mine which is intrigueing, and makes me want to play through it multiple times.
There are a few issues like animation, and texture pop ins, as well as slight framerate issues. Same as in the first game, though they aren't as bad this time around.
Overall a definate play. You can easily empty hours into this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)
07/09/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was one of the fortunate ones to get the chance to demo this game. If you were a fan of the first game this will absolutly blow you away. And if you are a newcomer to the mass effect world there is an introduction for you. Kind of a (Previously on Mass Effect). If you are new to this game I would strongly reccomend Mass Effect for anyone. And at $20 it is practically a steal. The release for ME2 should be in the first quarter of next year. But the wait will definitly be worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Best game ive ever played

10/09/2010
By ,
Hillsboro NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game will suck you in right from the get-go. The story, just like the first games is amazing. The graphics are great, and the new combat system is much more stream-lined. If you liked/loved the first one, then BUY THIS GAME! really, its that good, and heck if you haven't played either of them, then buy them both! The way your character and choices transfer to the sequel is truly awesome. And the number of ways the game can end may leave you stunned by how different they are. the characters are very real feeling, and you can even grow to like them, and become sad if they die. over all, the action is amazing, the amount of different ways you can play and end the game are amazing, and will keep any RPG fan entertained for hours upon hours as you travel around the galexy fighting for the loyalty of the characters you accumulate, and search for answers to many questions. if you have actually read all of this, then go out and buy this game. now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Amazing game!

05/04/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mass Effect 2 is a vast improvement over the original game which was a masterpiece in it's own right. I must say, having put 30 hours into this game, I may have to rank it as one of the top 3 games I have ever played, and I have played a lot of games.
Bioware proves yet again they are THE premier RPG developer. By streamlining aspects of the first game that were cumbersome and totally overhauling the combat, the game plays more like a FPS than any RPG.
However, the main RPG-like elements in the first game like leveling and the top-notch dialogue and story remain. The heavy RPG elements that existed from the first game like equipping each party member's armor and weapon upgrades have been done away with, and I think for the better.
All in all the game on it's own stands as one of the finest achievements in gaming. Coupled with the story you personally crafted that imports from the first game, this game is one of a kind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

ME2 MEETS ME1

02/05/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If u liked ME1 u'll love ME2. The story line will grab u and pull u in like the frist and keep u guessing all the way!!! I love the game!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Best RPG for the 360

02/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this game will keep u playing for hours
the only problem i had was scanning the planets and the is no online play(Live would be so kewl :)
but other than that it is pretty fun
u can play this game over and over again and never get bored
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Extreme Massive Effective (the game play)

06/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product and the intinsaty of the game. The wide open range of corses you can take to acheave so much in this multi not just planets, but solor systems and yes, even more. The range of game play has exedded my epectations and it is very easy to get caught up in this intense game. If The first one was on your favorits list, then prepare to make that list a little bit longer. The customiseable armor system is a great addition to an already flawless design of armors the first Mass Effect had to offer. I would recomind this game to anyone with a 360 and it is a must have game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Amazing game

10/31/2010
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll enjoy this more if you've played Mass Effect, but don't let that discourage you from picking up this GREAT game blind. Engaging story, amazing graphics, and flawless voice acting make this a worthwile purchase at any price. I played it straight thru twice after buying it and replay value is high! Just make sure you play Shepard as a female at least once -- makes the story even more engaging with a strong female lead. Ability to import your character from Mass Effect enriches the experience, and if you topped level 60 in that save you start as level 5 in ME2.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Beware platinum hits

09/01/2013
By ,
Norwalk ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item description on this game did not specify it was platinum hits version. Also, game case inside was broken and disc was loose inside case throughout shipment. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

VERY GOOD RPG

05/10/2010
By ,
LYNCHBURG, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HAVING PLAYED MASS EFFECT MANY TIMES, I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO MASS EFFECT 2 AND I'M NOT DISAPPOINTED. IT HAS MANY IMPROVEMENTS TO GAME PLAY AND FORWARDS THE STORY LINE NICELY. ME2 IS A BIGGER GAME THAN ME1 AND KEEPS THE ACTION MOVING SMOOTLY. TO GET THE MOST OUT OF ME2 I SUGGEST YOU PLAY THE ORIGINAL FIRST THEN IMPORT YOUR CHARACTER TO ME2 TO CONTINUE. I ALSO SUGGEST PLAYING THE GAME TWICE, ONCE AS THE PARAGON AND ONCE AS THE RENEGADE TO HAVE ALL OPPORTUNITIES AND SIDE QUESTS OPEN TO YOU. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS I WISH IT HAD A FIRST PERSON VIEW OPTION.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

This game is truly amazing!

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is truly immense. When the first ME came out. I was kind of spectical (sp?). But a year after it came out, I decided to buy the Platinum Hits & give it a go. I got hooked immediately. The story is so rich & deep, full of detail. Graphics, Sound & Gameplay are all A+. This is my fav Sci-fi Action RPG's to play. Finished 4 playthroughs on ME & 2 playthroughs on ME2. Own all the DLC. I have a few unanswered Q's from ME1 & 2 regarding the Reapers & extinct races. When ME3 comes out, I'm hoping some will be answered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

bo-ring

01/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i purchased this game based on all the positive reviews. it has received 9/10 from every major review site. even at the bargain purchase price, this game has been a let-down. it has tons of dialogue that is supposed to intrigue the player into the story line, but they are absolutely mind numbing and non-essential. many times regardless of the choices made, the game continues on the same path; simply pointless. scanning planets for minerals becomes a tedious necessity at some point, that's when i called it quits.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Like Gravity - It Draws You In

02/16/2010
By ,
Cleveland, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It started out stilted and awkward, for me. I have no history with ME-1, but if I did it would take those decisions into consideration in the new game. Likewise, the game promises that the decisions you make in ME-2 will play out in ME-3. With every enjoyable hour of play, I get to like it better and better. Combat is third person and distant, but the story is rich (even a little too complicated sometimes). Great entertainment value for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Perfect Example of Tweaking

02/22/2010
By ,
Martinsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has blown me away, I assumed it would simply be a repackaged version of the original with all the promises and none of the delivery. I was wrong.
Actually, to be very blunt this version has taken all of the negative feedback (well the majority anyways) and adapted it to a completely new story line. Picture this, you remember the annoying combat system of the first one? Redone. Poor cover system in ME? Gone, they've went with the Army of Two/Gears of war approach. That's just the tip of the iceberg, they've enabled hotkeys for on the fly skill use as well as a track menu for Dragon Age-esque skill use.
I will admit, this game is not NEARLY as deep in the storyline as the first was willing to go. But that's simply because players bought the game as a shooter, not the RPG it's intended to be. Also, in the beginning you may simply think, wow I'm playing Star Wars, and I'm Darth Vader.... Awesome! I'm pretty sure that wasn't the intention either....
All in all, the game is a fantastic hit for both RPG and Tactical Shooter players alike. (that's 3rd person, not FPS) The difficulty settings also ensure that you can play the game regardless of skill level and knowledge of it's predecessor; then again the same is for the reverse, you can ensure that you NEED to be tactical just to survive the first battle by upping the difficulty. The game is astounding, the graphics breathtaking, and the storyline is as always unparalleled. If you're looking for a Sci-fi shoot em up that allows you to dabble in RPG elements. ME2 is the game for you. Definitely worth the release price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Game of the year 2010 for sure!

01/02/2011
By ,
Brandon,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful game, full of content, many long hours that come with this game, it is soooo much fun! Better than the first to me, I've Played 3 playthroughs and it still is fun! As many times as you play it, no one playthrough will be the same, Great graphics/ gameplay! 10 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Fantastic Sci Fi Game

01/04/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting story, challenging 3rd-person combat, fun (but relatively easy) minigames, and less tedious travel than ME1 make for a very fun game. Can't stop playing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Well worth the small price tag

11/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ME2 is a great game that is well worth the undersized price tag. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a thrilling single player story with in depth gameplay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)
02/05/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has many more challenges than the first,
but a much easier time with the sniper rifle.
and no unlimited ammo,
plus awesome graphics.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360)

Great game

08/30/2010
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mass Effect 2 is completely and totally awesome. Great game play, epic story, and of course revolutionary character personalization.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next