Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

For the best in movies and shows, you haven't seen anything until you've seen it in Blu-Ray. The Samsung Blu-ray Player delivers the superior image detail and clarity of Blu-ray Disc technology, along with a host of innovative features. Stream Netflix and Pandora right to your HDTV. BDWise synchronizes your devices, optimizing both picture and sound. And BD Profile 2.0 means you're BD Live ready - just connect the Samsung Blu-ray Player to the internet and access hours of online content. Netflix subscription required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation70%23 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Beautiful picture

08/14/2009
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice player for the price. I own the BDP-1500 and now the BDP-1590. I had purchased an "open box" BDP-2500 from an online competitor for 200 bucks but recieved two in a row that did not work. Problem was that they were not testing them before re-shipment. Stick with a new one and Wal Mart will stand behind it.
All of these players are virtually the same except that if you have a netflix subscription, it is easier, less wires (no need for a Roku set top box to play Netflix) and great picture playing it through the Blu Ray player.
This is a must, some of these you see as "wireless ready"...that is fine and it is exactly what it means BUT if you want the best picture for Netflix streaming, use a Cat 6 ethernet cord. The difference is night and day, faster loading too. It is also advisable to get a fast, good quality router.
The little extra effort setting it up correctly will pay dividends long into the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 2 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

A Very Solid Feature Rich BD Player

07/03/2009
By ,
Ogden, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read no less than 50 reviews of the 1590 on various sites and must say, I had some concerns about this player, even though it had a lot of good reviews. Some (a minority) of the comments were quite critical.
Fortunately, I found them to be groundless.
I find the following work perfectly:
1. Playing BD titles. Superb picture and True HD sound is detected by my Onkyo 605 HT Receiver.
2. Upconverts standard DVDs with no trouble, on on a 720p HDTV (someone posted that it would only upconvert at a 1080p output...this is completely incorrect.)
3. NetFlix startup was effortless. Networking (hardwired) configured itself after turning the 1590 on.
Before turning the unit on or even plugging it in, do the following:
a. Attach HDMI cable between Player and HDTV
b. Attach network cable to switch or router
c. ...then Plug in power
d. Turn on, follow prompts.
I found the default settings worked just fine with my Samsung 56" DLP HDTV (720p).
Network settings were automatically configured because my Router has DHCP services turned on, and DHCP is ON by default in the Player.
NETFLIX:
In less than 5 minutes (before I had even tried a Blu Ray DVD), I was watching a NetFlix movie. I didn't even need to open the manual. I signed up for the free 15 day trial at NetFlex BEFORE I turned on the Player. I was shown a "CODE" on the Player to enter into NetFlix web site to "ENABLE" NetFlix movies on my Blu Ray Player. I selected a movie for "instant" viewing (que)...if you select it just for viewing, it will show on your computer, and not the TV/Blu Ray player. Quality on an SD movie with 1.5 Mbps connection was acceptable. It was not anywhere near HD quality, and a bit less than normal DVD quality. No HD Netflix streaming has been tried yet.
UPCONVERTING STANDARD DVDs
Again, using the default settings (which turned out to be 1080i), I found my old titles played perfectly. Lethal Weapon 3 showed DD 5.1, just as it should, and sounded terrific. Video quality was very good, exactly what I would have expected of an upconverted SD DVD. It isn't Blu Ray, but it is nice!
BLU RAY:
Perfect Video and True HD Audio (if your amp supports it), otherwise DD 5.1 works just fine. I have not watched any super quality Blu Rays yet. I just finished watching the first Star Trek movie and it was fine, but not stunning.
The remote works fine. The front panel buttons are touch sensitive and do not provide tactile feedback, but they do cause a short beep to be emitted when pushed/touched.
OVERALL:
A very solid, feature rich BD player that I found easy to set up, works well with NetFlix and handles standard DVD upconversion without difficulty, even on a 720p HDTV. The price is competitive and the quality seems good. Only time will tell how long it will last, but for now, I'm quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Review 3 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

What I was looking for

05/16/2009
By ,
95354
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking at Samung products because of the feature of connecting to NetFlix to strem movies instantly. This model appears to be the same as the 1600 but about $30 cheaper (I compared the products on Samsung's website.). I connected to my home wired network and to the TV with an HDMI cable...plugged it in and turned it on. It came up with a screen to go to NetFlix and then instructed you how to identify the device to NetFlix (you need to do this on your computer to your NetFlix account). My instant cue came right up and I was able to stream a movie. Subsequently have played discs without problem. Haven't figured out how to check the amount of time a disc has played vs the total length of the movie, except to hit pause, then play. Must be a button somewhere. Since I have a wired connection to the internet, I just need to tell the machine to update and it goes directly to the internet to see what's up. Does everything I was looking for. Haven't playe any blu ray yet since Netflix charges an extra $4 a month to ge blu ray discs. I'll use a free coupon from Blockbuster (B4 I switched to Netflix) to get a blu ray. I don't anticipate any problem. I've read some reviews about the 1600 and problems and extra cost of connecting with a wireless connection. This didn't affect me, but you should be aware of added $$$ if you don't have a wired connection. I got what I was looking for at a good WalMart price, so I'm happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 4 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

If you want Netflix, don't waste your money

06/23/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I initially purchased this product for the sole reason of streaming video from Netflix. I’ve had too much trouble trying to get the WAN to work. Here is a quick summary:
The overall design is nice and sleek. I like the touch panel for the buttons.
The box indicated that the player was “Wireless LAN Ready”, which it is not wireless ready. You have to purchase a Samsung USB 2.0 wireless adapter (WIS09ABGN) from Best Buy for about $80. No big deal, it happens.
After I purchased all of the necessary parts, I proceeded to set the player up. The movies are crisp and clear. Everything was going good until I tried to setup the WAN. This process is not as simple as they would like you to think it is. I have a Linksys Cisco Wireless-N Broadband Router running WEP 128-bit encryption with MAC filtering and DHCP IP reservation to secure my router. I had to disable all of my security on my router just to get the adapter to connect to my LAN. Once I finally got it connected, I activated the player through Netflix to start streaming videos. I was very disappointed to see that the sound was not in synch with the video. From what I can tell, this only was happening on the HD movies.
Considering that I had to disable the security on my router, I decided that this particular player was not right for me, so I returned the device and order a Roku player from Netflix and an up converter DVD player.
I rated this player 3 stars because I felt that I was not getting all of the features that I purchased. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 5 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Good Blu-ray Player

06/24/2009
By ,
Selma, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good standalone blu-ray player. Overall performance is quite good. Loading times are on par with the Sony PS3 and slightly faster than other blu-ray players out right now. Image quality is very good, especially 1080p/24. DVD up-conversion is just OK at best but acceptable. This player bitstreams all the major audio formats. The Anynet+ works great even with non-Samsung equipment (i.e. turn on the player and your HDTV autiomatically turns on and switches to the correct HDMI input). There are USB ports on the front and rear of the player and overall, the player itself is very small compared to last gen players.
Netflix and Pandora Radio streaming is great: currently using a wired connection.
Some cons:
I returned one unit because the audio would simply stop being output all together as the movie continued to play on.
Currently, the Samsung BD-P1590 does not 'play nice' with the Sony STR-DG920 A/V receiver. Forced to use the player in another room connected directly to a HDTV.
There is no time remaining display.
Some disc menus perform slow and/or very choppy, example - Punisher: Warzone. The PS3 and other players had no issues.
The Samsung BD-P1590 struggles with multi-branching blu-ray discs like T2: Skynet Edition and AVP: Requim in which there are audio/video glitches in the form of video artifacts, sound dropouts, etc. Unfortunately, these glitches aren't always repeated in the same multi-branching segments so a future firmware fix may be more difficult.
Remote and/or IR sensor on front has limited range: fixed with universal remote somewhat.
Overall, really like this player which is why I got another one. I also have a Sony BDP-S360 from Wal-Mart. It plays multi-branching blu-ray titles without issue but loads much slower than the Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Love this player!

05/19/2009
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this player on a whim at my local Wal-Mart. I was in the electronics section the day before and had seen the BD-P1500 and had planned on getting that one when I returned. It was gone when I came back, but the BD-P1590 was in its place. After a quick bit of internet research I decided that it was the player that I wanted. I have not been disappointed with this player. It has shown every disc that I have put in it in perfect resoutions. Even the discs that I burned from my computer. I could not be happier with it. The main sellingg point for me was the optical audio port on the back. That is how my surround processor gets its best signal and I was so happy to see that Samsung had included it as part of the players connectors.
The only issue that I had was the absence of the wirelsss dongle, but I found one at my local Best Buy and I am now completely happy with the choice of the Samsung BD-P1590.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Apprehensive - but very pleased

07/16/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only reason I gave 3 stars on value is because i think all Blu Ray players are overpriced. When I first bought this and brought it home to hook up to my newly purchased Samsung TV it didnt work using the Philips HDMI cable I had on hand. The next day I bought a PURE|AV HDMI cable from another store as I happened to be in there, brought it home, hooked it up and everything worked great. I was stunned by the crystal clear picture of this player when hooked up to my Samsung TV via HDMI, it was jaw dropping. I almost returned this unit because I thought there was something wrong with the player, and it only turned out to be a bad cable. I love the styling of it as well, the buttons on front and audible feedback when using them is very cool. I highly recommend this unit. I haven't tried the wireless, or Netflix as neither one interests me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Excellent Product!

07/05/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine produces an amazing picture quality. The player itself has a nice sleek design to it. I would recommend this product to everyone. understand that it is "wireless ready" which means that it is capable of wireless access, but a device is needed and has to be purchased separately. When you read this you are not being "misled" and this product does not deserve a one star just because people dont understand....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

As is

06/22/2009
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It states it's "Wireless LAN Ready". Exactly what it means... For those who don't understand, it means it is able to be set up for wireless. If it was set up for wireless already, it would say so instead. If you have an ethernet cable, you can hook that up from your router to get the internet and stream the Pandora/Netflix stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Great Product!

05/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is three devices in one. I love it. I watch my netfix, and listen to pandora radio for free on my surround sound. And also get crystal clear blue ray on my HD TV. I have it plugged into my router with a lan cord. But it is also ready for wireless, and I think its only $80 for the wireless adapter. For everyone that complains about the adapter being extra. You know you don't get anything free anymore. Even with game consoles wireless adapters are an extra purchase. I recommend this with an A+ to anyone that wants to purchase a blue ray and has a netflix account.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Don't buy it

09/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even though Samsung is a good brand don't buy this one. My wife and I returned two of this model. All of them make a popping sound through the audio when it's loading at different stages of the disc. That was the original reason we returned the first one. Even Samsung told us to return it. The next one did it too. The second one, 5-6 mins into the movie the screen would turn completly green. It basically was a green screen of death because the dvd player would freeze up. If you want to buy this one good luck. I'm going to find a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 12 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

for blu ray with wireless lan, buy ps3

05/13/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this player after seeing the ads on the box stating "wireless lan ready", and capable of streaming netflix.
After getting it set up, then discovered you need an $80 wireless adapter for it to work, nowhere is that disclaimed on the box! Talk about let down, then when called samsung to complain, they simply said they will 'document the concern'.
This one is getting returned, as the total price between the player and the wireless adapter is way too close to the price of a playstation 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 13 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

DON"T WASTE MONEY!!!

06/27/2009
By ,
Glasgow, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this item for only 2 weeks, played all blu ray fine, but I started to watch some of my old DVD collection and discs were not loading correctly or error messages came up on screen. For the money i invested and item being only 2 weeks old, new out of box.. I'm not keeping an item that is inferior. Instinct told me to stay with brand I know and trust SONY!!!
I'm going to have to add a little more to it but I think in long run I'll be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 14 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Shame on you SAMSUNG

05/25/2009
By ,
New Iberia, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product to upgrade from an HDDVD player and to have Netflix. The box says and I quote "wireless LAN ready". I was very disappointed to discover after I was home that it required an adapter to be able to get wireless. I do not like to be misled. This one is being returned. I will be purchasing another unit that will have Netflix. It will not be a Samsung. There is no need to mislead loyal customers. If the box would have said that it required the adapter I would have purchased it. Now it is a matter of principal, I will no longer purchase SAMSUNG products.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-40points
Review 15 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

better than bd-p1600

08/24/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Samsung is the exact same product as the BD-P1600 without the bothersome front door of the 1600. It is about the best entry level BD 2.0 player out there with Netflex downloads. It is reasonable fast loading and performance is among the best in this price range. Just make sure that you upgrade the software by connecting it to the internet via the ethernet cable. It also has 2 usb ports, 1 in front and one in back. You will need a usb flash to be able to use BD live, but there are very few movies yet worthy of this feature. You will be very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Samsung Blu-Ra Player BD-P1590

10/04/2009
By ,
Nixa, MO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read the reviews and thought I save a few bucks by buying the Samsung. Should have listen to the reviews. The Samsung played great the first time and gave a very good picture. Played the same blue ray DVD again and the picture frozed at start of movie, had a hard time removing the DVD. Finally it released and the same problem happened again when played. Took it back the next day and got the Sony for a few bucks more. Six months later and never had a problem with the Sony - still a great quality picture.
Don't waste you time - get the sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 17 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE

02/14/2010
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first it appears to be okay. Then reality sets in and you fight getting the picture to pass thru the HDMI cable to the TV. I have a new LED Samsung tv and this player blacks out about 60-70% of the time where the signal wont pass thru to the TV. Replaced HDMI cables, No difference. Changed to another TV. No difference. Checked online and saw where most Samsung bluray players are bad news in this regard. Factory reps won't repair under warranty past 90 days of manufacture date on back of unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

I Would Buy It Again.

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had the player for like 2 weeks now. Quick response time. Push open tray bttn, & poof! Watched Blu-ray, reg. dvds, & streamed netflix online. I have no complaints cuz they all looked great. Pic quality looked great in my eyes. Univeral control is okay. I sinked it with my TV & had only one complaint. I couldn't change channels with #'s I could only use up/dwn pad. Jus use my tv cntrl instead with blu-ray cntrl. I would recommend it & if I had to buy it all over again, I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Defective product

10/11/2009
By ,
Creswell, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this about a week ago. I watched two blu-Ray movies and one standard def movie. I tried to watch a Blu-Ray movie again tonight to show off my new player, and it will not load any movie I put in. All I can do is power it off and on, and open and close the disk drive. It doesn't do anything else. I downloaded a firmware update but since I cannot load the player menu, I cannot update the firmware.
I will be returning this unit and probably getting a Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Samsung Blu-ray Player, BD-P1590

Terrific Buy!

09/13/2009
By ,
Potsdam, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Blu-Ray DVD player in the store this week and ordered the wireless wi-fi connector to go with it online. Plays Blu-Ray DVDs perfectly, upconverts standard DVDs very nicely AND the NETFLIX movie streaming via wireless connection to our home wi-fi network is fantastic!
We are able to watch hi-def movies at no added cost to our normal Netflix account over our 802.11g network seamlessly. Nice going, Samsung, Netflix, and Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next