Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ActionTec Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ActionTec Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

The Actiontec DSL USB ENET Modem is a superior-quality ADSL 2/2 single port modem, compatible with all major DSL service providers. This DSL gateway modem has been thoroughly tested to ensure the highest levels of performance and compatibility. Remotely manageable and preconfigured to ensure simple setup, the Actiontec Gateway Modem comes with a double commercial-grade firewall that helps to keep your connection secure at all times. This top-rated DSL gateway modem is environmentally-friendly with its recycled packaging, Energy Star-rated power supply and small footprint. Supporting DSL speed up to 24 MBPS, the Actiontec modem has a fast operating system with routing capabilities. With measurements around 11" x 8" and weight at approximately 2 lbs., the DSL gateway modem is easy to carry and transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.131 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation84%128 out of 153reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Works great!

03/18/2014
By ,
Keokuk, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Part of a multi-WAN network that contains: TP Link TL R470T Load Balanced Router, Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem, Actiontec GT701D DSL Gateway Modem, and TP Link TL SG1008 8-port Unmanaged Switch. All bought at Walmart. Setup required minimal effort and has been running error-free since it was installed over two weeks ago.
Now we've got crazy FAST when the cable's up and DSL backup when the cable's down for nightly maintenance. Works great for this night-owl, power-using family.
With just the DSL ISP and a 6-year-old 2-Wire DSL Gateway/Router, we were dropping about every 25th webpage. With the same DSL ISP and the new Actiontec DSL Gateway, we only dropped about 2 pages the entire week (before we received the rest of the parts and upgraded the entire system). I suspect the old 2-Wire went through one too many thunderstorms...something to think about, if you're sitting on the fence about replacing your modem.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET
04/10/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who has problems with AT&T DSL dropping connection should get this modem. I've been with AT&T DSL for the last 3 years and using the Motorola 2210 modem. It been dropping connection intermittently once every 30-45 minutes within the last year and at that time the only modem carried in the Walmart store was the Motorola so I tried another Motorola 3360. That one also drop connection intermittently everyday at the same intervals every 30-45 minutes.
Then I found this Actiontech GT701D on Walmart online and ordered it. It shipped to a local Walmart within 3 days. It works perfectly with the AT&T DSL no more connection dropping. Set up was easy. I connected this modem with the linksys wireless router. Set up this modem in bridge mode. Work smoothly ever since.
The only thing I hope is that this modem still work after that new internet protocol IPV6 protocol suppose to be roll out in June 2010. Otherwise I think the manufacturer may come out with the firmware update for this modem.
http://www.worldipv6day.org/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

AT&T should switch to this

05/05/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered on Monday and received it on Thursday. It replaced my Motorola 2210. Got tired of cycling power to restore repeating, dropped connections, and since it is now out of warranty I did not want to wait until it failed. This unit worked flawlessly out of the box with my AT&T DSL. Followed the Quick Start Guide, selected the Auto Configure Your Modem option, followed the on-screen instructions and I was surfing the Internet in less than 10 minutes. No IP address conflict with my Linksys router either. And it runs much cooler than the 2210. Comes with phone cable, Ethernet cable and power adapter. The dimensions listed must be for the box it comes in. The unit only measures 5”x3.5”x1.25”. Best little DSL modem out there, and cheaper than the 2210. If I have any problems now I’ll be pretty certain that it is AT&T and not the modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Florida
Actiontec DT701D gateway modem
Posted 10/30/2011
Can anyone say for sure this gateway modem will work with Comcast TV and Internet access, aka "Double Play" service? Comcast Live Chat support person says "no". But it is advertised as being compatible with any provider. So what is the truth Ruth?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Used for AT&T DSL Without Phone Line

09/23/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm currently using this for my AT&T DSL with no phone line. It works great and was very easy to set up. Also, this is much cheaper than what AT&T charges for their modems.
The only issue I noticed was from AT&T. They really try to push their modems and discourage use of other modems. I called them because they hadn't turned on the DSL for my new apartment. I had to call 3 times because the first 2 representatives kept on saying "we don't troubleshoot 3rd party modems" even though I kept explaining that the issue had nothing to do with the modem. The third guy finally got it connected for me and I was up and running.
I've been using this for approx a month now and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 5 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Works with AT&T DSL

05/22/2009
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to buy this and use site-to-store since none of my local Walmarts carry any DSL modems. This was the cheapest I could find (Best Buy was the only other store to carry anything like this) and it works perfectly with my new AT&T service. Easy set-up (with clear instructions). NOTE: This package does not include the phone filters which must be purchased separately ONLY if you have local phone service- which we don't so we didn't need to make the additional purchases of the filters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+114points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jenison Michigan
UNREAL
Posted 12/28/2011
I ordered this modem the day before Christmas and FED EX delivered it Christnas morning What a joy to set up it was fully automatic took less than 10 minutes then I connected my DLINK 601 wireless router and in a flash I was up and running I bought this modem to replace the Motorola 2210 which is a piece of junk and ran so hot I had to keep a USB fan on it Thank You Walmart for fast delivery and Thank you Actiontec for one Dynamic product
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Perfect for century link customers

01/22/2013
By ,
Versailles OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I currently have Century Link DSL service, and purchased this to replace the clunky (slow) modem that was provided with my service. I was very nervous about how hard it would be to install this device.
Wow! It took me less than 10 minutes! Very easy instructions. The only glitch was picking which Century Link (Actiontec has it listed as Century Tel) service I had. There were 2 choices for Century Tel so I had 50/50 odds of getting it right. The second one worked like a charm.
Modem is hooked into my wireless router and running GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
what did you do when asked
Posted 09/10/2013
Just got it and first thing it asked was DSL User name and password. We are calling Century link since we had Qwest before, just thought others should have a heads up and will be in our review when done setting it up. ( Hoping it is easy, my wife works from home and has 5 minutes to get it done )
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

A product worth having!

05/13/2009
By ,
paris,tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product Actiontec Gateway modem was one of the best products that I have purchased from Wal-Mart. The service center has a 24\7 service tec to help you through it all. The service and the product both go hand in hand and was totally awsome! I would definitely buy this product all over again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 8 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

The Actiontec DSL modem is easy to setup

08/15/2012
By ,
Puget Sound, Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Actiontec DSL is a great value. It is affordable and it works well. Although it is easy to setup, I did contact support twice before it worked. The ISP server would not accept my password. I contacted Actiontec support. After several troubleshooting steps, the Actiontec support person concluded that I was using the wrong passpord to access my ISP. After contacting the ISP to confirm the password, I contacted Actiontec support again. Got a different Tech who repeated the same troubleshooting steps without success. Then the tech tried one additional step and I was then able to connect to the ISP server. If you encounter this issure here is a tip instead: of resetting the confuration parameters (as provided by the ISP), enter the wrong parameters, save them, and then reset to the factory defaults parameters, and then re-enter the correct parameters. Six weeks have passed without any problems. I am very pleased with the modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Does everything that it's supposed to do.

11/11/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only problem was not having the info from my ISP for their protocol. Actiontec assisted me in the program (simple) and was running in 10-15 minutes. Matches 660 from Embarq and Century Link to a Tee. Other than that, my routher (wire & wireless) work great. Didn't have to do anything to it. System not slowing down or dopping out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Great

06/21/2012
By ,
Puyallup, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leasing the original from the phone company, it got so it went out several times a day while
on the computer. Called Century Link and couldn't get them to commit to sending a new one, the
Century Link agent actually told me he had "refreshed" it while talking to me, I guess we are to believe that Century Link's customer service people have a "refresh" button that makes the DSL
modem all better, it didn't work, of course, so they lost a valuable customer, me. After comparing
products and prices I ordered the new Modem from WalMart, thanks for the great price. We've had
this new modem almost a month, it's doesn't take up the space that the old one did and it works
great, I forgot how fast the DSL was suppose to be. I still work and need my computer for business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Excellent Modem with 1 connection.

07/12/2010
By ,
Northern Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are using more than one computer you need a hub. If you want a wireless system, you can buy this unit and a "wireless router" that doesn't have a built in modem. Wireless routers usually provide four (3) physical connections to four wired computers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

great modem with easy installation

09/29/2011
By ,
Alva, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my cable company was going to charge me "rental" of $10 per month to utilize their modem. My modem will pay for itself in five short months and I will have worry free internet until the unit wears out...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Solid performer that does what it's designed to do

11/19/2011
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best technology products are the ones that you don't have to think about. They are just there unobtrusively doing what are designed to do. The Actiontec GT701D is such a product. I bought it as a replacement for a Westell modem I received from Verizon when I signed up for DSL service several years ago. Setup was straight forward following the instructions in the quick start guide. I later reconfigured it as a gateway to be used with a wireless router. To do that I reset the modem to its original factory settings and used the same browser-based start-up process as before. The Actiontec worked as expected as a modem and as a gateway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Good replacement for a Motorola 2210 (AT&T)

03/11/2013
By ,
Memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actiontec's modem is less expensive than purchasing a new modem from AT&T. It has good reviews and I saw other comments that it would work with AT&T's DSL service. Set up was easy once I called AT&T for my password. It works great and runs much cooler than the Motorola 2210 that AT&T insists on using. My internet continued to drop out for a while after I bought this modem but it turns out there was actually a problem with my line where it connects to the pole outside. Despite my internet problems not being not being related to my previous modem, I'm keeping the Actiontec modem because I believe it's far superior to the 2210. It does say on the box that it will not work with broadband internet from Cable Operators so you may want to keep that in mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Great modem!

07/10/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice modem. Does not get hot as the Motorola/AT&T modem does. Doesn't need an external fan blowing on it to keep it going. Has not dropped off in almost 3 weeks that I've had it. I would highly recommend this unit over the Motorola. Read a lot of bad reviews about the Motorola including dead out of the box. Fairly easy to setup, no thanks to AT&T. Actiontec support was 'fantastic'. Just took a few minutes longer than I thought it would. It was worth every minute. The past 3 AT&T modems were constantly dropping off from day one until they just up and quit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Great Value

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a hard time finding a modem in stores. I found this product online at a great price. I'm glad I purchased this modem. It was very easy setting up. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Fast Delivery, Easy Setup, Cost Less

07/16/2012
By ,
No. California, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older friend who's 81 yrs old. Her AT&T modem over a year old died. AT&T wanted over $100 to replace it. I went online and found it at Walmart. I found this one for $43.00, plus .99 cents to ship to my home. (7 to 10 days). It got here in two days, and I had it up and running for her in under an hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 18 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Easy Install with AT&T

05/30/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace my Motorola 2210 from AT&T because I had to power cycle it every couple of days. My wife works from home so I wanted to replace it before it failed. I ordered this on a Monday and received it on Wednesday, at a cost of $.97. I used the Quick Start Guide and had an Internet connection within 20 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Not compatible with 20 mbps CenturyLink/Qwest.

07/15/2013
By ,
Boise, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to return this item as it is not compatible with the FAST DSL CenturyLink service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
did you find something that was?
Posted 09/10/2013
I do not expect Century Link to have 20 MPS in my area before I croak but if you find a modem from Wally would you please post which one worked.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Actiontec DSL Gateway Modem USB ENET

Great modem

07/09/2011
By ,
MS USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old AT&T DSL modem was beginning to fail, and I needed a replacement. This modem fit the bill: newest Intel chipset, nice and fast, and inexpensive. Ordering online from Walmart.com was easy, shipping to store. However, I never received the email letting me know it had arrived at my nearest store. I happened to go on my Walmart.com account and found it had arrived a week before (earlier than the estimated arrival time). Went to the store and picked it up. The modem was much smaller than my old one--takes up minimal desk space.
When I went to connect it up, I was a little confused by the instructions and entered the wrong password, so it wouldn't connect. I called the Actiontec tech support line, and the rep walked me through the process very professionally and got it working.
The modem has worked flawlessly. It does what it was designed to do. It's quick. In short, I'm very satisfied with this modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next