Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for For Dummies Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

For Dummies Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

The Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle is a perfect gift for an aspiring guitarist. This kids learning guitar bundle offers everything a beginner needs to know about playing an acoustic guitar. It contains a well built Kona Deluxe Acoustic Guitar with a spruce top for a rich sound. It also has steel strings and enclosed machine heads for a creating great music. Important accessories such as pick guard, digital guitar tuner, guitar picks and nylon gig bag are also provided in the bundle. Learning is made easy with the 120-page instructional book and audio CD that comes with the pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%109 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Not for dummies buy

12/08/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learned to play way too many years ago. Wanted to give myself a new challenge in a new way. The old electric down from the rafters and dusted off was just a little too much to get going. Decided to look for something simpler to refresh myself on. I did plenty of shopping online and in person. There were plenty to chose from here. I was looking for simple cheap and easy. This guitar really fit the bill. It's not for "dummies" mind you. It's a great guitar. Plays and sounds good. Comes with all you'll need to learn to play. Nothing fancy. I'm having fun with it. The bag is plastic, it's better than nothing. The tuner couldn't be easier. The book is for the novice, the included cd gives some practical lessons. I can always use the picks. Perfect setup for new beginnings. You can't go wrong buying this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Ok product

01/23/2010
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave as a gift 4 Christmas! The first time they unzipped the case, the zipper broke! But the guitar and package is great! PErfect size for tween! Overall I would recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Kids Guitar - Great Product & Great Price

12/29/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product and a great price. Very FAST Shipping, received within 2 business days the week before Christmas.
One scratch in guitar but overall great product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Great Beginner Guitar

04/07/2013
By ,
Nottingham, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this guitar for my son for his 9th birthday and he loves it!!!! I think it is really nicely made and it comes with accessories which makes it great for beginners. I am going to get my son in guitar lessons and down the road he will get a more expensive guitar, but this is perfect for now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Exceeded expectations!

04/15/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't played guitar for over 10 years, and was looking for something simple, decent quality, and inexpensive to ease my way back into it. (I've had acoustic guitars in past I spent several hundred dollars on, so really didn't expect much for the approximate $100 price tag for the Kona guitar through Walmart's website...)
I was very pleasantly surprised!!! The Kona is well-crafted and sounds great!!!
This is a wonderful guitar for beginners, those (like me) who want to get back into playing, and even for accomplished musicians as a "knock-around" acoustic...
I especially recommend this for teenagers wanting to learn guitar; the body of this Kona is a little more compact than a lot of acoustics, so it "feels" better in your hands. (I'm a 110 pound, 5'3 female and have found a lot of acoustics can feel bulky or awkward...This guitar feels perfect!)
The only negative I have to report is that the Kona doesn't have the housing to be able to attach a shoulder strap.... But, as long as you don't need to play standing up, it's an excellent buy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Nice for the money

10/04/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I did not think Walmart sold guitars. When I found this Kona guitar on their website for under 100 dollars - I automatically thought this has to a kids toy guitar. Looking over the specs and size - it is a full size guitar suitable for first time learners to get in at a budget price. Really nice guitars like Fender, Gibson etc.. would have cost me a arm and leg. If my children played guitar as a passing hobby...I would have been out of a few more hundred dollars and stuck with something i can't use. So for a low investment of about 85 dollars I can't go wrong and I am not out a fortune for another piece of decorative hardware. When I received it the first time - it was missing the tuner so I had to return it and re-order it again. The second time it came - everything was correct and included the guitar, tuner, training book and CD. My kids are happy and I am happy. More important - the sound is quite mellow and good. I would suggest this to anyone just testing the water and trying to keep the cost down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Very helpful

08/25/2014
By ,
Shell Lake WI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Better than I Expected

02/26/2010
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this guitar thinking it would be an Ebay sell if it didn't sound good. Boy was I wrong, this guitar sounds good, and I can play it easily. Trust me, if you have a son or daughter who is thinking about playing the guitar, this is the best starter guitar for them to learn on. And if your child wants to go further than the lessons in the 120 page book included, then as a parent shell out the dough to the guitar instructor or the broadband fees for the internet.
No they don't have to buy the Guitar For Dummies 2nd Edition to play like the big boys. Have them learn under a patient guitar teacher and then they will learn to really play as long as they practice. Kudos to Kona for this giutar, but I have tow things to tell prospective buyers of this product. You will need two things to play and protect this guitar.
1. At least 3 sets of guitar strings (one set to put on this guitar once you buy it. Light guage is great for beginners) and a First Act Electronic Guitar Tuner from Wal-mart.com to tune the new set of guitar strings. The other two sets of guitar strings are for when you or your children wear out the first set of strings.
2. A padded gig bag for lugging the guitar to the guitar teacher or a friend's house to play. Or if you have the cash, a hardshell guitar case for an Acoustic Guitar. You don't want to have a 100+ dollars guitar broke by your teenage son or daughter who you bought it for, or you don't want to accidentally break it yourself. That would make you feel so low.
I can't thinkj of anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+176points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

A Beautiful Instrument

09/02/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Kona bundle is a wonderful value. It is an acoustic guitar, so the strings are metal. Classical guitars have the nylon strings. The enclosed tuner, which includes a AAA battery, works perfectly. You can only pluck one string at a time. Stop the sound, then move on to the next string.
The enclosed book, "Guitar Basics for Dummies" is a "Special Edition" in other words an abridgement, BUT you will be able to play chords immediately. There is an enclosed CD-ROM, not a DVD or CD, but a CD-ROM which has only audio files, which can help you tune your guitar.
You get three guitar picks, a special tool to adjust the neck (which I would suggest you not do unless you are a luthier or a professional guitarist), and a very nice bag, not padded, but it has a handle and two straps on the back, as well as front pouch where you can store the instruction book and picks.
This is a guitar for older teens and adults. The metal strings are difficult, but you have to build up your calluses! BTW, I am a classical pianist, so I have some advantages in that I can read music and am able to tune the guitar using relative tuning.
With shipping and taxes, this was a sub-$100 guitar and I could not be happier with this purchase. Yes, I need to get new strings, a foot stool would be nice (I am holding this as if it were a classical guitar), a guitar strap would be great, buy a capo, et cetera. But that is for later on.
This would be a wonderful birthday gift for your husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend, or as a 5th anniversary wedding gift (wood).
This guitar has a beautiful ringing tone and nice depth on the lower strings. This is an inexpensive way to make music and for you to find a hobby that is enriching and rewarding, and one that doesn't require electricity to create art!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Kickin' Package

12/18/2009
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was eally surprised at the quality of the product considering the price. I purchased this product for a beginner. I didn't want to spend a lot on an instrument that he might lose interest in. This guitar gives him the perfect opportunity to assess his skills & abilty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Great Value

09/06/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This guitar is fine for someone who wants to start playing, but doesn't really know if they will even have time to learn. Why spend a ton of money on something that you are not really sure you will keep up with. This met all of my expectations and if I can learn and enjoy playing then maybe I'll get an expensive one. For now, this is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Needs Modified

06/22/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this guitar for my son and it looked good. When I brought it home he opened it up and started tuning it with the tuner. (He's played guitar before.) He tuned the first two strings and he was tuning the third one and it snapped. On the FIRST DAY. Then he put it in the case and the zipper broke. If you want this guitar buy a different case and some better strings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

GREAT GUITAR FOR BEGINNERS

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bundle as a gift for my sister and she and I love it. The guitar is of good quality, light weight, and is great for any age and any hand size. I recommend it for anyone who is looking for an inexpensive but good quality guitar to just learn the basics on. the other things that come in the bundle are awesome as well. The book puts everything into easy to understand text.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

My new guitar!!

10/23/2010
By ,
Cheektowaga, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a very fine guitar. The price was exceptional. The extras that were included made it an outstanding value. My husband took lessons in his teen years and was interested in playing again. The instruction booklet was very helpful in helping him get back into "the groove" again. He has been practicing every night. He would recommend this package to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Good guitar

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works really nice my son is learning and taking some lesson good beginner guitar
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD
01/01/2010
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good value for a first time guitar player. Sound is pretty good, action is nice. The neck is a little narrow, but overall, it was worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

a great package

09/28/2010
By ,
Kingsburg, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This guitar package is great for anyone wanting to learn to play guitar. Everything you need is included. The guitar looks and sounds great. I am extremley pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Suprisingly Good!

08/07/2011
By ,
Port orchard, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so pleased when I looked at the guitar as it came out of the box! It is attractive, and has a much better sound than I had anticipated. For the cost I expected to be a bit disapointed, but was not at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Pleasantly Surprised...

01/03/2012
By ,
Riverdale, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my wife for Christmas, and she and I were both very pleased with the look, sound, and apparent build quality of the guitar. The tuner is actually pretty decent, and the book is really helpful and easy to understand as well. The gig bag leaves a little to be desired - it's about as basic and cheap as it could be (although the zipper works better than my much more expensive bag). That makes sense, though, considering you can easily spend more than the price of this kit on a bag. All in all, it's great! We're really happy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Acoustic Guitar for Dummies Bundle: Kona Acoustic Guitar, Accessories, Instructional Book & CD

Very easy to use. great value

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it. Already strumming and learning the frets
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next