Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Black & Decker Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Trim your lawn fast and quick with the Black & Decker ST7700 Trimmer and Edger. It is ideal for trimming weeds, grass or any overgrowth. This 13'' automatic feed string trimmer is easy to use and efficient with a 44 amp powerful motor. With the Groom N Edge technology, changing from trimming to edging takes seconds. You can also edge along the sidewalks and driveways with precision thanks to the edge guide provided. This Black & Decker trimmer enables you to cut grass even in difficult-to-reach areas where mowers cannot. Designed with an Automatic Feed Spool (AFS) system, this feed trimmer automatically advances the cutting strings, avoiding bumps, thus preventing accidental cord disconnection. The ergonomic auxiliary handle gives you the maximum comfort when handling this device. The Black & Decker ST7700 Trimmer and Edger makes your lawn look perfect and beautiful in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%34 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Perfect for Mom

09/19/2011
By ,
Warren PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this weed wacker ! It was easy to assemble and easy to run.
A few years back I'd asked Hubby to let me help with the yard work. He handed me a very Heavy Gas Powered weed wacker that kept stalling out, had to be bumped to let out string, and killed my arms and back.
This summer Hubby was out of town for over 2weeks, by 1 1/2 weeks the yard work desperately needed done. My one son mowed the lawn and I went and bought this weed wacker, and have not regretted it all summer ! I was able to make the yard look good and even "mow" the steep areas of the yard, which I did not feel was safe for a 10 year old to mow. All summer I have given the lawn a finished look in very little time and very little effort. ('cause hubby hates weedwacking and only does it twice a summer. )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Works great

07/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, the string has lasted, it gets thick plants, not much vibration, lightweight. Good value.
Only problem, It is not a good choice for us short folks. I really like the product, and could work for a long time, were I able to use it more comfortably. Next one will have an adjustable handle (if they exist). I am fully satisfied with its workings. Easy to clean, works great, but I just can't get comfortable with the length of the stem. The cord kept coming out (a three prong plug would help, but I strung the cord through the handle once, and problem solved. Sure wish it worked a bit better fpr 5 fotters. Having trouble learning how to edge. It is a good product with a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Good product

08/01/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right up front I have to stress: Don't confuse a "corded" product with a "cordless". This is a corded machine, meaning it is constantly connected to an electrical source...and this gives it SO much more power. I have 1.5 acres of lawn to weedwhack after mowing (lots of trees) and this B&D gets the job done. It's lightweight, auto feed and doesn't vibrate as much as others I've tried in the past. Plus, I purchased it after Walmart started it's end-of-summer sales.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
So Calif
Posted 12/26/2011
1.5 acres.? Wow how long of a extension cord do you use??? lol
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Black & Decker Trimmer

05/18/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd season that I've had the trimmer and it works great for me. I only do the edges of the driveway and around the house, so it's not used heavily.
It's light & I don't have to yank on any cords to start it so I can use it myself. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Exceeded my Expectations

05/25/2010
By ,
Romeoville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700 because I needed a weedeater that was lightweight and easy to use. This was easy to assemble, (very minimal) and easy to use. Just plug it in and go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

An Awesome Product

06/10/2010
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always had the larger string/slower speed trimmers and was so impressed the first time I used this one.
It absolutely flew through everything I needed cut. I've used it twice so far and, in the past, I would have to have replaced the string by now. This thing is still cutting everything in the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Works as advertised

07/05/2014
By ,
Bell Gardens,California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first electric line trimmer I was very amazed with the power of this trimmer it worked as advertised had no issues with setup about 4 minutes at most like the automatic line feed can't say anything negative about it would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Weedeater

09/29/2014
By ,
EDGEWATER, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For years I always used a sling blade to cut my weeds around the edges. It didn't do a very good job, but that was all I could afford at the time. After shopping around and reading reviews on weedeaters, I chose this one. It said it was an automatic feed string, not a bump weedeater made it more appealing for me. Since I have never used a weedeater before in my life, I found this very easy to put together and use. After a few more uses, I should have it down. I highly recommend this for any one, especially if you are mechanically challenged as I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Better than expected

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it once so I can't vouch for its durability. I can say it did a nice job both as a weed eater and as an edger on an overgrown lawn and had much more power than I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

just what we needed

08/02/2010
By ,
Baraboo, Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. I got it for my wife to use because it said it was light. I have a hand and wrist problem and cannot do much with handheld lawn tools. But this is light enough that I can use it for a short period of time myself. It workes great and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a lightweight trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700
10/01/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a powerfful product, however, a bit much for a 5 footer to manage. It is too long handled for me so I have to hold on to post part and the aluminum paint comes off heavily on my hands/gloves. It ate up an amazing amount of line in the edging process.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Did everything it advertised

11/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a no brainer, came out of the box, went right together.
And I was off trimming my lawn and sidewalks n driveway!!
The trimmer works great, excellent buy for little money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Great value for money.

06/04/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer is perfect for me. It's light weight and efficient, and is great value. I've used it four times now, and has worked perfectly every time. I don't have a huge garden to maintain, but so far the trimmer and edger have done a great job. I would really recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

good for small jobs

07/31/2011
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This trimmer/ edger works fine if you do not run it for an extended period. If you do the line spool gets hot and the line heats up causing it to stick and then the line will not feed properly because it is hot. It's fine for small jobs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

A good replacement tool

09/15/2010
By ,
ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My WeedEater started sounding sick this summer so I began looking for a replacement. I settled on the B&D ST7700 and am very happy with it. It is noticeably more powerful than my previous trimmer and the auto string advance works well. (How does that thing work?) I have used this trimmer twice now trimming about 300 feet each time and it is doing a fine job. I am leery of cordless trimmers and wanted the power and reliability of a corded tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

More powerful than expected

08/07/2011
By ,
Mt Sterling, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only rated this product 4 stars because I have only used it once so far, so I can't really attest to it's durability yet. However, I was very pleased with my first use of it. It was very easy to assemble, and the power of the motor and string was much more than I expected. It plowed through some very long and thick weeds and grass I had. The product is very light weight which was a key point I looked for when researching various electric trimmers. The automatic feed worked great. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase at this point. I hope it lasts a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Useful Product

10/05/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight and ease of use. I chose this product by the 4.5 star rating and I give it 5 stars. I'm very happy I purchased this trimmer/edger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Great for small yards

06/14/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchsed this trimmer primarily to cut all grass in my small back yard. Works great!! I like the no bump feature and does a great job with the automatic feed. Overall a great purchase so far. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

Works like a charm

06/06/2012
By ,
Montgomery Village MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After using a battery charged device for 2 years I was supper impressed when I got my hands on this electric device. Power is just amazing and work gets done soon unlike battery charged device. Price to pay is the inconvenience of cord use but than due to that cord this is one powerful device so I should not complain since I don't have to worry about battery being charged or running out of gas. Now keep in mind this device is designed for a shorter person which is even a bit small for a short guy like myself who is 5'.8"
Overall a great product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 13'' Automatic Feed Trimmer/Edger Model ST7700

HARD TO USE

09/14/2014
By ,
Spokane Washington
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
IT IS HARD TO ROTATE HEAD IN FACT WILL NOT ROTATE SO I CAN USE THE EDGING PORTION OF THE TOOL
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next