Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

The Sony BRAVIA Theater System has an integrated 5 DVD/CD changer, wireless client receiver, 1000 watts of home theater power, and an iPod Dock. S-AIR wireless speaker technology lets you send you music to any room in your house. Plus, the Sony BRAVIA Theater System optimizes speaker placement in just 30 seconds with Digital Cinema Auto Calibration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%43 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Very Happy with this buy

06/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this about 4 months ago cause I wanted a simple surround sound. I couldnt be happier with the sound for my smaller sized living room. HDMI input made for easy installation.
I dont have a BRAVIA TV but I do have 3 HDMI ports on my TV so thats a plus so I can have the XBOX, Home theater system, and the Blue Ray pluged in all at the same time unlike the other review before mine.
So in closing the sound is great and will shake the house during explosions or big sound effects. The auto set up mic works great so this thing couldnt be more easy to set up.
My only complaint is that the controll has alot of buttons that I dont use and since I dont have the Bravia TV I cant manage the TV and theater system through the TV, but thats no big deal. I throw in a movie and just use the remote to press play and tune the volume to very loud! Sounds great on the XBOX aswell to all the gamers that want to know when the enemy is sneaking up behind them on Call of Duty :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 2 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

don't waste your money

02/17/2010
By ,
NP, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We returned this item after the first evening. We beileved that we were purchasing a "wireless speaker system" home theater system from sony and that is not what this is at all. The speakers still have to be hard wired, they are not S-air technology.. the only thing that you are paying an additional $150 for is for one small unit that can be placed in another room to hear the radio or movie that is currently on the theater system... What a waste.. I believe that Sony lead us to believe this was a wireless speaker system which is what we were looking for. The box states that it is S=air wireless speaker technology.... what did they really think we would assume from that? I have two Sony Bravia TV's that I love.. this was a BIG dissapointment! Shame on you SONY.. be more clear so that we are not wasting our money even the directions in the box stated that it is a wireless speaker system.. We will be purchasing a different system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+36points
Review 3 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

worth it

05/18/2009
By ,
Albany, New york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we got this in December, and have not had any problems with it. we only wished we got it sooner. The volume on the sony flat screen just wasn't doing it for sound so we go this surround system. Its very easy to use once its set up. the only negative thing I can say is that it seems as if the S-air speaker doesn't have a long distance range. but all and all its very good, almost too good, cuz it has the ability to shake the photos off the walls !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+104points
Review 4 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Disappointed

02/06/2010
By ,
Twain Harte, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When we shopped for a replacement Home Theater System, an employee from Sony was working at the store on weekends. Thought he would steer us in the right direction since we weren't very knowledgable concerning the various systems. He suggested that we purchase the S-AIR system since it was wireless & easy to hook up. What he didn't mention (or know) was that to be able to use it as a wireless system, another kit had to be purchased to the tune of $150.00. Needless to say , we don't intend to purchase the kit. Very disappointing. The system does have a great sound while listening to CD's but have to make sure one doesn't trip over the wires!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Do not buy

05/14/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you just bought a Sony Blu Ray disc player to go along with your Sony Bravia HDTV, do not buy this.
You can't input the Blu Ray player into the Home Theatre system. It has no HDMI inputs. You would need to input the Blu Ray into the TV. Many Sony Bravia TVs only have two HDMI inputs in the rear. The newer ones have two rear HDMI inputs and one on the side for PS3. I don't want my HDMI plugged in the side showing all the time. One HDMI input is used by cable box, the other for this system. After calling Sony, they suggested I purchase a 300 dollar "system" with four HDMI inputs in rear. BUT those systems include no speakers and no S-Air system. Sony sees the need for HDMI inputs on a Home Theatre system but fail to include them on this system. So, I have a 6 disc changer built in, NOT Blue Ray. I didn't care since I had a Blu Ray player but I didn't know I would not be able to hook it into this system. Their advice, use component cables which defeat the HDMI quality, thus no real Blu Ray disc player. I wasted my money and need a Bravia TV with at LEAST 3 rear inputs for true HDTV with no side wires showing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Review 6 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Good but frustrating

09/01/2009
By ,
Northeast Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This system was easy to connect to the t.v. and sounds great with a DVD. The problems arised from trying to connect it to our satellite system. The instructions ARE NOT helpful; I had to figure it out on my own. The next problem came with the WIRELESS part of this product. We bought this for a number of reasons, one of them being the fact that it is wireless. The problem? It says wireless on the box, BUT you have to BUY the wirelss S-AIR product and WalMart does not carry it. Neither does anyone else in our town. We have to order it online or go 70 miles away to the nearsest big town! Other than that, the system is nice. It tends to be a little too much in the Bass department, but my four boys and hubby LOVE it. I like the "night" setting, too, as people can watch the t.v. with good sound while other can sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

awesome

12/28/2009
By ,
pocahontas, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was just what I was looking for. I really had no use for the actual dvd player, that is what my 360 and ps3 is for. For the one reviewer that didn't like it because it is not blu-ray, sorry, you should have read the description better. This same model does come in blu-ray but it is about $100 more. This product is as loud or louder than I was looking for; but who doesn't want 1000W of sound blasting at them? Music, movies, video games, everything sounds great; HDMI makes it even better. If the connections on the system aren't enough for some people, all you need is a pair of audio cables connected to your t.v.; so the audio of everything else (including the t.v.) can be used from the system. The only problem (nothing major) I had was I had to take a few things off my wall because they vibrated so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

BAD

09/22/2009
By ,
punta gorda
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad everything NO real connections for other componets. Sub is not powered. over all sound NOT good,..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-17points
Review 9 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Perfect Gift for the Husband!

07/08/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent System. Great sound not a wireless system but doesn't matter the sound makes up for it. The 5 disc changer is great and loads pretty quick and can change from one disc to the next with the remote, so store the favs and watch them when you want to. The only thing I wish they could install for the disc player would be some type of disc label reader that would display because with the 5 discs I forget which is in which. I love the night modes and stuff where when they whisper it enhances that where you can actually hear it without having to replay or have the captions displayed. Gets very loud but no complaints from the hubby. He loves it! Would highly recommend this one to buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Great product

05/28/2010
By ,
Paso Robles, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this product at the end of April, 2010 on line through walmart.com. I love it, great sound and picture quality. Very easy set up, even for the technically challenged. I wish the speaker connectors to the unit were other than male to female connectors to allow for diferent wire gauge. I had to solder the connectors to my 18 gauge prewired system. I love the S AIR feature allows me to listen to my music in a different location of my home while my family is watching movies in another. No problems with the wireless range anywhere in my 2500 sq. ft. home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Great Purchase

03/18/2010
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is really a great buy. Not only did we save around seventy dollars by purchasing online, but it was delivered very quickly. The product is more of a value than I imagined. It has great sound, fairly user friendly and the S-air device is really neat. It works great as a radio for another room. The sound of the unit is simply great. The hook up and calibration was a breeze. Very Good Purchase. Normally, I have a little buyers remorse after purchasing electronics....not this time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Nice system

05/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sound, although it does not give much control over equalization. Setup and connection are no more difficult than other systems I have installed, but be prepared to spend a while setting it up. FM picks up some stations but I can't get anything over AM radio. (I live 25 miles from a metropolitan area)
Delivery was slow even for normal shipping and I paid extra for expedited shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC
05/11/2010
By ,
Leesburg, Fl and Maggie Valley, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item is so good that we bought a second one for our other house. By having it shipped to the store (we bought it on line) we saved about $100.00. I would highly recommend this product. You should always buy the one with the wireless speaker, because it is also great. I can take it out in garage when I'am working and play from the main unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

sony home theatre

02/16/2010
By ,
ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this product just a few days ago and like it the only thing i dont like is that it all works but the center speaker and i cant figure out how to make it work to save my life but overall i give it a 3+star only bcuz i cant get that center speaker to work somebody pleeeezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me figure this one out
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Nightmare

05/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is not for anyone but the most sophisticated thecnical geek to set up. My degreed son, who is employed as a geek couldn't get it to work. It is impossible mto get it to sync with dish. once you finally get it to work it is really nice. They have a long way to go to make it at all user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

rinco21

04/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this about 4 months ago cause I wanted a simple, and very functional surround sound system; I couldnt be happier. HDMI input made it easy to instal. I have 3 HDMI ports on my TV so that is a plus b/c I can connect my Wii, Home theater system, and the Blue-ray, all plugged in at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC

Just what I wanted

05/19/2010
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system sounds great! It was worth every penny.....Love it! It took ittle time to set up and what I love most is being able to listen to music in any room using the S-Air wireless speaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC
04/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new abode got a lift with the addition of this marvelous system. The speakers shake the house when I play my favorite rock & roll music. Great partying!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC
04/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a simple surround sound, I couldn't be happier with this system for my over-sized living room. And the HDMI jack made it an easy installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Sony BRAVIA Theater System with S-AIR Wireless Speaker Technology, Sony DAV-HDX287/WC
04/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say about a Sony product, always very good and reliable. This system is another example of great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next