Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Razor Razor Dune Buggy

Razor Razor Dune Buggy

Inspired from the Dune Buggies of the 70s, the Razor Dune Buggy will be a practical gift for little ones who are 8 years or older. This electric dune buggy is great for rushing over sand dunes or racing through the backyard. The Razor Dune Buggy is run by a powerful battery that functions without creating much noise. This battery has a 350-watt motor with a speed limit of up to ten miles per hour. This speed limit will be fast enough fun for your kids, but slow enough for safety reasons. While kids will enjoy cruising around on this dune buggy, parents will appreciate the safety features such as the side roll cage that acts as a barricade. The safety belt in the comfortable bucket seat secures children so they don't fall out while racing. This Razor buggy has a variable speed thumb trigger for acceleration control. The hand operated rear disc brake and the 8-inch knobby air filled tires allows you to have maximum control over this battery powered go-kart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%46 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Razor Dune Buggy

Awesome Dune Buggy

12/18/2010
By ,
Cleveland TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just opened and played with these today! We ordered 3 for all the kids (Twin 5 yr olds and a 3 yr old) They all LOVE them! Seem very durable and go just fast enough for them. The only con is that there is no reverse but once the kids get used to that, I am sure there will be no problem. Already assembled when you get it! Goes really good on hills and grass surprisingly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Razor Dune Buggy

Hours of fun!

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave this to my son for his sixth birthday. He is a little bigger than your average six-year-old and is very adventurous. He loves it! The first thing he got it he broke the flag off. Battery charge seems to last a while as he has been able to drive it for a few hours before it slows down.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great Product

07/21/2011
By ,
Londonderry, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yo son. He LOVES it, as does my 9 yo son. They zip around the yard and have a ball. Only complaint I have is that the battery life is to short. 45 minutes for 12 hours of charging doesn't see fair. The product came assembled and did not dissapoint at all. I would highly recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Razor Dune Buggy

2 Razor Dune Buggies FAILED

09/09/2009
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This summer I purchased 2 Dune Buggies (one from WalMart, one from Amazon). Both failed to operate after 22 - 29 hours of use. Repairs was impossible to find in my area, Cape Cod Massachusetts.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Razor Dune Buggy

awesome Ride my daughter and her friends love it!

06/14/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome Go kart. My daughter loves it. She's 7. She received a Razor Drifter when she was 5 which she also enjoyed but the drifter is for asphalt. We need something that's all terrain now. I wish I bought this when she was four. I would not recommend wasting money on power wheels when one can purchase Dune buggy that is lower to the ground also all terrain and go faster than 5mph but still at a safe speed for lil dare devils. Razor has excellent customer service they are responsive...keep your receipt. They also have local service centers that service their products. There online store sales parts if ever needed at reasonable prices. I do wish for this price it had reverse but it doesn't seem to bother my daughter at all. I would definitely recommend razor think about adding this feature. This is perfect for my daughter and her little friend is getting one for her birthday so now they an ride together. Love it! Let's keep taking down the pink aisle. Not cheap plastic has quality feel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Razor Dune Buggy

Razor Dune Buggy

10/15/2010
By ,
Celina, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Razor Dune Buggy was purchased for 2010 Christmas for our 6 year old granddaughter. She lives outside of town in NW Ohio and has more than 7 acres to enjoy most of which is woods and rolling areas. She has progressed up through a small ATV and then a John Deere Gator (all electric) and we wanted to step the speed up but not to a gasoline engine yet. We read many reviews and were particularly interested in the safety and longevity this product provided. There is a two year old grandson (brother) coming up and he also loves the ability to be a bit of a dare-devil! I am sure this product will last for his use too. Of particular note is the pneumatic -scored tires (making it good for stoned and grass areas of which there is an abundance at their home site), the very strong metal construction of the vehicle, and finally a safety item - once the driver lets loose of the accelarator or presses significantly on the brake and accelarator at the same time the electric engine stops and comes to a physical stop too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great upgrade from power wheels type vehicles

09/17/2011
By ,
Elgin, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently sold my son's power wheels truck since he was getting too big for it and it was going really slow even though he's only 60 pounds. For his 7th birthday we looked at replacements for it. Our neighbor's kids got the other razor cart with the gliding feature, but we wanted something that worked just as well on grass as it does on pavement. We had gone that route on the power wheels truck and it worked out great. So we found this razor dune buggy and after some discussions about the $100 up charge, we decided this was the way to go.
We're getting great battery life. My son rode it for over an hour today on our local bike paths as my wife and I ran. At the end it was still moving good. He's had it for over a week and it's still working great. Other kids think it's pretty cool too as they all stop to look when he rides by the other houses.
It was a little pricey but think it'll be fun. Also there an active community doing upgrades and mods to these.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Razor Dune Buggy

My boys love it

07/28/2014
By ,
california
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wish it came with a back up battery as it dies after about 30 to 45 minutes, but other then that my boys think it is great. One had to learn the hard way not to stand up while spinning circles, but I think the road rash up his entire right side might be enough to convince him not to do that again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Razor Dune Buggy

Awesome!

03/17/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this buggy for our 9 year old son's birthday. He is loving it! We like it so much that we are going to purchase another one for our other son.
Our only wish is that it didn't take so long to charge the battery. About 8-10 hours.
We were happy how long the battery does last when fully charged. It lasts about an hour or more of continuous riding.
Another treat was that the buggy comes fully assembled and ready to go. Just charge the battery and install the flag.
We charged the battery the night before his birthday so that it was ready to ride.
Overall, this is an awesome product and a reasonable price for the quality. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Razor Dune Buggy

Dune Buggy that cannot even go up a small dune

07/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this for my 10-yr old just before his birthday in March. The dune buggy runs very well and fast (listed speed) consistently for at least 45 minutes even after numerous charges. My problem with it is it cannot even go up a small incline, not even a 'dune' or hill, with a 80 lb boy on it.
Need to change the name imo!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Razor Dune Buggy

3 & 5 year old love it!

08/30/2010
By ,
Asheville,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my daughters 5th birthday. A neighbor's kid has one and after she road it once she begged for one for her birthday.
I was surprised that it came fully assembled. All I had to do was put air in the tires and charge it for 18 hours. During my research I noticed that a few other people have had problems with the battery not holding a charge. I think this is a result of not fully charging it for 18 hours as they have stickers all over the thing warning you of this.
The cart if fast, but is very low to the ground so it wont flip over on a sharp turn. Our 5 year old loves it. We live in a cul-de-sac and our neighbors all have young kids so it gets some use.
For safety we always make our kids wear a helmet, but overall I think this is a safe product. The only thing I changed was the small (3 ft) flag on the back. I put a larger 6 foot pole onto ours with a big orange flag to be sure any cars approaching could see the buggy as it low to the ground.
Also the knobby tires are great. Our kids drive all over the grass and the buggy does very well. Even our 3 year old is very good at driving. Excellent product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great go cart

06/15/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our 6.5 year old. He loves it. It goes fast enough to be exciting but not so fast that it's easily crashed or flipped. Love it. I do wish the battery would last longer or charge faster, but I knew about that issue before purchasing, so no complaints there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Razor Dune Buggy

Amazing quality product

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for our 7 yr old. This product is great!! Kids love it. Made very well. Very happy with the purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Razor Dune Buggy

My son loves it.

06/08/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had wanted an electric car for years. He outgrew the little kid ones before we seriously considered it - he's a very tall for his age. At 10 now he's about 5' tall.
He recently saw a kid driving one of the other Razor cars (with the tiny wheels) and thought it was cool. That particular car didn't seem like it would work very well because the most obvious place for him to drive is our front and back yards - the tiny slicks on the other car would probably just spin in the grass.
I saw the dune buggy and that looked perfect. It was in good shape when I un-boxed it. the only assembly was attaching the flag, putting air in the tires and plugging it in to charge (for at least 18 hours before first use).
The tires are a bit tricky to inflate with a bicycle pump. You always lose a bit of air when you remove the pump nozzle from the valve on a bicycle tire. But these tires use so little air that you can actually lose a lot of pressure too. You need to fill them past the specified pressure to account for this. If you under inflate, you may damage the tires or the valve stems.
You can adjust the throttle by loosening it and twisting it on the grip. I adjusted it so that - at first - it would be difficult for him to apply full throttle.
It ran great - my son is really enjoying it. It needs some help if it get's stopped on too steep of an uphill but that's not a big deal. A very slow reverse would be nice - the alternative if you get stuck is to get off the car and swing the front end around. A nice to have but doesn't really interfere with my son's enjoyment.
My son is about 5' tall and it's a bit of a squeeze for him, but he can comfortably drive and it did a much better job then I expected controlling the car his first time out. Enough so that I pretty quickly reset the throttle so he could go full speed.
It has a damper on the steering (a hydraulic piston) to keep the front wheels from getting out of control. That's a nice touch that I'm certain contributed to my son's initial success driving the car.
It is a dune buggy *style* car and it does have a shock absorber in the rear. That said I don't think it's designed for anything especially rough - not enough ground clearance for one. I understood that when I ordered it so it wasn't a surprise to me.
I wouldn't recommend abusing it by jumping on it or something but it seems solidly enough built so far. The seat is a little odd. The bottom seems to be sloped forward so that your using your feet to keep yourself pressed back into the seat?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Razor Dune Buggy

high quality toy

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love this and so far nothing wrong. Batteries last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Razor Dune Buggy

my kids love it !!!!!

07/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little boy loves his buggy.The age on the box says 14+.That is way too old.My son is 5 and he drives it fine.You just have to watch him.Overall great product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Razor Dune Buggy

Great fun for my 6 year old

07/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome fun, got this for my 6 year old boys birthday... He loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Razor Dune Buggy

Excellent Purchase for Our Grandson!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this item for our 7 yr-old grandson. I'm not sure about the durability because it just arrived and he hasn't been able to ride it yet, but it looks fabulous and was extremely well packaged. Even my husband was impressed with how well made it is - and he doesn't impress easily. I was able to get the Dune Buggy for less and I found anywhere else and it was sent right to my door with free shipping. You can't get much easier than that! Walmart is truly the place to shop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Razor Dune Buggy

All I hoped for

09/21/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product. The price is great, it is simple to use, appears to be well constructed and most importantly, the kids have a blast. I have two grandchildren, ages 7 and 4. It was a "piece of cake" for the 7 year old to drive. I had to modify the seat for the 4 year old because she was too far away from the controls to be confortable. I simply made a 1/2" Plywood base, bolted it to the existing holes and then screwed the seat into the wood base. It is a riot to watch them drive around in these. I always insist they wear their helmets. I may install little bumpers on the front and back because they do run into each other now and then. A super gift for anyone too old for a Barbie Jeep but too young for a full size go kart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Razor Dune Buggy

lots of fun

12/04/2010
By ,
long island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my 6 yr old and he loves it. I can ride it too because it has a good weight limit, battery last long also. Its one of the best well made gifts i have purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next